
California Resident
Income Tax Return 1996
Step 1
Name
and
Address

Step 2
Filing Status

Step 3
Exemptions

Do not enter
dollar amounts
in the boxes.

Attach check or
money order here.

6 If your parent(s), or someone else, can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on their tax return,
check the box here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 6

7 Personal: If you checked box 1, 3 or 4 above, enter 1. If you checked box 2 or 5, enter 2.
If you checked the box on line 6, see instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7

8 Blind: If you (or if married, your spouse) are visually impaired, enter 1. If both are visually impaired, enter 2 . . . . 8
9 Senior: If you (or if married, your spouse) are 65 or older, enter 1. If both are 65 or older, enter 2 . . . . . . . . . • 9

10 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself, your spouse or the person listed on line 4.

Enter the total number of dependents 10
11 Total number of exemptions. Add line 7 through line 10. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11

Step 4

Check only one.

12 State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 17 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 12
13 Federal adjusted gross income from Form 1040, line 31, Form 1040A, line 16,

Form 1040EZ, line 4 or TeleFile Tax Record, line H . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13
14 California adjustments – subtractions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 31, column B . . • 14

Caution: If the amount on Schedule CA (540), line 31, column B is a negative number, see instructions

18 Enter the Your California itemized deductions from Schedule CA (540), line 38; OR
larger of: Your California standard deduction shown below for your filing status:

• Married filing joint, Head of household, or Qualifying widow(er) . $5,054
• Single or Married filing separate . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $2,527{ 
(Dependent of someone else and checked box on line 6. . . . See instructions)

} 
. . . • 18

19 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . 19

Step 5
Tax

Attach copy of your
Form(s) W-2, W-2G
and 1099-R here.

For Privacy Act Notice, see instructions. Form 540 C1 1996 Side 1

FORM

540

Taxable
Income

15 Subtract line 14 from line 13. If less than zero, enter the result in parentheses. See instructions. . . . . 15
16 California adjustments – additions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 31, column C . . . . • 16

Caution: If the amount on Schedule CA (540), line 31, column C is a negative number, see instructions.
17 California adjusted gross income. Combine line 15 and line 16 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 17

20 Tax. Check if from Tax Table Tax Rate Schedule FTB 3800 or FTB 3803 . . • 20
Caution: If under age 14 and you have more than $1,300 of investment income,

read the line 20 instructions to see if you must attach form FTB 3800.
21 Exemption credits.

Caution: See the line 21 instructions before making an entry on this line.
Check if from Flowchart Federal AGI limit or California TMT limit . . . . . . . . . . . • 21

22 Subtract line 21 from line 20. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22

23 Tax. Check if from Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions; and
form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation Distribution of Trusts . . . . . . . . . • 23

24 Add line 22 and line 23. Continue to Side 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24

Use the California mailing label. Otherwise, please print or type. Fiscal year beginning , 1996, ending , 19 .

1 Single
2 Married filing joint return (even if only one spouse had income)
3 Married filing separate return. Enter spouse’s social security number above and full name here
4 Head of household (with qualifying person). If the qualifying person is a child but not your dependent, enter child’s name here.

5 Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse died 19 .

Your first name and initial Last name

If joint return, spouse’s first name and initial Last name

Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route

City, town or post office, state and ZIP code

Your social security number

Spouse’s social security number

Do Not Write
In These Spaces

P

AC

A

R

RP

Apt. no.



Side 2 Form 540 C1 1996

IMPORTANT: See ‘‘Sign Your Return’’ in the Form 540 instructions to find out if you should attach a copy of your complete federal return.
Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my
knowledge and belief, it is true, correct and complete.

25 Amount from Side 1, line 24 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25
28 Enter credit name code no. and amount . . . P 28
29 Enter credit name code no. and amount . . . P 29
30 Enter credit name code no. and amount . . . P 30
31 To claim more than three credits, see instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 31
33 Add line 28 through line 31. These are your total credits . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 33
34 Subtract line 33 from line 25. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 34

35 Alternative minimum tax. Attach Schedule P (540) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 35
36 Other taxes and credit recapture from forms FTB 3501, FTB 3535, FTB 3805P, FTB 3805Z

or FTB 3806. See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 36
37 Add line 34 through line 36. This is your total tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 37
38 California income tax withheld. Enter total from your 1996 Form(s) W-2,

W-2G, 1099-MISC and 1099-R. Also attach the Form(s) to Side 1 . . . . . . ■ 38
39 1996 California estimated tax and amount applied from your 1995 return.

Include the amount from form FTB 3519 or Schedule K-1 (541) . . . . . . . ■ 39
41 Did either you or your spouse receive more than $31,767 in wages in 1996?

Yes. See instructions. No. Go to line 42 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 41
42 Add line 38 through line 41. These are your total payments . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 42
43 If line 42 is more than line 37, subtract line 37 from line 42. This is your overpaid tax . . . . . . . . 43
44 Amount of line 43 you want applied to your 1997 estimated tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 44
45 Subtract line 44 from line 43. This is the amount of overpaid tax available this year . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 45
46 If line 42 is less than line 37, subtract line 42 from line 37. This is the tax due . . . . . . . . . . . . 46

47 Contribution to California Seniors Special Fund. See instructions . . . . . . • 47
You may make a contribution of $1 or more to:

48 Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 48
49 California Fund for Senior Citizens . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 49
50 Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . . . . . . . . . • 50
51 State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . . . . . . . • 51

53 Veterans Memorial Account . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 53

California Election 57 Your political party  amount ($25 max) P 57

59 Add line 47 through line 58. These are your total contributions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 59

52 California Breast Cancer Research Fund. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 52

Campaign Fund } 58 Spouse’s political party  amount ($25 max) P 58

60 Subtract line 59 from line 45. You have a REFUND OR NO AMOUNT DUE. Mail your return to:
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000 . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 60

61 Add line 46 and line 59. This is the AMOUNT YOU OWE. Make a check or money order payable to
‘‘Franchise Tax Board’’ for the full amount you owe. Write your social security number and
‘‘1996 Form 540’’ on it. Attach it to the front of your Form 540 and mail to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001 . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 61

62 Interest, late return penalties and late payment penalties. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 62
63 Underpayment of estimated tax. If form FTB 5805 or 5805F is attached, check here . . . . . . . . ■ 63
64 If you do not need California income tax forms mailed to you next year, check here . . . . . . . . . . • 64

Step 6
Credits

Step 7
Other
Taxes

Step 8
Payments

Step 9
Overpaid
Tax or
Tax Due

Step 10
Contributions

Step 11
Refund or
Amount
You Owe

Step 12
Interest and
Penalties

Sign
Here
It is unlawful to
forge a spouse’s
signature.

00
00
00
00
00
00

00
00

54 California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 54 00
0055 California Public School Library Protection Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 55

9

0056 D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Fund . . . . . . . . • 56

Your signature Spouse’s signature (if filing joint, both must sign) Date / /

Signature of paid preparer (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge) Preparer’s SSN/FEIN

Firm’s name (or yours if self-employed) Firm’s address

X X ( __ __ __ ) __ __ __ - __ __ __ __

Daytime phone number


