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Last day to file and pay the 2006 amount you owe to avoid penalties and interest.* See form FTB 3519 on page 41 for 
more information.
*If you are living or traveling outside the United States on April 16, 2007, the due dates for filing your return and paying your tax are different. See form 
FTB 3519 on page 41 for more information.

Last day to file or e-file your 2006 return to avoid penalties and interest computed from the original due date of April 15, 
2007.

Due dates for 2007 estimated tax payments. Generally, you do not have to make estimated tax payments if your California 
withholding in each payment period totals 90% of your required annual payment. Also, you do not have to make 
estimated tax payments if you will pay enough through withholding to keep the amount you owe with your return under 
$200 ($100 if married filing separately). However, if you do not pay enough tax either through withholding or by making 
estimated tax payments, you may have an underpayment penalty. See Form 540-ES instructions on page 45 for more 
information.

Important Due Dates
Note: When the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, the deadline to file and pay without penalty is extended to the next business day.

April 16, 2007

October 15, 2007

April 16, 2007
June 15, 2007
September 17, 2007
January 15, 2008
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$$$ for You
Earned Income Credit (EIC) – EIC reduces your federal tax obligation, or 
allows a refund if no federal tax is due. You qualify if:
•	 You earned less than $38,348; or
•	 You have no qualifying children and earned less than $12,120
Call the IRS at (800) 829-4477, when instructed enter topic 601, or see 
your federal income tax booklet. Currently, no comparable state credit 
exists.
Refund of Excess State Disability Insurance (SDI) – Taxpayers who 
worked for at least two employers during 2006 who together paid more 
than $79,418 in wages may qualify for a refund of excess SDI. See the 
instructions on page 10 (Form 540A) or page 16 (Form 540).
Homeowner and Renter Assistance (HRA) – This California program 
provides a once-a-year state payment to qualifying homeowners and 
renters based on the property tax they paid in the prior year. See page 6.

Common Errors and How to Prevent Them
Help us process your return quickly and accurately. When we find an 
error, it requires us to stop to verify the information on the return, which 
slows processing. The most common errors consist of:
•	 Claiming the wrong exemption credit,
•	 Claiming the wrong amount of real estate withholding, and
•	 Making tax computation errors.
To avoid errors and help process your return faster, use these helpful 
hints when preparing your return.

Claiming estimated tax payments:
•	 Verify the amount of estimated tax payments claimed on your return 

matches what you sent to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) for that year. 
Go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov and search for view payments 
to view your total estimate tax payments before you file your return.

•	 If FTB records do not match the amount of estimated tax payments 
claimed, “Return Information Notices” will be sent explaining the 
difference.

Totaling your exemptions:
•	 Add the exemption amounts and transfer the total to the line of the 

return.
Computing your tax:
•	 Go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov and search for tax table to 

compute your tax, or
•	 Locate the correct tax amount from the tax table (page 21) and 

transfer it to your return correctly.
Claiming real estate withholding:
•	 Claim the amount of withholding from real estate sold in California 

during 2006. Your escrow company provides you with a California 
Form 593-B, Real Estate Withholding Tax Statement, indicating the 
amount withheld. For details, see the Form 540 line 38 instructions 
on page 16.

By using the helpful hints above, you assist in preventing delays in 
processing your return and unnecessary account adjustments.
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Do I Have to File? 

✓Tip

On 12/31/06,
my filing status was:

Single or
Head of household
Married filing jointly
Married filing separately (The income of 
both spouses must be combined; both spouses 
may be required to file a return even if only one 
spouse had income over the amounts listed.)

Qualifying widow(er)

Dependent of another person 
Any filing status 

and on 12/31/06,
my age was (If your 65th 
birthday is on January 1, 2007, you 
are considered to be age 65 on 
December 31, 2006)

Under 65
65 or older
Under 65 (both spouses)
65 or older (one spouse)
65 or older (both spouses)

Under 65
65 or older
Any age

	 California Gross Income	 California Adjusted Gross Income

	 Dependents	 Dependents
	

0	 1
	 2	

0	 1
	 2

			   or more			   or more
	 13,713	 23,213	 30,338	 10,970	 20,470	 27,595 
	 18,263	 25,388	 31,088	 15,520	 22,645	 28,345
	 27,426	 36,926	 44,051	 21,940	 31,440	 38,565 
	 31,976	 39,101	 44,801	 26,490	 33,615	 39,315 
	 36,526	 43,651	 49,351	 31,040	 38,165	 43,865

		  23,213	 30,338		  20,470	 27,595 
		  25,388	 31,088		  22,645	 28,345
  More than your standard deduction (Use the California Standard Deduction Worksheet for
  Dependents on page 9 or page 13 to figure your standard deduction.)

Steps to Determine Filing Requirement
Step 1:  Is your gross income (all income received from all sources in the 
form of money, goods, property, and services that are not exempt from 
tax) more than the amount shown in the California Gross Income chart 
below for your filing status, age, and number of dependents? If yes, you 
have a filing requirement. If no, go to Step 2.

Step 2:  Is your adjusted gross income (federal adjusted gross 
income from all sources reduced or increased by all California income 

adjustments) more than the amount shown in the California Adjusted 
Gross Income chart below for your filing status, age, and number of 
dependents? If yes, you have a filing requirement. If no, you do not have 
a filing requirement.

File a return in order to get a refund if California state income 
tax was withheld from your pay, if you made California 
estimated tax payments, or you have earned income and 
qualify for the child and dependent care expenses credit (get 
form FTB 3506).

Requirements for Children with Investment Income
Federal law allows parents’ election to report a child’s interest and dividend 
income from a child under age 18 on their return. California allows you 
to report your child’s interest and dividend income on your return if they 
are under age 14. For each child under age 14 who received more than 
$1,700 of investment income in 2006, complete Form 540 and form 
FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Children Under Age 14 with Investment 
Income, to figure the tax on a separate Form 540 for your child.

Note: If you qualify, you may elect to report your child’s income of $8,500 
or less (but not less than $850) on your return by completing form 
FTB 3803, Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends. To 
make this election, your child’s income must be only from interest and/or 
dividends. See “Order Forms and Publications” on page 67 or go to our 
Website at www.ftb.ca.gov.

Other Situations When You Must File
If you owe any of the following taxes for 2006, you must file Form 540.
•	 Tax on a lump-sum distribution;
•	 Tax on a qualified retirement plan including an Individual Retirement 

Arrangement (IRA) or an Archer Medical Savings Account (MSA);
•	 Tax for children under age 14 who have investment income greater 

than $1,700 (see paragraph above);
•	 Alternative minimum tax;
•	 Recapture taxes;
•	 Deferred tax on certain installment obligations; or
•	 Tax on an accumulation distribution from a trust.

Filing Status
Use the same filing status for California that you used for your federal 
income tax return.

Exception: If you file a joint return for federal, you may file separately for 
California if either spouse was:
•	 An active member of the United States armed forces or any auxiliary 

military branch during 2006; or
•	 A nonresident for the entire year and had no income from California 

sources during 2006.

Caution – Community Property States: If the spouse earning the 
California source income is domiciled in a community property state, 
community income will be split equally between the spouses. Both 
spouses will have California source income and they will not qualify 
for the nonresident spouse exception. If you had no federal filing 
requirement, use the same filing status for California you would have 
used to file a federal income tax return.

Note: If you filed a joint return and either you or your spouse was a 
nonresident for 2006, file the Long or Short Form 540NR, California 
Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return.

Single – If any of the following was true on December 31, 2006:

•	 You were never married;
•	 You were either divorced under a final decree of divorce or legally 

separated under a final decree of legal separation; or
•	 You were widowed before January 1, 2006, and did not remarry in 

2006.

Married Filing Jointly – If any of the following is true:
•	 You were married as of December 31, 2006, even if you did not live 

with your spouse at the end of 2006;
•	 Your spouse died in 2006 and you did not remarry in 2006; or
•	 Your spouse died in 2007 before you filed a 2006 return.

Married Filing Separately 
•	 Community property rules apply to the division of income if you 

use the married filing separately status. For more information, get 
FTB Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident Status, FTB 
Pub. 1051A, Guidelines for Married Filing Separate Returns, or FTB 
Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel  See “Order Forms 
and Publications” on page 67.

•	 You cannot claim a personal exemption credit for your spouse even if 
your spouse had no income, is not filing a return, and is not claimed 
as a dependent on another person’s return.

•	 You may be able to file as head of household if you had a child living 
with you and you lived apart from your spouse during the entire last 
six months of 2006.

Head of Household is for unmarried individuals and certain married 
individuals living apart (considered unmarried) who provide a home for 
certain other persons. You are entitled to use the head of household 
filing status only if all of the following apply:
•	 You were unmarried or considered unmarried on December 31, 2006;
•	 You paid more than one-half the cost of keeping up a home for the 

year 2006;
•	 For more than half the year, your home was the main home for you 

and another person who lived with you;
•	 The other person was your qualifying relative; and
•	 You were not a nonresident alien at any time during the year.

Beginning in 2005, for a child to qualify as your foster child for head of 
household purposes, the child must either be placed with you by an 
authorized placement agency or by order of a court.

If you are unmarried, your unmarried child no longer qualifies you for 
head of household filing status if he or she is 19 years of age or older, is 
not a student, and has gross income equal to or greater than the federal 
exemption amount ($3,300 in 2006). In addition, if you are unmarried, 
your unmarried child also no longer qualifies you for the status if he or 
she is under 19 years of age or a student under 24 and pays more than 
half of his or her own support.

For more information, go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov or get FTB 
Pub. 1540, California Head of Household Filing Status. See code 934 on 
page 67 to order FTB Pub.1540 by telephone.
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2006 What’s New and Other Important Information
Differences between California and Federal Law
In general, California law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code 
(IRC) as of January 2005. However, there are continuing differences 
between California and federal law. When California conforms to 
federal tax law changes, we do not always adopt all of the changes 
made at the federal level. For more information regarding California 
and federal law, go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov and search for 
conformity. Additional information can be found in FTB Pub. 1001, 
Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments, the instructions 
for California Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), and the Business Entity 
tax booklets.
Note, the instructions provided with California tax forms are a 
summary of California tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers 
in preparing their state income tax returns. We include information 
that is most useful to the greatest number of taxpayers in the limited 
space available. It is not possible to include all requirements of the 
California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) in the tax booklets. 
Taxpayers should not consider the tax booklets as authoritative law.

2006 Tax Law Changes
Direct Deposit of Refund – More Choices
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2006, individual 
taxpayers may request that his or her refund be electronically 
deposited into more than one checking or savings account. This 
allows more options for managing your refund. For example, you 
can request part of your refund go to your checking account to use 
now and the rest to your savings account to save for later.
Heroes Earned Retirement Opportunities Act
California conforms to the Federal Heroes Earned Retirement 
Opportunities Act that allows members of the Armed Forces serving 
in a combat zone to make contributions to their individual retirement 
plans even if the compensation on which such contribution is based 
is excluded from gross income.
Conformity
For updates regarding the following federal acts, go to our Website 
at www.ftb.ca.gov and search for conformity.
•	 Tax Increase Prevention and Reconciliation Act of 2005
•	 Federal Energy Policy Act of 2005
•	 Pension Protection Act of 2006
Voluntary Contributions
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2006, you may 
make contributions to the California Sea Otter Fund.
Registered Domestic Partners
Beginning with the 2007 tax year, registered domestic partners are 
required to file a joint California return or separate returns using the 
same rules applicable to spouses. If you are a registered domestic 
partner, you may choose to modify your withholding or estimated tax 
payments for 2007 in anticipation of this change.
Capital Gains Distributed from Mutual Funds 
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2006, taxpayers 
can report capital gain distributions from mutual funds on 
Form 540 2EZ, if the amount reportable during the taxable year for 
federal and state purposes is the same.
Northern California Rainstorms and Related Events
For tax treatment information for victims of the northern California 
severe rainstorms and related events that occurred December 2005 
to January 2006, and March 2006 to April 2006, get FTB Pub. 1034, 
How to Claim a State Tax Deduction for Your Disaster Loss.

San Bernardino Wildfires
For tax treatment information for victims of the San Bernardino 
wildfires that occurred July 2006, get FTB Pub. 1034, How to Claim 
a State Tax Deduction for Your Disaster Loss.
Withholding on California Real Estate
For transactions occurring on or after January 1, 2007 that require 
withholding, a seller of California real estate may elect an alternative 
to withholding 3 1/3 percent of the total sales price. The seller may 
elect an alternative withholding amount based on the maximum 
tax rate for individuals, corporations, or banks and financial 
corporations, as applied to the gain on the sale. The seller is required 
to certify under penalty of perjury the alternative withholding amount 
to the Franchise Tax Board. For real estate installment sales, if a 
buyer receives seller’s certification as to an alternative withholding 
election, the buyer would be required to withhold either the full 
alternative withholding amount at the time of sale or an alternative 
withholding percentage on the amount of each installment payment.
Employer Child Care Program Credit and the Employer Child Care 
Contribution Credit
The Employer Child Care Program Credit and the Employer Child 
Care Contribution Credit has been extended to taxable years 
beginning before January 1, 2012.
The California Community Development Financial Institution Tax 
Credit (CDFI)
The CDFI Credit has been extended to taxable years beginning before 
January 1, 2012.
Teacher Retention Credit
The Teacher Retention Credit is suspended for taxable year 2006.

Other Important Information
Tax Shelter
If the individual was involved in a reportable transaction, including a 
listed transaction, the individual may have a disclosure requirement. 
Attach the federal Form 8886 to the back of the California return 
along with any other supporting schedules. If this is the first time the 
reportable transaction is disclosed on the return, send a duplicate 
copy of the federal Form 8886 to the address below. The FTB may 
impose penalties if the individual fails to file federal Form 8886, or 
any other required information. 
	 TAX SHELTER FILING MS F385
	 Franchise Tax Board 
	 PO Box 1673
	 Sacramento CA 95812-1673
Individuals must still file federal Form 8271, Investor Reporting of 
Tax Shelter Registration Number, with their California tax return 
that claims or reports any income or deduction, loss, credit, or 
other tax benefit from a registration-required tax shelter. For more 
information, see federal Form 8271 Instructions, IRS Notice 2004-80 
(2004-50 I.R.B. 963), or go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov and 
search for tax shelters.
Katrina Tax Relief Act
For more information related to Hurricane Katrina, go to our Website 
at www.ftb.ca.gov and search for disaster.



Which Form Should I Use?

Form 540 2EZ Form 540A Form 540

Filing Status

Dependents

Amount of Income

Sources of Income

Adjustments to 
Income

Standard Deduction
Itemized Deductions

Payments

Tax Credits

Other Taxes

Single, married filing jointly, head of 
household, qualifying widow(er)

0-3 allowed

Total income of:
•	 $100,000 or less if single or head of 

household
•	 $200,000 or less if married filing jointly 

or qualifying widow(er)

Only income from:
•	 Wages, salaries, tips
•	 Taxable interest, dividends, and pensions
•	 Taxable scholarship and 

fellowship grants (only if reported on 
Form(s) W-2)

•	 Capital gains from mutual funds 
(reported on Form 1099DIV, box 2a only)

•	 Unemployment compensation
•	 Paid family leave
•	 U.S. social security benefits
•	 Tier 1 and tier 2 railroad retirement 

payments
Note: You cannot use Form 540 2EZ 
if you (or your spouse) can be claimed 
as a dependent by another taxpayer, 
and your TOTAL income is less than 
or equal to $11,260 if single; $22,570 
if married filing jointly or qualifying 
widow(er); or $15,970 if head of 
household.

No adjustments to income

Allowed

No itemized deductions

Only withholding shown on 
Form(s) W-2 , CA Sch W-2, or 1099-R

•	 Personal exemption credit
•	 Up to three dependent exemption 	
	 credits
•	 Nonrefundable renter’s credit
•	 Senior exemption credit

Only tax computed using the 
540 2EZ Table

*Note: If you qualify to use 
Form 540 2EZ, go to www.ftb.ca.gov 
to e-file or to download this form, or 
see “Order Forms and Publications” on 
page 67.

Any filing status

All dependents you are entitled to claim

Any amount of income

Only income from:
•	 Wages, salaries, tips
•	 Taxable scholarship and fellowship grants
•	 Interest and dividends
•	 Unemployment compensation
	 reported on Form 1099-G
•	 Paid family leave
•	 U.S. social security benefits
•	 Tier 1 and tier 2 railroad 

retirement payments
•	 Fully and partially taxable IRA 

distributions, pensions, and annuities
•	 Alimony

Allowed if the amount is the same as your 
federal adjustments to income. 
Note: If you claimed educator expenses or 
the tuition and fees deduction, do not file 
Form 540A. Instead file Form 540. 

Allowed

Allowed if the amount is the same as your 
federal itemized deductions (except for 
state, local, and foreign taxes paid)

•	 Withholding shown on Form(s) W-2, 
CA Sch W-2, and 1099-R

•	 Estimated tax payments
•	 Payments made with extension 

voucher
•	 Excess State Disability Insurance
	 (SDI) or Voluntary Plan Disability
	 Insurance (VPDI)

•	 Personal exemption credit
•	 Senior exemption credit
•	 Blind exemption credit
•	 Dependent exemption credit
•	 Nonrefundable renter’s credit
•	 Child and Dependent Care Expenses 	

Credit

•	 Tax computed using the tax table
•	 Mental Health Services Tax

Any filing status

All dependents you are entitled to 
claim

Any amount of income

All sources of income

All adjustments to income

Allowed

All itemized deductions

•	 Withholding shown on  
Form(s) W‑2, CA Sch W-2, W-2G, 
1099, 592-B, 593-B, and 594

•	 Estimated tax payments
•	 Payments made with 

extension voucher
•	 Excess State Disability 

Insurance (SDI) or Voluntary 
Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI)

All tax credits

All taxes:
•	 Tax computed using the tax table
•	 Alternative minimum tax
•	 Tax on early distributions from
	 IRAs or other qualified 

retirement plans
•	 Tax on distributions from MSAs 

and education IRAs
•	 Tax for children under age 14 

with investment income of more 
than $1,700

•	 Tax on lump-sum distributions
•	 Recapture taxes
•	 Deferred tax on certain 

installment obligations
•	 Tax on accumulation 

distributions of trusts
•	 Mental Health Services Tax 
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Were you, and your spouse, residents during the entire year 2006?
Yes.	Check the chart below to see which form to use. 
No.	 Use the Long or Short Form 540NR. To download or order the California Nonresident or Part‑Year Resident 

Income Tax Booklet, see page 66, “Where to Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.”

e-file and you won’t have to 
decide which form to use! 
The software will select the 
correct form for you.

If you qualify to use 540 2EZ or 540A, go to 
www.ftb.ca.gov to CalFile or e-file. You’re likely to 
qualify for free!

✓Tip

✓Tip

Form not included in this 
booklet. *See the note at the 
bottom of this column.
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Additional Information
California Use Tax General Information
The use tax has been in effect in California since July 1, 1935. It applies to 
purchases from out-of-state sellers and is similar to the sales tax paid on 
purchases you make in California.
In general, you must pay California use tax on purchases made from out-of-state 
(for example, by telephone, over the internet, by mail, or in person) if:
•	 The seller does not collect California sales or use tax, and
•	 You use, give away, store, or consume the item in this state.
Example: You live in California and purchase a dining table from a company in North 
Carolina. The company ships the table from North Carolina to your home for your use 
and does not charge California sales or use tax. You owe use tax on the purchase.
Complete the Use Tax Worksheet on page 11 or page 17 to calculate the amount 
due.
Extensions to file. If you request an extension to file your income tax return, wait 
until you file your return to report your purchases subject to use tax and make 
your use tax payment.
Penalty. To avoid late payment penalties for use tax, you must report and pay the 
use tax with a timely filed income tax return.
Changes in use tax reported. Do not file an Amended Income Tax Return 
(Form 540X) to revise the use tax previously reported. If you have changes to 
the amount of use tax previously reported on the original return contact the State 
Board of Equalization.
For assistance with your use tax questions, please go to the State Board of 
Equalization’s Website at www.boe.ca.gov or call their Information Center at 
(800) 400-7115 or TTY/TDD (800) 735-2929. Income tax information is not 
available at this number.

Collection Fees
The FTB is required to assess collection and filing enforcement cost recovery fees 
on delinquent accounts.

Deceased Taxpayers
A final return must be filed for a person who died in 2006 if a return normally 
would be required. The administrator or executor, if one is appointed, or 
beneficiary must file the return. Please print “deceased” and the date of death 
next to the taxpayer’s name at the top of the return.
If you are a surviving spouse and no administrator or executor has been 
appointed, file a joint return if you did not remarry during 2006. Indicate next to 
your signature that you are the surviving spouse.
You may also file a joint return with an administrator or executor acting on behalf 
of the deceased taxpayer.
If you file a return and claim a refund due to a deceased taxpayer, you are 
certifying under penalty of perjury either that you are the legal representative of 
the deceased taxpayer’s estate (in this case, attach certified copies of the letters 
of administration or letters testamentary) or that you are entitled to the refund 
as the deceased’s surviving relative or sole beneficiary under the provisions of 
the California Probate Code. You must also attach a copy of federal Form 1310, 
Statement of Person Claiming Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer, or a copy of the 
death certificate when you file a return and claim a refund due.

Innocent Spouse Relief
You may qualify for relief from liability for tax on a joint return if (1) you were 
granted Innocent Spouse relief by the IRS, (2) there is an understatement of tax 
because you are divorced, legally separated, or no longer living with your spouse, 
and (3) given all the facts and circumstances, it would be unfair to hold you liable 
for the tax. For more information, get FTB Pub. 705, Request for Innocent Spouse 
Relief Form and Brochure – Are you eligible?, by going to our Website at  
www.ftb.ca.gov or calling (916) 845-7072, Monday - Friday between 8 a.m. to 
5 p.m. excluding state holidays.

Military Personnel
If you are a member of the military and need additional information on how to 
file your return, get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel. See 
“Order Forms and Publications” on page 67.

Homeowner and Renter Assistance
Homeowner assistance is a once-a-year payment from the State of California as 
a reimbursement for part of the property taxes you paid on your home. If eligible, 
you could receive up to 96% of the property taxes you paid in the prior year. In 
2006, you would have qualified for this assistance if you: 

•	 Were one of the following on December 31, 2005: 62 years of age or older, 
blind, or disabled; and 

•	 Owned your home and lived in it on December 31, 2005, had total household 
income of $40,811 or less, and were a U.S. citizen, designated alien, or 
qualified alien, when you file your claim.

Renter assistance is a once-a-year payment from the State of California as a 
reimbursement for part of the property taxes that you pay indirectly when you pay 
your rent. In 2006, you would have qualified for this assistance if you: 
•	 Were one of the following on December 31, 2005: 62 years of age or older, 

blind, or disabled; and 
•	 Paid $50 or more rent per month in the prior year, had total household 

income of $40,811 or less, and were a U.S. citizen, designated alien, or 
qualified alien when you file your claim. 

The 2006 filing season ends June 30, 2007.
The 2007 filing season for these programs begins July 1, 2007. For more 
information, go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov or call (800) 868-4171.

Requesting a Copy of Your Tax Return
The FTB keeps personal income tax returns for three and one-half years from the 
original due date. To obtain a copy of your return, write a letter or complete form 
FTB 3516, Request for Copy of Personal Income Tax or Fiduciary Return. In most 
cases, a $20 fee is charged for each tax year you request. However, no charge 
applies for victims of a designated California or federal disaster; or you request 
copies from a field office that assisted you in completing your return. See “Order 
Forms and Publications” on page 67.

Mello-Roos 
You cannot deduct Mello-Roos if they are assessed to fund local benefits and 
improvements that tend to increase the value of your property.  Mello-Roos taxes 
may appear on your annual county property tax bill with other deductible property 
taxes.  That does not mean you can deduct the Mello-Roos taxes. You may only 
be able to deduct a portion of the total property tax shown on your bill.  
For more information, you can:
•	 Contact your Mello-Roos District.
•	 Get federal Publication 17, Your Federal Income Taxes-Individuals, Chapter 24.

Vehicle License Fees for Federal Schedule A
On your federal Schedule A, you may deduct the California motor vehicle license 
fee listed on your Vehicle Registration Billing Notice from the Department of 
Motor Vehicles. The other fees listed on your billing notice such as registration 
fee, weight fee, and county fees are not deductible.

Voting Is Everybody’s Business
You may register to vote if you meet these requirements:
•	 You are a United States citizen;
•	 You are a resident of California;
•	 You will be 18 years old by the date of the next election; and
•	 You are not in prison or on parole for the conviction of a felony.
You need to re-register every time you move, change your name, or wish to 
change political parties. In order to vote in an election, you must be registered to 
vote at least 15 days before that election. To obtain a Voter Registration Card, call 
the California Secretary of State’s office toll-free voter hotline at (800) 345-VOTE 
or go to their Website at www.ss.ca.gov.

It’s Your Right . . . Register and Vote

If You File Electronically
If you e-file your return, make sure all the amounts entered on the paper copy 
of your California return are correct before you sign form FTB 8453, California 
e-file Return Authorization for Individuals. If you are requesting direct deposit 
of a refund, make sure your account and routing information is correct. Your 
return can be transmitted to FTB by your  preparer or electronic e-filing service 
only after you sign form FTB 8453. The preparer or electronic e-file service must 
provide you with:
•	 A copy of form FTB 8453;
•	 Any original Form(s) W-2, CA Sch W-2, W-2G, 592-B, 593-B, 594, 1099-G, 

and other Form(s) 1099 that you provided; and
•	 A paper copy of your California tax return showing the data transmitted to the 

FTB.
Note: You cannot retransmit an e-filed tax return once we’ve accepted the 
original. You can correct an error only by completing an Amended Individual 
Income Tax Return (Form 540X) and mailing the paper copy to us. See “Where To 
Get Income Tax Forms and Publications” on page 66.
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Instructions for Form 540A — California Resident Income Tax Return
References in these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2005, and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

Before You Begin
Complete your federal tax return (Form 1040, Form 1040A, or Form 1040EZ) 
before you begin your California Form 540A. You will use information from 
your federal income tax return to complete your Form 540A. Complete and 
mail Form 540A by April 16, 2007. If unable to mail your return by the due 
date, see page 2 for more information.

You may qualify for the federal earned income credit. See page 2 
for more information. No comparable state credit exists.

Name(s) and Address
Is there a label with your name and address on the front of your booklet?
	 Yes. Attach the label to your completed return. Verify your label is correct. 

Cross out any errors and print the correct information on the label.
	 No. Print your first name, middle initial, last name, and address in the 

spaces provided at the top of Form 540A. 
Private Mail Box
Include the Private Mail Box (PMB) in the address field. Write the acronym 
“PMB” first, then the box number. Example: 111 Main Street PMB 123.
Foreign Address
Enter the information in the following order: City, Country Province/Region, 
and Postal Code. Follow the country’s practice for entering the postal code. 
Do not abbreviate the country name.
Prior Name
If you filed your 2005 tax return under a different last name, write the last 
name only from your 2005 return.

Social Security Number (SSN) or Individual 
Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN)
Enter your SSN in the spaces provided. To protect your privacy, your SSN is 
not printed on your label. If filing a joint return, enter the SSNs in the same 
order as the names.
Note: If you do not have a SSN because you are a nonresident or resident 
alien for federal tax purposes, and the IRS issued you an ITIN, enter the ITIN 
in the space for the SSN. An ITIN is a tax processing number issued by the 
IRS to foreign nationals and others who have a federal tax filing requirement 
and do not qualify for a social security number. It is a nine-digit number that 
always starts with the number 9.

Filing Status
Fill in only one of the circles for line 1 through line 5. Enter the required 
additional information if you filled in the circle on line 3 or line 5. For filing 
status requirements see page 3.
Use the same filing status for California that you used for your federal 
income tax return.
Exception: If you file a joint return for federal, you may file separately for 
California if either spouse was:
•	 An active member of the United States armed forces or any auxiliary 

military branch during 2006; or
•	 A nonresident for the entire year and had no income from California 

sources during 2006.
	 Caution – Community Property States: If the spouse earning the 

California source income is domiciled in a community property state, 
community income will be split equally between the spouses. Both 
spouses will have California source income and they will not qualify for 
the nonresident spouse exception.

If you had no federal filing requirement, use the same filing status for 
California you would have used to file a federal income tax return.
Note: If you filed a joint return and either you or your spouse was a 
nonresident for 2006, you must file the Long or Short Form 540NR, 
California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return.

CalFile or e-file and you can close this book now! e-file software 
assists you in determining if you qualify to claim the head of 
household filing status. Most software companies also include the 
Head of Household Schedule (4803e), which assists in verifying 
your eligibility to the FTB. Go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov.

Exemptions
Line 6 – Can be Claimed as Dependent

Fill in the circle on line 6 if someone else can claim you as a 
dependent on his or her tax return, even if he or she chooses 
not to.

Line 7 – Personal Exemptions
Did you fill in the circle on line 6?
No	 Follow the instructions on Form 540A, line 7.
Yes	 Ignore the instructions on Form 540A, line 7. Instead, enter in the box 

on line 7 the amount shown below for your filing status:
•	 Single or married filing separately, enter -0-;
•	 Head of household, enter -0-;
•	 Married filing jointly and both you and your spouse can be
	 claimed as dependents, enter -0-; or
•	 Married filing jointly and only one spouse can be claimed as a
	 dependent, enter 1.

Caution: Do not claim this credit if someone else can claim you as a 
dependent on his or her return. 

Line 8 – Blind Exemptions
The first year you claim this exemption credit, attach a doctor’s statement to 
the back of Form 540A indicating you or your spouse are visually impaired. 
Visually impaired means not capable of seeing better than 20/200 while 
wearing glasses or contact lenses, or if your field of vision is not more than 
20 degrees.
Caution: Do not claim this credit if someone else can claim you as a 
dependent on their return. 

Line 9 – Senior Exemptions
If you were 65 years of age or older by December 31, 2006*, you should 
claim an additional exemption credit on line 9. If you are married, each 
spouse 65 years of age or older should claim an additional credit. You may 
contribute all or part of this credit to the California Seniors Special Fund. See 
page 59 for information about this fund.
*If your 65th birthday is on January 1, 2007, you are considered to be age 
65 on December 31, 2006.
Caution: Do not claim this credit if someone else can claim you as a 
dependent on their return. 

Line 10 – Dependent Exemptions
To claim an exemption credit for each of your dependents, write each 
dependent’s name and relationship to you in the space provided. If additional 
space is needed, attach a separate sheet of paper. The persons you list 
as dependents must be the same persons you listed as dependents on 
your federal income tax return. Multiply the number you entered by the 
pre‑printed dollar amount and enter the result.

Line 11 – Total Personal, Blind, and Senior Exemptions
Enter the total dollar amount of all exemptions, personal and dependents.

Taxable Income and California Income 
Adjustments
Refer to your completed federal income tax return to complete line 12a and 
line 12b.

Line 12a – State Wages
Enter the total amount of your state wages from each of your Form(s) W-2, 
box 16 or the CA Sch W-2, line C.
If you received wages and have no Form W-2, see “Filing your return” on 
page 19.

Line 13 – California Income Adjustments
California does not tax certain types of income that are taxable on your 
federal return.

Line 13a – State Income Tax Refund
Enter the amount of any state income tax refund shown on your federal 
Form 1040, line 10. If you filed Form 1040A or Form 1040EZ, enter -0-.

Line 13b – Unemployment Compensation
Enter the total of any unemployment compensation and/or Paid Family Leave 
Insurance benefits reported on federal Form(s) 1099-G and shown on your 
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federal return. These types of income are not taxed by California and should 
be included on line 13b and in the total for line 13g.

Line 13c –	 Social Security Benefits (and Tier 1 or Tier 2 
Railroad Retirement Benefits)

•	 Enter the amount of U.S. social security benefits or equivalent Tier 1 
railroad retirement benefits reported on federal Form 1040A, line 14b or 
Form 1040 line 20b.

•	 Tier 1 (non-social security equivalent) and Tier 2 railroad retirement 
benefits included in the amount on federal Form 1040A, line 12b or 
Form 1040, line 16b.

Note: Do not include any other pension amounts on this line.
If you filed Form 1040EZ, enter -0-.

Line 13d – 	California Nontaxable Interest or Dividend 
Income

California does not tax interest earned from:
•	 United States savings bonds;
•	 United States Treasury bills, notes, and bonds; and
•	 Bonds or obligations of United States territories, and government agency 

obligations specifically exempted by federal law.
Enter only the amount of interest that you received from these sources 
and that you included in the amount reported on your federal Form 1040A, 
line 8a; Form 1040, line 8a; or Form 1040EZ, line 2.
Interest from municipal or state bonds from a state other than California: 
This interest is taxed by California. You may not use Form 540A. Use 
Form 540, e-file, or CalFile.
Interest from Federal National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae) 
Bonds, Government National Mortgage Association (Ginnie Mae) Bonds, 
and Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation (FHLMC) securities: This 
interest is taxed by California. Do not enter it on line 13d.
Exempt-interest dividends from mutual funds: Certain mutual funds are 
qualified to pay “exempt-interest dividends” if at least 50% of their assets 
consist of tax-exempt government obligations. The portion of the dividends 
that are tax-exempt will be shown on your annual statement from the mutual 
fund. If the amount of California tax-exempt interest is more than the amount 
of federal tax-exempt interest, enter the difference on line 13d. If the amount 
of California tax-exempt interest is less than the amount of federal tax-exempt 
interest, you may not use Form 540A. Use Form 540, e-file, or CalFile.

Line 13e –	California Individual Retirement 
Arrangement (IRA) Distributions

Differences may exist between the taxable amounts of federal and California 
IRA distributions, pensions, and annuities. Enter any differences for line 13e 
and line 13f.
Note: You cannot use Form 540A if you have Roth IRA conversions or 
distributions. Use Form 540, e-file, or CalFile.
The method of taxing IRA distributions is generally the same for California 
and federal purposes. However, there may be significant differences in the 
taxable amount depending on when you made your contributions.
The maximum IRA contribution allowed as a deduction for California was 
less than the maximum amount allowed for federal for years 1975 and 1982 
through 1986. If you made contributions during these years, report the 
difference between the deduction you took for federal and the deduction you 
took for California on this line. For more information, get FTB Pub. 1005, 
Pension and Annuity Guidelines. See “Order Forms and Publications” on 
page 67. 
Report the difference between your California and your federal taxable IRA 
distributions on line 13e. Attach Form 1099-R to your Form 540A if tax was 
withheld. 

Line 13f –	Non-taxable Pensions and Annuities
Generally, you will not make any adjustments on this line. You should not 
make an adjustment solely because the pension was earned in another state. 
Federal and State tax laws require California residents to pay state income 
tax on all taxable pensions, regardless of where they were earned. However, 
California law treats railroad retirement benefits differently. If you received 
tier 2 railroad retirement benefits, tier 1 (non-social security equivalent) 
(included in the amount on federal Form 1040A, line 12b or Form 1040, 
line 16b), or partially taxable distributions from a pension plan, you may 
need to make the adjustment described on this page.

If you received a federal Form RRB 1099 – R for railroad retirement 
benefits and included all or part of these benefits in federal adjusted gross 
income on line 12b, enter the taxable benefit amount on line 13f.
If you began receiving a retirement annuity between July 1, 1986, and 
January 1, 1987, and you elected to use the three-year recovery rule for 
California, make an adjustment because your federal taxable amount is 
less than your California taxable amount. Figure the difference between 
the gross distribution shown on your Form 1099‑R, box 1 and the taxable 
amount shown in box 2a. Enter the difference in parentheses on line 13f. 
For example: “(12,325).”
If you received a lump-sum distribution from a profit sharing or retirement 
plan and choose the 10-year averaging method you may pay less tax on 
the distribution. To use this method file Form 540. See the instructions for 
Form 540 and get Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions (not in 
this booklet), for more information. See “Order Form and Publications” on 
page 67.
California law now conforms to certain provisions of the Internal Revenue 
Code related to pension plans and deferred compensation, as those 
provisions apply for federal purposes including amendments to the Internal 
Revenue Code that may be enacted in the future.

Line 13g –	 Total California Adjustments
Combine line 13a through line 13f. If the result is less than zero, 
enter the amount in parentheses, on Form 540A, Side 1, line 13g. For 
example, “(13,325).”

Line 14 – California Adjusted Gross Income
Subtract line 13g from line 12b. If line 13g is in parentheses, treat the 
amount as a positive number and add it to the amount on line 12b. Enter 
the result on line 14.

Line 15 –	 California Itemized Deductions or California 
Standard Deduction

Decide whether to itemize your actual charitable contributions, medical 
expenses, interest paid, taxes, etc., or take the standard deduction. Your 
California income tax will be less, if you take the larger of:
•	 Your California itemized deductions; or
•	 Your California standard deduction.
If you are married and file a separate return, you and your spouse must 
either both itemize your deductions, or both take the standard deduction.
Also, if someone else can claim you as a dependent, claim the greater 
of the standard deduction or your itemized deductions. To figure your 
standard deduction, see the California Standard Deduction Worksheet for 
Dependents on page 9.
Itemized deductions. Figure your California itemized deductions by 
completing the California Itemized Deductions Worksheet on page 9. Enter 
the result on Form 540A, line 15.
Note: If you did not itemize deductions on your federal income tax 
return but will itemize deductions for your California Form 540A, first 
complete a federal Schedule A, Itemized Deductions. Then complete the 
California Itemized Deductions Worksheet on page 9. Do not attach federal 
Schedule A to your Form 540A.
Standard deduction. Find your standard deduction on the California 
Standard Deduction Chart for Most People on this page unless you filled 
in the circle on Form 540A, line 6. In that case, use the California Standard 
Deduction Worksheet for Dependents on page 9.

California Standard Deduction Chart for Most People
Do not use this chart if someone else can claim you (or your spouse) as a 
dependent on his or her tax return.
Your Filing Status	 Enter On Line 15
1 – Single  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            $3,410
2 – Married filing jointly . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  $6,820
3 – Married filing separately . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              $3,410
4 – Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   $6,820
5 – Qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                 $6,820
Note: The California standard deduction amounts are less than the 
federal standard deduction amounts.



e-file is fast, easy, and secure!	 Instructions: Form 540A

Personal Income Tax Booklet  2006  Page �

Note: If you filled in the circle on Form 540A, line 6, enter your wages, 
salaries, and tips on the California Standard Deduction Worksheet for 
Dependents, line 1 below. If you have earned income other than wages, then 
file Form 540 and use the standard deduction worksheet for that form. 

California Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents
Use this worksheet only if someone else can claim you (or your spouse) as 
a dependent on his or her tax return.
  1.	 Enter your total wages, salaries, and tips from 

all your Form(s) W-2, box 1 or CA Sch W-2, line C. 
(You may also refer to federal Form 1040EZ, line 1; 
Form 1040A, line 7; or Form 1040, line 7.)  . . . . . . .         1____________

  2.	  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                           2	
  3.	 Add line 1 and line 2. Enter total here . . . . . . . . . . . .              3____________
  4.	 Minimum standard deduction  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   4____________
  5.	 Enter the larger of line 3 or line 4 here  . . . . . . . . . .            5____________
  6.	 Enter the amount shown for your filing status: 

•	 Single or married filing separately, 
	 enter $3,410	  . . .     6____________

	 •	 Married filing jointly, head of household, 
	 or qualifying widow(er) enter $6,820

  7.	 Standard deduction. Enter the smaller of 
line 5 or line 6 here and on Form 540A, line 15 . . . .      7____________

California Itemized Deductions Worksheet
  1.	 Federal itemized deductions: Add the amounts 

on federal Schedule A (Form 1040), 
lines 4, 9, 14, 18, 19, 26, and 27 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 1____________

  2.	 Add the following amounts from federal  
Schedule A and enter on line 2: 
•	 Line 5, state and local 
	 income tax or general sales tax:	 __________

	 •	 State Disability Insurance (SDI):	 __________
	 •	 Line 8, foreign income taxes:	 __________  2_____________ 
  3.	 Subtract line 2 from line 1. This amount is your 

total California itemized deductions  . . . . . . . . . . . . .             3_____________
  4.	 Is the amount on Form 540A, line 12b, more than 

the amount shown below for your filing status? 
Single or married filing separately . . . . . . . . .         $150,743 
Married filing jointly or  
qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   $301,491 
Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    $226,119

	 Yes	 Continue to line 5 of this worksheet
	 No 	 Enter on Form 540A, line 15, the larger of:
	 •	 The amount on line 3; or,
	 •	 Your standard deduction* shown below: 

	 Single or married filing separately . . . . . . . . .         $3,410 
	 Married filing jointly, head of household, 
	 or qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 $6,820 
Do not complete the rest of this worksheet.

  5.	 Using California amounts, add the amounts 
on federal Schedule A, line 4, line 13, line 19,  
and any gambling losses included on line 27 . . . . . .        5____________

  6.	 Subtract line 5 from line 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      6____________  
Note: If zero, skip line 7 through line 12, enter 
the amount from line 3 on line 13 and 
continue to line 14.

  7.	 Multiply line 6 by 80% (.80) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     7____________
  8.	 Amount from Form 540A, line 12b . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                8____________
  9.	 Enter the amount shown below for your 

filing status  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                 9____________
	 Single or married filing separately . . . . . . . . .         $150,743   

Married filing jointly or 
qualifying widow(er)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   $301,491   
Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     $226,119 

10.	 Subtract line 9 from line 8 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    10____________  
Note: If zero or less, skip line 11 and line 12, 
enter the amount from line 3 on line 13 and 
continue to line 14.

11.	 Multiply line 10 by 6% (.06) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   11___________

12.	 Compare line 7 and line 11. Enter the smaller 
amount here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               12___________

13.	 Total itemized deductions. Subtract line 12 
from line 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                13___________  

14.	 Enter on Form 540A, line 15, the larger of: 
The amount on line 13; or, 
Your standard deduction* shown below: 
Single or married filing separately . . . . . . . . . . .           $3,410 
Married filing jointly, head of household, 
or qualifying widow(er)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   $6,820

*Standard Deduction for Dependents
If someone else can claim you as a dependent use the standard 
deduction amount from line 7 of the “California Standard Deduction 
Worksheet for Dependents” on this page instead of the standard 
deduction amount shown above.

Tax and Credits
First figure your tax. Be sure to use the correct filing status and taxable 
income amount. Then verify you qualify to claim your credits.

Line 17 – Tax 
If your taxable income on line 16 is:
•	 $100,000 or less, use the tax table beginning on page 21.
	 Use the correct column for your filing status.
•	 Over $100,000, use the tax rate schedules on page 26. Use the correct 

tax rate schedule.
Note: To prevent possible delays in processing your return or refund, enter 
the correct tax amount on line 17. To automatically figure your tax or to 
verify your tax calculation, use our online tax calculator by going to our 
Website at www.ftb.ca.gov.

Line 18 – Exemption Credits
Use your exemption credits to reduce your tax. If your federal adjusted gross 
income (AGI) on line 12b is more than the amount shown below for your 
filing status, your credits will be limited.
If your filing status is:	 Is Form 540A, line 12b more than: 
Single or married filing separately . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          $150,743 
Married filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  $301,491 
Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                      $226,119
	 Yes	 Complete the AGI Limitation Worksheet on this page.
	 No	 Follow the instructions shown on Form 540A, line 18.

AGI Limitation Worksheet
a	 Enter the amount from Form 540A, line 12b . . . . . . . .        a_____________
b	 Enter the amount for your filing status on line b  . . . . .     b_____________
	 Single or married filing separately . . . . . . .        $150,743 

Married filing jointly or  
qualifying widow(er)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  $301,491 
Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    $226,119

c	 Subtract line b from line a . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      c_____________
d	 Divide line c by $2,500 ($1,250 if married filing 

separately) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  d_____________ 
Note: If the result is not a whole number, round 
it to the next higher whole number.

e	 Multiply line d by $6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          e_____________
f	 Add the numbers from the boxes on Form 540A, 

line 7, line 8, and line 9 (not the dollar amounts) . . . . .    f_____________
g	 Multiply line e by line f . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         g_____________
h	 Enter the total dollar amount for line 7, line 8,  

and line 9 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   h_____________ 
i	 Subtract line g from line h. If zero or less, 

enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    i_ ____________ 
j	 Enter the number from the box on Form 540A, 

line 10 (not the dollar amount)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  j_ ____________ 
k	 Multiply line e by line j . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         k_____________
l	 Enter the dollar amount (that you filled in) from 

Form 540A, line 10 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           l _____________
m	 Subtract line k from line l. If zero or less, 

enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    m____________
n	 Add line i and line m. Enter the result here and  

on Form 540A, line 18 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         n_____________

$300.00

$850.00

}

(continued on next column)
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•	 You had two or more California employers during 2006;
•	 You received more than $79,418 in wages; and
•	 The amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld appear on your Forms W-2. Be 

sure to attach your Forms W‑2 or CA Sch W-2 to your Form 540A.
If SDI (or VPDI) was withheld from your wages by a single employer at more 
than 0.8% of your gross wages, you may not claim excess SDI (or VPDI) on 
your Form 540A. Contact the employer for a refund.
To determine the amount to enter on line 27, complete the Excess SDI (or 
VPDI) Worksheet. If married filing jointly, figure the amount of excess SDI 
(or VPDI) separately for each spouse.

Excess SDI (or VPDI) Worksheet
Follow the instructions below to figure the amount to enter on Form 540A, 
line 27.

		  Your
	 You	 Spouse

 1.	 Add amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld 
shown on your Forms W-2 or CA Sch W-2. 
Enter the total here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        1_________________

 2.	 2006 SDI (or VPDI) limit  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    2_________________
 3.	 Excess SDI (or VPDI) withheld. Subtract 

line 2 from line 1. Enter the results here. 
Combine the amounts on line 3 and enter 
the total on Form 540A, line 27. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               3_________________

	 Note: If zero or less, enter -0- on line 27.

Line 28 through Line 31 –	Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses Credit

Claim this credit if you paid someone to care for your qualifying child under 
the age of 13, other dependent who is physically or mentally incapable of 
caring for him or herself, or spouse if physically or mentally incapable of 
caring for him or herself. To claim this credit, your federal adjusted gross 
income must be $100,000 or less. Complete and attach form FTB 3506, 
Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit, included in this booklet.

Line 28 and Line 29
Enter the qualifying person’s social security number (SSN). Do not enter 
more than one qualifying person’s SSN on line 28 or line 29 from form 
FTB 3506, Part III. If you have more than two qualifying persons, enter only 
the first two qualifying persons listed on form FTB 3506, Part III, line 2.

Line 30 
Enter the amount from form FTB 3506, Part III, line 8 (do not round this 
amount).

Line 31
Enter the amount from form FTB 3506, Part III, line 12 (do not round this 
amount). 
Note: If you received a refund for 2005, you may receive a Form 1099‑G, 
Certain Government Payments. The refund amount reported on your 
Form 1099-G will be different from the amount shown on your tax return if 
you claimed the Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit. This is because 
the credit is not part of the refund from withholdings or estimated tax 
payments. 

Line 33 – Overpaid Tax
If the amount on line 32 is more than the amount on line 24, your payments 
and credits are more than your tax. Subtract the amount on line 24 from the 
amount on line 32. Enter the result on line 33. This is the amount of your 
overpaid tax. If the amount on line 32 is less than the amount on line 24, go 
to line 36.

Choose e-file and Direct Deposit and get your refund faster.

Line 34 –	Amount You Want Applied To Your 2007 
Estimated Tax

If you pay estimated tax, apply all or part of the amount on line 33 to your 
2007 estimated tax. Enter on line 34 the amount of line 33 you want applied 
to your 2007 estimated tax.
An election to apply an overpayment to estimated tax is binding. Once the 
election is made, the overpayment cannot be applied to a deficiency after the 
due date of the return.

Line 19 – Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit
Did you pay rent for at least six months in 2006 on your principal residence 
located in California?
Yes	 You may qualify to claim this credit which may reduce your tax. 

Complete the qualification record on page 57.
No	 Go to line 20.

Line 22 – Mental Health Services Tax
If your taxable income is more than $1,000,000, compute the Mental Health 
Services Tax below:

	 A.	 Taxable income from Form 540A, line 16  . . . . . . . . . .           ____________
	 B.	 Less . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                        ____________ 
	 C.	 Subtotal . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     ____________
	 D.	 Multiply line C by 1% . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ____________
	 E.	 Mental Health Service Tax – 
		  Enter this amount on Form 540A, line 22  . . . . . . . . . .           ____________

Overpaid Tax or Tax Due
To avoid a delay in the processing of your return, enter the correct amounts 
on line 25 through line 36.

Line 25 – California Income Tax Withheld
Enter the total California income tax withheld on your:
•  Form(s) W-2, box 17 or CA Sch W-2, box 17
•  Form(s) W-2G, box 14
•  Form(s) 1099-R, box 10
•  Form(s) 1099-MISC, box 16

Caution: Do not include city or county tax withheld or tax withheld by other 
states.
Note: The Franchise Tax Board verifies all withholding claimed from a 
Form W-2, CA Sch W-2, W-2G, 1099-MISC, or 1099-R with the Employment 
Development Department.
If you received a Form 1099 showing California income tax withheld, 
include the amount withheld in the total on line 25 and attach a copy of the 
Form 1099 to your return.
If you do not have a Form W-2, see “Filing Your Return” on page 19.

Line 26 –	 2006 California Estimated Tax and Payment 
with Form FTB 3519

Enter the total of any:
•	 California estimated tax payments you made using 2006 Form 540‑ES;
•	 Overpayment from your 2005 California income tax return applied to your 

2006 estimated tax; and
•	 Payment you sent with form FTB 3519, Automatic Extension for 

Individuals.
Note: To view payments you have made and/or to obtain your current account 
balance, go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov and search view payments.
If you and your spouse paid joint estimated taxes but are now filing separate 
income tax returns, either of you may claim the entire amount paid, or you 
may each claim part of the joint estimated tax payments. If you want the 
estimated tax payments to be divided, notify the FTB before you file the tax 
returns so the payments can be applied to the proper account. The FTB will 
accept in writing, any divorce agreement (or court ordered settlement) or 
a statement showing the allocation of the payments along with a notarized 
signature of both taxpayers. Send statements to:
	 JOINT ESTIMATED CREDIT ALLOCATION MS F225 

TAXPAYER SERVICES CENTER
	 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
	 PO BOX 942840
	 SACRAMENTO, CA 94240-0040
Show both social security numbers or individual taxpayer identification 
numbers on your separate returns. If you or your spouse made separate 
estimated tax payments, but you are now filing a joint income tax return, add 
the amounts you each paid. Attach a statement to the front of Form 540A 
explaining that payments have been made under both social security 
numbers or individual taxpayer identification numbers.

Line 27 – Excess California SDI (or VPDI) Withheld
You may be entitled to claim a credit for excess State Disability Insurance 
(SDI) or Voluntary Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI) only if you meet all of 
the following conditions:


205

$635.34 $635.34

$(1,000,000)

          x .01

✓Tip
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Line 35 – Overpaid Tax Available This Year
If you entered an amount on line 34, subtract that amount from line 33. Enter 
the result on line 35. Choose to have this entire amount refunded to you 
or make contributions to the California Seniors Special Fund or voluntary 
contributions from this amount. If you choose to make contributions, skip 
line 36 and go to the Contributions section.

Line 36 – Tax Due
If the amount on line 32 is less than the amount on line 24, your tax is more 
than your payments and credits. Subtract the amount on line 32 from the 
amount on line 24. Enter the result on line 36. This is the amount of your tax 
due.
There is a penalty for not paying enough tax during the year. You may have 
to pay a penalty if:
•	 The tax due on line 36 is $200 ($100 if married filing separately) or more; 

and
•	 California income tax withheld on line 25 is less than 90% of the amount 

of your total tax on line 24.
Increasing your withholding could eliminate the need to make a large 
payment with your tax return. To increase your withholding, complete 
Employment Development Department (EDD) Form DE 4, Employee’s 
Withholding Allowance Certificate, and give it to your employer’s appropriate 
payroll staff. Get this form from your employer or by calling EDD at 
(888) 745-3886. You can download the DE 4 at www.edd.ca.gov or use the 
online calculator by going to www.ftb.ca.gov and searching for DE 4.
Note: Form DE 4 specifically adjusts your CA state withholding and is not the 
same as the federal Form W-4, Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate.

Use Tax
Line 37 – Use Tax – This is not a total line.
California use tax applies on purchases from out-of-state sellers (for 
example, purchases made by telephone, over the Internet, by mail, or in 
person). For questions on whether a purchase is taxable, go to the State 
Board of Equalization’s Website at www.boe.ca.gov, or call their Information 
Center at (800) 400-7115 or TTY/TDD (800) 735-2929.
You may report use tax on your income tax return instead of filing a use tax 
return with the State Board of Equalization. To report use tax on your income 
tax return, complete the Use Tax Worksheet on this page.
If you owe use tax but choose not to report it on your income tax return, 
you must report and pay the tax to the State Board of Equalization. To do so, 
download a copy of Publication 79-B, California Use Tax, from 
www.boe.ca.gov, or request a copy by calling their Information Center.
Note: Businesses that have a California seller’s permit must continue to report 
business purchases subject to use tax on their sales and use tax returns.

Use Tax Worksheet
Round all amounts to the nearest whole dollar.

 1.	 Enter your purchases from out-of-state  
sellers made without payment of 
California sales/use tax. See worksheet 
instructions on this page . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         $ ________.00

 2.	 Enter the decimal equivalent of the applicable 
sales and use tax rate. See tax rates 
on page 20 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                      ________ 

 3.	 Multiply line 1 by the tax rate on line 2. 
Enter result here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               $ ________.00

 4.	 Enter any sales or use tax you paid to another 
state for purchases included on line 1. 
See worksheet instructions on this page . . . . . . . . . . . .             $ ________.00

 5.	 Subtract line 4 from line 3. This is the total use 
tax due. Enter the amount due on line 37.  
If the amount is less than zero, enter -0-.  . . . . . . . . . . .            $ ________.00

Use Tax Penalty
To avoid late payment penalties for use tax, report and pay the use tax with a 
timely filed income tax return.
Worksheet, Line 1, Purchases Subject to Use Tax 
•	 Report items taxable in a California store. For example, include purchases 

of clothing, but not purchases of prescription medicine.
•	 Include handling charges.

•	 Do not include any other state’s sales or use tax paid on the purchases.
•	 Enter only purchases made during the year that corresponds with the tax 

return you are filing.
•	 If you traveled to a foreign country and brought items back to California, 

generally the use tax is due on the purchase price of the goods you listed 
on your U.S. Customs Declaration less the $400 per-person exemption. 
This $400 exemption does not apply to goods sent or shipped to 
California by mail or other common carrier.

•	 If your filing status is “married filing separately,” you may elect to 
report one-half of the use tax due or the entire amount on your income 
tax return. If you elect to report one-half, your spouse must report the 
remaining half on his or her income tax return or on the individual use 
tax return available from the State Board of Equalization (see discussion 
of Publication 79-B on this page).

Note: Do not report the following on your income tax return:
•	 Vehicles, vessels, and trailers that must be registered with the California 

Department of Motor Vehicles.
•	 Mobile homes or commercial coaches that must be registered annually 

as required by the Health and Safety Code.
•	 Vessels documented with the U.S. Coast Guard.
•	 Aircraft.
•	 Leases of machinery, equipment, vehicles, and other tangible personal 

property.
Worksheet, Line 2, Sales and Use Tax Rate
•	 Enter the decimal equivalent of the sales and use tax rate applicable to 

the place in California where the property is used, stored, or otherwise 
consumed. For example, the decimal equivalent of 7.25% is 0.0725, and 
the decimal equivalent of 7.375% is 0.07375.

•	 If you do not know the applicable rate, see the table on page 20, “Sales 
and Use Tax Rates by County.” If you have questions regarding the use 
tax rate in effect in your area, go to the State Board of Equalization’s 
Website at www.boe.ca.gov, or call their Information Center at 
(800) 400-7115 or TTY/TDD (800) 735‑2929.

Worksheet, Line 4, Credit for Tax Paid to Another State
•	 This is a credit for tax paid to other states. You cannot claim a credit 

greater than the amount of tax that would have been due if the purchase 
had been made in California. For example, if you paid $8.00 sales tax to 
another state for a purchase, and would have paid $6.00 in California, 
you can claim a credit of only $6.00 for that purchase.

Contributions
You may make contributions to the funds listed on Form 540A, Side 2. See 
page 59 for a description of the funds.

Line 38 – Total Contributions
Enter the amount of your total contributions on line 38. If you did not make any 
contributions, enter no amount on line 38. If you show an amount on line 35, 
subtract the amount you contribute from the amount of overpaid tax. If you 
show an amount on line 36, add the amount you contribute to your tax due.

Amount You Owe
Line 39 – Amount You Owe
Add the amount on line 36, line 37, and line 38, if any, and enter the result 
on line 39.
To avoid a late filing penalty, file your 2006 Form 540A by the extended due 
date even if unable to pay the amount you owe.
Do not combine your 2006 tax payment and any 2007 estimated tax payment 
in the same check or money order. Prepare two separate checks or money 
orders and mail each in a separate envelope.
Other Payment Options 
•	 Electronic Funds Withdrawal – Instead of paying by check or money 

order, you can use this convenient option if you e-file. Simply provide 
your bank information, amount you want to pay, and the date you want 
the balance due to be withdrawn from your account. Your tax preparation 
software will offer this option.

•	 Web Pay – Pay the amount you owe using our secure online payment 
service. Go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov and search for payment 
options.

•	 Check or Money Order – Make your check or money order payable to 
the “Franchise Tax Board.” Do not send cash. Write your social security 
number (or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number) and “2006 
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Form 540A” on the check or money order. Enclose, but do not staple, 
any payment to your return. A penalty may be imposed if your check is 
returned by your bank for insufficient funds.

	 Note: Make all checks or money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn 
against a U.S. financial institution.

•	 Credit Card – Whether you e-file or file by mail, you can use your 
Discover/NOVUS, MasterCard, Visa, or American Express card to pay 
your tax (tax return balance due, extension payment, estimated tax 
payment, or tax due with bill notice). If you pay by credit card, do not 
mail form FTB 3519 to us. Call (800) 272-9829 or go to the Official 
Payments Corp. Website at www.officialpayments.com, and use the 
jurisdiction code 1555. Official Payments Corp. charges a convenience 
fee for using this service.

Convenience Fee
•	 2.5% of the tax amount charged (rounded to the nearest cent)
•	 Minimum fee: $1
Example:
Tax Payment = $753.56  Convenience Fee = $18.84
When will my payments be effective?
Your payment is effective on the date you charge it.
What if I change my mind?
If you pay your tax liability by credit card and later reverse the credit card 
transaction, you may be subject to penalties, interest, and other fees imposed 
by the Franchise Tax Board for nonpayment or late payment of your tax liability.
How do I use my credit card to pay my income tax bill?
Once you have determined the type of payment and how much you owe, 
have the following information available:
•	 Your Discover/Novus, MasterCard, Visa, or American Express card
•	 Credit card number
•	 Expiration date
•	 Amount you are paying
•	 Your and your spouse’s SSN or ITIN
•	 First 4 letters of your and your spouse’s last name
•	 Tax year
•	 Home phone number (including area code)
•	 ZIP Code for address where your monthly credit card bill is sent
•	 FTB Jurisdiction Code: 1555
Go to the Official Payments Corp. Website at www.officialpayments.com 
and select Payment Center, or use the toll‑free number at (800) 2PAY-TAX 
or (800) 272-9829. Follow the recorded instructions. Official Payments 
Corp. will tell you the convenience fee before you complete your transaction. 
Decide whether to complete the transaction at that time.
Payment Date : __________________
Confirmation Number: ___________________
If you cannot pay the full amount or can only make a partial payment for 
the amount shown on line 40, request monthly payments. For additional 
information regarding Installment Payments, see Question 4 on page 28.

Line 40 – Underpayment of Estimated Tax
You may be subject to an estimated tax penalty if your withholding and 
credits are less than 90% of your current tax year liability or 100% of your 
prior year tax liability, or if you did not pay enough through withholding to 
keep the amount you owe with your 2006 return under $200.
Is line 36 less than $200 ($100 if married filing separately)?
Yes	 Stop. You are not subject to an estimated payment penalty.
No	 Continue. You may be subject to an estimated payment penalty.
Is line 36 less than 10% of the amount on line 24?
Yes	 Stop. You are not subject to an estimated payment penalty.
No	 You may be subject to an estimate payment penalty, get form FTB 5805, 

Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals and Fiduciaries.
If you complete form FTB 5805, attach it to the back of Form 540A. Enter the 
amount of the penalty on line 40 and fill in the circle on line 40. Complete 
and attach form FTB 5805 if you claim a waiver of the penalty or use the 
annualized income installment method.
Note: The Franchise Tax Board can figure the penalty for you when you file 
your return and send you a bill. Do not reduce the amount on line 33 or 
increase the amount on line 36 by any penalty or interest amounts.
See page 45 for information on estimated tax payments and how to avoid the 
underpayment penalty.

Refund and Direct Deposit
Line 41 – Refund or No Amount Due
If you did not enter an amount on line 37 or line 38, enter the amount 
from line 35 on line 41. This is the amount that will be refunded to you. If 
the amount is less than $1, attach a written request to your Form 540A to 
receive the refund.
Subtract line 37 and line 38 from line 35. If the result is zero or more, enter 
the result on line 41. If the combined amount of line 37 and line 38 is more 
than line 35, enter the difference on line 39.

Line 42 and Line 43 – Direct Deposit of Refund
Direct deposit is fast, safe, and convenient. To have your refund directly 
deposited into your bank account, fill in the account information on 
Form 540A, Side 2, line 42 and line 43. Fill in the routing and account 
numbers and indicate the account type. Do not attach a voided check or 
deposit slip. See the illustration below.
Individual taxpayers may request that his or her refund be electronically 
deposited into more than one checking or savings account. This allows more 
options for managing your refund. For example, you can request part of your 
refund go to your checking account to use now and the rest to your savings 
account to save for later.
The routing number must be nine digits. The first two digits must be 01 through 
12 or 21 through 32. Otherwise, the direct deposit will be rejected and a paper 
check sent instead. On the sample check, the routing number is 250250025.
Check the appropriate box for the type of account. Do not check more than 
one box for each line.
Enter the portion of your refund you want directly deposited into each 
account. Each deposit must be at least $1. The total of line 42 and line 43 
must equal the total amount of your refund.

Do not use a deposit slip to find the bank numbers. Contact your 
financial institution for assistance in getting the correct routing 
number.

Note: The Franchise Tax Board is not responsible when a financial institution 
rejects a direct deposit. If the bank or financial institution rejects the direct 
deposit due to an error in the routing number, the Franchise Tax Board will 
issue a paper check.
.

Sign Your Return
Sign your return in the space provided on Side 2. If you file a joint return, 
your spouse must sign it also.
Joint Return. If you file a joint return, both you and your spouse are gener-
ally responsible for the tax and any interest or penalties due on the return. 
This means that if one spouse neglects to pay the tax due, the other may 
have to. See “Innocent Spouse Relief” on page 6.
Mailing Your Return
Mail your return in the envelope provided in this booklet. If your return 
shows a refund or no amount due, be sure to attach the green label to the 
front of the envelope. If your return has an amount you owe, be sure to 
attach the white label to the front of the envelope.
If you have misplaced your envelope, see page 20, “Mailing your return” for the 
correct address. Or, you can also find the correct address to use by looking on 
Side 2, line 39 (amount you owe) or line 41 (refund or no amount due).

CalFile or e-file and you won’t have to do the math. Go to our 
Website at www.ftb.ca.gov.

✓Tip
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Instructions for Form 540 — California Resident Income Tax Return
Reference to these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2005, and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

Before You Begin
Complete your federal income tax return (Form 1040, Form 1040A, or 
Form 1040EZ) before you begin your California Form 540. Use information from 
your federal income tax return to complete your Form 540. Complete and mail 
Form 540 by April 16, 2007. If unable to mail your return by the due date, see 
page 2.

You may qualify for the federal earned income credit. See 
page 2 for more information. No comparable state credit exists.

Filling in your return 
•	 Use black or blue ballpoint pen on the copy you send FTB.
•	 Enter your social security number(s) (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer 

Identification Number(s) (ITIN) at the top of Form 540A or Form 540, Side 1.
•	 Print numbers and CAPITAL LETTERS on combed lines. Be sure to line 

up dollar amounts.
•	 Round cents to the nearest whole dollar. For example, round $50.50 up 

to $51 or round $25.49 down to $25.
•	 If you do not have an entry for a line, leave it blank unless the 

instructions for a line specifically tell you to enter zero. Do not enter a 
dash, or the word “NONE.”

•	 Attach your label. If you don’t have a label, please print your name(s) and 
address in CAPITAL LETTERS.

Name(s) and Address
Is there a label with your name and address on the front of your booklet?
	 Yes. Attach the label to your completed return. Verify your label is correct. 

Cross out any errors and print the correct information on the label.
	 No. Print your first name, middle initial, last name, and address in the 

spaces provided at the top of Form 540.
Private Mail Box
Include the Private Mail Box (PMB) in the address field. Write the acronym 
“PMB” first, then the box number. Example: 111 Main Street PMB 123.
Foreign Address
Enter the information in the following order: City, Country, Province/Region, 
and Postal Code. Follow the country’s practice for entering the postal code. 
Do not abbreviate the country name.
Principal Business Activity Code
Enter the numeric principal business activity code from federal Schedule C, 
line B.
For instructions on how to enter your SSN (or ITIN) and Exemptions, see 
Form 540A instructions on page 7.
Prior Name
If you filed your 2005 tax return under a different last name, write the last 
name only from the 2005 tax return.

Taxable Income
Refer to your completed federal income tax return to complete this section.

Line 12 – State Wages
Enter the total amount of your state wages from all states from 
each of your Form(s) W-2, or CA Sch W-2. This amount appears 
on Form W-2, box 16, or CA Sch W-2, line C.

If you received wages and do not have a Form W-2, see “Attachments to 
your return” on page 19.

Line 14 –	California Adjustments – Subtractions 
[from Schedule CA (540), line 37, column B]

If there are no differences between your federal and California income or 
deductions, do not file a Schedule CA (540).
If there are differences between your federal and California income or 
deductions, complete Schedule CA (540), California Adjustments – Residents. 
Follow the instructions for Schedule CA (540) beginning on page 50. Enter on 
line 14 the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 37, column B. If a negative 
amount, see Schedule CA (540), line 37 instructions, page 55.

Line 15 – Subtotal
Subtract the amount on line 14 from the amount on line 13. Enter the result 
on line 15. If the amount on line 13 is less than zero, combine the amounts on 
line 13 and line 14 and enter the result in parentheses. For example: “(12,325).”

Line 16 –	California Adjustments – Additions 
[from Schedule CA (540), line 37, column C]

If there are differences between your federal and California income 
or deductions, complete Schedule CA (540), California Adjustments 
– Residents. Follow the instructions for Schedule CA (540) beginning on 
page 50. Enter on line 16 the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 37, 
column C. If a negative amount, see Schedule CA (540), line 37 instructions, 
page 55.

Line 18 –	California Itemized Deductions or California 
Standard Deduction

Decide whether to itemize your charitable contributions, medical expenses, 
interest paid, taxes, etc., or take the standard deduction. Your California 
income tax will be less if you take the larger of:
	 •	 Your California itemized deductions; or
	 •	 Your California standard deduction.
If married and file separate returns, you and your spouse must either both 
itemize your deductions or both take the standard deduction.
Also, if someone else can claim you as a dependent, you may claim the 
greater of the standard deduction or your itemized deductions. To figure your 
standard deduction, use the California Standard Deduction Worksheet for 
Dependents on this page.
Itemized deductions. Figure your California itemized deductions by 
completing Schedule CA (540), Part II, line 38 through line 44. Enter the 
result on Form 540, line 18. 
Note: If you did not itemize deductions on your federal income tax return but 
will itemize deductions for your California Form 540, first complete a sample 
federal Schedule A, Itemized Deductions. Then complete Schedule CA (540), 
Part II, line 38 through line 44. Attach both the federal Schedule A and 
California Schedule CA (540) to the back of your return.
Standard deduction. Find your standard deduction on the California 
Standard Deduction Chart for Most People on this page. If you filled in the 
circle on Form 540, line 6, use the California Standard Deduction Worksheet 
for Dependents on this page.

California Standard Deduction Chart for Most People
Do not use this chart if your parent, or someone else, can claim you 
(or your spouse) as a dependent on his or her tax return.
Your Filing Status	 Enter On Line 18
1 – Single  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            $3,410
2 – Married filing jointly . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  $6,820
3 – Married filing separately . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              $3,410
4 – Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   $6,820
5 – Qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                 $6,820
Note: The California standard deduction amounts are less than the federal 
standard deduction amounts.

California Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents
Use this worksheet only if your parent, or someone else, can claim you (or 
your spouse) as a dependent on his or her tax return.
1.	 Enter your earned income from: line 1 of the 

“Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents’’ 
in the instructions for federal Form 1040; 
Form 1040A; or from line B of the worksheet 
on the back of Form 1040EZ.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    1____________

2.	 Minimum standard deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    2____________
3.	 Enter the larger of line 1 or line 2 here . . . . . . . . . . .             3____________
4.	 Enter the amount shown for your filing status: 

•	 Single or married filing separately, 
	 enter $3,410                           . . . .      4____________

	 •	 Married filing jointly, head of household,   
	 or qualifying widow(er), enter $6,820

5.	 Standard deduction. Enter the smaller of 
line 3 or line 4 here and on Form 540, line 18 . . . . . .        5____________

Line 19 – Taxable Income
Capital Construction Fund (CCF). If you claim a deduction on your federal 
Form 1040, line 43 for the contribution made to a capital construction 
fund set up under the Merchant Marine Act of 1936, reduce the amount 
you contributed on line 19 by the amount of the deduction. Next to line 19, 
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enter “CCF” and the amount of the deduction. For details, see federal 
Publication 595, Capital Construction Fund for Commercial Fishermen.

Tax
When figuring your tax, use the correct filing status and taxable income 
amount.

Line 20 – Tax
To figure your tax, use one of the following methods and fill in the matching 
circle on line 20:
•	 Tax Table. If your taxable income on line 19 is $100,000 or less, use the 

tax table beginning on page 21. Use the correct filing status column in 
the tax table.

•	 Tax Rate Schedules. If your taxable income on line 19 is over $100,000, 
use the tax rate schedules on page 26.

•	 FTB 3800. Generally, use form FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Children 
Under Age 14 with Investment Income, to figure the tax on a separate 
Form 540 for your child who was under age 14 on January 1, 2007, and 
who had more than $1,700 of investment income. Attach form FTB 3800 
to the child’s Form 540.

•	 FTB 3803. If, as a parent, you elect to report your child’s interest and 
dividend income of $8,500 or less (but not less than $850) on your 
return, complete form FTB 3803, Parents’ Election to Report Child’s 
Interest and Dividends. File a separate form FTB 3803 for each child 
whose income you elect to include on your Form 540. Add the amount 
of tax, if any, from each form FTB 3803, line 9, to the amount of your tax 
from the tax table or tax rate schedules and enter the result on Form 540, 
line 20. Attach form(s) FTB 3803 to your return.

Note: To prevent possible delays in processing your return or refund, enter 
the correct tax amount on this line. To automatically figure your tax or to 
verify your tax calculation, use our online tax calculator by going to our 
Website at www.ftb.ca.gov.

CalFile or e-file and you won’t have to do the math. Go to our 
Website at www.ftb.ca.gov.

Line 21 – Exemption Credits
Exemption credits reduce your tax. If your federal adjusted gross income 
(AGI) on line 13 is more than the amount shown below for your filing status, 
your credits will be limited.
If your filing status is:	 Is Form 540, line 13 more than:
Single or married filing separately . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          $150,743
Married filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  $301,491
Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                      $226,119
	 Yes	 Complete the AGI Limitation Worksheet on this page.
	 No	 Follow the instructions on Form 540, line 21.

AGI Limitation Worksheet
	 a	 Enter the amount from Form 540, line 13  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                a _________
	 b	 Enter the amount for your filing status on line b: 

Single or married filing separately  . . . . . . . . . .          $150,743
		  Married filing jointly or qualifying widow(er)  . .  $301,491  . . . .    b _________
		  Head of household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      $226,119
	 c	 Subtract line b from line a . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             c	_________
	 d	 Divide line c by $2,500 ($1,250 if married filing separately).  

Note: If the result is not a whole number, round it to the  
next higher whole number  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            d	_________ 

	 e	 Multiply line d by $6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                 e _________
	 f	 Add the numbers from the boxes on Form 540, line 7, 

line 8, and line 9 (not the dollar amounts)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                f 	_________
	 g	 Multiply line e by line f  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               g	_________ 
	 h	 Enter the total dollar amount for line 7, line 8, and line 9 . . . . .     h	_________ 
	 i	 Subtract line g from line h. If zero or less, enter -0- . . . . . . . . .         i	 _________ 
	 j	 Enter the number from the box on Form 540, line 10 

(not the dollar amount) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               j	 _________ 
	 k	 Multiply line e by line j  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               k	_________ 
	 l	 Enter the dollar amount (that you filled in) from 

Form 540, line 10 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   l 	_________
	 m	 Subtract line k from line l. If zero or less, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . .          m_________ 
	 n	 Add line i and line m. Enter the result here and on 

Form 540, line 21 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   n	_________ 

Line 23 – Tax from Schedule G-1 and Form FTB 5870A
If you received a qualified lump-sum distribution in 2006 and you were born 
before January 2, 1936, get Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions, 
to figure your tax by special methods that may result in less tax. 
If you received accumulation distributions from foreign trusts or from certain 
domestic trusts, get form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation Distribution of 
Trusts, to figure the additional tax.
To get these forms, see “Order Forms and Publications” on page 67. 

Special Credits and Nonrefundable Renter’s 
Credit
A variety of California tax credits are available to reduce your tax if you 
qualify. To figure and claim most special credits, you must complete a 
separate form or schedule and attach it to your Form 540. The Credit Chart 
on page 58 describes the credits and provides the name, credit code, and 
number of the required form or schedule. Many credits are limited to a 
certain percentage or a certain dollar amount. In addition, the total amount 
you may claim for all credits is limited by tentative minimum tax (TMT). 
Answer the following questions before you claim credits on your tax return.
1.	 Do you qualify to claim the nonrefundable renter’s credit? Complete the 

qualification record on page 57.
	 Check   Yes or  No, then go to Question 2.
2.	 Are you claiming any other special credit listed on the Credit Chart on 

page 58?
No	 If you checked “Yes” for Question 1 and entered an amount on 

Form 540, line 28, go to line 29. If you checked “No” for Question 1, 
skip to the instructions for line 30.

Yes	Figure your credit using the form, schedule, worksheet, or certificate 
identified on the Credit Chart. Then go to Box A to see if the total 
amount you may claim for all credits is limited by TMT. If you 
checked “Yes” for Question 1, verify you entered your nonrefundable 
renter’s credit on line 28.

Box A –	Did you complete federal Schedule C, D, E, or F and claim or receive 
any of the following (Note: If your business gross receipts are less than 
$1,000,000 from all trades or businesses, you do not have to report 
AMT. For more information, see line 31 instructions, on page 15.):

	 •	 Accelerated depreciation in excess of straight-line;
	 •	 Intangible drilling costs;
	 •	 Depletion;
	 •	 Circulation expenditures;
	 •	 Research and experimental expenditures;
	 •	 Mining exploration/development costs;
	 •	 Amortization of pollution control facilities;
	 •	 Income/loss from tax shelter farm activities;
	 •	 Income/loss from passive activities;
	 •	 Income from long-term contracts using the percentage of 

	 completion method;
	 •	 Pass-through AMT adjustment from an estate or trust
		  reported on Schedule K-1 (541); or
	 •	 Excluded gain on the sale of qualified small business stock.
	 Yes		 Complete Schedule P (540). See “Order Forms and Publications”  

		  on page 67.
	 No		  Go to Box B.

Box B – Did you claim or receive any of the following:
	 •	 Investment interest expense; & 226
	 •	 Income from incentive stock options in excess of the amount 

	 reported on your return; or & 225
	 •	 Income from installment sales of certain property.
	 Yes		 Complete Schedule P (540). See “Order Forms and Publications”  

		  on page 67.
	 No		  Go to Box C.

Box C – If your filing status is:	 Is Form 540, line 17 more than:
	 Single or head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           $207,888
	 Married filing jointly or qualifying widow(er)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              $277,183
	 Married filing separately . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              $138,591
	 Yes		 Complete Schedule P (540). See “Order Forms and Publications”  

		  on page 67.
	 No		  Your credits are not limited. Go to the instructions for 

		  Form 540, line 25.
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Line 25 through Line 27 – Additional Special Credits
A code number identifies each credit. To claim only one or two credits, enter 
the credit name, code number, and amount of the credit on line 25 and 
line 26. To claim more than two credits, use Schedule P (540), Part III. See 
“Order Forms and Publications” on page 67. List two of the credits on line 25 
and line 26. Enter the total of any remaining credits from Schedule P (540) 
on line 27.
Important: Attach Schedule P (540) and any supporting schedules or 
statements to your Form 540.
Carryovers: If you claim a credit with carryover provisions and the amount 
of the credit available this year exceeds your tax, carry over any excess 
credit to future years until the credit is used (unless the carryover period 
is a fixed number of years). If you claim a credit carryover for an expired 
credit, use form FTB 3540, Credit Carryover Summary, to figure the amount 
of the credit. Otherwise, enter the amount of the credit on Schedule P (540), 
Part III, and do not attach form FTB 3540.

Credit for Joint Custody Head of Household — Code 170
Note: You may not claim this credit if you used either the head of household 
or qualifying widow(er) filing status.
Claim the credit if unmarried at the end of 2006 (or if married, you lived apart 
from your spouse for all of 2006 and you used the married filing separately 
filing status); and if you furnished more than one-half the household 
expenses for your home that also served as the main home of your child, 
step-child, or grandchild for at least 146 days but not more than 219 days 
of the taxable year. If the child is married, you must be entitled to claim a 
dependent exemption credit for the child.
Also, the custody arrangement for the child must be part of a decree of 
dissolution or legal separation or part of a written agreement between the 
parents where the proceedings have been initiated, but a decree of dissolution 
or legal separation has not yet been issued.
Use the worksheet below to figure the joint custody head of household 
credit.
1.	 Enter the amount from Form 540, line 24  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              	 1 _______
2.	 Credit percentage — 30% . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          	 2 _______
3.	 Credit amount. Multiply line 1 by line 2. 

Enter the result or $363, whichever is less . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              	 3 _______
If you qualify for the credit for Joint Custody Head of Household and the 
Credit for Dependent Parent, claim only one credit. Select the credit that 
allows the maximum benefit. 

Credit for Dependent Parent — Code 173
Note: You may not claim the credit for dependent parent if you used the 
single, head of household, qualifying widow(er), or married filing jointly filing 
status.
Claim this credit only if:
•	 You were married at the end of 2006 and you used the married filing 

separately filing status; and
•	 Your spouse was not a member of your household during the last six 

months of the year; and
•	 You furnished over one-half the household expenses for your dependent 

mother’s or father’s home, whether or not she or he lived in your home.
To figure the amount of this credit, use the worksheet above for the credit 
for joint custody head of household. If you qualify for the Credit for Joint 
Custody Head of Household and the Credit for Dependent Parent, claim only 
one. Select the credit that will allow the maximum benefit.

Credit for Senior Head of Household — Code 163
You may claim this credit if you:
•	 Were 65 years of age or older on December 31, 2006*;
•	 Qualified as a head of household in 2004 or 2005 by providing a 

household for a qualifying individual who died during 2004 or 2005; and
•	 Did not have adjusted gross income over $58,963 for 2006.
*	If your 65th birthday is on January 1, 2007, you are considered to be 

age 65 on December 31, 2006.
Note: If you meet all the conditions listed above, you do not need to qualify 
to use the head of household filing status for 2006 in order to claim this 
credit.

Use this worksheet to figure this credit.
1.	 Enter the amount from Form 540, line 19  . . . . . . . . . . . . .              	 1________
2.	 Credit percentage — 2% . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           	 2________
3.	 Credit amount. Multiply line 1 by line 2. 

Enter the result or $1,111, whichever is less . . . . . . . . . . .            	 3________

Credit for Child Adoption Costs — Code 197
For the year in which an adoption decree or an order of adoption is entered 
(e.g., adoption is final), claim a credit for 50% of the cost of adopting a child 
who was both: 
•	 A citizen or legal resident of the United States; and
•	 In the custody of a California public agency or a California political 

subdivision.
Treat a prior unsuccessful attempt to adopt a child (even when the costs 
were incurred in a prior year) and a later successful adoption of a different 
child as one effort when computing the cost of adopting the child. Include 
the following costs if directly related to the adoption process:
•	 Fees for Department of Social Services or a licensed adoption agency.
•	 Medical expenses not reimbursed by insurance. 
•	 Travel expenses for the adoptive family.
Note: 
•	 This credit does not apply when a child is adopted from another country 

or another state, or was not in the custody of a California public agency 
or a California political subdivision.

•	 Any deduction for the expenses used to claim this credit must be reduced 
by the amount of the child adoption costs credit claimed.

Use the worksheet below to figure this credit. If more than one adoption 
qualifies for this credit, complete a separate worksheet for each adoption. 
The maximum credit is limited to $2,500 per minor child.
1.	 Enter qualifying costs for the child . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    	 1________
2.	 Credit percentage — 50% . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          	 2________
3.	 Credit amount. Multiply line 1 by line 2. 

Do not enter more than $2,500  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      	 3________
Your allowable credit is limited to $2,500 for 2006. Carry over the excess 
credit to future years until the credit is used.

Line 28 – Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit
Did you pay rent for at least six months in 2006 on your principal residence 
located in California?
Yes	 You may qualify to claim this credit which may reduce your tax. 

Complete the qualification record on page 57.
No 	 Go to line 29.

Line 30 – Subtract the amount on line 29 from the amount on line 24. 
Enter the result on line 30. If the amount on line 29 is more than the amount 
on line 24, enter -0-. If you owe interest on deferred tax from installment 
obligations, include the additional tax, if any, in the amount you enter on 
line 30. Write “IRC Section 453 interest” or “IRC Section 453A interest” and 
the amount on the dotted line to the left of the amount on line 30.

Other Taxes
Attach the specific form or statement required for each item below.

Line 31 – Alternative Minimum Tax (AMT)
If you claim certain types of deductions, exclusions, and credits, you may 
owe AMT if your total income is more than: 
•	 $73,916 married filing jointly or qualifying widower(er); or
•	 $55,437 single or head of household; or
•	 $36,956 married filing separately
A child under age 14 may owe AMT if the sum of the amount on line 19 
(taxable income) and any preference items listed on Schedule P (540) and 
included on the return is more than the sum of $5,500 and the child’s earned 
income.
AMT income does not include income, adjustments, and items of tax 
preference related to any trade or business of a qualified taxpayer who has 
gross receipts, less returns and allowances, during the taxable year of less 
than $1,000,000 from all trades or businesses.
Get Schedule P (540) for more information. See “Order Forms and 
Publications” on page 67.
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Line 32 – Mental Health Services Tax
If your taxable income is more than $1,000,000, compute the Mental Health 
Services Tax below:
	 A.	 Taxable income from Form 540, line 19 . . . . . . . . . . . . ____________
	 B.	 Less . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                        ____________
	 C.	 Subtotal . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     ____________
	 D.	 Multiply line C by 1% . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ____________
	 E.	 Mental Health Services Tax – Enter this amount 

here and on Form 540, line 32 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    ____________

Line 33 – Other Taxes and Credit Recapture
If you received an early distribution of a qualified retirement plan and were 
required to report additional tax on your federal return, you may also be 
required to report additional tax on your California tax return. Get form 
FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (including IRAs) and Other 
Tax-Favored Accounts. If required to report additional tax, report it on line 33 
and write “FTB 3805P” to the left of the amount.
California conforms to federal law for income received under IRC section 409A 
on a nonqualified deferred compensation plan. Income received under IRC 
section 409A is subject to an additional 20% tax plus interest. Include the 
additional tax, if any, on line 33. Write “NQDC” on the dotted line to the left of 
the amount.
If you used form(s)
•	 FTB 3501, Employer Child Care Program/Contribution Credit; 
•	 FTB 3508, Solar or Wind Energy System Credit; 
•	 FTB 3805Z, Enterprise Zone Deduction and Credit Summary; 
•	 FTB 3806, Los Angeles Revitalization Zone (LARZ) Deduction and Credit 

Summary; 
•	 FTB 3807, Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area Deduction and 

Credit Summary; 
•	 FTB 3808, Manufacturing Enhancement Area Credit Summary; or 
•	 FTB 3809, Targeted Tax Area Deduction and Credit Summary; 
Include the additional tax, if any, on line 33. Write the form number on the 
dotted line to the left of the amount on line 33.

Payments
To avoid a delay in the processing of your return, enter the correct amounts 
on line 36 through line 43.

Line 36 – California Income Tax Withheld
Enter the total California income tax withheld from your:
•	 Form(s) W-2, box 17;	 •	 Form(s) 1099-MISC, box 16; or
•	 CA Sch. W-2; 	 	 •	 Form(s) 1099-R, box 10.
•	 Form(s) W-2G, box 14;
Note: The Franchise Tax Board verifies all withholding claimed from 
Form W‑2, CA Sch. W-2, Form W-2G, 1099-MISC, or 1099-R with the 
Employment Development Department.
Caution: Do not include city, local, or county tax withheld or tax withheld by 
other states. Do not include withholding from Forms 592-B, 593-B, or 594, 
on this line. For more details, see instructions for line 38 on this page.
Caution: Generally, tax should not be withheld on Form 1099-MISC. If 
you want to pre-pay tax on income reported on Form 1099-MISC, use 
Form 540‑ES, Estimated Tax for Individuals. 

Line 37 – 2006 CA Estimated Tax and Other Payments
Enter the total of any:
•	 California estimated tax payments you made using 2006 Form 540‑ES or 

Web Pay;
•	 Overpayment from your 2005 California income tax return that you 

applied to your 2006 estimated tax;
•	 Payment you sent with form FTB 3519, Automatic Extension for 

Individuals; and
•	 California estimated tax payments made on your behalf by an estate, 

trust, or S Corporation on Schedule K-1 (541) or Schedule K-1 (100S).
Note: To view payments made or get your current account 
balance, go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov and search for 
view payments.

If you and your spouse paid joint estimated taxes but are now filing separate 
income tax returns, either of you may claim the entire amount paid, or each 
may claim part of the joint estimated tax payments. If you want the estimated 
tax payments to be divided, notify the FTB before you file the tax returns so 
the payments can be applied to the proper account. The FTB will accept in 
writing, any divorce agreement (or court ordered settlement) or a statement 

showing the allocation of the payments along with a notarized signature of 
both taxpayers.
Send statements to:
	 JOINT ESTIMATED CREDIT ALLOCATION MS F225
	 TAXPAYER SERVICES CENTER
	 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
	 PO BOX 942840
	 SACRAMENTO, CA 94240-0040
If you or your spouse made separate estimated tax payments, but are now 
filing a joint income tax return, add the amounts you each paid. Attach a 
statement to the front of Form 540 explaining that payments were made 
under both social security numbers.
Note: You do not have to make estimated tax payments if you are a 
nonresident or new resident of California in 2007 and did not have a 
California tax liability in 2006.

Line 38 – Real Estate and Other Withholding
Enter the total of California withholding from the sale of real estate, 
Form 593-B or California payments, Forms 592-B or 594 on this line. Attach a 
copy of Forms 592-B, 593-B, or 594, to the lower front of Form 540, Side 1.
Caution: Do not include withholding from Form(s) W-2, CA Sch. W-2, 
Form(s) W-2G, or Form(s) 1099 on this line.

Line 39 – Excess California SDI (or VPDI) Withheld
You may claim a credit for excess State Disability Insurance (SDI) or 
Voluntary Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI) if you meet all of the following 
conditions:
•	 You had two or more California employers during 2006;
•	 You received more than $79,418 in wages; and
•	 The amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld appear on your Forms W-2 or 

CA Sch W-2. Be sure to attach your Forms W‑2 or CA Sch W-2 to your 
Form 540.

If SDI (or VPDI) was withheld from your wages by a single employer, at 
more than 0.8% of your gross wages, you may not claim excess SDI (or 
VPDI) on your Form 540. Contact the employer for a refund.
To determine the amount to enter on line 39, complete the Excess SDI (or 
VPDI) Worksheet below. If married filing jointly, figure the amount of excess 
SDI (or VPDI) separately for each spouse.

Excess SDI (or VPDI) Worksheet
Follow the instructions below to figure the amount of income tax to enter 
on Form 540, line 39. If you are married and file a joint return, you must 
figure the amount of excess SDI (or VPDI) separately for each spouse.

			   Your
		  You	 Spouse

 1.	 Add amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld 
shown on your Forms W-2. Enter the 
total here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                1_________________

 2.	 2006 SDI (or VPDI) limit . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    2_________________
 3.	 Excess SDI (or VPDI) withheld. Subtract 

line 2 from line 1. Enter the results here. 
Combine the amounts on line 3 and enter 
the total on Form 540, line 39 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                3_________________

	 Note: If zero or less, enter -0- on line 39.

Line 40 through Line 43 –	 Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses Credit

Claim this credit if you paid someone to care for your qualifying child under 
the age of 13, other dependent who is physically or mentally incapable of 
caring for him or herself, or spouse if physically or mentally incapable of 
caring for him or herself. The care must be provided in California. To claim 
this credit, your federal adjusted gross income must be less than or equal 
to $100,000 and you must complete and attach form FTB 3506, Child and 
Dependent Care Expenses Credit, included in this booklet.

Line 40 and Line 41
Enter the qualifying person’s social security number. Do not enter more than 
one qualifying person’s SSN on line 40 or line 41 from form FTB 3506, Part 
III, line 2. If you have more than two qualifying persons, enter only the first 
two qualifying persons listed on form FTB 3506, Part III, line 2.

Line 42
Enter the amount from form FTB 3506, Part III, line 8 (do not round this 
amount). 

$(1,000,000)

x  .01

✓Tip
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Line 43
Enter the credit amount from form FTB 3506, Part III, line 12 (do not round 
this amount).

Line 44
For the Claim of Right credit, follow the reporting instructions in 
Schedule CA (540) under the Claim of Right. 
Claim of Right: If you are claiming the tax deduction on your California 
return, include the amount of the credit in the total for this line. Write in 
“IRC 1341” and the amount of the credit to the left of the amount column.
Caution: To determine if you are entitled to this deduction, refer to your prior 
year California 540/540A, 540NR Long Form, Schedule CA (540), Schedule 
CA (540NR), column E, to verify the amount was included in your CA taxable 
income. If the amount repaid under a “Claim of Right” was not originally 
taxed by California, you are not entitled to claim the deduction.

Overpaid Tax or Tax Due
Note: If you received a refund for 2005, you may receive a Form 1099‑G, 
Certain Government Payments. The refund amount reported on your 
Form 1099-G will be different from the amount shown on your tax return if 
you claimed the Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit. This is because 
the credit is not part of the refund from withholding or estimated tax 
payments.
To avoid delay in processing of your return, enter the correct amounts on 
line 45 through line 48.

Line 45 – Overpaid Tax
If the amount on line 44 is more than the amount on line 34, your payments 
and credits are more than your tax. Subtract the amount on line 34 from the 
amount on line 44. Enter the result on line 45. 

Choose e-file and Direct Deposit and get your refund faster.

Line 46 –	Amount You Want Applied to Your 2007 
Estimated Tax

Apply all or part of the amount on line 45 to your estimated tax for 2007. 
Enter on line 46 the amount of line 45 that you want applied to your 2007 
estimated tax.
An election to apply an overpayment to estimated tax is binding. Once the 
election is made, the overpayment cannot be applied to a deficiency after the 
due date of the return.

Line 47 – Overpaid Tax Available This Year
If you entered an amount on line 46, subtract it from the amount on line 45. 
Enter the result on line 47. Choose to have this entire amount refunded 
to you, make contributions to the California Seniors Special Fund (see 
page 59), or make other voluntary contributions from this amount. If you 
make a contribution, skip line 48 and go to the Use Tax section of the tax 
return.

Line 48 – Tax Due
If the amount on line 44 is less than the amount on line 34, subtract the 
amount on line 44 from the amount on line 34. Enter the result on line 48. 
Your tax is more than your payments and credits.
There is a penalty for not paying enough tax during the year. You may have 
to pay a penalty if:
•	 The tax due on line 48 is $200 or more ($100 or more if married filing 

separately); and
•	 The amount of state income tax withheld on line 36 is less than 90% of 

the amount of your total tax on line 34.
If this applies to you, go to line 67.
Increasing your withholding could eliminate the need to make a large 
payment with your tax return. To increase your withholding, complete 
Employment Development Department (EDD) Form DE 4, Employee’s 
Withholding Allowance Certificate, and give it to your employer’s appropri-
ate payroll staff. Get this form from your employer or by calling EDD at 
(888) 745-3886. Download the DE 4 at www.edd.ca.gov or use the online 
calculator by going to www.ftb.ca.gov and searching for DE 4.
Note: Form DE 4 specifically adjusts your California state withholding and is 
not the same as the federal Form W-4, Employee’s Withholding Allowance 
Certificate.

Use Tax
Line 49 – Use Tax. This is not a total line.
As explained on page 6, California use tax applies to purchases from 
out-of‑state sellers (for example, purchases made by telephone, over the 
Internet, by mail, or in person).
You may report use tax on your income tax return instead of filing a 
use tax return with the State Board of Equalization. To report use tax on 
your income tax return, complete the Use Tax Worksheet on this page. 
For questions on whether a purchase is taxable, go to the State Board of 
Equalization’s Website at www.boe.ca.gov, or call their Information Center 
at (800) 400‑7115 or TTY/TDD (800) 735-2929.
If you owe use tax but choose not to report it on your income tax return, 
you must report and pay the tax to the State Board of Equalization. To do so, 
download a copy of Publication 79-B, California Individual Use Tax, from  
www.boe.ca.gov or request a copy by calling the State Board of 
Equalization’s Information Center.
Use Tax Penalty
Failure to timely report and pay the use tax due may result in the assessment 
of penalties.
Note: Businesses that have a California seller’s permit must continue to 
report business purchases subject to use tax on their sales and use tax 
returns.
See page 6 for a general explanation of California use tax.

Use Tax Worksheet
Round all amounts to the nearest whole dollar.

 1.	 Enter purchases from out-of-state sellers made  
without payment of California sales/use tax.  
See worksheet instructions below . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  $ ________.00

 2.	 Enter the decimal equivalent of the applicable sales 
and use tax rate. See chart on page 20 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                ___________   

 3.	 Multiply line 1 by the tax rate on line 2. 
Enter result here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                $ ________.00

 4.	 Enter any sales or use tax you paid to another state for 
purchases included on line 1. See worksheet 
instructions below and on page 18 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  $ ________.00

 5.	 Subtract line 4 from line 3. This is the total use tax due. 
Enter the amount due on line 49. If the amount is 
less than zero, enter -0-.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         $ ________.00

Worksheet, Line 1, Purchases Subject to Use Tax
•	 Report items that would have been taxable in a California store. For 

example, you would include purchases of clothing, but not purchases of 
prescription medicine.

•	 Include handling charges.
•	 Do not include any other state’s sales or use tax paid on the purchases.
•	 Enter only purchases made during the year that corresponds with the tax 

return you are filing.
•	 If you traveled to a foreign country and brought items back to California, 

generally the use tax is due on the purchase price of the goods you listed 
on your U.S. Customs Declaration less the $400 per‑person exemption. 
This $400 exemption does not apply to goods sent or shipped to 
California by mail or other common carrier.

•	 If your filing status is “married filing separately,” you may elect to 
report one-half of the use tax due or the entire amount on your income 
tax return. If you elect to report one-half, your spouse may report the 
remaining half on his or her income tax return or on the individual use 
tax return available from the State Board of Equalization (see discussion 
of Publication 79-B on this page).

Note: Do not report the following on your income tax return:
•	 Vehicles, vessels, and trailers that must be registered with the 

Department of Motor Vehicles.
•	 Mobile homes or commercial coaches that must be registered annually 

as required by the Health and Safety Code.
•	 Vessels documented with the U.S. Coast Guard.
•	 Aircraft.
•	 Leases of machinery, equipment, vehicles, and other tangible personal 

property.

✓Tip
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Worksheet, Line 2, Sales and Use Tax Rate
•	 Enter the decimal equivalent of the sales and use tax rate applicable to 

the place in California where the property is used, stored, or otherwise 
consumed. For example, the decimal equivalent of 7.25% is 0.0725, and 
the decimal equivalent of 7.375% is 0.07375.

•	 If you do not know the applicable rate, see the table on page 20, “Sales 
and Use Tax Rates by County.” If you have questions regarding the use tax 
rate in effect in your area, please go to the State Board of Equalization’s 
Website at www.boe.ca.gov or call their Information Center at  
(800) 400-7115 or TTY/TDD (800) 735-2929.

Worksheet, Line 4, Credit for Tax Paid to Another State
•	 This is a credit for tax paid to other states. You cannot claim a credit 

greater than the amount of tax that would have been due if the purchase 
had been made in California. For example, if you paid $8.00 sales tax to 
another state for a purchase, and would have paid $6.00 in California, you 
can claim a credit of only $6.00 for that purchase.

Contributions
To make contributions, see the funds listed on Form 540, Side 2. See page 59 
for a description of the funds.

Amount You Owe
Add or subtract correctly to figure the amount you owe.

Line 65 – Amount You Owe
Add the amount on line 48, line 49, and line 64, if any. Enter the result on 
line 65.
To avoid a late filing penalty, file your Form 540 by the extended due date 
even if you cannot pay the amount you owe.
Payment Options 
•	 Electronic Funds Withdrawal – Instead of paying by check or money 

order, use this convenient option if you e-file. Simply provide your bank 
information, amount you want to pay, and the date you want the balance 
due to be withdrawn from your account. Your tax preparation software will 
offer this option.

•	 Web Pay – Pay the amount you owe using our secure online payment 
service. Go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov for more information.

•	 Check or Money Order – Make your check or money order payable to the 
“Franchise Tax Board.” Do not send cash. Write your SSN or ITIN and 
“2006 Form 540” on the check or money order. Enclose, but do not staple, 
your payment with your return. 

	 Note: Make all checks or money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn 
against a U.S. financial institution. Do not combine your 2006 tax payment 
and any 2007 estimated tax payment in the same check. Prepare two 
separate checks and mail each in a separate envelope.

	 A penalty may be imposed if your check is returned by your bank for 
insufficient funds.

•	 Credit Card – Use your Discover/NOVUS, MasterCard, Visa, or American 
Express card to pay your tax. If you pay by credit card, do not mail 
form FTB 3519 to us. Call (800) 272-9829 or visit the Official Payments 
Corp. Website at www.officialpayments.com, and use the jurisdiction 
code 1555. Official Payments Corp. charges a convenience fee for using 
this service.

Paying by Credit Card – Whether you e-file or file by mail, use your 
Discover/Novus, MasterCard, Visa, or American Express card to pay your 
personal income taxes (tax return balance due, extension payment, estimated 
tax payment, or tax due with bill notice). There is a convenience fee for this 
service. This fee is paid directly to Official Payments Corp. based on the 
amount of your tax payment.
Convenience Fee
•	 2.5% of the tax amount charged (rounded to the nearest cent)
•	 Minimum fee: $1
Example:
Tax Payment = $753.56  Convenience Fee = $18.84
When will my payments be effective?
Your payment is effective on the date you charge it.
What if I change my mind?
If you pay your tax liability by credit card and later reverse the credit card 
transaction, you may be subject to penalties, interest, and other fees imposed 
by the Franchise Tax Board for nonpayment or late payment of your tax 
liability.

How do I use my credit card to pay my income tax bill?
Once you have determined the type of payment and how much you owe, have 
the following ready:
•	 Your Discover/Novus, MasterCard, Visa, or American Express card
•	 Credit card number
•	 Expiration date
•	 Amount you are paying
•	 Your and your spouse’s SSN or ITIN
•	 First 4 letters of your and your spouse’s last name
•	 Tax year
•	 Home phone number (including area code)
•	 ZIP Code for address where your monthly credit card bill is sent
•	 FTB Jurisdiction Code: 1555
Go to the Official Payments Corp. Website at www.officialpayments.com 
and select Payment Center, or use the toll-free number at (800) 2PAY-TAX or 
(800) 272-9829. Follow the recorded instructions. Official Payments Corp. will 
tell you the convenience fee before you complete your transaction. You can 
decide whether to complete the transaction at that time.
Payment Date: __________________
Confirmation Number: ___________________
If you cannot pay the full amount or can only make a partial payment for 
the amount shown on line 68, see the information regarding Installment 
Payments on page 28.

Interest and Penalties
If you file your return or pay your tax after the due date, you may owe interest 
and penalties on the tax due.
Note: Do not reduce the amount on line 45 or increase the amount on line 48 
by any penalty or interest amounts. Enter on line 66 the amount of interest 
and penalties.

Line 66 – Interest and Penalties
Interest. Interest will be charged on any late filing or late payment penalty 
from the original due date of the return to the date paid. In addition, if other 
penalties are not paid within 15 days, interest will be charged from the date of 
the billing notice until the date of payment. Interest compounds daily and the 
interest rate is adjusted twice a year. The FTB Website has a chart of interest 
rates in effect since 1976. Go to www.ftb.ca.gov and search for interest.
Late Filing of Return. The maximum total penalty is 25% of the tax not paid 
if the return is filed after October 15, 2007. The minimum penalty for filing a 
return more than 60 days late is $100 or 100% of the balance due, whichever 
is less.
Late Payment of Tax. The penalty is 5% of the tax not paid when due plus 
1/2% for each month, or part of a month, the tax remains unpaid. However, 
the underpayment penalty may be waived where 90% of the tax shown on the 
return is paid by the original due date of the return.
Penalties. To avoid late payment penalties for use tax, you must report and 
pay the use tax with a timely filed income tax return.
Other Penalties. We may impose other penalties if a payment is returned for 
insufficient funds. We may also impose penalties for negligence, substantial 
understatement of tax, and fraud.

Line 67 – Underpayment of Estimated Tax
You may be subject to an estimated tax penalty if any of the following is true: 
•	 Your withholding and credits are less than 90% of your current tax year 

liability,
•	 Your withholding and credits are less than or 100% of your prior year tax 

liability (110% if AGI is more than $150,000 or $75,000 if married filing 
separately),

•	 You did not pay enough through withholding to keep the amount you owe 
with your return under $200.

The Franchise Tax Board can figure the penalty for you when you file your 
return and send you a bill. 
Is line 48 less than $200 ($100 if married filing separately)?
Yes	 Stop. You are not subject to an estimated payment penalty.
No	 Continue. You may be subject to an estimate payment penalty.
Is line 48 less than 10% of the amount on line 30 (excluding the tax on 
lump‑sum distributions on line 23)?
Yes	 Stop. You are not subject to an estimated payment penalty.
No	 You may be subject to an estimate payment penalty, get form FTB 5805, 

Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals and Fiduciaries (or 
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form FTB 5805F, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Farmers and 
Fishermen).

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2005, the underpayment 
of estimated tax penalty shall not apply to the extent the underpayment 
of an installment was created or increased by any provision of law that is 
chaptered during and operative for the taxable year of the underpayment. 
To request a waiver of the underpayment of estimated tax penalty, get form 
FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals and Fiduciaries or 
form FTB 5805F, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Farmers and Fisherman.
If you complete one of these forms, attach it to the back of your Form 540. 
Enter the amount of the penalty on line 67 and fill in the correct circle 
on line 67. Complete and attach the form if you claim a waiver, use the 
annualized income installment method, or pay tax according to the schedule 
for farmers and fishermen, even if you do not owe a penalty.
See page 2, Important due dates, for more information on estimated tax 
payments and how to avoid the underpayment penalty.
See the instructions for line 68 for information about figuring your payment, 
if any.

Line 68 – Total Amount Due
Is there an amount on line 65?
Yes	 Add line 65, line 66 and line 67. Enter the result on line 68. For payment 

options, see line 65 instructions.
No	 Go to line 69.
Note: Make all checks or money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn 
against a U.S. financial institution.

Refund or No Amount Due
Line 69 – Refund or No Amount Due
Did you report amounts on line 49, line 64, line 66, or line 67?
No	 Enter the amount from line 47 on line 69. This is your refund amount.  

If it is less than $1, attach a written statement to your Form 540 
requesting the refund.

Yes	 Combine the amounts from line 49, line 64, line 66, or line 67.  If the 
result is:

More than line 47, subtract line 47 from the sum of line 49, line 64, line 66, 
and line 67 and enter the result on line 68. This is your total amount due. For 
payment options, see line 65 instructions.
Less than line 47, subtract the sum of line 49, line 64, line 66, and line 67 
from line 47 and enter on line 69. This is your refund amount.
Want a fast refund? Get your refund in 10 days or less when you e-file your 
return.

Direct Deposit (Refund Only)
Line 70 and Line 71 – Direct Deposit of Refund
Direct deposit is fast, safe, and convenient. To have your refund directly 
deposited into your bank account, fill in the account information on 
Form 540, Side 2, line 70 and line 71. Fill in the routing and account 
numbers and indicate the account type. Do not attach a voided check or 
deposit slip. See the illustration in the next column.
Individual taxpayers may request that his or her refund be electronically 
deposited into more than one checking or savings account. This allows more 
options for managing your refund. For example, you can request part of your 
refund go to your checking account to use now and the rest to your savings 
account to save for later.
The routing number must be nine digits. The first two digits must be 01 
through 12 or 21 through 32. Otherwise the direct deposit will be rejected 
and a paper check will be sent instead. On the sample check, the routing 
number is 250250025.
Check the appropriate box for the type of account. Do not check more than 
one box for each line.  
Enter the portion of your refund you want directly deposited into each 
account. Each deposit must be at least $1. The total of line 70 and line 71 
must equal the total amount of your refund.

Do not use a deposit slip to find the bank numbers. Contact 
your financial institution for assistance in getting the correct 
routing number.

Note: The Franchise Tax Board is not responsible when a financial institution 
rejects a direct deposit. If the bank or financial institution rejects the direct 
deposit due to an error in the routing number, the Franchise Tax Board will 
issue a paper check.

Sign Your Return
You must sign your return in the space provided on Side 2. If you file a 
joint return, your spouse must sign it also. See below for more information 
on verifying and checking information on your return, attachments to your 
return, and assembling and mailing your return.
Joint Return. If you file a joint return, both you and your spouse are 
generally responsible for the tax and any interest or penalties due on the 
return. This means that if one spouse does not pay the tax due, the other 
may be liable. See “Innocent Spouse Relief,” on page 6.
For information about Power of Attorney, go to our Website at  
www.ftb.ca.gov.

Filing Your Return
Attachments to your return
Do I need to attach a copy of federal Form 1040?

Form 540A Filers:
Do not attach a copy of your federal 1040 return to Form 540A.

Form 540 Filers:
Did you attach any federal forms or schedules other than Schedule A or 
Schedule B to your federal Form 1040?
If No, do not attach a copy of your federal 1040 return to Form 540.
If Yes, attach a copy of your federal 1040 return and all supporting federal 
forms and schedules to Form 540.
Exception: If you did not itemize deductions on your federal tax return but 
will itemize deductions on your California tax return, complete and attach 
a copy of the federal Schedule A to Form 540.

Note: Please do not attach any documents to your return unless specifically 
instructed. This will help us reduce government processing and storage 
costs.
Form(s) W-2, W-2G, 592-B, 593-B, 594, and 1099: Make sure to attach all 
the Form(s) W-2 and W-2G you received to the front of your return. If you 
completed CA Sch W-2, attach CA Sch W-2 behind Side 2 of the tax return.
If you do not receive your Form(s) W-2 by January 31, 2007, contact your 
employer. Only your employer can issue or correct a Form W-2. If you 
cannot get a copy of your Form W-2, you must complete form FTB 3525, 
Substitute for Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, or Form 1099-R, 
Distributions From Pensions, Annuities, Retirement or Profit Sharing Plans, 
IRAs, Insurance Contracts, etc. See “Order Forms and Publications” on 
page 67 or go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov.
If you forget to send your Form(s) W-2 or other withholding forms with your 
income tax return, do not send them separately, or with another copy of your 
return. Wait until the Franchise Tax Board requests them from you. 
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Assembling Your Return
Assemble your return in the order shown below.

Mailing your return
Mail your return using the envelope provided in this booklet. If your return 
shows a refund or no amount due, be sure to attach the green label to the 
front of the envelope. The address is:
	 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 

PO BOX 942840 
SACRAMENTO CA  94240-0002

If your return has an amount due, be sure to attach the white label to the 
front of the envelope. The address is:
	 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 

PO BOX 942867 
SACRAMENTO CA  94267-0001

Sales and Use Tax Rates by County
(Includes state, local, and district taxes)

As of December 31, 2006

County	 Rate
Alameda . . . . . . . . . . . . .             8.75%
Alpine . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               7.25%
Amador  . . . . . . . . . . . . .             7.25%
Butte  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               7.25%
Calaveras . . . . . . . . . . . .            7.25%
Colusa . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              7.25%
Contra Costa1 . . . . . . . . .         8.25%
Del Norte . . . . . . . . . . . .            7.25%
El Dorado1  . . . . . . . . . . .           7.25%
Fresno1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              7.975%
Glenn . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               7.25%
Humboldt1 . . . . . . . . . . .           7.25%
Imperial1  . . . . . . . . . . . .            7.75%
Inyo . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                7.75%
Kern . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                7.25%
Kings . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               7.25%
Lake1  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               7.25%
Lassen . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              7.25%
Los Angeles1  . . . . . . . . .         8.25%
Madera . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              7.25%
Marin1  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              7.75%
Mariposa . . . . . . . . . . . .            7.75%
Mendocino1 . . . . . . . . . .          7.25%
Merced1 . . . . . . . . . . . . .             7.25%
Modoc . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              7.25%
Mono . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               7.25%
Monterey1  . . . . . . . . . . .           7.25%
Napa . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                7.75%
Nevada1 . . . . . . . . . . . . .             7.375%

County	 Rate
Orange1  . . . . . . . . . . . . .             7.75%
Placer . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               7.25%
Plumas . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              7.25%
Riverside . . . . . . . . . . . .            7.75%
Sacramento . . . . . . . . . .          7.75%
San Benito1  . . . . . . . . . .          7.25%
San Bernardino1 . . . . . . .       7.75%
San Diego1 . . . . . . . . . . .           7.75%
San Francisco  . . . . . . . .        8.50%
San Joaquin1  . . . . . . . . .         7.75%
San Luis Obispo . . . . . . .       7.25%
San Mateo . . . . . . . . . . .           8.25%
Santa Barbara  . . . . . . . .        7.75%
Santa Clara . . . . . . . . . . .           8.25%
Santa Cruz1  . . . . . . . . . .          8.00%
Shasta . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              7.25%
Sierra . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               7.25%
Siskiyou . . . . . . . . . . . . .             7.25%
Solano . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              7.375%
Sonoma1  . . . . . . . . . . . .            7.75%
Stanislaus  . . . . . . . . . . .           7.375%
Sutter . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               7.25%
Tehama  . . . . . . . . . . . . .             7.25%
Trinity . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               7.25%
Tulare1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              7.25%
Tuolumne1 . . . . . . . . . . .           7.25%
Ventura  . . . . . . . . . . . . .             7.25%
Yolo1  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               7.25%
Yuba . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                7.25%

1	 Many cities in California impose a district tax, which results in a higher 
sales and use tax rate than in other parts of the county.  If you are 
reporting an item that was purchased for use in any of the following cities, 
please use the appropriate tax rate shown below. The following tax rates 
apply within the city limits of the listed community.  

County	 City 	 Citywide Rate
Contra Costa . . . . . . . .        Richmond  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        8.75% 
El Dorado  . . . . . . . . . .          Placerville  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        7.50%
El Dorado . . . . . . . . . . .           South Lake Tahoe . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  7.75%
Fresno  . . . . . . . . . . . . .Clovis . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           8.275%
Humboldt  . . . . . . . . . .          Trinidad  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          8.25%
Imperial  . . . . . . . . . . .           Calexico (effective 4/01/2006) a . . . . . . . .        7.75%
Lake  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              Clearlake  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         7.75%
Lake . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               Lakeport . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         7.75%
Los Angeles  . . . . . . . .        Avalon . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           8.75%
Marin . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              San Rafael (effective 4/01/2006) b . . . . . .      8.25%
Mendocino . . . . . . . . . .          Fort Bragg  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        7.75%
Mendocino  . . . . . . . . .         Point Arena  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       7.75%
Mendocino . . . . . . . . . .          Ukiah . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            7.75%
Mendocino  . . . . . . . . .         Willits . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           7.75%
Merced . . . . . . . . . . . . .Los Banos  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        7.75%
Merced . . . . . . . . . . . . .Merced (effective 4/01/2006) c . . . . . . . . .        7.75%
Monterey . . . . . . . . . . .           Salinas (effective 4/01/2006) d . . . . . . . . .         7.75%
Monterey . . . . . . . . . . .           Sand City . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         7.75%
Nevada  . . . . . . . . . . . .            Town of Truckee . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   7.875%
Orange . . . . . . . . . . . . .             Laguna Beach (effective 7/01/2006) k  . . .   8.25%
San Benito . . . . . . . . . .          San Juan Bautista  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  8.00%
San Bernardino . . . . . .      Montclair . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         8.00%
San Diego  . . . . . . . . . .          El Cajon . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          8.25%
San Diego  . . . . . . . . . .          National City (effective 10/01/2006) l . . . .    8.75%
San Joaquin . . . . . . . . .         Stockton . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         8.00%
Santa Cruz . . . . . . . . . .          Capitola . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          8.25%
Santa Cruz  . . . . . . . . .         Santa Cruz  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       8.25%
Santa Cruz . . . . . . . . . .          Scotts Valley (effective 4/01/2006) e  . . . .    8.50%
Sonoma  . . . . . . . . . . .           Sebastopol . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        8.00%
Sonoma . . . . . . . . . . . .            Santa Rosa . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       8.00%
Tulare . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              Dinuba (effective 4/01/2006) f . . . . . . . . .         8.00%
Tulare . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              Farmersville . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       7.75%
Tulare . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              Porterville (effective 4/01/2006) g  . . . . . .      7.75%
Tulare . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              Tulare (effective 4/01/2006) h . . . . . . . . . .          7.75%
Tulare  . . . . . . . . . . . . .             Visalia  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           7.50%
Tuolumne . . . . . . . . . . .           Sonora . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           7.75%
Yolo  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              Davis . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            7.75%
Yolo  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              West Sacramento  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  7.75%
Yolo  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              Woodland (effective 10/1/06) i,j  . . . . . . . .        7.75%

a	 The tax rate in Calexico prior to April 1, 2006, was 8.25%.
b	 The tax rate in San Rafael prior to April 1, 2006, was 7.75%.
c	 The tax rate in City of Merced prior to April 1, 2006, was 7.25%.
d	 The tax rate in Salinas prior to April 1, 2006, was 7.25%.
e	 The tax rate in Scotts Valley prior to April 1, 2006, was 8.00%.
f	 The tax rate in Dinuba prior to April 1, 2006, was 7.25%.
g	 The tax rate in Porterville prior to April 1, 2006, was 7.25%.
h	 The tax rate in City of Tulare prior to April 1, 2006, was 7.25%.
i	 The tax rate in Woodland prior to July 1, 2006, was 7.75%.  
j	 The tax rate in Woodland from July 1, 2006 to September 30, 2006, 

was 7.25%.
k	 The tax rate in Laguna Beach prior to July 1, 2006, was 7.75%.
l	 The tax rate in National City prior to October 1, 2006, was 7.75%.

Copy of other state tax return (if required)

Copy of federal return (if required)
Supporting California Schedules

CA Sch W-2

Side
 2Side

 1

Form 540

W-2
W-2G
1099
592-B
593-B
594

Enclose, but do not 
staple, any payment.

Form 540
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To Find Your Tax:
•	 Read down the column labeled “If Your Taxable Income Is . . .” to find the range that includes your taxable income from Form 540, line 19 or 
	 Form 540A, line 16. 
•	 Read across the columns labeled “The Tax For Filing Status” until you find the tax that applies for your taxable income and filing status.
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Filing status:  1 or 3 (Single; Married Filing Separately)    2 or 5 (Married Filing Jointly; Qualifying Widow(er))    4 (Head of Household)
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	 $1	 $50	 $0	 $0	 $0
	 51	 150	 1	 1	 1
	 151	 250	 2	 2	 2
	 251	 350	 3	 3	 3
	 351	 450	 4	 4	 4

	 451	 550	 5	 5	 5
	 551	 650	 6	 6	 6
	 651	 750	 7	 7	 7
	 751	 850	 8	 8	 8
	 851	 950	 9	 9	 9

	 951	 1,050	 10	 10	 10
	 1,051	 1,150	 11	 11	 11
	 1,151	 1,250	 12	 12	 12
	 1,251	 1,350	 13	 13	 13
	 1,351	 1,450	 14	 14	 14

	 1,451	 1,550	 15	 15	 15
	 1,551	 1,650	 16	 16	 16
	 1,651	 1,750	 17	 17	 17
	 1,751	 1,850	 18	 18	 18
	 1,851	 1,950	 19	 19	 19

	 1,951	 2,050	 20	 20	 20
	 2,051	 2,150	 21	 21	 21
	 2,151	 2,250	 22	 22	 22
	 2,251	 2,350	 23	 23	 23
	 2,351	 2,450	 24	 24	 24

	 2,451	 2,550	 25	 25	 25
	 2,551	 2,650	 26	 26	 26
	 2,651	 2,750	 27	 27	 27
	 2,751	 2,850	 28	 28	 28
	 2,851	 2,950	 29	 29	 29

	 2,951	 3,050	 30	 30	 30
	 3,051	 3,150	 31	 31	 31
	 3,151	 3,250	 32	 32	 32
	 3,251	 3,350	 33	 33	 33
	 3,351	 3,450	 34	 34	 34

	 3,451	 3,550	 35	 35	 35
	 3,551	 3,650	 36	 36	 36
	 3,651	 3,750	 37	 37	 37
	 3,751	 3,850	 38	 38	 38
	 3,851	 3,950	 39	 39	 39

	 3,951	 4,050	 40	 40	 40
	 4,051	 4,150	 41	 41	 41
	 4,151	 4,250	 42	 42	 42
	 4,251	 4,350	 43	 43	 43
	 4,351	 4,450	 44	 44	 44

	 4,451	 4,550	 45	 45	 45
	 4,551	 4,650	 46	 46	 46
	 4,651	 4,750	 47	 47	 47
	 4,751	 4,850	 48	 48	 48
	 4,851	 4,950	 49	 49	 49

	 4,951	 5,050	 50	 50	 50
	 5,051	 5,150	 51	 51	 51
	 5,151	 5,250	 52	 52	 52
	 5,251	 5,350	 53	 53	 53
	 5,351	 5,450	 54	 54	 54

	 5,451	 5,550	 55	 55	 55
	 5,551	 5,650	 56	 56	 56
	 5,651	 5,750	 57	 57	 57
	 5,751	 5,850	 58	 58	 58
	 5,851	 5,950	 59	 59	 59

	 5,951	 6,050	 60	 60	 60
	 6,051	 6,150	 61	 61	 61
	 6,151	 6,250	 62	 62	 62
	 6,251	 6,350	 63	 63	 63
	 6,351	 6,450	 64	 64	 64

	 6,451	 6,550	 65	 65	 65
	 6,551	 6,650	 66	 66	 66
	 6,651	 6,750	 68	 67	 67
	 6,751	 6,850	 70	 68	 68
	 6,851	 6,950	 72	 69	 69

	 6,951	 7,050	 74	 70	 70
	 7,051	 7,150	 76	 71	 71
	 7,151	 7,250	 78	 72	 72
	 7,251	 7,350	 80	 73	 73
	 7,351	 7,450	 82	 74	 74

	 7,451	 7,550	 84	 75	 75
	 7,551	 7,650	 86	 76	 76
	 7,651	 7,750	 88	 77	 77
	 7,751	 7,850	 90	 78	 78
	 7,851	 7,950	 92	 79	 79

	 7,951	 8,050	 94	 80	 80
	 8,051	 8,150	 96	 81	 81
	 8,151	 8,250	 98	 82	 82
	 8,251	 8,350	 100	 83	 83
	 8,351	 8,450	 102	 84	 84

	 8,451	 8,550	 104	 85	 85
	 8,551	 8,650	 106	 86	 86
	 8,651	 8,750	 108	 87	 87
	 8,751	 8,850	 110	 88	 88
	 8,851	 8,950	 112	 89	 89

	 8,951	 9,050	 114	 90	 90
	 9,051	 9,150	 116	 91	 91
	 9,151	 9,250	 118	 92	 92
	 9,251	 9,350	 120	 93	 93
	 9,351	 9,450	 122	 94	 94

	 9,451	 9,550	 124	 95	 95
	 9,551	 9,650	 126	 96	 96
	 9,651	 9,750	 128	 97	 97
	 9,751	 9,850	 130	 98	 98
	 9,851	 9,950	 132	 99	 99

	 9,951	 10,050	 134	 100	 100
	 10,051	 10,150	 136	 101	 101
	 10,151	 10,250	 138	 102	 102
	 10,251	 10,350	 140	 103	 103
	 10,351	 10,450	 142	 104	 104

	 10,451	 10,550	 144	 105	 105
	 10,551	 10,650	 146	 106	 106
	 10,651	 10,750	 148	 107	 107
	 10,751	 10,850	 150	 108	 108
	 10,851	 10,950	 152	 109	 109

	 10,951	 11,050	 154	 110	 110
	 11,051	 11,150	 156	 111	 111
	 11,151	 11,250	 158	 112	 112
	 11,251	 11,350	 160	 113	 113
	 11,351	 11,450	 162	 114	 114

	 11,451	 11,550	 164	 115	 115
	 11,551	 11,650	 166	 116	 116
	 11,651	 11,750	 168	 117	 117
	 11,751	 11,850	 170	 118	 118
	 11,851	 11,950	 172	 119	 119

	 11,951	 12,050	 174	 120	 120
	 12,051	 12,150	 176	 121	 121
	 12,151	 12,250	 178	 122	 122
	 12,251	 12,350	 180	 123	 123
	 12,351	 12,450	 182	 124	 124

	 12,451	 12,550	 184	 125	 125
	 12,551	 12,650	 186	 126	 126
	 12,651	 12,750	 188	 127	 127
	 12,751	 12,850	 190	 128	 128
	 12,851	 12,950	 192	 129	 129

	 12,951	 13,050	 194	 130	 130
	 13,051	 13,150	 196	 131	 131
	 13,151	 13,250	 198	 132	 132
	 13,251	 13,350	 200	 134	 133
	 13,351	 13,450	 202	 136	 135

	 13,451	 13,550	 204	 138	 137
	 13,551	 13,650	 206	 140	 139
	 13,651	 13,750	 208	 142	 141
	 13,751	 13,850	 210	 144	 143
	 13,851	 13,950	 212	 146	 145

	 13,951	 14,050	 214	 148	 147
	 14,051	 14,150	 216	 150	 149
	 14,151	 14,250	 218	 152	 151
	 14,251	 14,350	 220	 154	 153
	 14,351	 14,450	 222	 156	 155

	 14,451	 14,550	 224	 158	 157
	 14,551	 14,650	 226	 160	 159
	 14,651	 14,750	 228	 162	 161
	 14,751	 14,850	 230	 164	 163
	 14,851	 14,950	 232	 166	 165

	 14,951	 15,050	 234	 168	 167
	 15,051	 15,150	 236	 170	 169
	 15,151	 15,250	 238	 172	 171
	 15,251	 15,350	 240	 174	 173
	 15,351	 15,450	 242	 176	 175

	 15,451	 15,550	 244	 178	 177
	 15,551	 15,650	 246	 180	 179
	 15,651	 15,750	 248	 182	 181
	 15,751	 15,850	 252	 184	 183
	 15,851	 15,950	 256	 186	 185

	 15,951	 16,050	 260	 188	 187
	 16,051	 16,150	 264	 190	 189
	 16,151	 16,250	 268	 192	 191
	 16,251	 16,350	 272	 194	 193
	 16,351	 16,450	 276	 196	 195

	 16,451	 16,550	 280	 198	 197
	 16,551	 16,650	 284	 200	 199
	 16,651	 16,750	 288	 202	 201
	 16,751	 16,850	 292	 204	 203
	 16,851	 16,950	 296	 206	 205

	 16,951	 17,050	 300	 208	 207
	 17,051	 17,150	 304	 210	 209
	 17,151	 17,250	 308	 212	 211
	 17,251	 17,350	 312	 214	 213
	 17,351	 17,450	 316	 216	 215

	 17,451	 17,550	 320	 218	 217
	 17,551	 17,650	 324	 220	 219
	 17,651	 17,750	 328	 222	 221
	 17,751	 17,850	 332	 224	 223
	 17,851	 17,950	 336	 226	 225

	 17,951	 18,050	 340	 228	 227
	 18,051	 18,150	 344	 230	 229
	 18,151	 18,250	 348	 232	 231
	 18,251	 18,350	 352	 234	 233
	 18,351	 18,450	 356	 236	 235

	 18,451	 18,550	 360	 238	 237
	 18,551	 18,650	 364	 240	 239
	 18,651	 18,750	 368	 242	 241
	 18,751	 18,850	 372	 244	 243
	 18,851	 18,950	 376	 246	 245

	 18,951	 19,050	 380	 248	 247
	 19,051	 19,150	 384	 250	 249
	 19,151	 19,250	 388	 252	 251
	 19,251	 19,350	 392	 254	 253
	 19,351	 19,450	 396	 256	 255
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	 19,451	 19,550	 400	 258	 257
	 19,551	 19,650	 404	 260	 259
	 19,651	 19,750	 408	 262	 261
	 19,751	 19,850	 412	 264	 263
	 19,851	 19,950	 416	 266	 265

	 19,951	 20,050	 420	 268	 267
	 20,051	 20,150	 424	 270	 269
	 20,151	 20,250	 428	 272	 271
	 20,251	 20,350	 432	 274	 273
	 20,351	 20,450	 436	 276	 275

	 20,451	 20,550	 440	 278	 277
	 20,551	 20,650	 444	 280	 279
	 20,651	 20,750	 448	 282	 281
	 20,751	 20,850	 452	 284	 283
	 20,851	 20,950	 456	 286	 285

	 20,951	 21,050	 460	 288	 287
	 21,051	 21,150	 464	 290	 289
	 21,151	 21,250	 468	 292	 291
	 21,251	 21,350	 472	 294	 293
	 21,351	 21,450	 476	 296	 295

	 21,451	 21,550	 480	 298	 297
	 21,551	 21,650	 484	 300	 299
	 21,651	 21,750	 488	 302	 301
	 21,751	 21,850	 492	 304	 303
	 21,851	 21,950	 496	 306	 305

	 21,951	 22,050	 500	 308	 307
	 22,051	 22,150	 504	 310	 309
	 22,151	 22,250	 508	 312	 311
	 22,251	 22,350	 512	 314	 313
	 22,351	 22,450	 516	 316	 315

	 22,451	 22,550	 520	 318	 317
	 22,551	 22,650	 524	 320	 319
	 22,651	 22,750	 528	 322	 321
	 22,751	 22,850	 532	 324	 323
	 22,851	 22,950	 536	 326	 325

	 22,951	 23,050	 540	 328	 327
	 23,051	 23,150	 544	 330	 329
	 23,151	 23,250	 548	 332	 331
	 23,251	 23,350	 552	 334	 333
	 23,351	 23,450	 556	 336	 335

	 23,451	 23,550	 560	 338	 337
	 23,551	 23,650	 564	 340	 339
	 23,651	 23,750	 568	 342	 341
	 23,751	 23,850	 572	 344	 343
	 23,851	 23,950	 576	 346	 345

	 23,951	 24,050	 580	 348	 347
	 24,051	 24,150	 584	 350	 349
	 24,151	 24,250	 588	 352	 351
	 24,251	 24,350	 592	 354	 353
	 24,351	 24,450	 596	 356	 355

	 24,451	 24,550	 600	 358	 357
	 24,551	 24,650	 604	 360	 359
	 24,651	 24,750	 608	 362	 361
	 24,751	 24,850	 612	 364	 363
	 24,851	 24,950	 618	 366	 365

	 24,951	 25,050	 624	 368	 367
	 25,051	 25,150	 630	 370	 369
	 25,151	 25,250	 636	 372	 371
	 25,251	 25,350	 642	 374	 373
	 25,351	 25,450	 648	 376	 375

	 25,451	 25,550	 654	 378	 377
	 25,551	 25,650	 660	 380	 379
	 25,651	 25,750	 666	 382	 381
	 25,751	 25,850	 672	 384	 383
	 25,851	 25,950	 678	 386	 385

	 25,951	 26,050	 684	 388	 387
	 26,051	 26,150	 690	 390	 389
	 26,151	 26,250	 696	 392	 391
	 26,251	 26,350	 702	 394	 393
	 26,351	 26,450	 708	 396	 395

	 26,451	 26,550	 714	 398	 397
	 26,551	 26,650	 720	 400	 399
	 26,651	 26,750	 726	 402	 401
	 26,751	 26,850	 732	 404	 403
	 26,851	 26,950	 738	 406	 405

	 26,951	 27,050	 744	 408	 407
	 27,051	 27,150	 750	 410	 409
	 27,151	 27,250	 756	 412	 411
	 27,251	 27,350	 762	 414	 413
	 27,351	 27,450	 768	 416	 415

	 27,451	 27,550	 774	 418	 417
	 27,551	 27,650	 780	 420	 419
	 27,651	 27,750	 786	 422	 421
	 27,751	 27,850	 792	 424	 423
	 27,851	 27,950	 798	 426	 425

	 27,951	 28,050	 804	 428	 427
	 28,051	 28,150	 810	 430	 429
	 28,151	 28,250	 816	 432	 431
	 28,251	 28,350	 822	 434	 433
	 28,351	 28,450	 828	 436	 435

	 28,451	 28,550	 834	 438	 437
	 28,551	 28,650	 840	 440	 439
	 28,651	 28,750	 846	 442	 441
	 28,751	 28,850	 852	 444	 443
	 28,851	 28,950	 858	 446	 445

	 28,951	 29,050	 864	 448	 447
	 29,051	 29,150	 870	 450	 449
	 29,151	 29,250	 876	 452	 451
	 29,251	 29,350	 882	 454	 453
	 29,351	 29,450	 888	 456	 455

	 29,451	 29,550	 894	 458	 457
	 29,551	 29,650	 900	 460	 459
	 29,651	 29,750	 906	 462	 461
	 29,751	 29,850	 912	 464	 463
	 29,851	 29,950	 918	 466	 465

	 29,951	 30,050	 924	 468	 467
	 30,051	 30,150	 930	 470	 469
	 30,151	 30,250	 936	 472	 471
	 30,251	 30,350	 942	 474	 473
	 30,351	 30,450	 948	 476	 475

	 30,451	 30,550	 954	 478	 477
	 30,551	 30,650	 960	 480	 479
	 30,651	 30,750	 966	 482	 481
	 30,751	 30,850	 972	 484	 483
	 30,851	 30,950	 978	 486	 485

	 30,951	 31,050	 984	 488	 487
	 31,051	 31,150	 990	 490	 489
	 31,151	 31,250	 996	 492	 491
	 31,251	 31,350	 1,002	 494	 493
	 31,351	 31,450	 1,008	 496	 496

	 31,451	 31,550	 1,014	 500	 500
	 31,551	 31,650	 1,020	 504	 504
	 31,651	 31,750	 1,026	 508	 508
	 31,751	 31,850	 1,032	 512	 512
	 31,851	 31,950	 1,038	 516	 516

	 31,951	 32,050	 1,044	 520	 520
	 32,051	 32,150	 1,050	 524	 524
	 32,151	 32,250	 1,056	 528	 528
	 32,251	 32,350	 1,062	 532	 532
	 32,351	 32,450	 1,068	 536	 536

	 32,451	 32,550	 1,074	 540	 540
	 32,551	 32,650	 1,080	 544	 544
	 32,651	 32,750	 1,086	 548	 548
	 32,751	 32,850	 1,092	 552	 552
	 32,851	 32,950	 1,098	 556	 556

	 32,951	 33,050	 1,104	 560	 560
	 33,051	 33,150	 1,110	 564	 564
	 33,151	 33,250	 1,116	 568	 568
	 33,251	 33,350	 1,122	 572	 572
	 33,351	 33,450	 1,128	 576	 576

	 33,451	 33,550	 1,134	 580	 580
	 33,551	 33,650	 1,140	 584	 584
	 33,651	 33,750	 1,146	 588	 588
	 33,751	 33,850	 1,152	 592	 592
	 33,851	 33,950	 1,158	 596	 596

	 33,951	 34,050	 1,164	 600	 600
	 34,051	 34,150	 1,170	 604	 604
	 34,151	 34,250	 1,176	 608	 608
	 34,251	 34,350	 1,182	 612	 612
	 34,351	 34,450	 1,188	 616	 616

	 34,451	 34,550	 1,196	 620	 620
	 34,551	 34,650	 1,204	 624	 624
	 34,651	 34,750	 1,212	 628	 628
	 34,751	 34,850	 1,220	 632	 632
	 34,851	 34,950	 1,228	 636	 636

	 34,951	 35,050	 1,236	 640	 640
	 35,051	 35,150	 1,244	 644	 644
	 35,151	 35,250	 1,252	 648	 648
	 35,251	 35,350	 1,260	 652	 652
	 35,351	 35,450	 1,268	 656	 656

	 35,451	 35,550	 1,276	 660	 660
	 35,551	 35,650	 1,284	 664	 664
	 35,651	 35,750	 1,292	 668	 668
	 35,751	 35,850	 1,300	 672	 672
	 35,851	 35,950	 1,308	 676	 676

	 35,951	 36,050	 1,316	 680	 680
	 36,051	 36,150	 1,324	 684	 684
	 36,151	 36,250	 1,332	 688	 688
	 36,251	 36,350	 1,340	 692	 692
	 36,351	 36,450	 1,348	 696	 696

	 36,451	 36,550	 1,356	 700	 700
	 36,551	 36,650	 1,364	 704	 704
	 36,651	 36,750	 1,372	 708	 708
	 36,751	 36,850	 1,380	 712	 712
	 36,851	 36,950	 1,388	 716	 716

	 36,951	 37,050	 1,396	 720	 720
	 37,051	 37,150	 1,404	 724	 724
	 37,151	 37,250	 1,412	 728	 728
	 37,251	 37,350	 1,420	 732	 732
	 37,351	 37,450	 1,428	 736	 736

	 37,451	 37,550	 1,436	 740	 740
	 37,551	 37,650	 1,444	 744	 744
	 37,651	 37,750	 1,452	 748	 748
	 37,751	 37,850	 1,460	 752	 752
	 37,851	 37,950	 1,468	 756	 756

	 37,951	 38,050	 1,476	 760	 760
	 38,051	 38,150	 1,484	 764	 764
	 38,151	 38,250	 1,492	 768	 768
	 38,251	 38,350	 1,500	 772	 772
	 38,351	 38,450	 1,508	 776	 776

	 38,451	 38,550	 1,516	 780	 780
	 38,551	 38,650	 1,524	 784	 784
	 38,651	 38,750	 1,532	 788	 788
	 38,751	 38,850	 1,540	 792	 792
	 38,851	 38,950	 1,548	 796	 796

	 38,951	 39,050	 1,556	 800	 800
	 39,051	 39,150	 1,564	 804	 804
	 39,151	 39,250	 1,572	 808	 808
	 39,251	 39,350	 1,580	 812	 812
	 39,351	 39,450	 1,588	 816	 816

	 39,451	 39,550	 1,596	 820	 820
	 39,551	 39,650	 1,604	 824	 824
	 39,651	 39,750	 1,612	 828	 828
	 39,751	 39,850	 1,620	 832	 832
	 39,851	 39,950	 1,628	 836	 836

	 39,951	 40,050	 1,636	 840	 840
	 40,051	 40,150	 1,644	 844	 844
	 40,151	 40,250	 1,652	 848	 848
	 40,251	 40,350	 1,660	 852	 852
	 40,351	 40,450	 1,668	 856	 856
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	 40,451	 40,550	 1,676	 860	 860
	 40,551	 40,650	 1,684	 864	 866
	 40,651	 40,750	 1,692	 868	 872
	 40,751	 40,850	 1,700	 872	 878
	 40,851	 40,950	 1,708	 876	 884

	 40,951	 41,050	 1,716	 880	 890
	 41,051	 41,150	 1,724	 884	 896
	 41,151	 41,250	 1,732	 888	 902
	 41,251	 41,350	 1,740	 892	 908
	 41,351	 41,450	 1,748	 896	 914

	 41,451	 41,550	 1,756	 900	 920
	 41,551	 41,650	 1,764	 904	 926
	 41,651	 41,750	 1,772	 908	 932
	 41,751	 41,850	 1,780	 912	 938
	 41,851	 41,950	 1,788	 916	 944

	 41,951	 42,050	 1,796	 920	 950
	 42,051	 42,150	 1,804	 924	 956
	 42,151	 42,250	 1,812	 928	 962
	 42,251	 42,350	 1,820	 932	 968
	 42,351	 42,450	 1,828	 936	 974

	 42,451	 42,550	 1,836	 940	 980
	 42,551	 42,650	 1,844	 944	 986
	 42,651	 42,750	 1,852	 948	 992
	 42,751	 42,850	 1,860	 952	 998
	 42,851	 42,950	 1,868	 956	 1,004

	 42,951	 43,050	 1,876	 960	 1,010
	 43,051	 43,150	 1,884	 964	 1,016
	 43,151	 43,250	 1,892	 968	 1,022
	 43,251	 43,350	 1,900	 972	 1,028
	 43,351	 43,450	 1,908	 976	 1,034

	 43,451	 43,550	 1,917	 980	 1,040
	 43,551	 43,650	 1,926	 984	 1,046
	 43,651	 43,750	 1,935	 988	 1,052
	 43,751	 43,850	 1,945	 992	 1,058
	 43,851	 43,950	 1,954	 996	 1,064

	 43,951	 44,050	 1,963	 1,000	 1,070
	 44,051	 44,150	 1,973	 1,004	 1,076
	 44,151	 44,250	 1,982	 1,008	 1,082
	 44,251	 44,350	 1,991	 1,012	 1,088
	 44,351	 44,450	 2,001	 1,016	 1,094

	 44,451	 44,550	 2,010	 1,020	 1,100
	 44,551	 44,650	 2,019	 1,024	 1,106
	 44,651	 44,750	 2,028	 1,028	 1,112
	 44,751	 44,850	 2,038	 1,032	 1,118
	 44,851	 44,950	 2,047	 1,036	 1,124

	 44,951	 45,050	 2,056	 1,040	 1,130
	 45,051	 45,150	 2,066	 1,044	 1,136
	 45,151	 45,250	 2,075	 1,048	 1,142
	 45,251	 45,350	 2,084	 1,052	 1,148
	 45,351	 45,450	 2,094	 1,056	 1,154

	 45,451	 45,550	 2,103	 1,060	 1,160
	 45,551	 45,650	 2,112	 1,064	 1,166
	 45,651	 45,750	 2,121	 1,068	 1,172
	 45,751	 45,850	 2,131	 1,072	 1,178
	 45,851	 45,950	 2,140	 1,076	 1,184

	 45,951	 46,050	 2,149	 1,080	 1,190
	 46,051	 46,150	 2,159	 1,084	 1,196
	 46,151	 46,250	 2,168	 1,088	 1,202
	 46,251	 46,350	 2,177	 1,092	 1,208
	 46,351	 46,450	 2,187	 1,096	 1,214

	 46,451	 46,550	 2,196	 1,100	 1,220
	 46,551	 46,650	 2,205	 1,104	 1,226
	 46,651	 46,750	 2,214	 1,108	 1,232
	 46,751	 46,850	 2,224	 1,112	 1,238
	 46,851	 46,950	 2,233	 1,116	 1,244

	 46,951	 47,050	 2,242	 1,120	 1,250
	 47,051	 47,150	 2,252	 1,124	 1,256
	 47,151	 47,250	 2,261	 1,128	 1,262
	 47,251	 47,350	 2,270	 1,132	 1,268
	 47,351	 47,450	 2,280	 1,136	 1,274

	 47,451	 47,550	 2,289	 1,140	 1,280
	 47,551	 47,650	 2,298	 1,144	 1,286
	 47,651	 47,750	 2,307	 1,148	 1,292
	 47,751	 47,850	 2,317	 1,152	 1,298
	 47,851	 47,950	 2,326	 1,156	 1,304

	 47,951	 48,050	 2,335	 1,160	 1,310
	 48,051	 48,150	 2,345	 1,164	 1,316
	 48,151	 48,250	 2,354	 1,168	 1,322
	 48,251	 48,350	 2,363	 1,172	 1,328
	 48,351	 48,450	 2,373	 1,176	 1,334

	 48,451	 48,550	 2,382	 1,180	 1,340
	 48,551	 48,650	 2,391	 1,184	 1,346
	 48,651	 48,750	 2,400	 1,188	 1,352
	 48,751	 48,850	 2,410	 1,192	 1,358
	 48,851	 48,950	 2,419	 1,196	 1,364

	 48,951	 49,050	 2,428	 1,200	 1,370
	 49,051	 49,150	 2,438	 1,204	 1,376
	 49,151	 49,250	 2,447	 1,208	 1,382
	 49,251	 49,350	 2,456	 1,212	 1,388
	 49,351	 49,450	 2,466	 1,216	 1,394

	 49,451	 49,550	 2,475	 1,220	 1,400
	 49,551	 49,650	 2,484	 1,225	 1,406
	 49,651	 49,750	 2,493	 1,231	 1,412
	 49,751	 49,850	 2,503	 1,237	 1,418
	 49,851	 49,950	 2,512	 1,243	 1,424

	 49,951	 50,050	 2,521	 1,249	 1,430
	 50,051	 50,150	 2,531	 1,255	 1,436
	 50,151	 50,250	 2,540	 1,261	 1,444
	 50,251	 50,350	 2,549	 1,267	 1,452
	 50,351	 50,450	 2,559	 1,273	 1,460

	 50,451	 50,550	 2,568	 1,279	 1,468
	 50,551	 50,650	 2,577	 1,285	 1,476
	 50,651	 50,750	 2,586	 1,291	 1,484
	 50,751	 50,850	 2,596	 1,297	 1,492
	 50,851	 50,950	 2,605	 1,303	 1,500

	 50,951	 51,050	 2,614	 1,309	 1,508
	 51,051	 51,150	 2,624	 1,315	 1,516
	 51,151	 51,250	 2,633	 1,321	 1,524
	 51,251	 51,350	 2,642	 1,327	 1,532
	 51,351	 51,450	 2,652	 1,333	 1,540

	 51,451	 51,550	 2,661	 1,339	 1,548
	 51,551	 51,650	 2,670	 1,345	 1,556
	 51,651	 51,750	 2,679	 1,351	 1,564
	 51,751	 51,850	 2,689	 1,357	 1,572
	 51,851	 51,950	 2,698	 1,363	 1,580

	 51,951	 52,050	 2,707	 1,369	 1,588
	 52,051	 52,150	 2,717	 1,375	 1,596
	 52,151	 52,250	 2,726	 1,381	 1,604
	 52,251	 52,350	 2,735	 1,387	 1,612
	 52,351	 52,450	 2,745	 1,393	 1,620

	 52,451	 52,550	 2,754	 1,399	 1,628
	 52,551	 52,650	 2,763	 1,405	 1,636
	 52,651	 52,750	 2,772	 1,411	 1,644
	 52,751	 52,850	 2,782	 1,417	 1,652
	 52,851	 52,950	 2,791	 1,423	 1,660

	 52,951	 53,050	 2,800	 1,429	 1,668
	 53,051	 53,150	 2,810	 1,435	 1,676
	 53,151	 53,250	 2,819	 1,441	 1,684
	 53,251	 53,350	 2,828	 1,447	 1,692
	 53,351	 53,450	 2,838	 1,453	 1,700

	 53,451	 53,550	 2,847	 1,459	 1,708
	 53,551	 53,650	 2,856	 1,465	 1,716
	 53,651	 53,750	 2,865	 1,471	 1,724
	 53,751	 53,850	 2,875	 1,477	 1,732
	 53,851	 53,950	 2,884	 1,483	 1,740

	 53,951	 54,050	 2,893	 1,489	 1,748
	 54,051	 54,150	 2,903	 1,495	 1,756
	 54,151	 54,250	 2,912	 1,501	 1,764
	 54,251	 54,350	 2,921	 1,507	 1,772
	 54,351	 54,450	 2,931	 1,513	 1,780

	 54,451	 54,550	 2,940	 1,519	 1,788
	 54,551	 54,650	 2,949	 1,525	 1,796
	 54,651	 54,750	 2,958	 1,531	 1,804
	 54,751	 54,850	 2,968	 1,537	 1,812
	 54,851	 54,950	 2,977	 1,543	 1,820

	 54,951	 55,050	 2,986	 1,549	 1,828
	 55,051	 55,150	 2,996	 1,555	 1,836
	 55,151	 55,250	 3,005	 1,561	 1,844
	 55,251	 55,350	 3,014	 1,567	 1,852
	 55,351	 55,450	 3,024	 1,573	 1,860

	 55,451	 55,550	 3,033	 1,579	 1,868
	 55,551	 55,650	 3,042	 1,585	 1,876
	 55,651	 55,750	 3,051	 1,591	 1,884
	 55,751	 55,850	 3,061	 1,597	 1,892
	 55,851	 55,950	 3,070	 1,603	 1,900

	 55,951	 56,050	 3,079	 1,609	 1,908
	 56,051	 56,150	 3,089	 1,615	 1,916
	 56,151	 56,250	 3,098	 1,621	 1,924
	 56,251	 56,350	 3,107	 1,627	 1,932
	 56,351	 56,450	 3,117	 1,633	 1,940

	 56,451	 56,550	 3,126	 1,639	 1,948
	 56,551	 56,650	 3,135	 1,645	 1,956
	 56,651	 56,750	 3,144	 1,651	 1,964
	 56,751	 56,850	 3,154	 1,657	 1,972
	 56,851	 56,950	 3,163	 1,663	 1,980

	 56,951	 57,050	 3,172	 1,669	 1,988
	 57,051	 57,150	 3,182	 1,675	 1,996
	 57,151	 57,250	 3,191	 1,681	 2,004
	 57,251	 57,350	 3,200	 1,687	 2,012
	 57,351	 57,450	 3,210	 1,693	 2,020

	 57,451	 57,550	 3,219	 1,699	 2,028
	 57,551	 57,650	 3,228	 1,705	 2,036
	 57,651	 57,750	 3,237	 1,711	 2,044
	 57,751	 57,850	 3,247	 1,717	 2,052
	 57,851	 57,950	 3,256	 1,723	 2,060

	 57,951	 58,050	 3,265	 1,729	 2,068
	 58,051	 58,150	 3,275	 1,735	 2,076
	 58,151	 58,250	 3,284	 1,741	 2,084
	 58,251	 58,350	 3,293	 1,747	 2,092
	 58,351	 58,450	 3,303	 1,753	 2,100

	 58,451	 58,550	 3,312	 1,759	 2,108
	 58,551	 58,650	 3,321	 1,765	 2,116
	 58,651	 58,750	 3,330	 1,771	 2,124
	 58,751	 58,850	 3,340	 1,777	 2,132
	 58,851	 58,950	 3,349	 1,783	 2,140

	 58,951	 59,050	 3,358	 1,789	 2,148
	 59,051	 59,150	 3,368	 1,795	 2,156
	 59,151	 59,250	 3,377	 1,801	 2,165
	 59,251	 59,350	 3,386	 1,807	 2,174
	 59,351	 59,450	 3,396	 1,813	 2,183

	 59,451	 59,550	 3,405	 1,819	 2,193
	 59,551	 59,650	 3,414	 1,825	 2,202
	 59,651	 59,750	 3,423	 1,831	 2,211
	 59,751	 59,850	 3,433	 1,837	 2,221
	 59,851	 59,950	 3,442	 1,843	 2,230

	 59,951	 60,050	 3,451	 1,849	 2,239
	 60,051	 60,150	 3,461	 1,855	 2,248
	 60,151	 60,250	 3,470	 1,861	 2,258
	 60,251	 60,350	 3,479	 1,867	 2,267
	 60,351	 60,450	 3,489	 1,873	 2,276

	 60,451	 60,550	 3,498	 1,879	 2,286
	 60,551	 60,650	 3,507	 1,885	 2,295
	 60,651	 60,750	 3,516	 1,891	 2,304
	 60,751	 60,850	 3,526	 1,897	 2,314
	 60,851	 60,950	 3,535	 1,903	 2,323

	 60,951	 61,050	 3,544	 1,909	 2,332
	 61,051	 61,150	 3,554	 1,915	 2,341
	 61,151	 61,250	 3,563	 1,921	 2,351
	 61,251	 61,350	 3,572	 1,927	 2,360
	 61,351	 61,450	 3,582	 1,933	 2,369
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	 61,451	 61,550	 3,591	 1,939	 2,379
	 61,551	 61,650	 3,600	 1,945	 2,388
	 61,651	 61,750	 3,609	 1,951	 2,397
	 61,751	 61,850	 3,619	 1,957	 2,407
	 61,851	 61,950	 3,628	 1,963	 2,416

	 61,951	 62,050	 3,637	 1,969	 2,425
	 62,051	 62,150	 3,647	 1,975	 2,434
	 62,151	 62,250	 3,656	 1,981	 2,444
	 62,251	 62,350	 3,665	 1,987	 2,453
	 62,351	 62,450	 3,675	 1,993	 2,462

	 62,451	 62,550	 3,684	 1,999	 2,472
	 62,551	 62,650	 3,693	 2,005	 2,481
	 62,651	 62,750	 3,702	 2,011	 2,490
	 62,751	 62,850	 3,712	 2,017	 2,500
	 62,851	 62,950	 3,721	 2,023	 2,509

	 62,951	 63,050	 3,730	 2,029	 2,518
	 63,051	 63,150	 3,740	 2,035	 2,527
	 63,151	 63,250	 3,749	 2,041	 2,537
	 63,251	 63,350	 3,758	 2,047	 2,546
	 63,351	 63,450	 3,768	 2,053	 2,555

	 63,451	 63,550	 3,777	 2,059	 2,565
	 63,551	 63,650	 3,786	 2,065	 2,574
	 63,651	 63,750	 3,795	 2,071	 2,583
	 63,751	 63,850	 3,805	 2,077	 2,593
	 63,851	 63,950	 3,814	 2,083	 2,602

	 63,951	 64,050	 3,823	 2,089	 2,611
	 64,051	 64,150	 3,833	 2,095	 2,620
	 64,151	 64,250	 3,842	 2,101	 2,630
	 64,251	 64,350	 3,851	 2,107	 2,639
	 64,351	 64,450	 3,861	 2,113	 2,648

	 64,451	 64,550	 3,870	 2,119	 2,658
	 64,551	 64,650	 3,879	 2,125	 2,667
	 64,651	 64,750	 3,888	 2,131	 2,676
	 64,751	 64,850	 3,898	 2,137	 2,686
	 64,851	 64,950	 3,907	 2,143	 2,695

	 64,951	 65,050	 3,916	 2,149	 2,704
	 65,051	 65,150	 3,926	 2,155	 2,713
	 65,151	 65,250	 3,935	 2,161	 2,723
	 65,251	 65,350	 3,944	 2,167	 2,732
	 65,351	 65,450	 3,954	 2,173	 2,741

	 65,451	 65,550	 3,963	 2,179	 2,751
	 65,551	 65,650	 3,972	 2,185	 2,760
	 65,651	 65,750	 3,981	 2,191	 2,769
	 65,751	 65,850	 3,991	 2,197	 2,779
	 65,851	 65,950	 4,000	 2,203	 2,788

	 65,951	 66,050	 4,009	 2,209	 2,797
	 66,051	 66,150	 4,019	 2,215	 2,806
	 66,151	 66,250	 4,028	 2,221	 2,816
	 66,251	 66,350	 4,037	 2,227	 2,825
	 66,351	 66,450	 4,047	 2,233	 2,834

	 66,451	 66,550	 4,056	 2,239	 2,844
	 66,551	 66,650	 4,065	 2,245	 2,853
	 66,651	 66,750	 4,074	 2,251	 2,862
	 66,751	 66,850	 4,084	 2,257	 2,872
	 66,851	 66,950	 4,093	 2,263	 2,881

	 66,951	 67,050	 4,102	 2,269	 2,890
	 67,051	 67,150	 4,112	 2,275	 2,899
	 67,151	 67,250	 4,121	 2,281	 2,909
	 67,251	 67,350	 4,130	 2,287	 2,918
	 67,351	 67,450	 4,140	 2,293	 2,927

	 67,451	 67,550	 4,149	 2,299	 2,937
	 67,551	 67,650	 4,158	 2,305	 2,946
	 67,651	 67,750	 4,167	 2,311	 2,955
	 67,751	 67,850	 4,177	 2,317	 2,965
	 67,851	 67,950	 4,186	 2,323	 2,974

	 67,951	 68,050	 4,195	 2,329	 2,983
	 68,051	 68,150	 4,205	 2,335	 2,992
	 68,151	 68,250	 4,214	 2,341	 3,002
	 68,251	 68,350	 4,223	 2,347	 3,011
	 68,351	 68,450	 4,233	 2,353	 3,020

	 68,451	 68,550	 4,242	 2,359	 3,030
	 68,551	 68,650	 4,251	 2,365	 3,039
	 68,651	 68,750	 4,260	 2,371	 3,048
	 68,751	 68,850	 4,270	 2,377	 3,058
	 68,851	 68,950	 4,279	 2,385	 3,067

	 68,951	 69,050	 4,288	 2,393	 3,076
	 69,051	 69,150	 4,298	 2,401	 3,085
	 69,151	 69,250	 4,307	 2,409	 3,095
	 69,251	 69,350	 4,316	 2,417	 3,104
	 69,351	 69,450	 4,326	 2,425	 3,113

	 69,451	 69,550	 4,335	 2,433	 3,123
	 69,551	 69,650	 4,344	 2,441	 3,132
	 69,651	 69,750	 4,353	 2,449	 3,141
	 69,751	 69,850	 4,363	 2,457	 3,151
	 69,851	 69,950	 4,372	 2,465	 3,160

	 69,951	 70,050	 4,381	 2,473	 3,169
	 70,051	 70,150	 4,391	 2,481	 3,178
	 70,151	 70,250	 4,400	 2,489	 3,188
	 70,251	 70,350	 4,409	 2,497	 3,197
	 70,351	 70,450	 4,419	 2,505	 3,206

	 70,451	 70,550	 4,428	 2,513	 3,216
	 70,551	 70,650	 4,437	 2,521	 3,225
	 70,651	 70,750	 4,446	 2,529	 3,234
	 70,751	 70,850	 4,456	 2,537	 3,244
	 70,851	 70,950	 4,465	 2,545	 3,253

	 70,951	 71,050	 4,474	 2,553	 3,262
	 71,051	 71,150	 4,484	 2,561	 3,271
	 71,151	 71,250	 4,493	 2,569	 3,281
	 71,251	 71,350	 4,502	 2,577	 3,290
	 71,351	 71,450	 4,512	 2,585	 3,299

	 71,451	 71,550	 4,521	 2,593	 3,309
	 71,551	 71,650	 4,530	 2,601	 3,318
	 71,651	 71,750	 4,539	 2,609	 3,327
	 71,751	 71,850	 4,549	 2,617	 3,337
	 71,851	 71,950	 4,558	 2,625	 3,346

	 71,951	 72,050	 4,567	 2,633	 3,355
	 72,051	 72,150	 4,577	 2,641	 3,364
	 72,151	 72,250	 4,586	 2,649	 3,374
	 72,251	 72,350	 4,595	 2,657	 3,383
	 72,351	 72,450	 4,605	 2,665	 3,392

	 72,451	 72,550	 4,614	 2,673	 3,402
	 72,551	 72,650	 4,623	 2,681	 3,411
	 72,651	 72,750	 4,632	 2,689	 3,420
	 72,751	 72,850	 4,642	 2,697	 3,430
	 72,851	 72,950	 4,651	 2,705	 3,439

	 72,951	 73,050	 4,660	 2,713	 3,448
	 73,051	 73,150	 4,670	 2,721	 3,457
	 73,151	 73,250	 4,679	 2,729	 3,467
	 73,251	 73,350	 4,688	 2,737	 3,476
	 73,351	 73,450	 4,698	 2,745	 3,485

	 73,451	 73,550	 4,707	 2,753	 3,495
	 73,551	 73,650	 4,716	 2,761	 3,504
	 73,651	 73,750	 4,725	 2,769	 3,513
	 73,751	 73,850	 4,735	 2,777	 3,523
	 73,851	 73,950	 4,744	 2,785	 3,532

	 73,951	 74,050	 4,753	 2,793	 3,541
	 74,051	 74,150	 4,763	 2,801	 3,550
	 74,151	 74,250	 4,772	 2,809	 3,560
	 74,251	 74,350	 4,781	 2,817	 3,569
	 74,351	 74,450	 4,791	 2,825	 3,578

	 74,451	 74,550	 4,800	 2,833	 3,588
	 74,551	 74,650	 4,809	 2,841	 3,597
	 74,651	 74,750	 4,818	 2,849	 3,606
	 74,751	 74,850	 4,828	 2,857	 3,616
	 74,851	 74,950	 4,837	 2,865	 3,625

	 74,951	 75,050	 4,846	 2,873	 3,634
	 75,051	 75,150	 4,856	 2,881	 3,643
	 75,151	 75,250	 4,865	 2,889	 3,653
	 75,251	 75,350	 4,874	 2,897	 3,662
	 75,351	 75,450	 4,884	 2,905	 3,671

	 75,451	 75,550	 4,893	 2,913	 3,681
	 75,551	 75,650	 4,902	 2,921	 3,690
	 75,651	 75,750	 4,911	 2,929	 3,699
	 75,751	 75,850	 4,921	 2,937	 3,709
	 75,851	 75,950	 4,930	 2,945	 3,718

	 75,951	 76,050	 4,939	 2,953	 3,727
	 76,051	 76,150	 4,949	 2,961	 3,736
	 76,151	 76,250	 4,958	 2,969	 3,746
	 76,251	 76,350	 4,967	 2,977	 3,755
	 76,351	 76,450	 4,977	 2,985	 3,764

	 76,451	 76,550	 4,986	 2,993	 3,774
	 76,551	 76,650	 4,995	 3,001	 3,783
	 76,651	 76,750	 5,004	 3,009	 3,792
	 76,751	 76,850	 5,014	 3,017	 3,802
	 76,851	 76,950	 5,023	 3,025	 3,811

	 76,951	 77,050	 5,032	 3,033	 3,820
	 77,051	 77,150	 5,042	 3,041	 3,829
	 77,151	 77,250	 5,051	 3,049	 3,839
	 77,251	 77,350	 5,060	 3,057	 3,848
	 77,351	 77,450	 5,070	 3,065	 3,857

	 77,451	 77,550	 5,079	 3,073	 3,867
	 77,551	 77,650	 5,088	 3,081	 3,876
	 77,651	 77,750	 5,097	 3,089	 3,885
	 77,751	 77,850	 5,107	 3,097	 3,895
	 77,851	 77,950	 5,116	 3,105	 3,904

	 77,951	 78,050	 5,125	 3,113	 3,913
	 78,051	 78,150	 5,135	 3,121	 3,922
	 78,151	 78,250	 5,144	 3,129	 3,932
	 78,251	 78,350	 5,153	 3,137	 3,941
	 78,351	 78,450	 5,163	 3,145	 3,950

	 78,451	 78,550	 5,172	 3,153	 3,960
	 78,551	 78,650	 5,181	 3,161	 3,969
	 78,651	 78,750	 5,190	 3,169	 3,978
	 78,751	 78,850	 5,200	 3,177	 3,988
	 78,851	 78,950	 5,209	 3,185	 3,997

	 78,951	 79,050	 5,218	 3,193	 4,006
	 79,051	 79,150	 5,228	 3,201	 4,015
	 79,151	 79,250	 5,237	 3,209	 4,025
	 79,251	 79,350	 5,246	 3,217	 4,034
	 79,351	 79,450	 5,256	 3,225	 4,043

	 79,451	 79,550	 5,265	 3,233	 4,053
	 79,551	 79,650	 5,274	 3,241	 4,062
	 79,651	 79,750	 5,283	 3,249	 4,071
	 79,751	 79,850	 5,293	 3,257	 4,081
	 79,851	 79,950	 5,302	 3,265	 4,090

	 79,951	 80,050	 5,311	 3,273	 4,099
	 80,051	 80,150	 5,321	 3,281	 4,108
	 80,151	 80,250	 5,330	 3,289	 4,118
	 80,251	 80,350	 5,339	 3,297	 4,127
	 80,351	 80,450	 5,349	 3,305	 4,136

	 80,451	 80,550	 5,358	 3,313	 4,146
	 80,551	 80,650	 5,367	 3,321	 4,155
	 80,651	 80,750	 5,376	 3,329	 4,164
	 80,751	 80,850	 5,386	 3,337	 4,174
	 80,851	 80,950	 5,395	 3,345	 4,183

	 80,951	 81,050	 5,404	 3,353	 4,192
	 81,051	 81,150	 5,414	 3,361	 4,201
	 81,151	 81,250	 5,423	 3,369	 4,211
	 81,251	 81,350	 5,432	 3,377	 4,220
	 81,351	 81,450	 5,442	 3,385	 4,229

	 81,451	 81,550	 5,451	 3,393	 4,239
	 81,551	 81,650	 5,460	 3,401	 4,248
	 81,651	 81,750	 5,469	 3,409	 4,257
	 81,751	 81,850	 5,479	 3,417	 4,267
	 81,851	 81,950	 5,488	 3,425	 4,276

	 81,951	 82,050	 5,497	 3,433	 4,285
	 82,051	 82,150	 5,507	 3,441	 4,294
	 82,151	 82,250	 5,516	 3,449	 4,304
	 82,251	 82,350	 5,525	 3,457	 4,313
	 82,351	 82,450	 5,535	 3,465	 4,322



Filing status:  1 or 3 (Single; Married Filing Separately)    2 or 5 (Married Filing Jointly; Qualifying Widow(er))    4 (Head of Household)
If Your Taxable	 The Tax For	 If Your Taxable	 The Tax For	 If Your Taxable	 The Tax For
Income Is . . .	 Filing Status	 Income Is . . .	 Filing Status	 Income Is . . .	 Filing Status

At	 But Not	 1 Or 3	 2 Or 5	 4	 At	 But Not	 1 Or 3	 2 Or 5	 4	 At	 But Not	 1 Or 3	 2 Or 5	 4
Least	 Over	 Is	 Is	 Is	 Least	 Over	 Is	 Is	 Is	 Least	 Over	 Is	 Is	 Is
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	 82,451	 82,550	 5,544	 3,473	 4,332
	 82,551	 82,650	 5,553	 3,481	 4,341
	 82,651	 82,750	 5,562	 3,489	 4,350
	 82,751	 82,850	 5,572	 3,497	 4,360
	 82,851	 82,950	 5,581	 3,505	 4,369

	 82,951	 83,050	 5,590	 3,513	 4,378
	 83,051	 83,150	 5,600	 3,521	 4,387
	 83,151	 83,250	 5,609	 3,529	 4,397
	 83,251	 83,350	 5,618	 3,537	 4,406
	 83,351	 83,450	 5,628	 3,545	 4,415

	 83,451	 83,550	 5,637	 3,553	 4,425
	 83,551	 83,650	 5,646	 3,561	 4,434
	 83,651	 83,750	 5,655	 3,569	 4,443
	 83,751	 83,850	 5,665	 3,577	 4,453
	 83,851	 83,950	 5,674	 3,585	 4,462

	 83,951	 84,050	 5,683	 3,593	 4,471
	 84,051	 84,150	 5,693	 3,601	 4,480
	 84,151	 84,250	 5,702	 3,609	 4,490
	 84,251	 84,350	 5,711	 3,617	 4,499
	 84,351	 84,450	 5,721	 3,625	 4,508

	 84,451	 84,550	 5,730	 3,633	 4,518
	 84,551	 84,650	 5,739	 3,641	 4,527
	 84,651	 84,750	 5,748	 3,649	 4,536
	 84,751	 84,850	 5,758	 3,657	 4,546
	 84,851	 84,950	 5,767	 3,665	 4,555

	 84,951	 85,050	 5,776	 3,673	 4,564
	 85,051	 85,150	 5,786	 3,681	 4,573
	 85,151	 85,250	 5,795	 3,689	 4,583
	 85,251	 85,350	 5,804	 3,697	 4,592
	 85,351	 85,450	 5,814	 3,705	 4,601

	 85,451	 85,550	 5,823	 3,713	 4,611
	 85,551	 85,650	 5,832	 3,721	 4,620
	 85,651	 85,750	 5,841	 3,729	 4,629
	 85,751	 85,850	 5,851	 3,737	 4,639
	 85,851	 85,950	 5,860	 3,745	 4,648

	 85,951	 86,050	 5,869	 3,753	 4,657
	 86,051	 86,150	 5,879	 3,761	 4,666
	 86,151	 86,250	 5,888	 3,769	 4,676
	 86,251	 86,350	 5,897	 3,777	 4,685
	 86,351	 86,450	 5,907	 3,785	 4,694

	 86,451	 86,550	 5,916	 3,793	 4,704
	 86,551	 86,650	 5,925	 3,801	 4,713
	 86,651	 86,750	 5,934	 3,809	 4,722
	 86,751	 86,850	 5,944	 3,817	 4,732
	 86,851	 86,950	 5,953	 3,825	 4,741

	 86,951	 87,050	 5,962	 3,834	 4,750
	 87,051	 87,150	 5,972	 3,843	 4,759
	 87,151	 87,250	 5,981	 3,852	 4,769
	 87,251	 87,350	 5,990	 3,862	 4,778
	 87,351	 87,450	 6,000	 3,871	 4,787

	 87,451	 87,550	 6,009	 3,880	 4,797
	 87,551	 87,650	 6,018	 3,889	 4,806
	 87,651	 87,750	 6,027	 3,899	 4,815
	 87,751	 87,850	 6,037	 3,908	 4,825
	 87,851	 87,950	 6,046	 3,917	 4,834

	 87,951	 88,050	 6,055	 3,927	 4,843
	 88,051	 88,150	 6,065	 3,936	 4,852
	 88,151	 88,250	 6,074	 3,945	 4,862
	 88,251	 88,350	 6,083	 3,955	 4,871
	 88,351	 88,450	 6,093	 3,964	 4,880

	 88,451	 88,550	 6,102	 3,973	 4,890
	 88,551	 88,650	 6,111	 3,982	 4,899
	 88,651	 88,750	 6,120	 3,992	 4,908
	 88,751	 88,850	 6,130	 4,001	 4,918
	 88,851	 88,950	 6,139	 4,010	 4,927

	 88,951	 89,050	 6,148	 4,020	 4,936
	 89,051	 89,150	 6,158	 4,029	 4,945
	 89,151	 89,250	 6,167	 4,038	 4,955
	 89,251	 89,350	 6,176	 4,048	 4,964
	 89,351	 89,450	 6,186	 4,057	 4,973

	 89,451	 89,550	 6,195	 4,066	 4,983
	 89,551	 89,650	 6,204	 4,075	 4,992
	 89,651	 89,750	 6,213	 4,085	 5,001
	 89,751	 89,850	 6,223	 4,094	 5,011
	 89,851	 89,950	 6,232	 4,103	 5,020

	 89,951	 90,050	 6,241	 4,113	 5,029
	 90,051	 90,150	 6,251	 4,122	 5,038
	 90,151	 90,250	 6,260	 4,131	 5,048
	 90,251	 90,350	 6,269	 4,141	 5,057
	 90,351	 90,450	 6,279	 4,150	 5,066

	 90,451	 90,550	 6,288	 4,159	 5,076
	 90,551	 90,650	 6,297	 4,168	 5,085
	 90,651	 90,750	 6,306	 4,178	 5,094
	 90,751	 90,850	 6,316	 4,187	 5,104
	 90,851	 90,950	 6,325	 4,196	 5,113

	 90,951	 91,050	 6,334	 4,206	 5,122
	 91,051	 91,150	 6,344	 4,215	 5,131
	 91,151	 91,250	 6,353	 4,224	 5,141
	 91,251	 91,350	 6,362	 4,234	 5,150
	 91,351	 91,450	 6,372	 4,243	 5,159

	 91,451	 91,550	 6,381	 4,252	 5,169
	 91,551	 91,650	 6,390	 4,261	 5,178
	 91,651	 91,750	 6,399	 4,271	 5,187
	 91,751	 91,850	 6,409	 4,280	 5,197
	 91,851	 91,950	 6,418	 4,289	 5,206

	 91,951	 92,050	 6,427	 4,299	 5,215
	 92,051	 92,150	 6,437	 4,308	 5,224
	 92,151	 92,250	 6,446	 4,317	 5,234
	 92,251	 92,350	 6,455	 4,327	 5,243
	 92,351	 92,450	 6,465	 4,336	 5,252

	 92,451	 92,550	 6,474	 4,345	 5,262
	 92,551	 92,650	 6,483	 4,354	 5,271
	 92,651	 92,750	 6,492	 4,364	 5,280
	 92,751	 92,850	 6,502	 4,373	 5,290
	 92,851	 92,950	 6,511	 4,382	 5,299

	 92,951	 93,050	 6,520	 4,392	 5,308
	 93,051	 93,150	 6,530	 4,401	 5,317
	 93,151	 93,250	 6,539	 4,410	 5,327
	 93,251	 93,350	 6,548	 4,420	 5,336
	 93,351	 93,450	 6,558	 4,429	 5,345

	 93,451	 93,550	 6,567	 4,438	 5,355
	 93,551	 93,650	 6,576	 4,447	 5,364
	 93,651	 93,750	 6,585	 4,457	 5,373
	 93,751	 93,850	 6,595	 4,466	 5,383
	 93,851	 93,950	 6,604	 4,475	 5,392

	 93,951	 94,050	 6,613	 4,485	 5,401
	 94,051	 94,150	 6,623	 4,494	 5,410
	 94,151	 94,250	 6,632	 4,503	 5,420
	 94,251	 94,350	 6,641	 4,513	 5,429
	 94,351	 94,450	 6,651	 4,522	 5,438

	 94,451	 94,550	 6,660	 4,531	 5,448
	 94,551	 94,650	 6,669	 4,540	 5,457
	 94,651	 94,750	 6,678	 4,550	 5,466
	 94,751	 94,850	 6,688	 4,559	 5,476
	 94,851	 94,950	 6,697	 4,568	 5,485

	 94,951	 95,050	 6,706	 4,578	 5,494
	 95,051	 95,150	 6,716	 4,587	 5,503
	 95,151	 95,250	 6,725	 4,596	 5,513
	 95,251	 95,350	 6,734	 4,606	 5,522
	 95,351	 95,450	 6,744	 4,615	 5,531

	 95,451	 95,550	 6,753	 4,624	 5,541
	 95,551	 95,650	 6,762	 4,633	 5,550
	 95,651	 95,750	 6,771	 4,643	 5,559
	 95,751	 95,850	 6,781	 4,652	 5,569
	 95,851	 95,950	 6,790	 4,661	 5,578

	 95,951	 96,050	 6,799	 4,671	 5,587
	 96,051	 96,150	 6,809	 4,680	 5,596
	 96,151	 96,250	 6,818	 4,689	 5,606
	 96,251	 96,350	 6,827	 4,699	 5,615
	 96,351	 96,450	 6,837	 4,708	 5,624

	 96,451	 96,550	 6,846	 4,717	 5,634
	 96,551	 96,650	 6,855	 4,726	 5,643
	 96,651	 96,750	 6,864	 4,736	 5,652
	 96,751	 96,850	 6,874	 4,745	 5,662
	 96,851	 96,950	 6,883	 4,754	 5,671

	 96,951	 97,050	 6,892	 4,764	 5,680
	 97,051	 97,150	 6,902	 4,773	 5,689
	 97,151	 97,250	 6,911	 4,782	 5,699
	 97,251	 97,350	 6,920	 4,792	 5,708
	 97,351	 97,450	 6,930	 4,801	 5,717

	 97,451	 97,550	 6,939	 4,810	 5,727
	 97,551	 97,650	 6,948	 4,819	 5,736
	 97,651	 97,750	 6,957	 4,829	 5,745
	 97,751	 97,850	 6,967	 4,838	 5,755
	 97,851	 97,950	 6,976	 4,847	 5,764

	 97,951	 98,050	 6,985	 4,857	 5,773
	 98,051	 98,150	 6,995	 4,866	 5,782
	 98,151	 98,250	 7,004	 4,875	 5,792
	 98,251	 98,350	 7,013	 4,885	 5,801
	 98,351	 98,450	 7,023	 4,894	 5,810

	 98,451	 98,550	 7,032	 4,903	 5,820
	 98,551	 98,650	 7,041	 4,912	 5,829
	 98,651	 98,750	 7,050	 4,922	 5,838
	 98,751	 98,850	 7,060	 4,931	 5,848
	 98,851	 98,950	 7,069	 4,940	 5,857

	 98,951	 99,050	 7,078	 4,950	 5,866
	 99,051	 99,150	 7,088	 4,959	 5,875
	 99,151	 99,250	 7,097	 4,968	 5,885
	 99,251	 99,350	 7,106	 4,978	 5,894
	 99,351	 99,450	 7,116	 4,987	 5,903

	 99,451	 99,550	 7,125	 4,996	 5,913
	 99,551	 99,650	 7,134	 5,005	 5,922
	 99,651	 99,750	 7,143	 5,015	 5,931
	 99,751	 99,850	 7,153	 5,024	 5,941
	 99,851	 99,950	 7,162	 5,033	 5,950

	 99,951	 100,000	 7,169	 5,040	 5,957

IF YOUR TAXABLE INCOME IS OVER $100,000 
YOU MUST COMPUTE YOUR TAX USING THE 
TAX RATE SCHEDULES.
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Caution: Use only if your taxable income on Form 540, line 19 or Form 540A, line 16 is more than $100,000. If $100,000 or less, use the Tax Table.

If the amount on Form 540,	 Enter on Form 540, line 20	 of the 
line 19 or Form 540A, line 16 is	 or Form 540A, line 17		  amount over –
over –	 But not over –		

Schedule X –
Use if your filing status is
Single or Married Filing Separately

Schedule Y –
Use if your filing status is
Married Filing Jointly or Qualifying 
Widow(er) with Dependent Child

Schedule Z –
Use if your filing status is
Head of Household

How to Figure Tax Using the 2006 California Tax Rate Schedules
Example: John and Jackie Anderson are filing a joint return using Form 540. Their taxable income on Form 540, line 19 is $125,000.

Step 1:	 Using Schedule Y, they find the taxable income range that includes their taxable income of $125,000. See the boxed range in the sample below.

$	 0	 $	 13,244	 $	 0.00	 +	 1.0%	 $	 0.00
	 13,244		  31,396		  132.44	 +	 2.0%		  13,244
	 31,396		  49,552		  495.48	 +	 4.0%		  31,396
	 49,552		  68,788		  1,221.72	 +	 6.0%		  49,552
	 68,788		  86,934		  2,375.88	 +	 8.0%		  68,788
	 86,934	 AND OVER		  3,827.56	 +	 9.3%		  86,934

Schedule Y –
Use if your filing status is
Married Filing Jointly or Qualifying 
Widow(er) with Dependent Child

	 	 Example	 Your Income
Step 2:	 They subtract the amount at the beginning of their range from	 $125,000	 $
	 their taxable income.	 - 86,934	 -                  
		  $  38,066	 $

Step 3:	 They multiply the result from Step 2 by the percentage for	 $38,066	 $
	 their range.	         x .093	          x         
		  $3,540.14	 $

Step 4:	 They round the amount from Step 3 to two decimals (if	 $3,827.56	 $
	 necessary) and add it to the tax amount for their income	   + 3,540.14	 +                  
	 range. After rounding the result, they will enter $7,368 on	 $7,367.70	 $
	 Form 540, line 20. For information on rounding, see 
	 “Filling in your return” on page 14.

If the amount on Form 540,
line 19 is:	 Enter on Form 540, line 20	 of the
over –	 But not over –	 amount over –	

$	 0	 $	 6,622	 $	 0.00	 +	 1.0%	 $	 0.00
	 6,622		  15,698		  66.22	 +	 2.0%		  6,622
	 15,698		  24,776		  247.74	 +	 4.0%		  15,698
	 24,776		  34,394		  610.86	 +	 6.0%		  24,776
	 34,394		  43,467		  1,187.94	 +	 8.0%		  34,394
	 43,467	 AND OVER		  1,913.78	 +	 9.3%		  43,467
			 

$	 0	 $	 13,244	 $	 0.00	 +	 1.0%	 $	 0.00
	 13,244		  31,396		  132.44	 +	 2.0%		  13,244
	 31,396		  49,552		  495.48	 +	 4.0%		  31,396
	 49,552		  68,788		  1,221.72	 +	 6.0%		  49,552
	 68,788		  86,934		  2,375.88	 +	 8.0%		  68,788
	 86,934	 AND OVER		  3,827.56	 +	 9.3%		  86,934
			 

$	 0	 $	 13,251	 $	 0.00	 +	 1.0%	 $	 0.00
	 13,251		  31,397		  132.51	 +	 2.0%		  13,251
	 31,397		  40,473		  495.43	 +	 4.0%		  31,397
	 40,473		  50,090		  858.47	 +	 6.0%		  40,473
	 50,090		  59,166		  1,435.49	 +	 8.0%		  50,090
	 59,166		 AND OVER		  2,161.57	 +	 9.3%		  59,166

✓ Tip Go to www.ftb.ca.gov to e-file and eliminate the math. Or search our Website for tax calculator to use the online tax calculator to figure 
your tax.



Schedule W-2  2006

Wage and Withholding Summary
TAXABLE  YEAR

2006
Important: Attach this schedule directly behind Side 2 of your return.

Name(s) as shown on return	 SSN or ITIN

Attach your Form(s) W-2 to the front of your income tax return, or complete CA Sch W-2. Use this schedule to transfer information from your 
Form(s) W-2. If you need more space, complete a separate CA Sch W-2. If you complete a CA Sch W-2, do not submit your Form(s) W‑2. 
Keep them for your records. Transfer the amounts from your Form(s) W-2 to the appropriate boxes on this schedule. If Form(s) W-2 contain data 
from multiple states, you cannot use this form. The shaded areas need to be completed to ensure excess SDI claims.

Taxpayer W-2 information. (Transfer amounts from your Form(s) W-2 to the appropriate boxes below.) Complete a box for each 
Form W-2 you receive.

8031063

CALIFORNIA  SCHEDULE

W-2

Spouse W-2 information. (Transfer amounts from your Form(s) W-2 to the appropriate boxes below.) Complete a box for each 
Form W-2 you receive.

2nd W-2

	Social Security Number (box d)	 —	 —

	Employer ID Number (EIN) (box b)

	State & Employer’s State ID Number (box 15)

	Employer Name (box c)

	State Wages, Tips, etc. (box 16)

	CA State Income Tax (box 17)

	Social Security Wages (box 3)

	SDI (Local Income Tax) (box 14 or 19)

4th W-2

	Social Security Number (box d)	 —	 —

	Employer ID Number (EIN) (box b)

	State & Employer’s State ID Number (box 15)

	Employer Name (box c)

	State Wages, Tips, etc. (box 16)

	CA State Income Tax (box 17)

	Social Security Wages (box 3)

	SDI (Local Income Tax) (box 14 or 19)

3rd  W-2

	Social Security Number (box d)	 —	 —

	Employer ID Number (EIN) (box b)

	State & Employer’s State ID Number (box 15)

	Employer Name (box c)

	State Wages, Tips, etc. (box 16)

	CA State Income Tax (box 17)

	Social Security Wages (box 3)

	SDI (Local Income Tax) (box 14 or 19)

1st  W-2

	Social Security Number (box d)	 —	 —

	Employer ID Number (EIN) (box b)

	State & Employer’s State ID Number (box 15)

	Employer Name (box c)

	State Wages, Tips, etc. (box 16)

	CA State Income Tax (box 17)

	Social Security Wages (box 3)

	SDI (Local Income Tax) (box 14 or 19)

2nd W-2

	Social Security Number (box d)	 —	 —

	Employer ID Number (EIN) (box b)

	State & Employer’s State ID Number (box 15)

	Employer Name (box c)

	State Wages, Tips, etc. (box 16)

	CA State Income Tax (box 17)

	Social Security Wages (box 3)

	SDI (Local Income Tax) (box 14 or 19)

3rd  W-2

	Social Security Number (box d)	 —	 —

	Employer ID Number (EIN) (box b)

	State & Employer’s State ID Number (box 15)

	Employer Name (box c)

	State Wages, Tips, etc. (box 16)

	CA State Income Tax (box 17)

	Social Security Wages (box 3)

	SDI (Local Income Tax) (box 14 or 19)

4th W-2

	Social Security Number (box d)	 —	 —

	Employer ID Number (EIN) (box b)

	State & Employer’s State ID Number (box 15)

	Employer Name (box c)

	State Wages, Tips, etc. (box 16)

	CA State Income Tax (box 17)

	Social Security Wages (box 3)

	SDI (Local Income Tax) (box 14 or 19)

A.	 Total state wages from your Form(s) W-2 for taxpayer (Add box 16 from all Form(s) W-2 for taxpayer)  . . . . .      $__________________
	 For nonresidents or part-year residents, enter your total California wages from all your Form(s) W-2 for taxpayer (Add box 16 from all Form(s) W-2 for taxpayer).

B.	 Total state wages from your Form(s) W-2 for spouse (Add box 16 from all Form(s) W-2 for spouse) . . . . . . . . $__________________
	 For nonresidents or part-year residents, enter your total California wages from all your Form(s) W-2 for spouse (Add box 16 from all Form(s) W-2 for spouse).

C.	 Total California Wages from all Form(s) W-2 (Add line A and line B, and enter on line C.) . . . . . . . . . . . . .              $__________________
D.	Transfer the amount on line C to Form 540 2EZ, line 9; Form 540A, line 12a; Form 540, or Form 540NR (Long or Short),  
	 line 12. If completing Form 540X, report any W-2 income on line a, Column B, that was not reported on the original tax 
	 return.

1st  W-2

	Social Security Number (box d)	 —	 —

	Employer ID Number (EIN) (box b)

	State & Employer’s State ID Number (box 15)

	Employer Name (box c)

	State Wages, Tips, etc. (box 16)

	CA State Income Tax (box 17)

	Social Security Wages (box 3)

	SDI (Local Income Tax) (box 14 or 19)

For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.
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Frequently Asked Questions 
(Go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov for more frequently asked questions)
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  1.	 What if I can’t file by April 16, 2007, and I think I 
owe tax?
You must pay 100% of the amount you owe by April 16, 2007, to 
avoid interest and penalties. If you cannot file because you have not 
received all your Form(s) W-2, estimate the amount of tax you owe 
by completing form FTB 3519, Automatic Extension for Individuals, 
on page 41. Mail it to the FTB with your payment by April 16, 2007, 
or pay online at www.ftb.ca.gov. Then, when you receive all your 
Form(s) W-2, complete and mail your return by October 15, 2007 
(you must use Form 540A or Form 540).

  2.	 I never received a Form W-2. What should I do?
If all of your Form(s) W-2 were not received by 
January 31, 2007, contact your employer. Only an employer 
issues or corrects a Form W-2. For more information, call 
(800) 338‑0505, select “Personal Income Tax,” then “Frequently 
Asked Questions,” and enter code 204 when instructed.

If you cannot get a copy of your Form(s) W-2, complete form 
FTB 3525, Substitute for Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, or 
Form 1099, Distributions from Pensions, Annuities, Retirement, or 
Profit Sharing Plans, IRAs, Insurance Contracts, etc. See “Where To 
Get Income Tax Forms and Publications” on page 66.

  3.	 How can I get help?
Throughout California more than 1,500 sites provide trained 
volunteers offering free help during the tax filing season to persons 
who need to file simple federal and state income tax returns. Many 
military bases also provide this service for members of the U.S. 
Armed Forces. Participating locations are listed on our Website at  
www.ftb.ca.gov, from January 2 through April 16, or call the FTB at 
(800) 852-5711 to find a location near you.

  4.	 What do I do if I can’t pay what I owe with my 2006 
return?
Pay as much as possible when you file your return. If unable to pay 
your tax in full with your return, make a request for monthly payments. 
However, interest accrues and an underpayment penalty may be 
charged on the tax not paid by April 16, 2007, even if your request for 
monthly payments is approved. To make monthly payments, complete 
form FTB 3567, Installment Agreement Request, online or mail it to the 
address on the form. Do not mail it with your return.

The Installment Agreement Request might not be processed 
and approved until after your return is processed, and you may 
receive a bill before you receive approval of your request.
To order this form go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov or 
by phone, call (800) 338-0505, select “Personal Income Tax,” 
then select “Forms and Publications,” and enter code 949 when 
instructed.
Note: For more information on how to pay by credit card, go 
to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov, or call (800) 338-0505, 
select “Personal Income Tax,” then select “Frequently Asked 
Questions,” and enter code 610 when instructed.

  5.	 How long will it take to get my refund?
If you e-file, you get the fastest possible refund. Your refund check 
is mailed within seven to ten calendar days (or if you request 
direct deposit, the refund posts to your checking or savings 
account within five to seven banking days) from the time the FTB 
receives your e-file return. For more information about e-filing, go 
to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov or call (800) 338‑0505, select 
“Personal Income Tax,” then select “Frequently Asked Questions,” 
and enter code 112 when instructed.

If you do not e-file your return, you will receive your refund check 
within six to eight weeks after you file your return. If you request 
direct deposit, the refund posts to your account, within six to eight 
weeks after you file your return.

  6.	 I expected my refund by now. How can I check on 
the status?
Check the status of your refund on our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov 
You will need your social security number or ITIN and the refund 
amount from your return.
You can also call our automated phone service. See page 67 for more 
information.

  7.	 I discovered an error on my tax return. What should 
I do?
If you discover that you made an error on your California income tax 
return after you filed it (paper or e-filed), use Form 540X, Amended 
Individual Income Tax Return to correct your return. Get Form 540X 
online at www.ftb.ca.gov or call (800) 338-0505 and enter code 908. 
You cannot e-file an amended return.

  8.	 The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) made changes 
to my federal return. What should I do?
If your federal income tax return is examined and changed by the IRS 
and you owe additional tax, report these changes to the FTB within six 
months of the date of the final federal determination. If the changes 
the IRS made result in a refund due for California, claim a refund 
within two years of the date of the final federal determination. Either 
use Form 540X, Amended Individual Income Tax Return, to correct 
the California income tax return you already filed, or send a copy of 
the federal changes to:

ATTN RAR/VOL MS F310 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 1998 
RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-1998
or Fax the information to (916) 843-2269.
If you need additional information or have any questions, call 
(916) 845-4028. 

Regardless of which method you use to notify the FTB, you must 
include a copy of the final federal determination along with all data 
and schedules on which the federal adjustment was based. Get 
FTB Pub. 1008, Federal Tax Adjustments and Your Notification 
Responsibilities to California, for more information. See “Order Forms 
and Publications” on page 67.
Note: File Form 540X only if the change affected your California tax 
liability.

  9.	 How long should I keep my tax information?
Request for information regarding your California income tax return 
usually occurs within the California statute of limitations period, 
which is usually the later of four years from the due date of the return 
or four years from the file date of the return. (Exception: An extended 
statute of limitations period applies for California or federal tax 
returns related or subject to a federal audit.)
Keep a copy of your return and the records that verify the income, 
deductions, adjustments, or credits reported on your return. Some 
records should be kept longer. For example, keep property records as 
long as needed to figure the basis of the property or records needed 
to verify carryover items (i.e., net operating losses) or records needed 
to track deferred gains on a 1031 exchange.

10.	 I will be moving after I file my return. How do I 
notify the FTB of my new address?
Notify the FTB of your new address by using form FTB 3533, Change 
of Address. This form is available on our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov 
as a fillable form or you may call (800) 852‑5711 and select option 5 
to report a change of address.
After filing your return, report a change of address to us for up to 
four years, especially if you leave the state and no longer have a 
requirement to file a California return.


949


204


610
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For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.

California Resident Income Tax Return 2006
FORM

540A C1 Side 1
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 For line 7, line 8, line 9, and line 10: Multiply the amount you enter in the box by the pre-printed dollar amount for that line.
  7	 Personal: If you filled in 1, 3, or 4 above, enter 1 in the box. If you filled in 2 or 5, enter 2 in the box. 
	 If you filled in the circle on line 6, see page 7 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    7		X 	$91	= 	$__________________
  8	 Blind: If you (or your spouse) are visually impaired, enter 1; if both, enter 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            8		X	 $91	= 	$__________________
  9	 Senior: If you (or your spouse) are 65 or older, enter 1; if both, enter 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .     9		X 	$91	= 	$__________________
10	 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself or your spouse. ___________________
	 ______________________  _______________________  Total dependent exemptions . . . . . . . . .              10		X	 $285= $_________________
11	 Exemption amount: Add line 7 through line 10. Transfer this amount to line 18  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       11					     $_________________

  1	  Single	
  2	  Married filing jointly. (see page 3) 
  3	  Married filing separately. Enter spouse’s SSN or ITIN above and full name here__________________________________________________

  4	  Head of household (with qualifying person). (see page 3)
  5	  Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse died  _______.

P

AC

A

R

RP

Your first name Last nameInitial

If joint return, spouse’s first name Last nameInitial

Present home address — number and street, PO Box, rural route, or PMB no.

City, town, or post office (If you have a foreign address, (see page 7)

Spouse’s SSN or ITIN

Your SSN or ITIN

P
ri

o
r 

N
am

e If you filed your 2005 tax return under a different last name, write the last name only from the 2005 return.
 Taxpayer _______________________________________________  Spouse  ___________________________________________

- -

Apt. no.

State ZIP Code

-

6	 If someone can claim you (or your spouse) as a dependent, fill in the circle here (see page 7) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     6 
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12	 a	 State wages from your form(s) W-2, box 16 or CA Sch. W-2, line C . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     12a
12	 b	 Enter federal adjusted gross income from your Forms 1040EZ, line 4; 1040A, line 21; or 1040, line 37 . . .   12b
13	 California Income Adjustments. See pages 7 and 8 for line 13a through line 13f.

	 a	 State income tax refund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  13a
	 b	 Unemployment compensation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             13b
	 c	 U.S. social security or railroad retirement  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    13c
	 d	 California non-taxable interest or dividend income  . . . . . . . . . . .             13d
	 e	 California IRA distributions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               13e
	 f	 Non-taxable pensions and annuities. See page 8 . . . . . . . . . . . . .               13f
	 g	 Total California income adjustments. Add line 13a through line 13f  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            13g

14	 Subtract line 13g from line 12b. This is your California adjusted gross income. (see page 8)  . . . . . . . . .            14 

15	 Enter the	 Your California itemized deductions or standard deduction 
	 larger of:	 shown below for your filing status:
		  • Single or Married filing separately . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $3,410
			   • Married filing jointly, Head of household, or Qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . .        $6,820
			   If the circle on line 6 is filled in, STOP. (see page 13)   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             15

16	 Subtract line 15 from line 14. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 16   

17	 Tax. See Tax Table.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                     17 
18	 Exemption credits. Enter the amount from line 11. 
	 If line 12b is more than $150,743, see page 9  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      18
19	 Nonrefundable renter’s credit. (see page 10)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       19
20	 Total credits. Add line 18 and line 19 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20
21	 Subtract line 20 from line 17 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                               21
22 	 Mental Health Services Tax. (see page 10) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    22
23 	 Add line 21 and line 22. This is your total tax. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             23
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24	 Enter the amount from Side 1, line 23 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                            24
25	 California income tax withheld. (see page 10) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    25
26	 2006 California estimated tax and payment with 
	 form FTB 3519 and amount applied from 2005 return  . . . . . . . . . . . .              26
27	 Excess SDI. To see if you qualify, see page 10  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    27

Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit. (see page 10.)
Attach form FTB 3506.

		
		

32	 Total payments and credits. Add line 25, line 26, line 27, and line 31 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  32
33	 Overpaid tax. If line 32 is more than line 24, subtract line 24 from line 32 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              33
34	 Enter the amount of line 33 you want applied to your 2007 estimated tax  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              34
35	 Overpaid tax available this year. Subtract line 34 from line 33  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                       35
36	 Tax due. If line 32 is less than line 24, subtract line 32 from line 24. (see page 11) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       36

37	 Use Tax. This is not a total line. (see page 11) . . . . . . . . . .   37 

3122063

Sign Here
It is unlawful to
forge a spouse’s
signature.

Joint return?
(see page 12).

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete.
Your signature	 Spouse’s signature (if filing jointly, both must sign)	 Daytime phone number (optional)

X	 X	 Date

( )

Paid preparer’s SSN/PTINPaid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge)

Firm’s name (or yours if self-employed)	 Firm’s address

CA Seniors Special Fund. (see page 59)  . . . . . . . . . . . .              50
Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . . . . . .           51
CA Fund for Senior Citizens . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        52
Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . .    53
State Children’s Trust Fund for the  Prevention 
  of Child Abuse . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                54
CA Breast Cancer Research Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   55
CA Firefighters’ Memorial Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     56

00
00
00
00

00
00
00

Emergency Food Assistance Program Fund . . . .     57
CA Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Fund . . .     58
CA Military Family Relief Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                59
Veterans’ Quality of Life Fund  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                60
CA Sexual Violence Victim Services Fund  . . . . .       61
CA Colorectal Cancer Prevention Fund  . . . . . . .         62
CA Sea Otter Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         63

00
00
00
00
00
00
00
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38	 Add line 50 through line 63. These are your total contributions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                      38

39	 AMOUNT YOU OWE. (see page 11) Do not send cash. 
	 Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   39 
	             Pay Online – Go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov
40	 Underpayment of estimated tax. If form FTB 5805 is attached, fill in this circle  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        40

41	 REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE. (see page 12) 
	 Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0002  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     41

Your name: _______________________________________Your SSN or ITIN: _______________________________	

FEIN



  28

  29

  30



U
se
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x

Fill in the information to have your refund directly deposited to one or two separate accounts. Do not attach a voided check or a deposit slip. (see page 12)

All or portion of total refund (line 41) you want to direct deposit:
	   Checking
	   Savings
 Routing number	   Type	  Account number	  42 Amount you want to direct deposit

Remaining portion of total refund (line 41) you want to direct deposit:
	   Checking
	   Savings
 Routing number	   Type	  Account number	  43 Amount you want to direct deposit
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For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.

California Resident Income Tax Return 2006
FORM

540A C1 Side 1
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 For line 7, line 8, line 9, and line 10: Multiply the amount you enter in the box by the pre-printed dollar amount for that line.
  7	 Personal: If you filled in 1, 3, or 4 above, enter 1 in the box. If you filled in 2 or 5, enter 2 in the box. 
	 If you filled in the circle on line 6, see page 7 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    7		X 	$91	= 	$__________________
  8	 Blind: If you (or your spouse) are visually impaired, enter 1; if both, enter 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            8		X	 $91	= 	$__________________
  9	 Senior: If you (or your spouse) are 65 or older, enter 1; if both, enter 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .     9		X 	$91	= 	$__________________
10	 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself or your spouse. ___________________
	 ______________________  _______________________  Total dependent exemptions . . . . . . . . .              10		X	 $285= $_________________
11	 Exemption amount: Add line 7 through line 10. Transfer this amount to line 18  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       11					     $_________________

  1	  Single	
  2	  Married filing jointly. (see page 3) 
  3	  Married filing separately. Enter spouse’s SSN or ITIN above and full name here__________________________________________________

  4	  Head of household (with qualifying person). (see page 3)
  5	  Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse died  _______.

P

AC

A

R

RP

Your first name Last nameInitial

If joint return, spouse’s first name Last nameInitial

Present home address — number and street, PO Box, rural route, or PMB no.

City, town, or post office (If you have a foreign address, (see page 7)

Spouse’s SSN or ITIN

Your SSN or ITIN

P
ri

o
r 

N
am

e If you filed your 2005 tax return under a different last name, write the last name only from the 2005 return.
 Taxpayer _______________________________________________  Spouse  ___________________________________________

- -

Apt. no.

State ZIP Code

-

6	 If someone can claim you (or your spouse) as a dependent, fill in the circle here (see page 7) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     6 
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12	 a	 State wages from your form(s) W-2, box 16 or CA Sch. W-2, line C . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     12a
12	 b	 Enter federal adjusted gross income from your Forms 1040EZ, line 4; 1040A, line 21; or 1040, line 37 . . .   12b
13	 California Income Adjustments. See pages 7 and 8 for line 13a through line 13f.

	 a	 State income tax refund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  13a
	 b	 Unemployment compensation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             13b
	 c	 U.S. social security or railroad retirement  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    13c
	 d	 California non-taxable interest or dividend income  . . . . . . . . . . .             13d
	 e	 California IRA distributions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               13e
	 f	 Non-taxable pensions and annuities. See page 8 . . . . . . . . . . . . .               13f
	 g	 Total California income adjustments. Add line 13a through line 13f  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            13g

14	 Subtract line 13g from line 12b. This is your California adjusted gross income. (see page 8)  . . . . . . . . .            14 

15	 Enter the	 Your California itemized deductions or standard deduction 
	 larger of:	 shown below for your filing status:
		  • Single or Married filing separately . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $3,410
			   • Married filing jointly, Head of household, or Qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . .        $6,820
			   If the circle on line 6 is filled in, STOP. (see page 13)   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             15

16	 Subtract line 15 from line 14. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 16   

17	 Tax. See Tax Table.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                     17 
18	 Exemption credits. Enter the amount from line 11. 
	 If line 12b is more than $150,743, see page 9  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      18
19	 Nonrefundable renter’s credit. (see page 10)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       19
20	 Total credits. Add line 18 and line 19 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20
21	 Subtract line 20 from line 17 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                               21
22 	 Mental Health Services Tax. (see page 10) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    22
23 	 Add line 21 and line 22. This is your total tax. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             23
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Side  �  Form 540A  C1  2006

24	 Enter the amount from Side 1, line 23 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                            24
25	 California income tax withheld. (see page 10) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    25
26	 2006 California estimated tax and payment with 
	 form FTB 3519 and amount applied from 2005 return  . . . . . . . . . . . .              26
27	 Excess SDI. To see if you qualify, see page 10  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    27

Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit. (see page 10.)
Attach form FTB 3506.

		
		

32	 Total payments and credits. Add line 25, line 26, line 27, and line 31 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  32
33	 Overpaid tax. If line 32 is more than line 24, subtract line 24 from line 32 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              33
34	 Enter the amount of line 33 you want applied to your 2007 estimated tax  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              34
35	 Overpaid tax available this year. Subtract line 34 from line 33  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                       35
36	 Tax due. If line 32 is less than line 24, subtract line 32 from line 24. (see page 11) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       36

37	 Use Tax. This is not a total line. (see page 11) . . . . . . . . . .   37 

3122063

Sign Here
It is unlawful to
forge a spouse’s
signature.

Joint return?
(see page 12).

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete.
Your signature	 Spouse’s signature (if filing jointly, both must sign)	 Daytime phone number (optional)

X	 X	 Date

( )

Paid preparer’s SSN/PTINPaid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge)

Firm’s name (or yours if self-employed)	 Firm’s address

CA Seniors Special Fund. (see page 59)  . . . . . . . . . . . .              50
Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . . . . . .           51
CA Fund for Senior Citizens . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        52
Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . .    53
State Children’s Trust Fund for the  Prevention 
  of Child Abuse . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                54
CA Breast Cancer Research Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   55
CA Firefighters’ Memorial Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     56

00
00
00
00

00
00
00

Emergency Food Assistance Program Fund . . . .     57
CA Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Fund . . .     58
CA Military Family Relief Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                59
Veterans’ Quality of Life Fund  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                60
CA Sexual Violence Victim Services Fund  . . . . .       61
CA Colorectal Cancer Prevention Fund  . . . . . . .         62
CA Sea Otter Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         63

00
00
00
00
00
00
00
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38	 Add line 50 through line 63. These are your total contributions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                      38

39	 AMOUNT YOU OWE. (see page 11) Do not send cash. 
	 Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   39 
	             Pay Online – Go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov
40	 Underpayment of estimated tax. If form FTB 5805 is attached, fill in this circle  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        40

41	 REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE. (see page 12) 
	 Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0002  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     41

Your name: _______________________________________Your SSN or ITIN: _______________________________	

FEIN



  28

  29

  30


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se
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Fill in the information to have your refund directly deposited to one or two separate accounts. Do not attach a voided check or a deposit slip. (see page 12)

All or portion of total refund (line 41) you want to direct deposit:
	   Checking
	   Savings
 Routing number	   Type	  Account number	  42 Amount you want to direct deposit

Remaining portion of total refund (line 41) you want to direct deposit:
	   Checking
	   Savings
 Routing number	   Type	  Account number	  43 Amount you want to direct deposit
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For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.

California Resident Income Tax Return 2006
FORM

540 C1 Side 1

F
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s

 For line 7, line 8, line 9, and line 10: Multiply the amount you enter in the box by the pre-printed dollar amount for that line.
  7	 Personal: If you filled in 1, 3, or 4 above, enter 1 in the box. If you filled in 2 or 5, enter 2. 
	 If you filled in the circle on line 6 do not enter amount on line 7 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                      7		X 	$91	 = 	$_________________
  8	 Blind: If you (or your spouse) are visually impaired, enter 1; if both, enter 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            8		X	$91	 = 	$_________________
  9	 Senior: If you (or your spouse) are 65 or older, enter 1; if both, enter 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   9		X 	$91	 = 	$_________________
10	 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself or your spouse. ___________________
	 ______________________  _______________________  Total dependent exemptions . . . . . . . . . . .              10		X	$285 = 	$_______________
11	 Exemption amount: Add line 7 through line 10. Transfer this amount to line 21  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       11				    $_______________

Fiscal year filers only: Enter month of year end: month________ year 2007.

  1	  Single	
  2	  Married filing jointly. (see page 3) 
  3	  Married filing separately. Enter spouse’s SSN or ITIN above and full name here__________________________________________________

12	 State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 16 or CA Sch. W-2, line C . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            12
13	 Enter federal adjusted gross income from Forms 1040, line 37; 1040A, line 21; 1040EZ, line 4 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            13
14	 California adjustments – subtractions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 37, column B . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     14
15	 Subtract line 14 from line 13. If less than zero, enter the result in parentheses (see page 13) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             15
16	 California adjustments – additions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 37, column C  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       16
17	 California adjusted gross income. Combine line 15 and line 16  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                  17
18	 Enter the	 Your California itemized deductions from Schedule CA (540), line 44; OR
	 larger of:	 Your California standard deduction shown below for your filing status:
		  • Single or Married filing separately . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $3,410
		  • Married filing jointly, Head of household, or Qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . .        $6,820
		  If the circle on line 6 is filled in, STOP. (see page 13)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                               18
19	 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   19	 	

Ta
xa

b
le
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co

m
e

Ta
x 

20	 Tax. Fill in the circle if from:    Tax Table   Tax Rate Schedule   FTB 3800   FTB 3803  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    20
21	 Exemption credits. Enter the amount from line 11. If your federal AGI is more than $150,743, see page 14 . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   21
22	 Subtract line 21 from line 20. If less than zero, enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                        22
23	 Tax (see page 14). Fill in the circle if from:   Schedule G-1   FTB 5870A  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    23
24	 Add line 22 and line 23 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                  24

25	 Enter credit name____________________________code no________and amount . . . . . . . . .            25
26	 Enter credit name____________________________code no________and amount . . . . . . . . .            26
27	 To claim more than two credits (see page 15) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .    27
28	 Nonrefundable renter’s credit (see page 15) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            28
29	 Add line 25 through line 28. These are your total credits  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                         29
30	 Subtract line 29 from line 24. If less than zero, enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                         30
	

  4	  Head of household (with qualifying person). (see page 3)
  5	  Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse died  _______.
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RP

Your first name Last nameInitial

If joint return, spouse’s first name Last nameInitial

Present home address — number and street, PO Box, rural route, or PMB no.

City, town, or post office (If you have a foreign address, (see page 13)

Spouse’s SSN or ITIN

Your SSN or ITIN

P
ri

o
r 

N
am

e If you filed your 2005 tax return under a different last name, write the last name only from the 2005 return.
 Taxpayer _______________________________________________   Spouse_____________________________________________

- -

PBA Code

State ZIP Code

-

Apt. no.

{ {

31	 Alternative minimum tax. Attach Schedule P (540) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     31
32	 Mental Health Services Tax (see page 16) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            32
33	 Other taxes and credit recapture (see page 16) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   33
34	 Add line 30, line 31, line 32, and line 33. This is your total tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                   34

6	 If someone can claim you (or your spouse) as a dependent, fill in the circle here (see page 7) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     6 

- -



Side 2  Form  540 C1  2006 3102063
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65	 AMOUNT YOU OWE. Add line 48, line 49, and line 64 (see page 18). Do not send cash.
	 Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001 . . . . . . . . . . . .             65

66	 Interest, late return penalties, and late payment penalties . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 	 66
67	 Underpayment of estimated tax. Fill in circle:   FTB 5805 attached   FTB 5805F attached  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    	 67
68	 Total amount due (see page 19). Enclose, but do not staple, any payment . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          	 68

69	 REFUND OR NO AMOUNT DUE. Subtract line 49 and line 64 from line 47 (see page 19).  
	 Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0002  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               69

Fill in the information to have your refund directly deposited to one or two separate accounts. Do not attach a voided check or a deposit slip (see page 19).

All or portion of total refund (line 69) you want to direct deposit:
	  Checking
	  Savings
 Routing number	  Type	  Account number	   70 Direct deposit amount

Remaining portion of total refund (line 69) you want to direct deposit:
	  Checking
	  Savings
 Routing number	  Type	  Account number	   71 Direct deposit amount

Your name: _______________________________________Your SSN or ITIN: _______________________________	
U

se
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P
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64	 Add line 50 through line 63. These are your total contributions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                  64

CA Seniors Special Fund (see page 59) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     50
Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 51
CA Fund for Senior Citizens . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              52
Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . . . . .          53
State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . .    54
CA Breast Cancer Research Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          55
CA Firefighters’ Memorial Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           56

Emergency Food Assistance Program Fund . . . . . . .        57
CA Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Fund . . . . . .        58
CA Military Family Relief Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   59
Veterans’ Quality of Life Fund  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   60 
CA Sexual Violence Victim Services Fund  . . . . . . . .          61
CA Colorectal Cancer Prevention Fund . . . . . . . . . . .            62
CA Sea Otter Fund  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           63

00
00
00
00
00
00
00

00
00
00
00
00
00
00

35	 Total tax from line 34, Side 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                            35
36	 California income tax withheld (see page 16)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          36
37	 2006 CA estimated tax and other payments (see page 16) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                37
38	 Real estate and other withholding, Forms 592-B, 593-B, and 594 (see page 16)  . . . . . . . . . . . .               38
39	 Excess SDI. To see if you qualify (see page 16) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                         39
Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit (see page 16). Attach form FTB 3506.
	 40  ______________________    41  _____________________
	 42  ______________________	     43
44	 Add line 36, line 37, line 38, line 39, and line 43. These are your total payments (see page 17) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            44

45	 Overpaid tax. If line 44 is more than line 35, subtract line 35 from line 44 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                             45
46	 Amount of line 45 you want applied to your 2007 estimated tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                  46
47	 Overpaid tax available this year. Subtract line 46 from line 45  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    47
48	 Tax due. If line 44 is less than line 35, subtract line 44 from line 35.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                 48

    49  Use Tax. This is not a total line (see page 17)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     49
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Sign
Here

IMPORTANT: See the instructions to find out if you should attach a copy of your complete federal return. Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have 
examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete.              

Paid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge)

Firm’s name (or yours if self-employed)	 Firm’s address

Paid preparer’s SSN/PTIN

Your signature	 Spouse’s signature (if a joint return, both must sign)	 Daytime phone number (optional)

X	 X	 Date

( )

FEIN





It is unlawful to
forge a spouse’s
signature.

Joint return?
(see page 24)

.,,
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00
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For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.

California Resident Income Tax Return 2006
FORM

540 C1 Side 1

F
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 For line 7, line 8, line 9, and line 10: Multiply the amount you enter in the box by the pre-printed dollar amount for that line.
  7	 Personal: If you filled in 1, 3, or 4 above, enter 1 in the box. If you filled in 2 or 5, enter 2. 
	 If you filled in the circle on line 6 do not enter amount on line 7 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                      7		X 	$91	 = 	$_________________
  8	 Blind: If you (or your spouse) are visually impaired, enter 1; if both, enter 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            8		X	$91	 = 	$_________________
  9	 Senior: If you (or your spouse) are 65 or older, enter 1; if both, enter 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   9		X 	$91	 = 	$_________________
10	 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself or your spouse. ___________________
	 ______________________  _______________________  Total dependent exemptions . . . . . . . . . . .              10		X	$285 = 	$_______________
11	 Exemption amount: Add line 7 through line 10. Transfer this amount to line 21  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       11				    $_______________

Fiscal year filers only: Enter month of year end: month________ year 2007.

  1	  Single	
  2	  Married filing jointly. (see page 3) 
  3	  Married filing separately. Enter spouse’s SSN or ITIN above and full name here__________________________________________________

12	 State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 16 or CA Sch. W-2, line C . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            12
13	 Enter federal adjusted gross income from Forms 1040, line 37; 1040A, line 21; 1040EZ, line 4 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            13
14	 California adjustments – subtractions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 37, column B . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     14
15	 Subtract line 14 from line 13. If less than zero, enter the result in parentheses (see page 13) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             15
16	 California adjustments – additions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 37, column C  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       16
17	 California adjusted gross income. Combine line 15 and line 16  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                  17
18	 Enter the	 Your California itemized deductions from Schedule CA (540), line 44; OR
	 larger of:	 Your California standard deduction shown below for your filing status:
		  • Single or Married filing separately . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $3,410
		  • Married filing jointly, Head of household, or Qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . .        $6,820
		  If the circle on line 6 is filled in, STOP. (see page 13)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                               18
19	 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   19	 	
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20	 Tax. Fill in the circle if from:    Tax Table   Tax Rate Schedule   FTB 3800   FTB 3803  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    20
21	 Exemption credits. Enter the amount from line 11. If your federal AGI is more than $150,743, see page 14 . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   21
22	 Subtract line 21 from line 20. If less than zero, enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                        22
23	 Tax (see page 14). Fill in the circle if from:   Schedule G-1   FTB 5870A  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    23
24	 Add line 22 and line 23 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                  24

25	 Enter credit name____________________________code no________and amount . . . . . . . . .            25
26	 Enter credit name____________________________code no________and amount . . . . . . . . .            26
27	 To claim more than two credits (see page 15) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .    27
28	 Nonrefundable renter’s credit (see page 15) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            28
29	 Add line 25 through line 28. These are your total credits  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                         29
30	 Subtract line 29 from line 24. If less than zero, enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                         30
	

  4	  Head of household (with qualifying person). (see page 3)
  5	  Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse died  _______.
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Your first name Last nameInitial

If joint return, spouse’s first name Last nameInitial

Present home address — number and street, PO Box, rural route, or PMB no.

City, town, or post office (If you have a foreign address, (see page 13)

Spouse’s SSN or ITIN

Your SSN or ITIN

P
ri

o
r 

N
am

e If you filed your 2005 tax return under a different last name, write the last name only from the 2005 return.
 Taxpayer _______________________________________________   Spouse_____________________________________________

- -

PBA Code

State ZIP Code

-

Apt. no.

{ {

31	 Alternative minimum tax. Attach Schedule P (540) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     31
32	 Mental Health Services Tax (see page 16) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            32
33	 Other taxes and credit recapture (see page 16) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   33
34	 Add line 30, line 31, line 32, and line 33. This is your total tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                   34

6	 If someone can claim you (or your spouse) as a dependent, fill in the circle here (see page 7) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     6 

- -
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65	 AMOUNT YOU OWE. Add line 48, line 49, and line 64 (see page 18). Do not send cash.
	 Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001 . . . . . . . . . . . .             65

66	 Interest, late return penalties, and late payment penalties . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 	 66
67	 Underpayment of estimated tax. Fill in circle:   FTB 5805 attached   FTB 5805F attached  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    	 67
68	 Total amount due (see page 19). Enclose, but do not staple, any payment . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          	 68

69	 REFUND OR NO AMOUNT DUE. Subtract line 49 and line 64 from line 47 (see page 19).  
	 Mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0002  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               69

Fill in the information to have your refund directly deposited to one or two separate accounts. Do not attach a voided check or a deposit slip (see page 19).

All or portion of total refund (line 69) you want to direct deposit:
	  Checking
	  Savings
 Routing number	  Type	  Account number	   70 Direct deposit amount

Remaining portion of total refund (line 69) you want to direct deposit:
	  Checking
	  Savings
 Routing number	  Type	  Account number	   71 Direct deposit amount

Your name: _______________________________________Your SSN or ITIN: _______________________________	
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64	 Add line 50 through line 63. These are your total contributions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                  64

CA Seniors Special Fund (see page 59) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     50
Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 51
CA Fund for Senior Citizens . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              52
Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . . . . .          53
State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . .    54
CA Breast Cancer Research Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          55
CA Firefighters’ Memorial Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           56

Emergency Food Assistance Program Fund . . . . . . .        57
CA Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Fund . . . . . .        58
CA Military Family Relief Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   59
Veterans’ Quality of Life Fund  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   60 
CA Sexual Violence Victim Services Fund  . . . . . . . .          61
CA Colorectal Cancer Prevention Fund . . . . . . . . . . .            62
CA Sea Otter Fund  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           63

00
00
00
00
00
00
00

00
00
00
00
00
00
00

35	 Total tax from line 34, Side 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                            35
36	 California income tax withheld (see page 16)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          36
37	 2006 CA estimated tax and other payments (see page 16) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                37
38	 Real estate and other withholding, Forms 592-B, 593-B, and 594 (see page 16)  . . . . . . . . . . . .               38
39	 Excess SDI. To see if you qualify (see page 16) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                         39
Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit (see page 16). Attach form FTB 3506.
	 40  ______________________    41  _____________________
	 42  ______________________	     43
44	 Add line 36, line 37, line 38, line 39, and line 43. These are your total payments (see page 17) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            44

45	 Overpaid tax. If line 44 is more than line 35, subtract line 35 from line 44 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                             45
46	 Amount of line 45 you want applied to your 2007 estimated tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                  46
47	 Overpaid tax available this year. Subtract line 46 from line 45  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    47
48	 Tax due. If line 44 is less than line 35, subtract line 44 from line 35.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                 48

    49  Use Tax. This is not a total line (see page 17)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     49
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Sign
Here

IMPORTANT: See the instructions to find out if you should attach a copy of your complete federal return. Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have 
examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete.              

Paid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge)

Firm’s name (or yours if self-employed)	 Firm’s address

Paid preparer’s SSN/PTIN

Your signature	 Spouse’s signature (if a joint return, both must sign)	 Daytime phone number (optional)

X	 X	 Date

( )

FEIN





It is unlawful to
forge a spouse’s
signature.

Joint return?
(see page 24)

.,,

.,,

- -

00



Part I  Income Adjustment Schedule	 Federal Amounts	 Subtractions	 Additions
	 (taxable amounts from	 See instructions	 See instructions
Section A – Income	 your federal return)

  7	 Wages, salaries, tips, etc. See instructions before making an entry in column B or C . .  	 7
  8	 Taxable interest income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                 	 8
  9	 Ordinary dividends. See instructions. (b) ________________________ . . . . . . . . . . .           	 (a)
10	 Taxable refunds, credits, offsets of state and local income taxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .	 10
11	 Alimony received . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                      	 11
12	 Business income or (loss) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                               	 12
13	 Capital gain or (loss). See instructions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     	 13
14	 Other gains or (losses)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                 	 14
15	 Total IRA distributions. See instructions. (a) ____________________ . . . . . . . . . . . .            	 (b)
16	 Total pensions and annuities. See instructions. (a) ____________________  . . . . . . .       	 (b)
17	 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc.  . . . . . . . . . . . . .             	 17
18	 Farm income or (loss) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                  	 18
19	 Unemployment compensation. Enter the same amount in column A and column B . . .   	 19
20	 Social security benefits (a) ____________________ . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          	 (b)
21	 Other income.				    a _____________	 a _____________
	 a  California lottery winnings	 e  NOL from FTB 3805D, 3805Z,			   b _____________	 b _____________
	 b  Disaster loss carryover from FTB 3805V	      3806, 3807, or 3809	 21	 _______________	 c _____________	 c _____________	

c  Federal NOL (Form 1040, line 21)	 f  Other (describe)			   d _____________	 d _____________
	 d  NOL carryover from FTB 3805V	   ________________________			   e _____________	 e _____________
		    ________________________			   f _____________	 f _____________
22	 Total. Combine line 7 through line 21 in column A. Add line 7 through line 21f in 

column B and column C. Go to Section B . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                      22	 _______________

Section B – Adjustments to Income

23	 Archer MSA deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    23
24	 Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, and fee-basis 

government officials  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                     24
25	 Health savings account deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                           25
26	 Moving expenses . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                        26
27	 One-half of self-employment tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            27
28	 Self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and qualified plans  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               28
29	 Self-employed health insurance deduction  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    29
30	 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                       30
31a	 Alimony paid. (b) Recipient’s:	 SSN ___ ___ ___ – ___ ___ – ___ ___ ___ ___ 

	
		  Last name ______________________________ . . . .    	 31a
32	 IRA deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                          32
33	 Student loan interest deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                             33
34	 Jury duty pay you gave to your employer . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     34
35	 Domestic production activities deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     35

36	 Add line 23 through line 31a and line 32 through line 35 in columns A, B, and C.  
See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                         36

37	 Total. Subtract line 36 from line 22 in columns A, B, and C. See instructions . . . . . . . .  37

SSN or ITIN -Name(s) as shown on return

7731063

-
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BA C

California Adjustments — Residents
SCHEDULE

CA (540)
TAXABLE YEAR

2006
Important: Attach this schedule directly behind Form 540, Side 2.

Schedule CA (540)  2006 (REV 04-07)  Side 1For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.



7732063Side 2  Schedule CA (540)  2006 (REV 03-07)

Part II  Adjustments to Federal Itemized Deductions

38	 Federal itemized deductions. Add the amounts on federal Schedule A (Form 1040), lines 4, 9, 14, 18, 19, 26, and 27  . . . . . . . . . .          	 38	 _________________

39	 Enter total of federal Schedule A (Form 1040), line 5 (State Disability Insurance, and state and local income tax, or  
General Sales Tax) and line 8 (foreign taxes only). See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                 	 39	 _________________

40	 Subtract line 39 from line 38 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                               	 40	  _________________

41	 Other adjustments including California lottery losses. See instructions. Specify _________________ . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      	 41	  _________________

42	 Combine line 40 and line 41  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                               	 42	  _________________

43	 Is your federal AGI (Form 540, line 13) more than the amount shown below for your filing status? 
	 Single or married filing separately . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                 $150,743 
	 Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                             $226,119 
	 Married filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         $301,491

	 No. Transfer the amount on line 42 to line 43 
Yes. Complete the Itemized Deductions Worksheet in the instructions for Schedule CA (540), line 43  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        43

44	 Enter the larger of the amount on line 43 or your standard deduction listed below
		  Single or married filing separately . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   $3,410 

	 Married filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . .           $6,820
	 Transfer the amount on line 44 to Form 540, line 18  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                             44



For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131. Schedule D (540)/FTB 3885A  20067761063

  1a

  1b
 
  2	 Net gain or (loss) shown on California Schedule(s) K-1 (541, 565, 568, and 100S) .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  	   2
  3	 Capital gain distributions (federal Form 1099-DIV, box 2a minus box 2c)  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	   3
  4	 Total 2006 gains from all sources. Add column (e) amounts of line 1a, line 1b, line 2, and line 3 . .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	   4
  5	 2006 loss. Add column (d) amounts of line 1a, line 1b, and line 2. Enter as a negative amount .  .  .  .  .  	   5
  6	 California capital loss carryover from 2005, if any. See instructions. Enter as a negative amount  .  .  .  	   6
  7	 Total 2006 loss. Add line 5 and line 6. Enter as a negative amount .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  	   7
  8	 Combine line 4 and line 7. If a loss, go to line 9. If a gain, go to line 10 .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	   8
  9	 If line 8 is a loss, enter the smaller of: 	 (a) the loss on line 8; or
			   (b) $3,000 ($1,500 if married filing a separate return). See instructions  .  .  .  .  .  . 	   9
10	 Enter the gain or (loss) from federal Form 1040, line 13 . .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 10
11	 Enter the California gain from line 8 or (loss) from line 9 .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 11
12	 a	 If line 10 is more than line 11, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540) line 13, column B .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 12a
	 b	 If line 10 is less than line 11, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540), line 13, column C  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 12b

California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment
Do not complete this schedule if all of your California gains (losses) are the same as your federal gains (losses).

SCHEDULE

D (540)

TAXABLE YEAR

2006

	 (a)	 (b)	 (c)	 (d)	 (e)
	 Description of property (identify S corporation stock)	 Sales price	 Cost or other basis	 Loss. If (c) is more than	 Gain. If (b) is more than
	 Example 100 shares of ‘’Z’’ (S stock)			   (b), subtract (b) from (c)	 (c), subtract (c) from (b)

--
SSN or ITINName(s) as shown on return

Part I  Identify the activity as passive or nonpassive. (See instructions.)
  1	  This form is being completed for a passive activity.
	  This form is being completed for a nonpassive activity.
Part II  Election to Expense Certain Tangible Property (IRC Section 179).
  2	 Enter the amount from line 12 of the Tangible Property Expense Worksheet in the instructions .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	   2
Part III  Depreciation

  3

  4	 Add the amounts on line 3, column (f)  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	   4
  5	 California depreciation for assets placed in service prior to 2006 .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	   5
  6	 Total California depreciation from this activity. Add the amounts on line 2, line 4, and line 5 .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	   6
  7	 Total federal depreciation from this activity. Enter depreciation from your federal Form 4562, line 22 .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	   7
  8	 a	 If line 6 is more than line 7, enter the difference here and see instructions .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	   8a
	 b	 If line 6 is less than line 7, enter the difference here and see instructions .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	   8b
Part IV  Amortization

  9

10	 Total California amortization from this activity. Add the amounts on line 9, column (f)  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 10
11	 California amortization of costs that began before 2006 .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 11
12	 Total California amortization from this activity. Add the amounts on line 10 and line 11 .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 12
13	 Total federal amortization from this activity. Enter amortization from your federal Form 4562, line 44 .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 13
14	 a	 If line 12 is more than line 13, enter the difference here and see instructions .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 14a
	 b	 If line 12 is less than line 13, enter the difference here and see instructions .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 	 14b

Depreciation and Amortization Adjustments
Do not complete this form if your California depreciation amounts are the same as federal amounts.

CALIFORNIA  FORM

3885A
TAXABLE YEAR

2006

	 (a)	 (b)	 (c)	 (d)	 (e)	 (f)
	 Description of property placed	 Date placed	 California basis	 Method	 Life or	 California
	 in service	 in service	 for depreciation		  rate	 depreciation deduction
	

	 (a)	 (b)	 (c)	 (d)	 (e)	 (f)
	 Description of cost	 Date placed	 California basis	 Code	 Period or	 California
	 amortizable	 in service	 for amortization	 section	 percentage	 amortization deduction
	

Business or activity to which form FTB 3885A relates

(                  )
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For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131. FTB 3519  20061221063

.,,

Your first name	 Initial	 Last name		  Your SSN or ITIN

If joint payment, spouse’s first name	 Initial	 Last name		  Spouse’s SSN or ITIN

Present address – number and street, PO Box, rural route, or PMB no.			   Apt. no.	

City, town, or post office	 State	 ZIP Code

Automatic Extension for Individuals
california  form

3519 (PIT)
TAXABLE YEAR

2006

Amount of paymentIF PAYMENT IS DUE, MAIL TO:
  FR  ANCHISE TAX BOARD
    PO BOX 942867
    SACRAMENTO  CA  94267-0051

1	 Total tax you expect to owe. This is the amount you expect to enter on Form 540A, line 23; Form 540, line 34; or Long Form 540NR, line 42 .   1
2	 Payments and credits:
	 a	 California income tax withheld (including real estate and nonresident withholding)  .    2a
	 b	 California estimated tax payments and amount applied from your 2005 tax return . .     2b	
	 	 (Note: You can check the estimated tax payments we have received by going to our 
		  Website at www.ftb.ca.gov.)
	 c	 Other payments and credits, including any tax payments made with any previous
		  form FTB 3519 voucher . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                  2c
3	 Total tax payments and credits. Add line 2a, line 2b, and line 2c . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                              3
4	 Tax due. Is line 1 more than line 3? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                    4
	 •	 No. Stop here. You have no tax due. DO NOT MAIL THE PAYMENT VOUCHER. Your return, when filed by October 15, 2007, will verify that you qualified for the 

extension.
	 •	 Yes. Subtract line 3 from line 1. This is your tax due. Enter the tax due amount from line 4 as the “Amount of payment” on the form FTB 3519 voucher below. 

Fill in your name(s), address, and SSN or ITIN, and separate the voucher from this page where it says “DETACH HERE.” Make a check or money order payable to 
“Franchise Tax Board.” Also write your SSN or ITIN and “2006 FTB 3519” on the check or money order. Enclose, but do not staple your check or money order with 
the voucher and mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0051

✓  Keep this completed worksheet with your tax records.

TAX PAYMENT WORKSHEET FOR YOUR RECORDS

Instructions for Form FTB 3519
Automatic Extension for Individuals
General Information
Use form FTB 3519 only if:
•	 You cannot file your 2006 return by April 16, 2007; and 
•	 You owe tax for 2006.
When you file your 2006 return, you can e-file. Go to our Website at  
www.ftb.ca.gov. Use Form 540A, Form 540, or Long Form 540NR. Note: If you 
use form FTB 3519, you may not file Form 540 2EZ or Short Form 540NR.
Use the worksheet below to determine if you owe tax. 
•	 If you do not owe tax, do not complete or mail this voucher. However, file your 

return by October 15, 2007. 
•	 If you owe tax, choose one of the following payment options: 

•	 Web Pay: To make a payment online or to schedule a future payment (up to 
one year in advance), go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov. Do not mail the 
voucher to us.	

•	 Check or Money Order: Complete the payment voucher below and mail it 
with your check or money order to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB).  
Note: Make all checks or money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn 
against a U.S. financial institution.

•	 Credit Card: Use your Discover/NOVUS, MasterCard, American Express, or Visa 
card. Call (800) 272-9829 or go to the Website www.officialpayments.com. Use 
the jurisdiction code 1555. Official Payments Corp. charges a convenience 
fee for using this service. Do not mail the voucher to us.

•	 Installment Agreement: Can’t pay the full amount you owe? Go to our 
Website at www.ftb.ca.gov or get form FTB 3567, Installment Agreement 
Request Booklet.

--

-

Name and Address. Fill in your complete name(s), address, and social security 
number(s) (SSN’s) or individual taxpayer identification number(s) (ITIN’s) on 
the voucher. If you lease a private mailbox (PMB) from a private business rather 
than a PO box from the United States Postal Service, include the Private Mail Box 
(PMB) in the address field. Write the acronym “PMB” first, then the box number. 
Example: 111 Main Street, PMB 123.

Penalties and Interest
If you fail to pay your total tax liability by April 16, 2007, a late-payment penalty 
plus interest will be added to your tax due. The late payment penalty may be 
waived where 90% of the tax shown on the return is paid by the original due date 
of the return. If, after April 16, 2007, you find that your estimate of tax due was 
too low, pay the additional tax as soon as possible to avoid further accumulation 
of penalties and interest. Pay your additional tax with another form FTB 3519 
voucher. If you do not file your tax return by October 15, 2007, you will be 
assessed a late-filing penalty plus interest from the original due date of the return.

Taxpayers Residing or Traveling Outside the USA
If you are living or traveling outside the USA on April 16, 2007, the deadline to file 
your return and pay the tax is June 15, 2007. Interest will accrue from the original 
due date (April 15, 2007) until the date of payment. If you need additional time to 
file, you will be allowed a six-month extension without filing a request. To qualify 
for the extension, file your tax return by December 17, 2007. To avoid any late-
payment penalties, pay your tax liability by June 15, 2007. When filing your tax 
return, attach a statement to the front indicating that you were “outside the USA 
on April 16, 2007.”

If amount of payment is 
zero, do not mail form  } 

DETACH HERE
Save the stamp – pay online or by credit card!

IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT MAIL THIS FORM DETACH HERE

Calendar year – File and Pay by April 16, 2007

 

--



Your first name Last nameInitial

If joint payment, spouse’s first name Last nameInitial

Present home address — number and street, PO Box, rural route, or PMB no. Apt no.

City, town, or post office (If you have a foreign address, see instructions) State ZIP Code

-

Your SSN or ITIN

- -
Spouse’s SSN or ITIN

- -

.,,

540-ES Voucher 1 at bottom of page

1201073

Estimated Tax for Individuals
california form

540-ES

TAXABLE YEAR

2007
Fiscal year filers, enter year ending month:           Year  2008

Payment
Voucher

1
Amount of payment

Do not combine this payment with payment of your tax due for 2006.  Make your check or money order payable to “Franchise Tax 
Board.” Write your social security number or individual taxpayer identification number and “Form 540-ES 2007” on it.  Mail this voucher 
and your check or money order to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0031.
If No Payment is Due, Do Not Mail This Form.
See Section A of the instructions for an alternative to using this form.

Form 540-ES  2006

File and Pay by April 16, 2007

DETACH HERE IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT MAIL THIS FORM DETACH HERE 

For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.



1201073

Estimated Tax for Individuals
california form

540-ES

TAXABLE YEAR

2007
Fiscal year filers, enter year ending month:           Year  2008

Payment
Voucher

4
Amount of payment

Do not combine this payment with payment of your tax due for 2006.  Make your check or money order payable to “Franchise Tax 
Board.” Write your social security number or individual taxpayer identification number and “Form 540-ES 2007” on it.  Mail this voucher 
and your check or money order to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0031.
If No Payment is Due, Do Not Mail This Form.
See Section A of the instructions for an alternative to using this form.

Form 540-ES  2006

File and Pay by Jan. 15, 2008

DETACH HERE IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT MAIL THIS FORM DETACH HERE 

For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.

Your first name Last nameInitial

If joint payment, spouse’s first name Last nameInitial

Present home address — number and street, PO Box, rural route, or PMB no. Apt no.

City, town, or post office (If you have a foreign address, see instructions) State ZIP Code

-

Your SSN or ITIN

- -
Spouse’s SSN or ITIN

- -

.,,

1201073

Estimated Tax for Individuals
california form

540-ES

TAXABLE YEAR

2007
Fiscal year filers, enter year ending month:           Year  2008

Payment
Voucher

3
Amount of payment

Do not combine this payment with payment of your tax due for 2006.  Make your check or money order payable to “Franchise Tax 
Board.” Write your social security number or individual taxpayer identification number and “Form 540-ES 2007” on it.  Mail this voucher 
and your check or money order to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0031.
If No Payment is Due, Do Not Mail This Form.
See Section A of the instructions for an alternative to using this form.

Form 540-ES  2006

File and Pay by Sept. 17, 2007

DETACH HERE IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT MAIL THIS FORM DETACH HERE 

For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.

Your first name Last nameInitial

If joint payment, spouse’s first name Last nameInitial

Present home address — number and street, PO Box, rural route, or PMB no. Apt no.

City, town, or post office (If you have a foreign address, see instructions) State ZIP Code

-

Your SSN or ITIN

- -
Spouse’s SSN or ITIN

- -

.,,

1201073

Estimated Tax for Individuals
california form

540-ES

TAXABLE YEAR

2007
Fiscal year filers, enter year ending month:           Year  2008

Payment
Voucher

2
Amount of payment

Do not combine this payment with payment of your tax due for 2006.  Make your check or money order payable to “Franchise Tax 
Board.” Write your social security number or individual taxpayer identification number and “Form 540-ES 2007” on it.  Mail this voucher 
and your check or money order to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0031.
If No Payment is Due, Do Not Mail This Form.
See Section A of the instructions for an alternative to using this form.

Form 540-ES  2006

File and Pay by June 15, 2007

For Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.

Your first name Last nameInitial

If joint payment, spouse’s first name Last nameInitial

Present home address — number and street, PO Box, rural route, or PMB no. Apt no.

City, town, or post office (If you have a foreign address, see instructions) State ZIP Code

-

Your SSN or ITIN

- -
Spouse’s SSN or ITIN

- -

.,,
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Form 540-ES Instructions  2006  Page 45

2007 Instructions for Form 540-ES Estimated Tax For Individuals
What’s New
Registered Domestic Partners. Beginning with the 2007 tax year, registered 
domestic partners are required to file a joint California return or separate returns 
using the same rules applicable to spouses. If you are a registered domestic 
partner, you may choose to modify your withholding or estimated tax payments for 
2007 in anticipation of this change.
A  Purpose
Use this form, with the instructions and the 2007 Estimated Tax Worksheet, to 
determine if you owe estimated tax for 2007 and to figure the required amounts.  
Estimated tax is the tax you expect to owe in 2007 after subtracting the credits you 
plan to take and tax you expect to have withheld.
Note: If you need to make a payment for your 2006 tax liability or make a separate 
payment for any balance due on your 2006 tax return, use form FTB 3519, 
Automatic Extension for Individuals, or form FTB 3567, Installment Agreement 
Request, or call (800) 338-0505.
Generally, the required estimated tax amount is based on the lesser of 90% of the 
current year’s tax or 100% of the prior year’s tax including Alternative Minimum 
Tax (AMT).
Note: Certain taxpayers are limited in their use of the prior year’s tax as a basis for 
figuring their estimated tax. See paragraph C below for more information. Check 
for estimated payments we’ve received by going to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov 
and select Check your account.
Increasing your withholding could eliminate the need to make a large payment 
with your tax return. To increase your withholding, complete Employment 
Development Department (EDD) Form DE 4, Employee’s Withholding Allowance 
Certificate, and give it to your employer’s appropriate payroll staff. You can get this 
form from your employer, or by calling EDD at (888) 745-3886. You can download 
the Form DE 4 at EDD’s Website www.edd.ca.gov or by going to our Website at 
www.ftb.ca.gov and search for DE 4.
Note: Form DE 4 specifically adjusts your California state withholding and is not 
the same as the federal Form W-4, Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate.
B  Who Must Make Estimated Tax Payments
Generally, you must make estimated tax payments if you expect to owe at 
least $200 ($100 if married filing separately) in tax for 2007 (after subtracting 
withholding and credits) and you expect your withholding and credits to be less 
than the smaller of:
1.	 90% of the tax shown on your 2007 tax return; or
2.	 The tax shown on your 2006 tax return including AMT.
Note:
•	 You do not have to make estimated tax payments if you are a nonresident or new 

resident of California in 2006 and did not have a California tax liability in 2006.
•	 If you are a military servicemember not domiciled in California, do not include 

your military pay in your computation of estimated tax payments. For addi-
tional information, get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel.

If you and your spouse paid joint estimated tax payments, but are now filing 
separate returns, either of you may claim all of the amount paid, or you may each 
claim part of the joint estimated payments. If you want the estimated tax payments 
to be divided, notify the FTB before the end of the tax year in which you wish to file 
separate returns so that the payments can be applied to the proper account. The 
FTB will accept in writing, any divorce agreement (or court ordered settlement) 
or a statement showing the allocation of the payments along with a notarized 
signature of both taxpayers. The statements should be sent to:
	 Joint Estimate Credit Allocation MS F225 

Taxpayer Services Center 
Franchise Tax Board 
PO Box 942840 
Sacramento CA 94240-0040

C  Limit on the Use of Prior Year’s Tax
Individuals who are required to make estimated payments, and whose 2006 
adjusted gross income is more than $150,000 (or $75,000 if married filing 
separately), must figure estimated tax based on the lesser of 90% of their tax for 
2007 or 110% of their tax for 2006 including AMT. This rule does not apply to 
farmers or fishermen.
D  When to Make Your Estimated Tax Payments
For estimated tax purposes, the year is divided into four payment periods. Each 
period has a specific payment due date. If you do not pay enough tax by the due 
date of each of the payment periods, you may be charged a penalty even if you are 
due a refund when you file your income tax return. The payment periods and due 
dates are:
For the payment period:	 File and Pay by:
January 1 through March 31, 2007	 April 16, 2007
April 1 through May 31, 2007	 June 15, 2007
June 1 through August 31, 2007	 September 17, 2007
Sept. 1 through Dec. 31, 2007	 January 15, 2008

Filing an Early Return In Place of the 4th Installment. If you file your 2007 tax 
return by January 31, 2008, and pay the entire balance due, you do not have to 
make your last estimated tax payment. In addition, you will not owe a penalty for 
the fourth installment.
Annualization Option. If you do not receive your taxable income evenly during the 
year, it may be to your advantage to annualize your income. This method allows 
you to match your estimated tax payments to the actual period when you earned 
the income. You may use the annualization schedule included with the 2006 form 
FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals and Fiduciaries.
Farmers and Fishermen. If you are a farmer or fisherman, and at least two-thirds 
of your 2006 and 2007 gross income is from farming or fishing, you may:
•	 Pay all of your estimated tax by January 15, 2008; or
•	 File your tax return for 2007 on or before March 3, 2008, and pay the total tax 

due. In this case, you need not make estimated tax payments for 2007. Use 
form FTB 5805F, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Farmers and Fishermen, 
to determine if you paid the required estimated tax. If the estimated tax is 
underpaid, attach the completed form FTB 5805F to the back of your return.

Fiscal Year. If you file your return on a fiscal year basis, your due dates will be 
the 15th day of the 4th, 6th, and 9th months of your fiscal year and the 1st month 
of the following fiscal year. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal 
holiday, use the next business day.
Mental Health Services Tax. If your taxable income or nonresident CA source taxable 
income is more than $1,000,000, compute the Mental Health Services Tax below.
  A.	Taxable income from Form 540A, line 16; Form 540, line 19; 

or Long Form 540NR, line 22 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         ____________
  B.	Less:  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            ____________
  C.	Subtotal . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          ____________
  D.	Multiply line C by 1% . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                ____________
  E.	Mental Health Services Tax – Enter this amount on line 17 of 

the 2007 Estimated Tax Worksheet on the next page . . . . . . . .        ____________
E  How to Use Form 540-ES Payment Voucher
Use the Estimated Tax Worksheet and your 2006 California income tax return as a 
guide for figuring your 2007 estimated tax. Be sure that the amount shown on line 21 
of the Estimated Tax Worksheet has been reduced by any overpaid tax on your 2006 
tax return which you chose to apply toward your 2007 estimated tax payment.
Note:
•	 This form is not an application for an installment agreement. If you are not able 

to pay your income tax, get FTB 3567, Installment Agreement Request Booklet, 
or complete the form online. Go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov.

•	 If you filed Form 540 2EZ for 2006, do not use the Form 540 2EZ instructions for 
figuring amounts on this worksheet. Instead, get the 2006 California Resident 
Income Tax Booklet.

There is a separate payment voucher for each due date. Please be sure you use 
the voucher with the correct due date shown in the top margin of the voucher. 
Complete Form 540-ES using black or blue ink:
1.	 Print your name, address, and social security number or individual taxpayer 

identification number in the space provided on Form 540-ES. If you have a 
foreign address, enter the information in the following order: City, Country, 
Province/Region, and Postal Code. Follow the country’s practice for entering 
the postal code. Do not abbreviate the country name.

2.	 Complete the amount of payment line of the voucher by entering the amount of 
the payment that you are sending. Your entry must match the amount you are 
sending. 

3.	 Paying your tax:
	 Web Pay – To make a payment online or to schedule a future payment (up to 

one year in advance), go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov. Do not mail the 
voucher to us.

	 Credit card – Go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov or call (800) 272-9829.  
You will be charged a fee for this service. Do not mail the voucher if you pay 
by credit card.

	 Check or money order – Make your check or money order payable to 
“Franchise Tax Board.” Write your social security number or individual 
taxpayer identification number and “Form 540-ES 2007” on it and mail to the 
address on the voucher.  

	 Note: Make all checks and money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn 
against a U.S. financial institution.

4.	 Complete the Record of Estimated Tax Payments on page 46 for your files.
5.	 Fiscal year filers: Enter the month of your fiscal year end (located directly 

below the form’s title).
F  Failure to Make Estimated Tax Payments
If you do not make the required estimate payments, if you pay an installment after 
the date it is due, or if you underpay any installment, a penalty may be assessed 
on the portion of estimated tax that was underpaid from the due date of the 
installment to the date of payment or the due date of your tax return, whichever is 
earlier. Refer to the 2006 form FTB 5805 for more information.

$(1,000,000)

x  .01
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2007 California Estimated Tax Worksheet  Keep this worksheet for your records.
  1	 Residents: Enter your estimated 2007 California AGI. Nonresidents and part-year residents: Enter your estimated 2007 

total AGI from all sources. If you are a military servicemember not domiciled in California, do not include your military pay . .   	 1  _________________
  2	 a	 If you plan to itemize deductions, enter the estimated total of your itemized deductions . . . . . . . . . .          	2a  _________________
	 b	 If you do not plan to itemize deductions, enter the standard deduction for your filing status:
		  $3,410 single or married filing separately
		  $6,820 married filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      	2b  _________________
	 c	 Enter the amount from line 2a or line 2b, whichever applies. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                      	 2c_________________
  3	 Subtract line 2c from line 1. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                 	 3  _________________
  4	 Tax. Figure your tax on the amount on line 3 using the 2006 tax table for Form 540, Form 540A, or Long Form 540NR.  
	  Also include any tax from form FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Children with Investment Income; form FTB 3803, 
	 Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                        	 4  _________________
  5	 Residents: Skip to line 6a. Nonresidents and part-year residents:
	 a	 Enter your estimated California taxable income from Schedule CA (540NR), Part IV, line 49 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             	 5a_________________ 
	 b	 Compute the CA Tax Rate:	Tax on total taxable income from line 4  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                	 5b___.___ ___ ___ ___
				       Total taxable income from line 3

	 c	 Multiply the amount on line 5a by the CA Tax Rate on line 5b  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                    	 5c_________________
  6	 a	 Residents: Enter the exemption credit amount from the 2006 instructions for Form 540 or Form 540A . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    	 6a_________________	
	 b	 Nonresidents or part-year residents: Enter the CA credit proration percentage. Divide line 5a by line 3. If more than 1 enter 1.0000 . .   	 6b___.___ ___ ___ ___
  7	 Nonresidents: CA prorated Exemption credits. Multiply the total exemption credit amount by line 6b. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        	 7  _________________
  8	 Residents: Subtract line 6a from line 4. Nonresidents or part-year residents: Subtract line 7 from line 5c. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   	    8  _________________
  9	 Tax on accumulation distribution of trusts. See instructions for form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation Distribution of Trusts. . . . .     	    9  _________________
10	 Add line 8 and line 9. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                      	  10  _________________
11	 Credits for joint custody head of household, dependent parent, senior head of household, and child and dependent care expenses. 	 11  _________________
	 Nonresidents and part-year residents: For the child and dependent care expenses credit, use the amount from your 2006 
	L ong Form 540NR, line 50. For the other credits listed on line 11, multiply the total 2006 credit amount by the ratio on line 6b.
12	 Subtract line 11 from line 10. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                 	 12  _________________
13	O ther credits (such as other state tax credit). See the 2006 instructions for Form 540, Form 540A, or Long Form 540NR. . . . . . . .         	 13  _________________
14	 Subtract line 13 from line 12. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                 	 14  _________________
15	 Interest on deferred tax from installment obligations under IRC Sections 453 or 453A. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    	 15  _________________
16	 Alternative Minimum Tax. See Schedule P (540 or 540NR) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                         	 16  _________________
17	 Mental Health Services Tax Worksheet, line E, from page 16 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                        	 17  _________________
18	 2007 Estimated Tax. Add line 14 through 17. Enter the result, but not less than zero. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                      	 18  _________________
19	 a	Multiply line 18 by 90% (.90). Farmers and fishermen multiply line 18 by 66 2/3% (.6667). . . . . . . .       	19a_________________
	 b	Enter the sum of line 30, line 31, and line 32 from your 2006 Form 540; line 23 from Form 540A;  
		  or the sum of line 38, line 39, and line 40 from your Long Form 540NR. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      	19b_________________
	 c	 Enter the amount from your 2006 Form 540, line 17; Form 540A, line 14; or Long Form 540NR, line 21. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    	 19c_________________
	 d	 Is the amount on line 19c more than $150,000 ($75,000 if married filing separately)? 
		  Yes. Go to line 19e.  No. Enter the lesser of line 19a or line 19b. Skip line 19e and 19f and go to line 20. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   	 19d_________________
	 e	Multiply 110% (1.10) by the sum of line 30, line 31, and line 32 from your 2006 Form 540; line 23 from Form 540A; or the  
		  sum of line 38, line 39, and line 40 from your Long Form 540NR. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                  	 19e_________________
	 f	 Enter the lesser of line 19a or line 19e and go to line 20. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                          	 19f _________________
	 Caution: Generally, if you do not prepay at least the amount on line 19d (or 19f if no amount on line 19d), you may owe a 

penalty for not paying enough estimated tax. To avoid a penalty, make sure your estimated tax on line 18 is as accurate as 
possible. If you prefer, you may pay 100% of your 2007 estimated tax (line 18).

20	 California income tax withheld and estimated to be withheld during 2006 (include withholding on pensions, annuities, etc.). . . . . .       	 20  _________________
21	 Balance. Subtract line 20 from line 19d (or line 19f if no amount on line 19d). If less than $200 (or less than $100, 
	 if married filing separately), you do not have to make a payment at this time. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            	 21  _________________
22	 Installment amount. Divide the amount on line 21 by 4. Enter the result here and on each of your Forms 540-ES. If you 
	 will earn your income at an uneven rate during the year, see Annualization Option in the instructions under paragraph D. . . . . . . . .          	 22  _________________

Record of Estimated Tax Payments
Payment voucher	 (a)	 (b)	 (c)	 (d)	 (e)
number	 Date	 Web Pay/Credit Card and 	 Amount paid	 2005 overpayment applied	 Total amount paid and
		  confirmation number			   credited add (c) and (d)

1	 $	 $	 $
2
3
4
Total . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     	 $	 $	 $		
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Instructions for California Schedule D (540)
California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment
General Information
In general, California law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) 
as of January 2005. However, there are continuing differences between 
California and federal law. When California conforms to federal tax law 
changes, we do not always adopt all of the changes made at the federal 
level. For more information regarding California and federal law, go to 
our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov and search for conformity. Additional 
information can be found in FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to 
California Adjustments, the instructions for California Schedule CA (540 
or 540NR), and the Business Entity tax booklets.
Note, the instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary 
of California tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing 
their state income tax returns. We include information that is most useful 
to the greatest number of taxpayers in the limited space available. It is 
not possible to include all requirements of the California Revenue and 
Taxation Code (R&TC) in the tax booklets. Taxpayers should not consider 
the tax booklets as authoritative law.
Caution: Although federal law increased the IRC Section 179 expense 
to $108,000, the maximum deduction amount under California law is 
$25,000.

Purpose
Use California Schedule D (540) only if there is a difference between your 
California and federal capital gains and losses.
For more information about the following, get FTB Pub. 1001, Supple-
mental Guidelines to California Adjustments:
•	 Disposition of property inherited before 1987;
•	 Disposition of S corporation stock acquired before 1987;
•	 Gain on the sale or disposition of a qualified assisted housing 

development to low-income residents or to specific entities 
maintaining housing for low-income residents; or

•	 Capital loss carryback.
Exclusion of Gain on Qualified Small Business Stock. California law 
(R&TC Section 18152.5) provides an exclusion (similar to the federal 
exclusion under IRC Section 1202) of 50% of the gain on the sale of 
qualifying small business stock originally issued after 8/10/93 that 
was held for more than five years. However, for California purposes, at 
least 80% of the issuing corporation’s payroll must be attributable to 
employment located within California, and at least 80% of the value of the 
corporation’s assets must be used by the corporation to actively conduct 
one or more qualified trades or businesses in California. 
Note: If you have gain on the sale of qualified small business stock that 
qualifies for the federal Section 1202 exclusion, go to the specific line 
instructions for line 1b. 
Installment Sales. If you sold property at a gain (other than publicly 
traded stocks or securities) and you will receive a payment in a tax year 
after the year of sale, you must report the sale on the installment method 
unless you elect not to do so. Get form FTB 3805E, Installment Sale 
Income. Also, use that form if you received a payment in 2006, for an 
installment sale made in an earlier year.
Note: You may elect not to use the installment sale method for California 
by reporting the entire gain on Schedule D (540) (or Schedule D-1 for 
business assets) in the year of the sale and filing your return on or before 
the due date.
At-Risk Rules and Passive Activity Limitations. If you dispose of (1) an 
asset used in an activity to which the at-risk rules apply, or (2) any part 
of your interest in an activity to which the at-risk rules apply, and the 
amounts in the activity for which you are not at risk, get and complete 
federal Form 6198, At-Risk Limitations, using California amounts to 
figure your California deductible loss under the at‑risk rules. Once a 
loss becomes allowable under the at-risk rules, it becomes subject to 
the passive activity rules. Get form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss 
Limitations.

Specific Line Instructions
Line 1a – List each capital asset transaction.
Column (a) – Description of Property. Describe the asset you sold or 
exchanged.
Column (b) – Sales Price. Enter in this column either the gross sales 
price or the net sales price. If you received a Form 1099-B, 1099-S, or 
similar statement showing the gross sales price, enter that amount in col-
umn (b). However, if box 2 of Form 1099-B indicates that gross proceeds 
less commissions and option premiums were reported to the IRS, enter 
that net amount in column (b). If you entered the net amount in column 
(b), do not include the commissions and option premiums in column (c).
Column (c) – Cost or Other Basis. In general, the cost or other basis 
represents the cost of the property plus purchase, commissions and 
improvements minus depreciation, amortization, and depletion. Enter 
the cost or adjusted basis of the asset for California purposes. Use your 
records and California tax returns for years before 1987 to determine the 
California amount to enter in column (c). If you used an amount other 
than cost as the original basis, your federal basis may be different from 
your California basis. Other reasons for differences include:
Depreciation Methods and Property Expensing
Before 1987, California law disallowed the use of accelerated cost recov-
ery system (ACRS) and disallowed the use of an asset depreciation range 
20% above or below the standard rate. Before 1999, California had differ-
ent limits on the expensing of property under IRC Section 179. California 
law permits rapid write-off of certain property such as solar energy sys-
tems, pollution control devices, and property used in an Enterprise Zone, 
LAMBRA, Targeted Tax Area, or Los Angeles Revitalization Zone (LARZ).
Inherited Property – The California basis of property inherited from a 
decedent is generally fair market value (FMV) at the time of death. If you 
acquired community property as a surviving spouse, get FTB Pub. 1039, 
Basis of Property – Decedent/Surviving Spouse, for more information.
S Corporation Stock – Prior to 1987, California law did not recognize 
S corporations and your California basis in S corporation stock may differ 
from your federal basis. In general, your California basis will be cost-
adjusted for income, loss, and distributions received after 1986, while 
your stock was California S corporation stock. Your federal basis will 
be cost-adjusted for income, loss, and distributions received during the 
time your stock qualified for federal S corporation treatment. Effective 
for taxable years beginning on or after 1/1/02, any corporation with a 
valid federal S corporation election is considered an S corporation for 
California purposes. Existing law already requires federal C corporations 
to be treated as C corporations for California purposes.
Special Credits – California law authorizes special tax credits not allowed 
under federal law or computed differently under federal law. In many 
instances if you claimed special credits related to capital assets, you 
must reduce your basis in the assets by the amount of credit.
Other adjustments may apply differently to the federal and California 
basis of your capital assets. Figure the original basis of your asset using 
the California law in effect when the asset was acquired, and adjust it 
according to provisions of California law in effect during the period of 
your ownership.
Line 1b – R&TC Section 18152.5 Exclusion. If the gain qualifying for 
the IRC Section 1202 exclusion also qualifies for the California exclu-
sion under R&TC Section 18152.5: Enter in column (a) “Section 18152.5 
Exclusion.” Complete column (b) and column (c) according to the 
instructions for line 1a. Enter in column (d) the amount of gain that quali-
fies for the California exclusion. Enter in column (e) the entire gain real-
ized. If the gain qualifying for the IRC Section 1202 exclusion does not 
qualify for the California exclusion: Complete column (a), column (b), 
and column (c) according to the instructions for line 1a. Enter -0- in 
column (d) and enter the entire gain realized in column (e).
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Line 3 – Capital Gain Distributions. If you receive federal Form 2439, 
Notice to Shareholder of Undistributed Long-Term Capital Gains, from a 
mutual fund, do not include the undistributed capital gain dividends on 
Schedule D. If you receive federal Form 1099‑DIV, Dividends and Distri-
butions, enter the amount of distributed capital gain dividends.
Line 6 – 2005 California Capital Loss Carryover. If you were a resident 
of California for all prior years, enter your California capital loss carryover 
from 2005. However, if you were a nonresident of California during any 
taxable year that generated a portion of your 2005 capital loss carryover, 
recalculate your 2005 capital carryover loss as if you resided in California 
for all prior years. Get FTB Pub. 1100, Taxation of Nonresidents and 
Individuals Who Change Residency, for more information. Enter your 
California capital loss carryover amount from 2005 on line 6 as a negative 
number.
Line 8 – Net Gain or Loss. If the amount on line 4 is more than the 
amount on line 7, subtract line 7 from line 4. Enter the difference as a 
gain on line 8.
If the amount on line 7 is more than the amount on line 4, subtract line 4 
from line 7 and enter the difference as a negative amount on line 8.
Use the worksheet on this page to figure your capital loss carryover to 
2007.
Line 9 – If line 8 is a net capital loss, enter the smaller of the loss on line 
8 or $3,000 ($1,500 if you are married filing a separate return).
Line 12a – Compare the amounts entered on line 10 and 11 to figure the 
adjustment to enter on Schedule CA (540), line 13, column B.

For example: 
Loss on line 10 is less than loss on line 11. 
	 Federal loss on line 10 is  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            ($1,000) 
	 California loss on line 11 is . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           ($2,000) 
	 Difference between line 10 and line 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   $1,000

Gain on line 10 and loss on line 11. 
	 Federal gain on line 10 is  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             $3,000
	 California loss on line 11 is . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           ($3,000)
	 Difference between line 10 and line 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   $6,000
Line 12b – Compare the amounts on line 10 and 11 to figure the adjust-
ment to enter on Schedule CA (540), line 13, column C.

For example: 
Loss on line 10 is more than loss on line 11. 
	 Federal loss on line 10 is  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            ($2,000)
	 California loss on line 11 is . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           ($1,000)
	 Difference between line 11 and line 10 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   $1,000  
Loss on line 10 and gain on line 11. 
	 Federal loss on line 10 is  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            ($2,000)
	 California gain on line 11 is  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           $5,000
	 Difference between line 10 and line 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   $7,000

California Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet
 1.	Loss from Schedule D (540), line 11, stated as a 

positive number . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                1_________
 2.	Amount from Form 540, line 17 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    2 _________
 3.	Amount from Form 540, line 18 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    3 _________
 4.	Subtract line 3 from line 2. If less than zero, enter 

as a negative amount . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            4 _________
 5.	Combine line 1 and line 4. If less than zero, 

enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                      5 _________
 6.	Loss from Schedule D (540), line 8  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 6 _________
 7.	Enter the smaller of line 1 or line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  7 _________
 8.	Subtract line 7 from line 6. This is your capital loss 

carryover to 2007 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               8 _________

Instructions for Form FTB 3885A
Depreciation and Amortization Adjustments
General Information
In general, California law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) 
as of January 2005. However, there are continuing differences between 
California and federal law. When California conforms to federal tax law 
changes, we do not always adopt all of the changes made at the federal 
level. For more information regarding California and federal law, go to 
our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov and search for conformity. Additional 
information can be found in FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to 
California Adjustments, the instructions for California Schedule CA (540 
or 540NR), and the Business Entity tax booklets.
Note, the instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary 
of California tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing 
their state income tax returns. We include information that is most useful 
to the greatest number of taxpayers in the limited space available. It is 
not possible to include all requirements of the California Revenue and 
Taxation Code (R&TC) in the tax booklets. Taxpayers should not consider 
the tax booklets as authoritative law.
Get FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments, 
for more information on differences between California and federal law 
for the following items:
•	 Amortization of certain intangibles (IRC Section 197);
•	 Qualified Indian Reservation property; 
•	 Grapevines subject to Phylloxera or Pierce’s disease; and
•	 Bonus depreciation

Purpose
Use form FTB 3885A only if there is a difference between the amount of 
depreciation and amortization allowed as a deduction using California law 
and the amount allowed using federal law. California law and federal law 
have not always allowed the same depreciation methods, special credits, 
or accelerated write-offs. As a result, the recovery periods or the basis 
on which the depreciation is figured for California may be different from 
the amounts used for federal purposes. You will probably have reportable 
differences if all or part of your assets were placed in service:
•	 Before 1/1/87. California disallowed depreciation under the federal 

accelerated cost recovery system (ACRS). Continue to figure California 
depreciation for those assets in the same manner as in prior years for 
those assets.

•	 On or after 1/1/87. California provides special credits and accelerated 
write-offs that affect the California basis of qualifying assets. California 
did not conform to all changes to federal law enacted in 1993; there-
fore, the California basis or recovery periods may be different for some 
assets.

•	 On or after 9/11/01. If you claimed the 30% additional depreciation 
for federal purposes, California has not conformed to the federal Job 
Creation and Worker Assistance Act of 2002 which allows taxpayers 
to take an additional first year depreciation deduction and Alternative 
Minimum Tax depreciation adjustment for property placed in service 
after September 10, 2001.
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•	 California generally conforms to the federal 2003 increase (IRC Section 
280F) for the limitation on luxury automobile depreciation. However, 
California does not conform to the IRC Section 168(k) provisions 
(30% and 50% additional first year depreciation). In addition, SUVs 
and minivans built on a truck chassis are included in the definition of 
trucks and vans when applying the 6,000 pound gross weight limit.

Differences may also occur for other less common reasons, and the 
instructions for Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) list them on the line for the 
type of income likely to be affected. Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more informa-
tion about figuring and reporting these adjustments.
If reporting a difference for assets related to a passive activity, get form 
FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations, for more information about 
passive activities.
Do not use form FTB 3885A to report depreciation expense from federal 
Form 2106, Employee Business Expenses. Instead, see the instructions 
for Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 41.

Specific Line Instructions
Note: Prepare and file a separate form FTB 3885A for each business or 
activity on your return that has a difference between California and federal 
depreciation or amortization. Enter the name of the business or activity in 
the space provided at the top of the form. If you need more space, attach 
additional sheets. However, complete Part II, Election to Expense Certain 
Tangible Property (IRC Section 179), only once.

Part I  Identify the Activity as Passive or Nonpassive
Line 1 – Check the box to identify the activity as passive or nonpassive. 
A passive activity is any activity involving the conduct of any trade or 
business in which you did not materially participate. Get form FTB 3801 
for more information.
If the activity is passive, use this form as a worksheet to figure the 
depreciation adjustment to carry to form FTB 3801. Caution: Beginning 
in 1994, and for federal purposes only, rental real estate activities of 
persons in real property business are not automatically treated as passive 
activities. California did not conform to this provision.

Part II  Election To Expense Certain Tangible Property
If you elect to expense part of the cost of depreciable personal property 
used in your trade or business and certain other property described in 
federal Publication 946, How to Depreciate Property. To qualify, you must 
have purchased property, as defined in the IRC Section 179(d)(2), and 
placed it in service during 2006, or have a carryover of unused cost from 
2005. If you elect this deduction, you must reduce your California depre-
ciable basis by the IRC Section 179 expense. The maximum Section 179 
expense allowed for 2006 is $25,000.
Complete the worksheet in the next column to figure IRC Section 179 
expense for California. Include all assets qualifying for the deduction 
because the limit applies to all qualifying assets as a group rather than to 
each asset individually. Refer to federal Form 4562 for information.

 Tangible Property Expense Worksheet
	 1	 Maximum dollar limitation for California . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 	   1 ________
	 2	 Total cost of Section 179 property placed in service . . . . . . . .         	  2 ________
	 3	 Threshold cost of Section 179 property before 

reduction in limitation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               	   3 ________
	 4	 Reduction in limitation. Subtract line 3 from line 2. 

If zero or less, enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             	   4 ________
	 5	 Dollar limitation for tax year. Subtract line 4 from line 1. 

If zero or less, enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             	   5 ________
	 (a) Description of property	 (b) Cost	 (c) Elected cost

    6
 

	 7	 Listed property (elected Section 179 cost) . . . . .     	 7________
	 8	 Total elected cost of Section 179 property.  

Add line 6 column (c) and line 7 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        .   8 ________
	 9	 Tentative deduction. Enter the smaller of line 5 or line 8 . . . . .     .   9 ________
	 10	 Carryover of disallowed deduction from 2005  . . . . . . . . . . . .             . 10 ________
	 11	 Enter the smaller of business income (not less than zero) 

or line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          . 11 ________
	 12	 Section 179 expense deduction for California. 

Add line 9 and line 10, but do not enter more than 
line 11. Also, enter the result on form FTB 3885A, line 2  . . . .     . 12 ________

	 13	 Carryover of disallowed deduction to 2007.  
Add line 9 and line 10. 
Subtract line 12 from the result  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              	13________

Part III  Depreciation
Line 3 – Complete column (a) through column (f) for each tangible 
asset or group of assets placed in service during the tax year.  Use the 
California basis for assets on which you elected to take the Section 179 
deduction. It will be the difference between line 6, column (b) and line 6, 
column (c) of the Tangible Property Expense Worksheet in Part II.
Line 8a and Line 8b – Are you using this form as a worksheet in connec-
tion with form FTB 3801?
Yes	 Enter the amount from line 8a or line 8b on form FTB 3801, Side 2, 

California Passive Activity Worksheet, column (e).
No	 Include the amount from line 8a on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) 

in column B on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on 
line 17 for federal Schedule E activities; and on line 18 for federal 
Schedule F activities.

	 Include the amount from line 8b on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) 
in column C on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on 
line 17 for federal Schedule E activities; and on line 18 for federal 
Schedule F activities.

Part IV  Amortization
Line 9 – Complete column (a) through column (f) for intangible assets 
placed in service during the tax year. Use the California basis and the 
California recovery period.
Line 14a and Line 14b – Are you using this form as a worksheet in 
connection with form FTB 3801?
Yes	 Enter the amount from line 14a or line 14b on form FTB 3801, 

Side 2, California Passive Activity Worksheet, column (e).
No	 Include the amount from line 14a on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) 

in column B on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on 
line 17 for federal Schedule E activities; and on line 18 for federal 
Schedule F activities.

	 Include the amount from line 14b on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) 
in column C on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on 
line 17 for federal Schedule E activities; and on line 18 for federal 
Schedule F activities.

$25,000

$200,000
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Instructions for Schedule CA (540)
References to these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2005, and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

What’s New
Heroes Earned Retirement Opportunities Act
California conforms to the Federal Heroes Earned Retirement 
Opportunities Act that allows members of the Armed Forces serving 
in a combat zone to make contributions to their individual retirement 
plans even if the compensation on which such contribution is based is 
excluded from gross income.

The Tax Increase Prevention and Reconciliation Act 
California does not conform to the provision of the Federal Tax Increase 
Prevention and Reconciliation Act; which increased the age of the 
children from under 14 to under 18 for elections made by parents 
reporting a child’s interest and dividends.

Conformity
For updates regarding the following federal acts, go to our Website at 
www.ftb.ca.gov and search for conformity.
•	 Tax Increase Prevention and Reconciliation Act of 2005
•	 Federal Energy Policy Act of 2005
•	 Pension Protection Act of 2006

General Information
In general, California law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) 
as of January 2005. However, there are continuing differences between 
California and federal law. When California conforms to federal tax law 
changes, we do not always adopt all of the changes made at the federal 
level. For more information regarding California and federal law, go to 
our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov and search for conformity. Additional 
information can be found in FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to 
California Adjustments, and the Business Entity tax booklets.
Note, the instructions provided with California tax forms are a summary 
of California tax law and are only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing 
their state income tax returns. We include information that is most useful 
to the greatest number of taxpayers in the limited space available. It is 
not possible to include all requirements of the California Revenue and 
Taxation Code (R&TC) in the tax booklets. Taxpayers should not consider 
the tax booklets as authoritative law.
Military Personnel – Servicemembers domiciled outside of California, 
and their spouses, may exclude the member’s military compensation 
from gross income when computing the tax rate on nonmilitary income. 
Requirements for military servicemembers domiciled in California 
remain unchanged. Military servicemembers domiciled in California 
must include their military pay in total income. In addition, they must 
include their military pay in California source income when stationed in 
California. However, military pay is not California source income when a 
servicemember is permanently stationed outside of California. For more 
information, get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel.

Purpose
Use this schedule to make adjustments to your federal adjusted gross 
income and to your federal itemized deductions using California law.

Part I – Specific Line Instructions
Column A — Federal Amounts

Line 7 through Line 21
Enter on line 7 through line 21 the same amounts you entered on your 
federal Form 1040, line 7 through line 21; Form 1040A, line 7 through 
line 14b; or Form 1040EZ line 1, line 2, and line 3. 

Line 22 – Total
Combine the amounts on line 7 through line 21.

Line 23 through Line 30 and Line 32 through Line 35
Enter the same amounts entered on your federal Form 1040, line 23 
through line 30 and line 32 through line 35 or Form 1040A, line 16 
through line 19.

Line 31a and Line 31b
Enter on line 31a the same amount entered on your federal Form 1040, 
line 31a. Enter on line 31b the social security number or individual 
taxpayer identification number and last name of the person to whom you 
paid alimony.

Line 36
Add line 23 through line 31a and line 32 through line 35. However, if you 
made any of the adjustments described in the instructions for federal 
Form 1040, line 36 or if you claimed the foreign housing deduction from 
federal Form 2555, Foreign Earned Income, or Form 2555-EZ, Foreign 
Earned Income Exclusion, enter the amount from Form 1040, line 36 on 
this line.

Line 37 – Total
Subtract line 36 from line 22.

Column B and Column C — Subtractions and Additions
Use these columns to enter subtractions and additions to the federal 
amounts in column A that are necessary because of differences between 
California and federal law. Enter all amounts as positive numbers unless 
instructed otherwise.
You may need one of the following FTB publications to complete 
column B and column C:
•	 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments;
•	 1005, Pension and Annuity Guidelines;
•	 1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident Status; 
•	 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel; or
•	 1100, Taxation of Nonresidents and Individuals Who Change Residency. 
To get a publication or form go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov or see 
page 67 of your tax booklet.

Line 7 – Wages, Salaries, Tips, etc.
Generally, you will not make any adjustments on this line. If you did not 
receive any of the following types of income, make no entry on this line 
in either column B or column C.

Active duty military pay. Special rules apply to active duty military 
taxpayers. Get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel, for 
more information.

Sick pay received under the Federal Insurance Contributions Act and 
Railroad Retirement Act. California excludes this item from income. 
Enter in column B the amount of these benefits included in the amount in 
column A.

Ridesharing fringe benefit differences. Under federal law, qualified 
transportation benefits are excluded from gross income. Under the 
Revenue and Taxation Code, there are no monthly limits for the exclusion 
of these benefits and California’s definitions are more expansive. Enter 
the amount of ridesharing benefits received and included in federal 
income on line 7, column B.

Exclusion for compensation from exercising a California Qualified 
Stock Option (CQSO). To claim this exclusion:
•	 Your earned income is $40,000 or less from the corporation granting 

the CQSO,  
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•	 The market value of the options granted to you must be $100,000 or 
less,

•	 The total number of shares must be 1,000 or less, and 
•	 The corporation issuing the stock must designate that the stock issued 

is a California qualified stock option at the time the option is granted. 

If you included an amount qualifying for this exclusion in federal income, 
enter that amount in column B.

Exclusion for Medical Expenses Reimbursement. California allows an 
exclusion from gross income for employer-provided accident, health 
insurance, and medical expense reimbursement for registered domestic 
partners and the partner’s dependents if they were not previously 
deducted. Self-employed individuals may also claim a deduction 
for health insurance costs paid for themselves, their spouses, and 
dependents. In addition, self-employed individuals may claim this 
deduction for health insurance costs paid for their registered domestic 
partner and the domestic partner’s dependents. Enter the amount 
included in federal income in column B.

Compensation of merchant seamen, military service members, rail, 
motor, and aircraft carriers. Exclude the following from gross income: 
compensation for the performance of duties of certain merchant seamen, 
rail carriers, motor carriers, aircraft carriers, and military service 
members.

Line 8 – Taxable Interest Income
If you did not receive any of the kinds of income listed below, make no 
entry on this line in either column B or column C.
Enter in column B the interest you received from:
•	 U.S. savings bonds (except for interest from series EE U.S. savings 

bonds issued after 1989 that qualified for the Education Savings Bond 
Program exclusion);

•	 U.S. Treasury bills, notes, and bonds;
•	 Any other bonds or obligations of the United States and its territories; 
•	 Interest from Ottoman Turkish Empire Settlement Payments;
•	 Interest income from children between the ages of 14 and 18. (For 

more information, get FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to 
California Adjustments.)

Enter in column C the interest you identified as tax-exempt interest 
on your federal Form 1040 (or Form 1040A), line 8b, and which you 
received from:
•	 Non-California state bonds;
•	 Non-California municipal bonds issued by a county, city, town, or 

other local government unit;
•	 Obligations of the District of Columbia issued after 12/27/73; 
•	 Non-California bonds if the interest was passed through to you from 

S corporations, trusts, partnerships, or Limited Liability Companies 
(LLCs);

•	 Interest or other earnings earned from a Health Savings Account 
(HSA) are not treated as taxed deferred. Interest or earnings in a HSA 
are taxable in the year earned;

•	 Interest on any bond or other obligation issued by the Government of 
American Samoa.

Note: Make no entries in either column B or column C for interest you 
earned on Federal National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae) Bonds, 
Government National Mortgage Association (Ginnie Mae) Bonds, and 
Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporations (FHLMC) securities, or 
grants paid to low income individuals.
Get FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments, if 
you received interest income from the following sources:
•  Loans made in an enterprise zone (EZ) or the former Los Angeles 

Revitalization Zone (LARZ); or 
•	 Items listed above passed through to you from S corporations, trusts, 

estates, partnerships, or LLCs.

Line 9 – Ordinary dividends
Generally, no difference exists between the amount of dividends reported 
in Column A and the amount reported using California law. However, 
California taxes dividends derived from other states and their municipal 
obligations. In addition, certain mutual funds pay “exempt-interest 
dividends”. If the mutual fund has at least 50% of its assets invested 
in tax-exempt U.S. obligations and/or in California or its municipal 
obligations, that amount of dividend is exempt from California tax. The 
proportion of dividends that are tax-exempt will be shown on your annual 
statement or statement issued with Form 1099-DIV.
Add dividends received from the following and enter in column B:
•	 The portion of exempt interest dividends from mutual funds that 

meets the 50% rule above and were included in column A;
•	 Non-cash patronage dividends from farmers’ cooperatives or mutual 

associations;
•	 Dividend income for children between the ages of 14 and 18. (For 

more information, get FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to 
California Adjustments.)

Add dividends received from the following and enter in column C:
•	 The federally exempt interest dividends from other states, or their 

municipal obligations and/or from mutual funds that do not meet the 
50% rule above;

•	 Controlled foreign corporation dividends in the year distributed;
•	 Regulated investment company (RIC) capital gains in the year distributed;
•	 Distributions of pre-1987 earnings from an S corporation;
•	 Non-cash patronage dividends from farmers’ cooperatives or mutual 

associations.
Get FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments, if 
you received dividends from:
•	 Non-cash patronage dividends from farmers’ cooperatives or mutual 

associations;
•	 A controlled foreign corporation;
•	 Distributions of pre-1987 earnings from S corporations; or
•	 Undistributed capital gains for regulated investment company (RIC) 

shareholders.

Line 10 – Taxable refunds, credits, or offsets of state and local income 
taxes
California does not tax the state income tax refund received in 2006. 
Enter in column B the amount of state tax refund entered in column A.

Line 11 – Alimony Received
If you are a nonresident alien and received alimony not included in your 
federal income, enter the alimony on this line in column C. Otherwise, 
make no entry on this line.

Line 12 – Business Income or (Loss)
Adjustments to federal business income or loss you reported in 
column A generally are necessary because of the difference between 
California and federal law relating to depreciation methods, special 
credits, and accelerated write-offs. As a result, the recovery period or 
basis used to figure California depreciation may be different from the 
amount used for federal purposes.
Adjustments are figured on form FTB 3885A, Depreciation and 
Amortization Adjustments, and are most commonly necessary because 
of the following:
•	 Before January 1, 1987, California did not allow depreciation under the 

federal accelerated cost recovery system. Continue to figure California 
depreciation for those assets in the same manner as prior years.

•	 On or after January 1, 1987, California provides special credits and 
accelerated write-offs that affect the California basis of qualifying 
assets. Refer to the bulleted list on the next page.

Use form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations, to figure the total 
adjustment for line 12 if you have:
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•	 One or more passive activities that produce a loss; or
•	 One or more passive activities that produce a loss and any nonpassive 

activity reported on federal Schedule C.
Use form FTB 3885A to figure the total adjustment for line 12 if you have:
•	 Only nonpassive activities which produce either gains or losses (or 

combination of gains and losses); or
•	 Passive activities that produce gains.
Get FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments, 
for more information about:

Income related to:
•	 Business, trade, or profession carried on within California that is an 

integral part of a unitary business carried on both within and outside 
California; or

•	 Pro-rata share of income received from a controlled foreign 
corporation by a U.S. shareholder.

Basis adjustments related to:
•	 Property acquired prior to becoming a California resident;
•	 Sales or use tax credit for property used in an EZ, Local Agency 

Military Base Recovery Area (LAMBRA), Targeted Tax Area (TTA), or 
former LARZ;

•	 Reduced recovery periods for fruit-bearing grapevines replaced 
in a California vineyard on or after 1/1/92 as a result of phylloxera 
infestation; or on or after 1/1/97 as a result of Pierce’s disease;

•	 Expenditures for tertiary injectants;
•	 Property placed in service on an Indian reservation after 1/1/94 and 

before 1/1/05;
•	 Amortization of pollution control facilities;
•	 Discharge of real property business indebtedness;
•	 Employer-paid child care program;
•	 Employer-paid child care plan;
•	 Vehicles used in an employer-sponsored ridesharing program;
•	 An enhanced oil recovery system;
•	 Joint Strike Fighter property costs;
•	 The cost of making a business accessible to disabled individuals;
•	 Property for which you received an energy conservation subsidy from 

a public utility on or after 1/1/95 and before 1/1/97; or
•	 Research and experimental expenditures.

Business expense deductions related to:
•	 Wages paid in an EZ, LAMBRA, Manufacturing Enhancement Area 

(MEA), or TTA;
•	 Certain employer costs for employees who are also enrolled members 

of Indian tribes;
•	 Abandonment or tax recoupment fees for open-space easements and 

timberland preserves;
•	 Business located in an EZ, LAMBRA, or TTA;
•	 Research expense;
•	 Employer wage expense for the Work Opportunity Credit and 

Welfare‑to-Work Credit;
•	 Pro-rata share of deductions received from a controlled foreign 

corporation by a U.S. shareholder;
•	 Interest paid on indebtedness in connection with company-owned life 

insurance policies; or
•	 Premiums paid on life insurance policies, annuities, or endowment 

contracts issued after 6/8/97 where the owner of the business is 
directly or indirectly a policy beneficiary.

Line 13 – Capital Gain or (Loss)
Generally, no adjustments are made on this line. California taxes long and 
short term capital gains as regular income. No special rate for long term 
capital gains exists. However, the California basis of the assets listed 
below may be different from the federal basis due to differences between 
California and federal laws. If there are differences, use Schedule D 

(540), California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment, to calculate the 
amount to enter on line 13.
•	 Gain on the sale of qualified small business stock which qualifies for 

the gain exclusion under IRC Section 1202;
•	 Basis amounts resulting from differences between California and 

federal law in prior years;
•	 Gain or loss on stock and bond transactions;
•	 Installment sale gain reported on form FTB 3805E, Installment Sale 

Income;
•	 Gain on the sale of personal residence where depreciation was 

allowable;
•	 Flow-through gain or loss from partnerships, fiduciaries, 

S corporations, or LLCs; or
•	 Capital loss carryover from your 2005 California Schedule D (540).

Get FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments, 
for more information about:
•	 Disposition of S corporation stock acquired before 1987;
•	 Gain on sale or disposition of qualified assisted housing development 

to low-income residents or to specified entities maintaining housing 
for low-income residents;

•	 Undistributed capital gain for RIC shareholders;
•	 Gain or loss on the sale of property inherited before 1/1/87; or 
•	 Capital loss carrybacks.
•	 Capital gain distribution for children between the ages of 14 and 18.

Line 14 – Other Gains or (Losses)
Generally, no adjustments are made on this line. However, the California 
basis of your other assets may differ from your federal basis due to 
differences between California and federal law. Therefore, you may have 
to adjust the amount of other gains or losses. Get Schedule D-1, Sales of 
Business Property.

Line 15 – Total IRA Distributions
Generally, no adjustments are made on this line. However, there may be 
significant differences in the taxable amount of a distribution (including 
a distribution from conversion of a traditional IRA to a Roth IRA), 
depending on when you made your contributions to the IRA. Differences 
also occur if your California IRA deductions were different from your 
federal deductions because of differences between California and federal 
self-employment income.
If the taxable amount using California law is:
•	 Less than the amount taxable under federal law, enter the difference in 

column B; or
•	 More than the amount taxable under federal law, enter the difference in 

column C.

Get FTB Pub. 1005, Pension and Annuity Guidelines, for more information 
and worksheets for figuring the adjustment to enter on line 15, if any.

Caution: If you have an IRA basis and were a nonresident in prior years, 
you may need to restate your California IRA basis. Get FTB Pub. 1100, 
Taxation of Nonresidents and Individuals Who Change Residency.

Coverdell ESA formerly known as Education (ED) IRA – If column A 
includes a taxable distribution from an ED IRA, you may owe additional 
tax on that amount. Get form FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes on Qualified 
Plans (Including IRAs) and Other Tax-Favored Accounts. Report only the 
taxable amount of the distribution on line 21f.

Line 16 – Total Pensions and Annuities
Generally, no adjustments are made on this line. However, if you received 
Tier 2 railroad retirement benefits or partially taxable distributions from a 
pension plan, you may need to make the following adjustments.
If you received a federal Form RRB 1099-R for railroad retirement 
benefits and included all or part of these benefits in taxable income in 
column A, enter the taxable benefit amount in column B.
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If you began receiving a retirement annuity between 7/1/86 and 1/1/87 
and elected to use the three-year rule for California purposes and the 
annuity rules for federal purposes, enter in column C the amount of the 
annuity payments you excluded for federal purposes.
Caution: You may have to pay an additional tax if you received a taxable 
distribution from a qualified retirement plan before reaching age 59½ 
and the distribution was not rolled over into another qualified plan. See 
Form 540, line 33 instructions; or form FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes on 
Qualified Plans (Including IRAs) and Other Tax-Favored Accounts.

Line 17 – Rental Real Estate, Royalties, Partnerships, S Corporations, 
Estates, Trusts, etc.
Adjustments to federal income or loss you reported in column A 
generally are necessary because of the difference between California 
and federal law relating to depreciation methods, special credits, and 
accelerated write-offs. As a result, the recovery period or basis used to 
figure California depreciation may be different from the recovery period 
or amount used for federal. For more information, see the instructions 
for column B and column C, line 12.
Note: California law does not conform to federal law for material 
participation in rental real estate activities. Beginning in 1994, and for 
federal purposes only, rental real estate activities conducted by persons 
in real property business are not automatically treated as passive 
activities. Get form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations, for more 
information.
Use form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations, to figure the total 
adjustment for line 17 if you have:
•	 One or more passive activities that produce a loss; or
•	 One or more passive activities that produce a loss and any nonpassive 

activity reported on federal Schedule E.
Use form FTB 3885A, Depreciation and Amortization Adjustments, to 
figure the total adjustment for line 17 if you have:
•	 Only nonpassive activities which produce either gains or losses (or 

combination of gains and losses); or
•	 Passive activities that produce gains.
Note: LLCs that are classified as partnerships for California purposes 
and limited liability partnerships (LLPs) are subject to the same rules 
as other partnerships. LLCs report distributive items to members on 
Schedule K‑1 (568), Member’s Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, 
etc. LLPs report to partners on Schedule K-1 (565), Partner’s Share of 
Income, Deductions, Credits, etc.
Get FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments, 
for more information about accumulation distributions to beneficiaries 
for which the trust was not required to pay California tax because the 
beneficiary’s interest was contingent.

Line 18 – Farm Income or (Loss)
Adjustments to federal income or loss you report in column A generally 
are necessary because of the difference between California and federal 
law relating to depreciation methods, special credits, and accelerated 
write-offs. As a result, the recovery period or basis you use to figure 
California depreciation may be different from the amount used for federal 
purposes, and you may need to make an adjustment to your farm income 
or loss.
Use form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations, to figure the total 
adjustment for line 18 if you have:
•	 One or more passive activities that produce a loss; or
•	 One or more passive activities that produce a loss and any nonpassive 

activity reported on federal Schedule F.
Use form FTB 3885A, Depreciation and Amortization Adjustments, to 
figure the total adjustment for line 18 if you have:
•	 Only nonpassive activities which produce either gains or losses (or 

combination of gains and losses); or

•	 Passive activities that produce gains.

Line 19 – Unemployment Compensation
California excludes unemployment compensation from taxable income. 
Enter on line 19, column B the amount of unemployment compensation 
shown in column A.
Paid Family Leave Insurance (PFL) benefits, also known as Family 
Temporary Disability Insurance. Payments received from the PFL 
Program in 2006, are reported on your Form 1099-G in Column B, 
line 19. For additional information, get FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental 
Guidelines to California Adjustments. 

Line 20 – U.S. Social Security Benefits
California excludes U.S. social security benefits or equivalent Tier 1 
railroad retirement benefits from taxable income. Enter in column B 
the amount of U.S. social security benefits or equivalent Tier 1 railroad 
retirement benefits shown in column A.

Line 21 – Other Income

a. California Lottery Winnings. California excludes California lottery 
winnings from taxable income. Enter in column B the amount of 
California lottery winnings included in the federal amount on line 21 in 
column A.
Note: Make no adjustment for lottery winnings from other states. They 
are taxable by California. California and federal laws allow gambling 
losses only to the extent of reported gambling income. If you reduced 
gambling income for California lottery income, you may need to reduce 
the losses included in the federal itemized deductions on line 38. Enter 
these losses on line 41 as a negative number.

b. Disaster Loss Carryover from form FTB 3805V, Part III, line 6. 
If you have a California disaster loss carryover from your 2005 form 
FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss (NOL) Computation and NOL and 
Disaster Loss Limitations – Individuals, Estates, and Trusts, enter that 
amount as a positive number in column B.

c. Federal NOL deduction from Form 1040, line 21. If the amount on 
line 21 in column A includes a federal NOL, enter the amount of the 
federal NOL deduction as a positive number in column C. Get form 
FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss (NOL) Computation and NOL and 
Disaster Loss Limitations – Individuals, Estates, and Trusts, to figure the 
allowable California NOL deduction.

d. NOL Carryover from form FTB 3805V, Part III, line 5. The allowable 
NOL carryover under California law is different from the allowable NOL 
carryover under federal law. Use form FTB 3805V to figure the allowable 
California NOL deduction and enter it as a positive number in column B.

e. NOL deduction from form FTB 3805D, FTB 3805Z, FTB 3806, 
FTB 3807, or FTB 3809. Enter in column B the total NOL deduction 
figured on the following forms.
•	 FTB 3805D, Net Operating Loss (NOL) Computation and  

Limitation – Pierce’s Disease;
•	 FTB 3805Z, Enterprise Zone Deduction and Credit Summary, line 5b;
•	 FTB 3806, Los Angeles Revitalization Zone Deduction and Credit 

Summary, line 3b;
•	 FTB 3807, Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area Deduction and 

Credit Summary, line 5b; or
•	 FTB 3809, Targeted Tax Area Deduction and Credit Summary, line 3b.

f. Other (describe).

Reward from a crime hotline. Enter in column B the amount of a reward 
authorized by a government agency received from a crime hotline 
established by a government agency or nonprofit organization and that is 
included in the amount on line 21 in column A.
Note: You may not make this adjustment if you are an employee of the 
hotline or someone who sponsors rewards for the hotline.
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Federal foreign earned income or housing exclusion. Enter in 
column C the amount deducted from federal income on Form 1040, 
line 21.

Beverage container recycling income. Enter in column B the amount of 
recycling income included in the amount on line 21 in column A.

Rebates or vouchers from a local water agency, energy agency, or 
energy supplier. California law allows an income exclusion for rebates 
or vouchers from a local water agency, energy agency, or energy supplier 
for the purchase and installation of water conservation appliances and 
devices. Enter in column B the amount of this type of income included in 
the amount on line 21 in column A.

Original issue discount (OID) for debt instruments issued in 1985 and 
1986. In the year of sale or other disposition, you must recognize the 
difference between the amount reported on your federal return and the 
amount reported for California purposes. Issuers: Enter the difference 
between the federal deductible amount and the California deductible 
amount on line 21f in column B. Holders: Enter the difference between 
the amount included in federal gross income and the amount included 
for California purposes on line 21f in column C.

Foreign income of nonresident aliens. Adjust federal income to reflect 
worldwide income computed under California law. Enter losses from 
foreign sources in column B. Enter foreign source income in column C.

Cost-share payments received by forest landowners. Enter in column B 
the cost-share payments received from the Department of Forestry and 
Fire Protection under the California Forest Improvement Act of 1978 
or from the United States Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, 
under the Forest Stewardship Program and the Stewardship Incentives 
Program, pursuant to the Cooperative Forestry Assistance Act.

Foreign Income. If you excluded income exempted by U.S. tax treaties 
on your federal Form 1040 (unless specifically exempt for state 
purposes), enter the excluded amount in Column C. If you claimed 
foreign earned income or housing cost exclusion on your federal 
Form 1040 (under IRC Section 911), see the instructions for line 21.

Compensation for False Imprisonment. California excludes 
compensation for false imprisonment from income. Enter the amount of 
compensation on line 21f, column B.

Coverdell (ESA) Distributions. If you received a distribution from a 
Coverdell ESA, report only the taxable amount of the distribution on 
line 21f.

Grants paid to low-income individuals. California excludes grants paid 
to low-income individuals to construct or retrofit buildings to make them 
more energy efficient. Federal has no similar exclusion. Enter on line 21f, 
column B the amount of this type of income. 

Health Savings Account (HSA) Distributions for unqualified medical 
expense. Distributions from a HSA not used for qualified medical 
expenses, and included in federal income, are not taxable for California 
purposes. Enter the distribution not used for qualified medical expenses 
on line 21f, column B.  

California National Guard Surviving Spouse & Children Relief Act of 
2004. Death benefits up to $10,000 received from the State of California 
by a surviving spouse or member-designated beneficiary of certain 
military personnel killed in the performance of duty is excluded from 
gross income. Military personnel include the California National Guard, 
State Military Reserve, or the Naval Militia. If you reported a death benefit 
on line 21, column A, enter the death benefit amount in column B.

Ottoman Turkish Empire Settlement Payments. If you received 
settlement payments as a person persecuted by the regime that was 
in control of the Ottoman Turkish Empire from 1915 until 1923 your 
gross income does not include those excludable settlement payments, 
or interest, received by you, your heirs, or your estate for payments 
received on or after January 1, 2005. If you reported settlement 
payments on line 21, column A, enter the amount of settlement 
payments in column B.

Line 22 – Total
Add line 7 through line 21f in column B and column C. Enter the totals on 
line 22.

Line 23 through Line 31a and Line 32 through Line 35 – California law 
is the same as federal law with the exception of the following:
•	 Line 23 (Educator expense) – Federal law allows a deduction for 

Educator Expense. California does not conform to this deduction. The 
amount claimed as Educator Expense for federal purposes should be 
entered on line 23, column B, with the notation “Educator Expense”.

•	 Line 24 (Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, 
and fee-basis government officials) – If claiming a depreciation 
deduction as an unreimbursed employee business expense on federal 
Form 2106, you may have an adjustment in column B or column C.

•	 Line 25 (Health Savings Account (HSA) Deduction) – Federal law 
allows a deduction for contributions to an HSA account. California 
does not conform to this provision. Transfer the amount from 
Column A, line 25, to column B, line 25.  

•	 Line 29 (Self-Employed Health Insurance Deduction) – Most people 
do not have any entry in column B or column C. For the purposes of 
this deduction, California allows you to treat your registered domestic 
partner as your spouse.

	 Enter on line 29, column C, the amount paid for health insurance 
coverage (established under your business) for your registered 
domestic partner and their dependents. Your total California deduction 
cannot exceed the limitations explained in the federal instructions. Do 
not include health insurance costs for any month you were eligible to 
participate in any subsidized health plan maintained by you or your 
domestic partner’s employer.

	 Enter on line 29, column B, the amount of health insurance cost 
included in column A, line 29, for any month you were eligible to 
participate in any subsidized health plan maintained by your registered 
domestic partner’s employer.

•	 Line 31a (Alimony Paid) – Enter the social security number or ITIN 
and last name of the person to whom you paid alimony.

	 Note: If you are a nonresident alien and did not deduct alimony on 
your federal return, enter the amount you paid in column C.

•	 Line 32 (IRA Deduction) – If you are an active duty military member 
domiciled outside of California, you may have an adjustment. See 
line 36.

•	 Line 33 (Student Loan Interest Deduction) – California conforms to 
federal law regarding student loan interest deduction except for a 
spouse of a non California domiciled military taxpayer residing in a 
community property state. Use the Student Loan Interest Deduction 
Worksheet below to compute the amount to enter on line 33. See 
FTB Pub. 1032,Tax Information for Military Personnel for more 
information.
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Student Loan Interest Deduction Worksheet
  1	 Enter the total amount from Schedule CA (540),  

line 33, column A. Caution: If the amount on line 1  
is zero, STOP. Enter zero on Schedule CA (540),  
column B. You are not allowed a deduction for California  . 1_________

  2	 Enter the total interest you paid in 2006 
on qualified student loans but not more than $2,500 here . .  2_________

  3	 From Form 1040, add line 33 
(student loan interest deduction) to 
line 37 (AGI). Enter the result here . . . . . . .       3  _________

  4	 Enter the total military income 
included in federal adjusted gross 
income (see FTB Pub. 1032)  . . . . . . . . . . .           4  _________

  5	 Subtract line 4 from line 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . .             5  _________
 6	  Enter. the amount shown below for 

your filing status. 
•	 Single, head of household, or 
	 qualifying widow(er) – $50,000

	 •	 Married filing jointly – $105,000   }  . . .   6  _________
  7	 Is the amount on line 5 more than the 

amount on line 6?. 
m No.  Skip lines 7 and 8, enter -0- on 
            line 9, and go to line 10. 
m Yes. Subtract line 6 from line 5 . . . . . . .       7  _________

  8	 Divide line 7 by $15,000 ($30,000 if married filing jointly).  
Enter the result as a decimal (rounded to at least three  
places). If the result is 1.000 or more, enter 1.000  . . . . . .      8  _ . _ _ _ _

  9	 Multiply line 2 by line 8  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           9_________
10	 Student loan interest deduction. Subtract line 9  

from line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    10_________
11	 Student loan interest adjustment. Enter the result here.  

If line 1 is less than line 10, enter the difference on  
Schedule CA (540), column C. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     11_________

•	 Line 35 (Domestic production activities deduction) – California does 
not conform to the federal law regarding the Domestic production 
activities deduction. If you made an adjustment on your federal return 
for Domestic production activities, enter that amount in column B.

Federal law allows a deduction for Tuition Fees and Domestic Production 
Activities. California does not conform to these deductions. The amount 
claimed as Tuition Fees Deduction for federal purposes should be entered 
on line 35, column B, with the notation “Tuition and Fees Deduction”. If 
entries in column B are required for both “Domestic Production Activities 
Deduction” and “Tuition Fees Deduction” add a statement in the space 
provided below line 35 showing the break down for each adjustment.

Line 36 – Add line 23 through line 31a and line 32 through line 35 in 
column B and column C.
If you claimed the foreign housing deduction, include that amount in the 
total you enter in column B, line 36. Enter the amount and “Form 2555” 
or “Form 2555‑EZ” on the dotted line next to line 36.
If you are active duty military and not domiciled in California and your 
IRA deduction was limited because of a federal AGI limitation, recalculate 
your deduction excluding your active duty military pay. If the recalculated 
amount is larger than the amount on line 32, column A, enter the 
difference between the two amounts in Column C, line 36. Enter the 
amount and “MPA Adjustment” on the dotted line next to line 36.

Line 37 – Total
Subtract line 36 from line 22 in column B and column C.
Also, transfer the amount from:
•	 Line 37, column B to Form 540, Side 1, line 14 
Caution: If column B is a negative number, transfer the amount as a 
positive number to line 16.
•	 Line 37, column C to Form 540, Side 1, line 16 
Caution: If column C is a negative number, transfer the amount as a 
positive number to line 14.
Note: When itemizing deductions, go to Part II.

Part II – Specific Line Instructions
Line 38 – Federal Itemized Deductions
Enter the total amount of itemized deductions from your federal 
Form 1040, Schedule A, lines 4, 9, 14, 18, 19, 26, and 27.
Important: If you did not itemize deductions on your federal tax return 
but will itemize deductions on your California tax return, first complete 
federal Schedule A. Then complete Schedule CA (540), Part II, line 38 
through line 44.

Line 39 – State, Local, Foreign Income Taxes, and General Sales Tax
Add the following amounts from federal Schedule A (Form 1040) and 
enter on line 39:
•	 Line 5, state and local income tax (including limited partnership tax 

and income or franchise tax paid by corporations), and State Disability 
Insurance (SDI) or Voluntary Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI); and

•	 Line 8, foreign income taxes.
If you are deducting either local general sales and use taxes or state 
and local income taxes as an itemized deduction on federal Schedule A, 
line 5, enter the amount on Schedule CA, line 39.
Note: For tax years beginning in 2004 and 2005, the American Jobs 
Creation Act of 2004 allows taxpayers to elect to claim either local 
general sales and use taxes or state and local income taxes as an 
itemized deduction. If you are deducting either of these on line 5 of 
federal Schedule A, enter the amount on line 39.

Line 41 – Other Adjustments

Adoption-Related Expenses – If you deducted adoption-related expenses 
on your federal Form 1040, Schedule A and are claiming the adoption 
cost credit for the same amounts on your Form 540, enter the amount of 
the adoption cost credit claimed as a negative number on line 41.

Mortgage Interest Credit – If you reduced your federal mortgage interest 
deduction by the amount of your mortgage interest credit (from federal 
Form 8396, Mortgage Interest Credit), increase your California itemized 
deductions by the same amount. Enter the amount of your federal 
mortgage interest credit as a positive number on line 41.

Nontaxable Income Expenses – If, on federal Schedule A, you claim 
expenses related to producing income taxed under federal law but not 
taxed by California, enter the amount as a negative number on line 41.

You may claim expenses related to producing income taxed by California 
law but not taxed under federal law by entering the amount as a positive 
number on line 41.
Employee Business Expense – If you completed federal Form 2106, 
Employee Business Expense, or Form 2106-EZ, Unreimbursed Employee 
Business Expense, prepare a second set of forms reflecting your 
employee business expense using California amounts (i.e., following 
California law).
Generally, California law conforms with federal law and no adjustment is 
needed. However, differences occur when:
•	 Assets (requiring depreciation) were placed in service before 1/1/87. 

Figure the depreciation based on California law.
•	 Federal employees were on temporary duty status. California does 

not conform to the federal provision that expanded temporary duties 
to include prosecutive duties, in addition to investigative duties. 
Therefore, travel expenses paid or incurred in connection with 
temporary duty status (exceeding one year), involving the prosecution 
(or support of the prosecution) of a federal crime, should not be 
included in the California amount.

Compare line 10 on the federal form and the form completed using 
California amounts. If the federal amount is larger, enter the difference 
as a negative number on line 41 (bracket the number). If the California 
amount is larger, enter the difference as a positive number on line 41.
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Investment Interest Expense – Your California deduction for investment 
interest expense may be different from your federal deduction. Use form 
FTB 3526, Investment Interest Expense Deduction, to figure the amount 
to enter on line 41.
Interest Expense Deduction – Your California interest expense deduction 
may be different from your federal deduction. A deduction is allowed 
for interest paid on any loan or financed indebtedness from a utility 
company to purchase energy efficient equipment and products for 
California residences. Enter as a positive number on line 41.

Gambling Losses – California lottery losses are not deductible for 
California. Enter the amount of California lottery losses shown on federal 
Schedule A as a negative number on line 41.

Federal Estate Tax – Federal estate tax paid on income in respect of a 
decedent is not deductible for California. Enter the amount of federal 
estate tax shown on federal Schedule A as a negative number on line 41.

Generation Skipping Transfer Tax – Tax paid on generation skipping 
transfers is not deductible under California law. Enter the amount of 
expenses shown on federal Schedule A as a negative number on line 41.

State Legislator’s Travel Expenses – Under California law, deductible 
travel expenses for state legislators include only those incurred while 
away from their place of residence overnight. Figure the difference 
between the amount allowed using federal law and the amount allowed 
using California law. Enter the difference as a negative number on 
line 41.

Charitable Qualified Contributions – Your California deduction may be 
different from your federal deduction. California limits the amount of 
your deduction to 50% of your adjusted gross income. 

Charitable Contribution Carryover Deduction – If deducting a prior year 
charitable contribution carryover, and the California carryover is larger 
than the federal carryover, enter the additional amount as a positive 
number on line 41.

Health Savings Account (HSA) Distributions – If you received a tax-free 
HSA distribution for qualified medical expenses, enter the qualified 
expenses paid that exceed 7.5% of federal AGI as an adjustment to 
itemized deductions. To determine the amount of the itemized deduction 
adjustment:
•	 Calculate the medical expense deduction for California.
•	 Calculate the medical expense deduction for federal.
•	 Subtract the federal amount from the California amount. Enter the 

amount on line 41, as a positive amount.

Carryover Deduction Appreciated Stock Contributed to a Private 
Foundation prior to 1/1/02 – If deducting a charitable contribution 
carryover of appreciated stock donated to a private operating foundation 
prior to 1/1/02, and the fair market value allowed for federal purposes is 
larger than the basis allowed for California purposes, enter the difference 
as a negative number on line 41.

Interest on loans from utility companies – Taxpayers are allowed a 
tax deduction for interest paid or incurred on a public utility company 
financed loan that is used to purchase and install energy efficient 
equipment or products, including zone-heating products for a qualified 
residence located in California. Federal law has no equivalent deduction. 
Enter the amount as a positive number on line 41.

Medical benefits paid on behalf of registered domestic partners – 
Taxpayer benefits are extended to include the taxpayer’s registered 
domestic partner and their dependent(s) for medical expenses and health 
insurance benefits that occur on or after 1/1/02. Federal law does not 
include this provision. Enter the amount as a positive number on line 41.

Claim of Right – If you had to repay an amount that you included in 
your income in an earlier year, because at the time you thought you had 
an unrestricted right to it, you may be able to deduct the amount repaid 
from your income for the year in which you repaid it. Or, if the amount 
you repaid is more than $3,000, you may take a credit against your tax 
for the year in which you repaid it, whichever results in the least tax.

Note: If the amount repaid was not taxed by California, then no deduction 
or credit is allowed.

If you claimed a credit for the repayment on your federal return and are 
deducting the repayment for California, enter the allowable deduction 
as a positive amount on Schedule CA (540NR), line 41. Deductions of 
$3,000 or less are subject to the 2% federal AGI limit.

If you deducted the repayment on your federal return and are taking 
a credit for California, enter the amount of the federal deduction as a 
negative amount on Schedule CA(540NR), line 41. To help you determine 
whether to take a credit or deduction, see the Repayment section of 
federal Publication 525, Taxable and Nontaxable Income. Remember to 
use the California tax rate in your computations. If you choose to take 
the credit instead of the deduction for California, add the credit amount 
on line 44, the total payment line, of the Form 540. To the left of the total, 
write IRC 1341 and the amount of the credit.

Line 43 – California Itemized Deductions
Is the amount on Form 540, line 13 more than the amount shown below 
for your filing status?
Single or married filing separately . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       $150,743
Married filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               $301,491
Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   $226,119
NO	 Transfer the amount from line 42 to line 43. Do not complete the 

worksheet.
YES	 Complete the Itemized Deductions Worksheet.
Note:
•	 If married and filing a separate return, you and your spouse must 

either both itemize your deductions or both take the standard 
deduction.

•	 Also, if someone else can claim you as a dependent, claim the greater of 
the standard deduction or your itemized deductions. See the instructions 
for “California Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents” on 
page 13 of this booklet to figure your standard deduction.

Itemized Deductions Worksheet
  1.	 Amount from Schedule CA (540), line 42 . . . . . . . . . . .             1 _______
  2.	 Using California amounts, add the amounts on federal 

Form 1040, Schedule A, line 4, line 13, and line 19 
plus any gambling losses included on line 27 . . . . . . . .          2 _______

  3.	 Subtract line 2 from line 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        3 _______
	 Note: If zero, stop. Enter the amount from line 1 on 

Schedule CA (540), line 43.
  4.	 Multiply line 3 by 80% (.80) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       4 _______
  5.	 Amount from Form 540, line 13  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    5 _______
  6.	 Enter the amount shown above for your filing status  . .    6 _______
  7.	 Subtract line 6 from line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        7 _______
	 Note: If zero or less, stop. Enter the amount from line 1 

on Schedule CA (540), line 43.
  8.	 Multiply line 7 by 6% (.06) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        8 _______
  9.	 Compare line 4 and line 8. Enter the smaller 

amount here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                  9 _______
10.	 Total itemized deductions. Subtract line 9 from line 1. 

Enter here and on Schedule CA (540), line 43 . . . . . . . .       10 _______



1. Were you a resident of California for the entire year in 2006?
Military personnel. If you are not a legal resident of California, you do not qualify for this credit. However, your spouse may claim this credit if he or she was a resident, 
did not live in military housing during 2006, and is otherwise qualified.
YES.	 Go to question 2.	 NO.	Stop. File the Long or Short Form 540NR, California Nonresident or Part-Year
			   Resident Income Tax Return. See “Order Forms and Publications” on page 67. 	

2. Is your California adjusted gross income the amount on Form 540A, line 14 or Form 540, line 17:
	 •	 $32,272 or less if single or married filing separately; or
	 •	 $64,544 or less if married filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er)?
YES. Go to question 3.	 NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

3. Did you pay rent, for at least half of 2006, on property (including a mobile home that you owned on rented land) in California, 
which was your principal residence?
YES. Go to question 4.	 NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

4. Can you be claimed as a dependent by a parent, foster parent, legal guardian, or any other person in 2006?
NO. Go to question 6.	 YES. Go to question 5.

5. For more than half the year in 2006, did you live in the home of the person who can claim you as a dependent?
NO. Go to question 6.	 YES. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

6. Was the property you rented exempt from property tax in 2006?
You do not qualify for this credit if, for more than half of the year, you rented property that was exempt from property taxes. Exempt property includes most 
government-owned buildings, church-owned parsonages, college dormitories, and military barracks. However, if you or your landlord paid possessory interest taxes for 
the property you rented, then you may claim this credit.
NO. Go to question 7.	 YES. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

7. Did you claim the homeowner’s property tax exemption anytime during 2006? 
You do not qualify for this credit if you or your spouse received a homeowner’s property tax exemption at any time during the year. However, if you lived apart from your 
spouse for the entire year and your spouse received a homeowner’s property tax exemption for a separate residence, then you may claim this credit if you are otherwise 
qualified.
NO. Go to question 8.	 YES. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

8. Were you single in 2006?
YES. Go to question 11.	 NO. Go to question 9.

9. Did your spouse claim the homeowner’s property tax exemption anytime during 2006?
You do not qualify for this credit if you or your spouse received a homeowner’s property tax exemption at any time during the year. However, if you lived apart from your 
spouse for the entire year and your spouse received a homeowner’s property tax exemption for a separate residence, then you may claim this credit if you are otherwise 
qualified.
NO. Go to question 11.	 YES. Go to question 10.

10. Did you and your spouse maintain separate residences for the entire year in 2006?
YES. Go to question 11.	 NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

11. If you are:
	 •	 Single, enter $60 below.
	 •	 Married filing separately, if you and your spouse file separate returns, lived in the same rental property and both qualify for this credit, one 

spouse may claim the full amount of the credit ($120), or each spouse may claim half the amount ($60 each).
	 •	 Married filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er), enter $120 below. Enter this figure on Form 540A, line 19 or 

Form 540, line 28.

      $ ___ ___ ___

Fill in the street address(es) and landlord information below for the residence(s) you rented in California during 2006, which qualified you for this 
credit.
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  Street Address 	 City, State, and ZIP Code	 Dates Rented in 2006 (From______to______)

a_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
b_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Enter the name, address, and telephone number of your landlord(s) or the person(s) to whom you paid rent for the residence(s) listed above.

  Name	 Street Address	 City, State, ZIP Code, and Telephone Number

a_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
b_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit Qualification Record
e-file and skip this page! The software you use to e-file will help you find out if you qualify for this credit and will figure the correct 
amount of the credit automatically. Go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov to check your e-file options.

If you were a resident of California and paid rent on property in California, which was your principal residence, you may qualify for a credit that you can 
use to reduce your tax. Answer the questions below to see if you qualify. Do not mail this record. Keep with your tax records.

✓ Tip
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CREDIT CHART
Credit Name	 Code	 Description
Child Adoption – Worksheet on page 15	 197	 50% of qualified costs in the year an adoption is ordered
Child and Dependent Care Expenses – FTB 3506	 None	 Similar to the federal credit except that the California credit amount is based on a
  See the instructions on page 63		  specified percentage of the federal credit and is refundable
Community Development Financial Institution	 209	 20% of each qualified deposit made to a community development financial institution 
  Deposits – Certification Required		  Obtain certification from: California Organized Investment Network (COIN), Department of Insurance, 

300 Capitol Mall, Suite 1600, Sacramento CA 95814, or go to www.insurance.ca.gov
Dependent Parent – See page 15	 173	 Must use married filing separately status and have a dependent parent
Disabled Access for Eligible Small Businesses –	 205	 Similar to the federal credit but limited to $125 based on 50% of qualified expenditures
  FTB 3548		  that do not exceed $250
Donated Agricultural Products Transportation –	 204	 50% of the costs paid or incurred for the transportation of agricultural products donated
  FTB 3547		  to nonprofit charitable organizations
Employer Child Care Contribution – FTB 3501	 190	 Employer: 30% of contributions to a qualified plan
Employer Child Care Program – FTB 3501	 189	 Employer: 30% of cost for establishing a child care program or constructing a child care facility
Enhanced Oil Recovery – FTB 3546	 203	 One third of the similar federal credit and limited to qualified enhanced oil recovery projects located 

within California.
Enterprise Zone Employee – FTB 3553	 169	 5% of wages from work in an enterprise zone
Enterprise Zone Hiring & Sales	 176	 Business incentives for enterprise zone businesses
  or Use Tax – FTB 3805Z
Environmental Tax – FTB 3511	 218	 Five cents ($.05) for each gallon of ultra low sulfur diesel fuel produced during the taxable year by a 

small refiner at any facility located in this state
Farmworker Housing – Certification required	 207	 50% of new construction or rehabilitation costs for farmworker housing 

Obtain certification from: Farmworker Housing Assistance Program, California Tax Credit Allocation 
Committee, 915 Capitol Mall, Room 485, Sacramento CA 95814, or go to www.treasurer.ca.gov

Joint Custody Head of Household –	 170	 30% of tax up to $363 for taxpayers who are single or married filing separately, who have a 
  Worksheet on page 15		  child and meet the support test
Joint Strike Fighter Wages – FTB 3534	 215	 EXPIRED – form available for carryover and recapture only
Joint Strike Fighter Property Costs – FTB 3534	 216	 EXPIRED – form available for carryover and recapture only
Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area	 198	 Business incentives for LAMBRAs
  (LAMBRA) Hiring & Sales or Use Tax – FTB 3807
Low-Income Housing – FTB 3521	 172	 Similar to the federal credit but limited to low-income housing in California
Manufacturing Enhancement Area (MEA)	 211	 Percentage of qualified wages paid to qualified disadvantaged individuals
  Hiring – FTB 3808		
Natural Heritage Preservation – FTB 3503	 213	 55% of the fair market value of any qualified contribution of property donated to the state, any local 

government, or any nonprofit organization designated by a local government
Nonrefundable Renter’s – See page 57	 None	 For California residents who paid rent for their principal residence for at least 6 months in 2006 and 

whose AGI does not exceed a certain limit
Other State Tax – Schedule S	 187	 Net income tax paid to another state or a U.S. possession on income also taxed by California
Prior Year Alternative Minimum Tax – FTB 3510	 188	 Must have paid alternative minimum tax in a prior year and have no alternative minimum tax liability 

in 2006
Prison Inmate Labor – FTB 3507	 162	 10% of wages paid to prison inmates
Research – FTB 3523	 183	 Similar to the federal credit but limited to costs for research activities in California
Rice Straw – Certification required	 206	 $15 per ton of purchased rice straw grown in California  

Obtain certification from: Rice Straw Tax Credit Program, Department of Food and Agriculture,  
1220 N Street, Room 140, Sacramento, CA 95814, or go to www.cdfa.ca.gov	

Senior Head of Household –	 163	 2% of taxable income up to $1,111 for seniors who qualified for head of household in 2004 or 2005 
  Worksheet on page 15		  and whose qualifying individual died during 2004 or 2005
Solar or Wind Energy System – FTB 3508	 217	 EXPIRED – form available for carryover and recapture only
Targeted Tax Area (TTA) Hiring & Sales or	 210	 Business incentives for TTA businesses
  Use Tax – FTB 3809
Teacher Retention – FTB 3505	 212	 Credentialed teachers may be able to claim a credit of up to $1,500 (per individual) based on years 

of service and the limitation based on income. This credit is suspended for taxable years 2004, 2005, 
and 2006.

Repealed Credits:	 The expiration dates for these credits have passed. However, these credits had carryover provisions. You may claim these credits only if there is a 
carryover available from prior years. If you are not required to complete Schedule P (540), get form FTB 3540, Credit Carryover Summary, to figure 
your credit carryover to future years. See “Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications” on page 66.

Agricultural Products	 175
Commercial Solar Electric System	 196
Commercial Solar Energy	 181
Employee Ridesharing	 194
Employer Ridesharing:	 Large employer	 191
		  Small employer	 192
		  Transit passes	 193
Energy Conservation	 182

Los Angeles Revitalization Zone (LARZ)
  Hiring & Sales or Use Tax	 159
Low-Emission Vehicles	 160
Manufacturers’ Investment	 199
Orphan Drug	 185
Political Contributions	 184
Recycling Equipment	 174

Residential Rental & Farm Sales	 186
Ridesharing	 171
Salmon & Steelhead Trout Habitat 
  Restoration	 200
Solar Energy	 180
Solar Pump	 179
Water Conservation	 178
Young Infant	 161
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Fund Name	 Code Description

California Seniors Special Fund 50 If you and/or your spouse are 65 years of age or older as of December 31, 2006, and claim the Senior 
Exemption Credit on line 9, you may make a combined total contribution of up to $182 or $91 per spouse. 
Contributions entered to this fund will be distributed to the Area Agency of Aging Councils (TACC) to 
provide advice on and sponsorship of Senior Citizens issues. Any excess contributions not required by 
TACC will be distributed to senior citizen service organizations throughout California for meals, adult day 
care, and transportation.

Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund 51 Contributions will provide grants to California scientists who study Alzheimer’s disease and related 
disorders. This research includes basic science, diagnosis, treatment, prevention, behavioral problems, 
and care giving. With one-half million Californians living with the disease and another 2 million providing 
care to a loved one with Alzheimer’s, our state is in the early stages of a major public health crisis. Your 
contribution will ensure that Alzheimer’s disease receives the attention, research, and resources it deserves.

California Fund for Senior Citizens 52 Contributions will provide support for the California Senior Legislature (CSL). The CSL are volunteers who 
prioritize statewide senior related legislative proposals in areas of health, housing, transportation, and 
community services. Any excess contributions not required by the CSL will be distributed to senior citizen 
service organizations throughout California.

Rare and Endangered Species Preservation 
Program

53 Contributions will be used to help protect and conserve California’s many threatened and endangered 
species and the wild lands that they need to survive, for the enjoyment and benefit of you and future 
generations of Californians.

State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention 
of Child Abuse

54 Contributions will be used to fund programs for the prevention, intervention, and treatment of child abuse 
and neglect.

California Breast Cancer Research Fund 55 Contributions will fund research toward preventing and curing breast cancer. Breast cancer is the most 
common cancer to strike women in California. It kills 4,000 California women each year. Contributions 
also fund research on prevention and better treatment, and keep doctors up-to-date on research progress. 
For more about the research your contributions support, please see our Website at www.cbcrp.org. Your 
contribution can help make breast cancer a disease of the past.

California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund 56 Contributions will be used for the repair and maintenance of the California Firefighters’ Memorial on the 
grounds of the State Capitol, ceremonies to honor the memory of fallen firefighters and to assist surviving 
loved ones, and for an informational guide detailing survivor benefits to assist the spouses and children of 
fallen firefighters.

Emergency Food Assistance Program Fund 57 Contributions will be used to help local food banks feed California’s hungry. Your contribution will fund the 
purchase of much-needed food for delivery to food banks, pantries, and soup kitchens throughout the state. 
The State Department of Social Services will monitor its distribution to ensure the food is given to those 
most in need.

California Peace Officer Memorial Foundation 
Fund

58 Contributions will be used to preserve the memory of California’s fallen peace officers and assist the 
families they left behind. Since statehood, over 1,300 courageous California peace officers have made the 
ultimate sacrifice while protecting law-abiding citizens. The non-profit charitable organization, California 
Peace Officers’ Memorial Foundation, has accepted the privilege and responsibility of maintaining a 
memorial for fallen officers on the State Capitol grounds. Each May, the Memorial Foundation conducts a 
dignified ceremony honoring fallen officers and their surviving families by offering moral support, crisis 
counseling, and financial support that includes academic scholarships for the children of those officers who 
have made the supreme sacrifice. On behalf of all of us and the law-abiding citizens of California, thank you 
for your participation.

California Military Family Relief Fund 59 Contributions will be used to provide financial aid grants to members of the California National Guard who 
are California residents, and have been called to active duty.

Veterans’ Quality of Life Fund 60 Contributions will be allocated to the Morale, Welfare, and Recreation Fund to provide additional funding for 
each of the veterans’ homes.

California Sexual Violence Victim Services 
Fund

61 Contributions will be allocated to the State Department of Health Services for allocation to the California 
Coalition Against Sexual Assault (CALCASA) for the award of grants to support CALCASA rape crisis center 
programs for victims of rape and sexual assault.

California Colorectal Cancer Prevention Fund 62 Contributions will be allocated to the State Department of Health Services for making grants to foundations 
that qualify as exempt organizations and whose mission is the prevention and early detection of colorectal 
cancer. The grants shall contribute toward the expansion of community-based colorectal cancer education 
and culturally sensitive and appropriate prevention activities targeted toward communities that are 
disproportionately at risk or afflicted by colorectal cancer.

California Sea Otter Fund 63 The California Coastal Conservancy and the Department of Fish and Game will each be allocated 50% of 
the contributions. The California Coastal Conservancy will use the contributions for research and programs 
related to the near-shore ecosystem, including sea otters. The Department of Fish and Game will use the 
contributions to establish a sea otter fund within the department’s index coding system for increased 
investigation, prevention, and enforcement action.

Voluntary Contribution Fund Descriptions
Make voluntary contributions of $1 or more in whole dollar amounts to the funds listed below. To contribute to the California Seniors Special Fund use the 
instructions for code 50 below. The amount you contribute either reduces your overpaid tax or increases your tax due. You may contribute to only the funds 
listed and cannot change the amount you contribute after you file your return. Go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov and search for voluntary contributions.
If you are using:
•	 Form 540A, enter the amounts you want to contribute on the line for the fund on Side 2. Enter the total contributions on line 38.
•	 Form 540, enter the amounts you want to contribute on the line for the fund on Side 2. Enter the total contributions on line 64.
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  3	 Add the amounts in column (e) of line 2. Do not enter more than $3,000 for one qualifying person or $6,000 for two 
	 or more qualifying persons. If you completed Part IV, enter the amount from line 35  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          	 3
  4	 Enter YOUR earned income. See instructions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                        	 4
	 Nonresidents: Enter only your earned income from California sources. If you do not have earned income from 
	 California sources, stop, you do not qualify for the credit. Military members, see instructions. 
	 Part-year residents: Enter the total of (1) your earned income from California sources received while you were a 
	 nonresident and (2) all earned income received while you were a resident. Military members, see instructions.
  5	 If married filing a joint return, enter YOUR SPOUSE’S earned income. (If your spouse was a student or was 
	 disabled, see the instructions.) If not filing a joint return, enter the amount from line 4 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         	 5
	 Nonresidents: Enter only your spouse’s earned income from California sources. If your spouse does not have earned income 
	 from California sources, stop, you do not qualify for the credit. Military members, see instructions. 
	 Part-year residents: Enter the total of (1) your spouse’s earned income from California sources received while he or she was a 
	 nonresident and (2) all earned income your spouse received while he or she was a resident. Military members, see instructions.
  6	 Enter the smallest of line 3, line 4, or line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                          	 6
  7	 Enter the decimal amount shown in the chart on page 3 of the instructions for line 7  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          	 7
  8	 Multiply line 6 by the decimal amount on line 7. Enter the amount here and on Form 540A, line 30; 
	 Form 540, line 42; or Long Form 540NR, line 49  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                      	 8
  9	 Enter the decimal amount listed in the chart on page 3 of the instructions for line 9  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           	 9
10	 Multiply the amount on line 8 by the decimal amount on line 9  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                           	 10
11	 Credit for prior year expenses paid in 2006. See instructions for line 11  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    	 11
12	 Add line 10 and line 11. Enter the amount here and on Form 540A, line 31; Form 540, line 43; or Long Form 540NR, line 50		 12

Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit
YEAR

2006
Name(s) as shown on return

7251063

CALIFORNIA  FORM

3506
SSN or ITIN

-

Part II	 Persons or Organizations Who Provided the Care in California – You must complete this part. See instructions.
1	 Enter the following information for each person or organization that provided care in California. (Only care provided in California qualifies for the credit). 

If you need more space, attach a separate sheet.

	 	 Provider	 Provider
a.	 Care provider’s name	 	 	

b.	 Care provider’s address 
(number, street, apt. no., city, state, and 
ZIP Code)	 	 

c.	 Care provider’s telephone number	  (      )	  (      )
d.	 Is provider a person or organization?	   Person    Organization	   Person    Organization
e.	 Identification number (SSN or FEIN)	 	 
f.	 Address where care was provided 

(number, street, apt. no., city, state, and 
ZIP Code)

g.	 Amount paid for care provided	 	 

Part I	 Unearned Income and Other Funds Received in 2006. See instructions.
SOURCE OF INCOME/FUNDS	 AMOUNT	 SOURCE OF INCOME/FUNDS	 AMOUNT

	 	 	 
	 	 	 
	 	 	 	

Attach to your California Form 540, 540A, or Long Form 540NR.

-

 DOB:_____________ 
 Disabled   Yes

 DOB:_____________ 
 Disabled   Yes

 DOB:_____________ 
 Disabled   Yes

Part III	Credit for Child and Dependent Care Expenses
2  Information about your qualifying person(s).  See instructions.
	 (a)	   (b)	 (c)	 (d)	 (e)
	 Qualifying person’s name	   Qualifying person’s	 Qualifying person’s 	 Percentage of physical	 Qualified expenses you
		  social security number	 date of birth (DOB)	 custody	 incurred and paid in 2006 for
		  (See instructions)	 or if disabled	 (See instructions)	 the qualifying person’s
First                        Last				    care in California

Did you receive dependent care benefits?      	 No	 Complete Part III below.
	 Yes	 Complete Part IV before Part III.





	 	 	 

	 	 	 

	 	 	 

	 

	 

	 	  	

X. ___ ___

X. ___ ___
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Part IV	Dependent Care Benefits
13	 Enter the total amount of dependent care benefits you received for 2006. This amount should be shown in box 10 of 
	 your Form(s) W-2. Do not include amounts that were reported to you as wages in box 1 of Form(s) W-2. Include 
	 amounts you received under a dependent care assistance program from your sole proprietorship or partnership  . . . . .      	 13
14	 Enter the amount, if any, you carried over from 2005 and used in 2006 during the grace period . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    	 14
15	 Enter the amount, if any, you forfeited or carried forward to 2007 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                           	 15
16	 Combine line 13 through line 15 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                     	 16
17	 Enter the total amount of qualified expenses incurred in 2006 for the 
	 care of the qualifying person(s). See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           	 17
18	 Enter the smaller of line 16 or line 17 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     	 18
19	 Enter YOUR earned income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            	 19
20	 If married filing a joint return, enter YOUR SPOUSE’S earned income 
	 (if your spouse was a student or was disabled, see the instructions for line 5); if 
	 married filing a separate return, see the instructions for the amount 
	 to enter; all others, enter the amount from line 19 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           	 20
21	 Enter the smallest of line 18, line 19, or line 20 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             	 21
22	 Enter the amount from line 13 that you received from your sole proprietorship or partnership. If you did not receive 

any amounts, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                            	 22
23	 Subtract line 22 from line 16 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                        	 23
24	 Enter $5,000 ($2,500 if married filing separately and you were required to enter your spouse’s earned income 

on line 20) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                      	 24
25	 Deductible benefits. Enter the smallest of line 21, line 22, or line 24. Also, include this amount on the  

appropriate line(s) of your return . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                    	 25
26	 Enter the smaller of line 21 or line 24 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                 	 26
27	 Enter the amount from line 25 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                       	 27
28	 Excluded benefits. Subtract line 27 from line 26. If zero or less, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     	 28
29	 Taxable benefits. Subtract line 28 from line 23. If zero or less, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                      	 29
30	 Enter $3,000 ($6,000 if two or more qualifying persons) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                  	 30
31	 Enter the amount from line 25 and line 28  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                             	 31
32	 Subtract the amount on line 31 from the amount on line 30. If zero or less, stop. You do not qualify for the credit. 

Exception – If you paid 2005 expenses in 2006, see instructions for line 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   	 32
33	 Complete Side 1, Part III, line 2. Add the amounts in column (e) and enter the total here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         	 33
34	 Enter the amount from your federal Form 2441, Part III, line 32 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                             	 34
35	 Enter the smaller of line 32, line 33, or line 34. Also, enter this amount on Side 1, line 3 on the front of this form and 

complete line 4 through line 12 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 	 35
Worksheet – Credit for 2005 Expenses Paid in 2006
  1)	 Enter your 2005 qualified expenses paid in 2005. If you did not claim the credit for these expenses on your 2005 

return, get and complete a 2005 form FTB 3506 for these expenses.  You may need to amend your 2005 return. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              ____________________
  2)	 Enter your 2005 qualified expenses paid in 2006 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                               ____________________
  3)	 Add the amounts on line 1 and line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                        ____________________
  4)	 Enter $3,000 if care was for one qualifying person ($6,000 for two or more). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                          ____________________
  5)	 Enter any dependent care benefits received for 2005 and excluded from your income 

(from line 24 of 2005 form FTB 3506). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                        ____________________
  6)	 Subtract amount on line 5 from amount on line 4 and enter the result. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                               ____________________
  7)	 Compare your and your spouse’s earned income for 2005 and enter the smaller amount. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                ____________________
  8)	 Compare the amounts on line 3, line 6, and line 7 and enter the smallest amount. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                      ____________________
  9)	 Enter the amount from your 2005 form FTB 3506, line 6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                         ____________________
10)	 Subtract amount on line 9 from amount on line 8 and enter the result. If zero or less, stop here. You cannot increase 

your credit by any previous year’s expenses. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                   ____________________
11)	 Enter your 2005 federal adjusted gross income (AGI) (from your 2005 Form 540, line 13; 540A, line 12b; 

or Long Form 540NR, line 13). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                              ____________________
12)	 2005 federal AGI decimal amount (from 2005 form FTB 3506, instructions for line 7). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   ____________________
13)	 Multiply line 10 by line 12. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                                                 ____________________
14)	 2005 California AGI decimal amount (from 2005 form FTB 3506, instructions for line 9). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                   ____________________
15)	 Multiply line 13 by line 14.  Enter the result here and on line 11 of your 2006 form FTB 3506. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             ____________________

X.

X.

(                  )
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Instructions for Form FTB 3506
Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit

General Information
Attach the completed form FTB 3506 to your return if you claim the child and 
dependent care expenses credit.

What’s New
Beginning with the 2007 tax year, registered domestic partners are required 
to file a joint California return or separate returns using the same rules 
applicable to spouses. However, for the 2006 tax year, registered domestic 
partners must continue to claim this credit using the single or head of 
household filing status.

A  Purpose
You may qualify to claim the 2006 credit for child and dependent care 
expenses, if you (and your spouse) paid someone in California to care 
for your child or other qualifying person while you worked or looked for 
employment. You must have earned income to do so. If you qualify to claim 
the credit, use form FTB 3506 to figure the amount of your credit.
If you received dependent care benefits for 2006 but do not qualify to claim 
the credit, you are not required to complete form FTB 3506. For additional 
definitions, requirements, and instructions, get federal Form 2441.

B  Differences in California and Federal Law
The differences between California and federal law are as follows:
•	 California allows this credit only for care provided in California.
•	 If you were a nonresident, you must have earned wages from working in 

California or earned self-employment income from California business 
activities. 

•	 Federal adjusted gross income must be $100,000 or less to qualify for 
the California credit. 

•	 The California credit is a percentage of the federal credit as modified by 
California law.

•	 The California credit is refundable.

C  Qualifications
You may take the credit if all eight of the following apply.
1.	 If you are married, you must file a joint return. For an exception, see 

Section E, Married Persons Filing Separate Returns, on page 64.
2.	 Care must be provided in California for one or more qualifying persons. 

See Section D, Qualifying Person Defined, on this page.
3.	 You paid for care so you (and your spouse) could work or look for work. 

However, if you did not find a job and have no earned income, you do not 
qualify for the credit. If your spouse was a student or disabled, see the 
instructions for Part III, line 5, on page 65.

4.	 You (and your spouse) must have earned income (wages or self-
employment income) during the year. See the instructions for Part III, 
line 4, on page 65 for more information on earned income.

5.	 You and the qualifying person(s) live in the same home for more than 
half the year.

6.	 The person who provided care was not your spouse, the parent of 
your qualifying child, or a person for whom you can claim a dependent 
exemption. If your child provided the care, the child must have been 
age 19 or older by the end of 2006.

7.	 You report the required information about the care provider(s) in Part II, 
line 1, and the information about the qualifying person(s) in Part III, line 2.

8.	 Your federal adjusted gross income is $100,000 or less.

D  Qualifying Person Defined
Rules for Most People

 A qualifying person is:
 1.	A child under age 13 who meets the requirements to be your dependent 

as a Qualifying Child. A child who turned 13 during the year qualifies only 
for the part of the year when he or she was 12 years old.

 2.	Your spouse who was physically or mentally incapable of self-care.
 3.	Any person who was physically or mentally incapable of self-care whom 

you can claim as a dependent (or could claim as a dependent except that 
the person had gross income of $3,300 or more or filed a joint return).

 4. Any disabled person not able to care for himself or herself whom you 
could claim as a dependent except that you (or your spouse if filing a 
joint return), could be claimed as a dependent on someone else’s 2006 
return.

Qualifying Child
A Qualifying Child is a child who meets all of the following tests:
•	 Relationship Test - The child must be your son, daughter, stepchild, 

adopted child, eligible foster child, brother, sister, half-brother, half-sister, 
stepbrother, stepsister, or a descendant of one of these. An adopted child 
includes a child who has been lawfully placed with you for legal adoption 
even if the adoption is not yet final. An eligible foster child must be 
placed with you by an authorized placement agency or by a court.

•	 Age Test - The child must be under 19 years of age or a full-time student 
under 24. (For the purposes of qualifying for the Child and Dependent 
Care Expenses Credit, the child must be under 13.)

•	 Residency Test - The child must live with you for more than half the year.
•	 Support Test - The child must not have provided more than half of his or 

her own support.
•	 Joint Return Test - The child must not have filed a joint federal income 

tax return with his or her spouse.
•	 Citizenship Test - The child must be a citizen or national of the U.S. or a 

resident of the U.S., Canada, or Mexico.
Qualifying Child of More Than One Person -- Tie-Breaker Rules

If… Then the child will be treated as the qualifying 
child of the…

Only one of the persons 
is the child’s parent

Parent

Both persons are the
child’s parent

Parent with whom the child lived with for the longer period of 
time. If the child lived with each parent for the same amount 
of time then the child will be treated as the qualifying child 
of the parent with the highest adjusted gross income.

None of the persons are 
the child’s parent.

Person with the highest adjusted gross income.

Divorced, Separated, or Never Married Parents
For divorced or separated parents, special rules apply in determining if your 
child meets the requirements to be your qualifying person. When parents 
file separate returns only one parent qualifies to claim a child as a qualifying 
person. 
Even if both parents pay for child care for the same child, both parents 
cannot qualify for the credit. Some custody agreements designate which 
parent is entitled to the credit. However, the designated parent must meet all 
the qualifications in Section C, Qualifications, to claim the credit. To verify 
that your child meets the requirements to be your qualifying person use the 
table below.

RULES FOR DIVORCED, SEPARATED, OR NEVER MARRIED PARENTS

IF AND THEN

ALL four of the following apply:

1.	 Your child was under 13 and/or 
physically or mentally incapable 
of self-care when the care was 
provided. Children turning 13 during 
the year qualify only for the part of 
the year they were 12 years old.

2.	 One of the following applies
	 a.	 You are divorced or legally 

separated from the other parent;
	 b.	 You are separated under a 

written separation agreement;
	 c.	 You and the other parent lived 

apart at all times during the 
last 6 months of the year. (This 
includes parents never married 
to each other.)

3.	 One or both parents had custody of 
the child for more than half the year.

4.	 One or both parents provided more 
than half the child’s support for the 
year.

You were the custodial 
parent and you can claim 
the dependent exemption 
credit for the child.

The child is 
your qualifying 
person.

You were the custodial 
parent and under 
the provisions of a 
decree of divorce, legal 
separation, or a written 
separation agreement, 
the noncustodial parent 
claimed the dependent 
exemption credit, or 
you signed a statement 
releasing the dependent 
exemption credit to the 
noncustodial parent.

The child is 
your qualifying 
person.

You are not the custodial 
parent.

The child is not 
your qualifying 
person.

One or more of the four statements 
above do not apply.

Use the “Rules 
for Most People” 
on this page.

Custodial parent. You are the custodial parent if you had physical custody 
of your child longer than the other parent during the calendar year. On days 
where custody is shared, the parent having custody of the child for more 
than 12 hours is considered to have custody for that day.
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E  Married Persons Filing Separate Returns
Generally, if you are married, you must file a joint return to claim the credit. 
However, you can take the credit on your separate return if:
1.	 You meet all three requirements below:

•	 You lived apart from your spouse at all times during the last six months 
of 2006.

•	 The qualifying person(s) lived in your home more than half of 2006.
•	 You provided over half the cost of keeping up your home.

2.	 You meet all the other qualifications in Section C, Qualifications.

F  Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents
1.	 You must complete and attach Schedule CA (540NR), California 

Adjustments – Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents, to your tax 
return, Long Form 540NR. If Part I of Schedule CA (540NR) is not fully 
completed, we may disallow your credit.

2.	 Nonresidents must have earned income from California sources to 
qualify for the credit. Beginning with tax year 2006, a nonresident 
servicemember’s military wages are considered earned income from a 
California source for the purpose of qualifying for the credit.

3.	 Part-year residents must have earned income while a California resident 
or earned income from California sources while a nonresident to qualify 
for the credit.

Specific Line Instructions
Part I
Unearned Income and Other Funds
List the source and amount of any money you received in 2006 that is 
not included in your earned income (line 4 and line 5) but that was used 
to support your household. Include child support, property settlements, 
public assistance benefits, court awards, inheritances, insurance proceeds, 
pensions and annuities, social security payments, workers’ compensation, 
unemployment compensation, interest, or dividends.

Part II
Line 1
Complete line 1a through line 1g for each person or organization that 
provided the care in California. Only care provided in California qualifies for 
the credit. Use federal Form W-10, Dependent Care Provider’s Identification 
and Certification, or any other source listed in the instructions for Form W-10 
to get the information from your care provider. If your provider does not give 
you the information, complete as much of the information as possible and 
explain that your provider did not give you the information you requested. 
If you do not give correct and complete information, we may disallow your 
credit unless you can show you used due diligence in trying to get the 
required information.

Lines 1a through Line 1c
Enter your California care provider’s complete name (or business name), 
address, and telephone number (including the area code). We may contact 
your care provider to verify the information you provide.
If you were covered by your employer’s dependent care plan and your 
employer furnished the care (either at your workplace or by hiring a care 
provider), enter your employer’s name on line 1a. Next, enter “See W-2” on 
line 1b. Complete line 1c through line 1f. Then leave line 1g blank. But, if 
your employer paid a third party (not hired by your employer) on your behalf 
to provide care, you must provide information on the third party on line 1a 
through line 1g.

Line 1d
For each care provider, check one box indicating whether the care provider is 
a person or organization.

Line 1e
  If your care provider is	 Then enter on line 1e 
  An individual	 The provider’s social security number
  Not an individual	 The provider’s federal employer identification 		
	 number (FEIN)
  A tax-exempt organization	 “Tax-exempt”

Line 1f
Enter the complete address where the care was provided. Only care provided 
in California qualifies for the credit.

Line 1g
Enter the total amount you actually paid in 2006 to your care provider for 
care provided in California. Also include amounts your employer paid to 
a third party on your behalf. It does not matter when the expenses were 
incurred. Do not reduce this amount by any reimbursement you received.

Part III
Line 2
Complete column (a) through column (e) for each qualifying person for 
whom care was provided in California. If claiming more than three qualifying 
persons, attach a sheet of paper to your return with the required information 
and write “see attached.” Write your name and social security number or 
ITIN on the sheet. 
Column (a)
Enter each qualifying person’s name.
Column (b)
Enter each qualifying person’s social security number. Verify that the name 
and social security number match the qualifying person’s social security card 
to avoid the reduction or disallowance of your credit. If the person was born 
in, and later died in, 2006, and does not have a social security number, enter 
“Deceased” in column (b) and attach a copy of the person’s birth and death 
certificates.
Enter the social security numbers of the first two qualifying persons on 
Form 540, line 40 and line 41; Form 540A, line 28 and line 29; or Long 
Form 540NR, line 47 and line 48.
Column (c)
Enter the qualifying person’s date of birth in the space provided or if the 
qualifying person is disabled (physically or mentally incapable of self-care), 
check the “Yes” box.
Column (d)
If you shared custody of the qualifying person(s), enter the percentage of 
time you possessed physical custody during 2006. If you have 50% or less 
physical custody of your child, you don’t qualify for the credit.
Column (e)
Enter the qualified expenses you incurred and paid in 2006 for the qualifying 
person. Include only the qualified expenses for care provided in California. 
If the child turned 13 years old during the year, include only the qualified 
expenses for the part of the year the child was under 13.
Do not include in column (e) qualified expenses: 
•	 You incurred in 2006 but did not pay until 2007. You may be able to use 

these expenses to increase your 2007 credit.
•	 You incurred in 2005 but did not pay until 2006. Instead, see instructions 

for line 11.
•	 You prepaid in 2006 for care to be provided in 2007. These expenses 

may only be used to figure your 2007 credit.
Note: A qualified expense does not include the amount you paid for 
education (school tuition) or the amount you received through a subsidy 
program.
Qualified Expenses are amounts paid for the care of your qualifying person 
while you worked or looked for work.

Qualified expenses include: Qualified expenses do not include:

•	 The cost of care for the qualifying 
person’s well-being and protection. 
If care was provided by a dependent 
care center, the center must meet all 
applicable state and local regulations

•	 Cost of pre-school or similar 
program below the kindergarten 
level

•	 Day camp, even if it specializated in 
a particular activity, such as soccer

•	 Child support payments.
•	 Payments made to the parent of 

your qualifying child
•	 Payments made to your spouse.
•	 Payments made to your child who 

is under age 19 at the end of the 
year, even if he or she is not your 
dependent

•	 Payments made to a dependent for 
whom you (or your spouse) can 
claim a dependent exemption

•	 Expenses paid by or reimbursed 
through a subsidy program

•	 Cost for education (school tuition) at 
the kindergarten level and above

•	 Overnight camp
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Line 4
Earned income Includes: Earned income does not include:

•	 Wages, salary, tips, and other 
taxable employee compensation, as well 
as, military compensation including 
compensation for service in a combat 
zone

•	 Net earnings from self-employment 
•	 Strike benefits
•	 Disability payments you report as wages
•	 Active duty pay received by members of 

the armed forces is considered earned 
income regardless of whether the member 
is domiciled in this state or elsewhere

•	 Pensions or annuities
•	 Social security payments
•	 Workers’ compensation
•	 Interest
•	 Dividends
•	 Capital gains
•	 Unemployment compensation
•	 Public assistance
•	 Homeowner and Renter 

Assistance

Nonresidents and Part-Year 
Residents Only: Earned income 
from California sources includes: Earned income does not include:

•	 Wages, salary, tips, and other 
taxable employee compensation, for 
working in California, as well as, military 
compensation including compensation for 
service in a combat zone

•	 Net earnings from self-employment 
from California business activities 

•	 Strike benefits related to California 
employment

•	 Disability payments you report as 
California wages

•	 Active duty pay received by members of 
the armed forces is considered earned 
income regardless of whether the member 
is domiciled in this state or elsewhere

•	 Pensions or annuities
•	 Social security payments
•	 Workers’ compensation
•	 Interest
•	 Dividends
•	 Capital gains
•	 Unemployment compensation
•	 Public assistance
•	 Homeowner and Renter 

Assistance

Line 5
Spouse Who Was a Student or Disabled
Your spouse was a student if he or she was enrolled as a full-time student 
at a school during any 5 months of 2006. A school does not include a night 
school or correspondence school.
Your spouse was disabled if he or she was not capable of self-care. Figure 
your spouse’s earned income on a monthly basis.
For each month your spouse was a full-time student or disabled, enter on 
line 5 the larger of
•	 Your spouse’s actual earned income for that month, or
•	 $250 ($500, if you have 2 or more qualifying persons).
If, in the same month, both you and your spouse qualified as either full-time 
students or disabled, only one of you receive treatment as having earned 
income of $250 (or $500) in that month. For any month that your spouse 
was not a full-time student or disabled, use your spouse’s actual earned 
income for that month. 

Line 7
Use the chart on this page to determine the decimal amount to enter on 
line 7. Your federal adjusted gross income (AGI) is on Form 540A, line 12b; 
Form 540, line 13; or Long Form 540NR, line 13.

  If your Federal AGI is:		  The decimal amount
	 Over	 But not over 	 on Line 7 is:
	 $0	 $15,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       .35
	 15,000	 17,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       .34
	 17,000	 19,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       .33
	 19,000	 21,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       .32
	 21,000 	 23,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       .31
	 23,000 	 25,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       .30
	 25,000	 27,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       .29
	 27,000	 29,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       .28
	 29,000	 31,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       .27
	 31,000	 33,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       .26
	 33,000	 35,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      .25 
	 35,000	 37,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      .24 
	 37,000	 39,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      .23 
	 39,000	 41,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      .22 
	 41,000	 43,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      .21 
	 43,000	 No limit  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      .20

Line 9
Use the chart below to determine the decimal amount to enter on line 9.
If your federal AGI from Form 540A,	 The decimal amount to  
line 12b; Form 540, line 13;	 enter on Line 9 is: 
or 	 Long Form 540NR, line 13 is:

  $40,000 or less	  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                         .50
  Over $40,000 but not over $70,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           .43
  Over $70,000 but not over $100,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          .34
  Over $100,000	  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     Stop. You do not qualify for this credit.

Line 11
If you had qualified expenses for care that was provided in 2005 that you 
paid for in 2006, you may be able to increase your credit for 2006. Complete 
the worksheet on Side 2 of form FTB 3506. You will need a copy of your 
2005 California tax return to complete the worksheet.

Part IV
Line 13
Dependent care benefits are:
•	 Amounts an employer paid directly to you (or your spouse), or to your 

care provider for the care of your qualifying person(s), while you worked.
•	 A day-care facility provided by your employer.
•	 Generally deducted from your salary.
•	 Shown in box 10 of your 2006 Form(s) W-2.

Line 14
Enter the amount from federal Form 2441, line 13.

Line 15
If you had a flexible spending account, any amount included on line 13 that 
you did not receive because you did not incur the expense is considered 
forfeited. Do not include amounts you expect to receive at a future date.

Line 17
Enter the total of all qualified expenses incurred in 2006. It does not matter 
when the expenses were paid.
Note: A qualified expense does not include the amount you paid for 
education (school tuition) or the amount you received through a subsidy 
program.
Example: You received $2,000 cash under your employer’s dependent 
care plan for 2006. The $2,000 is shown in box 10 of your Form W-2. You 
incurred $900 of qualified expenses in 2006 for the care of your 3-year-old 
dependent child. Enter $900 on line 17, but report the entire $2,000 on 
line 13.
For all other lines, follow specific line instructions on the form. For additional 
information, get federal Form 2441 or federal Publication 503, Child and 
Dependent Care Expenses.

Worksheet
Line 12 and line 14
You need the 2005 form FTB 3506 instructions to complete the Credit for 
2005 Expenses Paid in 2006 Worksheet, on Side 2. Forms are available from 
our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov or by calling (800) 338-0505.

Line 12 
Enter the decimal amount from the chart in the line 7 instructions of the 
2005 form FTB 3506 that corresponds to your 2005 federal adjusted gross 
income. 

Line 14 
Enter the decimal amount from the chart in the line 9 instructions of the 
2005 form FTB 3506 that corresponds to your 2005 California adjusted 
gross income.



How To Get California Tax Information	
Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications
By Internet – You can download, view, and print California income tax 
forms and publications from our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov or you 
may have these forms and publications mailed to you. Many of our 
most frequently used forms may be filed electronically, printed out for 
submission, and saved for record keeping. 
By phone – To order 2004-2006 California tax forms and publications:
•	 Refer to the list on the next page and find the code number for the 

form you want to order.
•	 Call (800) 338-0505.
•	 Select “Personal Income Tax.”
•	 Select “Forms and Publications.”
•	 Enter the three-digit form code when you are instructed.
Allow two weeks to receive your order. If you live outside California, allow 
three weeks to receive your order.
In person – Many post offices and libraries provide free California 
tax booklets during the filing season. Most libraries have forms and 
schedules for you to photocopy (a nominal fee may apply).
Note: Employees at libraries and post offices cannot provide tax 
information or assistance.
By mail – Write to: TAX FORMS REQUEST UNIT, FRANCHISE TAX 
BOARD, PO BOX 307, RANCHO CORDOVA  CA  95741-0307.

Letters
If you write to us, be sure your letter includes your social security 
number or individual taxpayer identification number and your daytime 
and evening telephone numbers. Send your letter to:
	 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 

PO BOX 942840 
SACRAMENTO  CA  94240-0040

We will respond to your letter within 10 weeks. In some cases, we 
may call you to respond to your inquiry, or ask you for additional 
information. Do not attach correspondence to your tax return unless the 
correspondence relates to an item on the return.  

Your Rights As A Taxpayer
FTB’s goals include making certain that your rights are protected so that 
you have the highest confidence in the integrity, efficiency, and fairness 
of our state tax system. FTB Pub. 4058, California Taxpayers’ Bill of 
Rights, includes information on your rights as a California taxpayer, the 
Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate Program, and how you request written advice 
from the FTB on whether a particular transaction is taxable. See “Where 
To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications,” on this page.

Privacy Notice
Reasons for Information Requests:
We ask for return information so that we can administer the tax law fairly 
and correctly.

Rights and Responsibility:
You have the right to see our records that contain your personal 
information. To obtain information about your records, you may write to: 
The Franchise Tax Board, Disclosure Officer, MS A-181, P.O. Box 1468, 
Sacramento, CA 95812-1468, or call: (800) 852-5711 within the United 
States, or (916) 845-6500 outside of the United States. 

Your Responsibility:
California Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 18501 and 18621 
require you to file a return on the forms we prescribe if you meet certain 
requirements. It is mandatory that you furnish all requested information.  
You may be charged penalties and interest, and in certain cases, you may 
be criminally prosecuted if you do not provide the information we ask for, 
or you provide fraudulent information.

Information Disclosures:
As provided by law, we may give your tax information to other tax 
officials to determine your tax liability or collect tax amounts you owe. 
If you owe the Franchise Tax Board money we may also give your 
information to employers, financial institutions, county recorders, or 
others who hold assets belonging to you.
For full text of Franchise Tax Board’s Privacy Notice, get form FTB 1131.
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Need help with your return?

Go to http://www.ftb.ca.gov/individuals/vita/sites.asp for information about free help through the 
volunteer program, and how to find a site in your area.



 Automated Toll-Free Phone Service	 (Keep This Booklet For Future Use)
General Toll-Free Phone Service
Telephone assistance is available year-round from 
7 a.m. until 6 p.m. Monday through Friday, except 
holidays. 
From within the United States . . .   (800) 852-5711
From outside the United States 
  (not toll-free) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              (916) 845-6500
For federal tax questions, 
  call the IRS at . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              (800) 829-1040
Assistance for persons with disabilities
We comply with the Americans with Disabilities 
Act. Persons with a hearing or speech impairment 
please call: 
TTY/TDD  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   (800) 822-6268
Large-print forms and instructions – The 
Resident Booklet is available in large print 
upon request and is also available on audio 
CD. See ‘’Where To Get Income Tax Forms and 
Publications’’ on page 66.
Asistencia bilingüe en español
Asistencia telefónica esta disponible todo el año 
durante las 7 a.m. y las 6 p.m. lunes a viernes, 
excepto días festivos.
Dentro de los Estados Unidos, 
  llame al  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  (800) 852-5711
Fuera de los Estados Unidos,  
  llame al (cargos aplican)  . . . . .     (916) 845-6500
Para preguntas sobre impuestos 
  federales, llame el IRS al . . . . .     (800) 829-1040

Pagina Electrónica: www.ftb.ca.gov
Asistencia para personas discapacitadas: 
Nosotros estamos en conformidad con el 
Acta de Americanos Discapacitados. Personas 
con problemas auditivos o de habla, pueden 
llamar al (800) 822-6268 con un aparato de 
telecomunicación TTY/TTD. 
Use our automated toll-free phone service to get 
recorded answers to many of your questions 
about California Taxes and to order current year 
Personal Income Tax Forms and Publications. You 
can also: 
•	 Get current year tax refund information.
•	 Get balance due and payment information. 
Have paper and pencil ready to take notes.
Call from within the 
  United States . . . . . . . . . . . . . .               (800) 338-0505
Call from outside the 
  United States  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              (916) 845-6500

(not toll-free)

Order Forms and Publications
If your current address is on file, you can order 
California tax forms for the current and previous 
two years. See the instructions on the previous 
page. 

Code  California Tax Forms and Publications
900	 California Resident Income Tax Booklet: 

Form 540, Resident Income Tax Return 
Form 540A, Resident Income Tax Return

965	 Form 540 2EZ Tax Booklet
903	 Schedule CA (540), California Adjustments 

– Residents FTB 3885A, Depreciation and 
Amortization Adjustments Schedule D, 
California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment

969	 Large Print Resident Booklet
970	 Resident Booklet on Audio CD

907	 Form 540-ES, Estimated Tax for Individuals
908	 Form 540X, Amended Individual Income 

Tax Return
909	 Schedule D-1, Sales of Business Property
910	 Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum 

Distributions
911	 Schedule P (540), Alternative Minimum Tax 

and Credit Limitations – Residents
913	 Schedule S, Other State Tax Credit
914	 California Nonresident Income Tax Booklet: 

Long and Short Form 540NR, Nonresident 
or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return

917	 Schedule CA (540NR), California 
Adjustments – Nonresidents or Part‑Year 
Residents

918	 Schedule P (540NR), Alternative Minimum 
Tax and Credit Limitations – Nonresidents 
or Part-Year Residents

932	 FTB 3506, Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses Credit

937	 FTB 3516, Request for Copy of Personal 
Income Tax or Fiduciary Return

921	 FTB 3519, Automatic Extension for 
Individuals

972	 FTB 3520, Power of Attorney form and FTB 
Pub. 1144, Power of Attorney Frequently 
Asked Questions

922	 FTB 3525, Substitute for W-2 Wage and Tax 
Statement

923	 FTB 3526, Investment Interest Expense 
Deduction

940	 FTB 3540, Credit Carryover Summary
949	 FTB 3567, Installment Agreement Request
924	 FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Children 

with Investment Income
929	 FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations
925	 FTB 3805E, Installment Sale Income
928	 FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes from Qualified 

Retirement Plans
926	 FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss (NOL) 

– Individuals
927	 FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated Tax 

by Individuals and Fiduciaries
919	 FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to 

California Adjustments
920	 FTB Pub. 1005, Pension and Annuity 

Guidelines
945	 FTB Pub. 1006, California Tax Forms and 

Related Federal Forms
946	 FTB Pub. 1008, Federal Tax Adjustments 

and Your Notification Responsibilities
943	 FTB Pub. 4058, California Taxpayers’ Bill of 

Rights
941	 FTB Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Determining 

Resident Status
942	 FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military 

Personnel
951	 FTB Pub. 1051A, Guidelines for Married 

Filing Separate Returns
934	 FTB Pub. 1540, California Head of 

Household Filing Status

Current Year Refund Information
If you file by mail, wait at least 8 weeks after you 
file your tax return before you call to find out 
about your refund. You need your social security 
number, the numbers in your street address, box 
number, route number, or PMB number, and your 
ZIP Code to use this service.

Balance Due and Payment 
Information
Wait at least 45 days from the date you mailed 
your payment before you call to verify receipt. You 
need your social security number, the numbers in 
your street address, box number, route number, 
or PMB number, and your ZIP Code to use this 
service.

Answers To Tax Questions
Call our automated phone service, select 
“Personal Income Tax,” then “Frequently Asked 
Questions,” and enter the 3‑digit code.

Code  Filing Assistance:
100	 Do I need to file a return?
111	 Which form should I use?
112	 How do I file electronically and get a fast 

refund?
201	 How can I get an extension to file?
203	 What is the nonrefundable renter’s credit 

and how do I qualify?
204	 I never received a Form W-2. What do I do?
205	 I have no withholding taken out. What do I 

do?
206	 Do I have to attach a copy of my federal 

return?
209	 I lived in California for part of the year. Do I 

have to file a return?
210	 I did not live in California. Do I have to file a 

return?
215	 Who qualifies me to use the head of 

household filing status?
222	 How much can I deduct for vehicle license 

fees?

	 Penalties
403	 What is the estimate penalty rate?

	 Notices And Bills
503	 How do I file a protest against a Notice of 

Proposed Assessment?
506	 How can I get information about my 

Form 1099-G?

	 Tax For Children
601	 Can my child take a personal exemption 

credit when I claim her or him as a depen-
dent on my return?

	 Miscellaneous
611	 What address do I send my payment to?
619	 How do I report a change of address?

Recycled
Recyclable
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