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Instructions for Form 199
California Exempt Organization Annual Information Return
References in these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2005, and to the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

What’s New
Round Cents to Dollars
Beginning with the 2007 tax forms, round cents 
to the nearest whole dollar. For example, round 
$50.50 up to $51 or round $25.49 down to $25. If 
you do not round, Franchise Tax Board (FTB) will 
disregard the cents. This change helps process 
your returns quickly and accurately.
California Affirmation of Tax-Exempt Status
Recently enacted legislation, effective 1/1/2008, 
amended California Revenue and Taxation Code 
Section 23701d. This section allows organizations 
that have obtained a federal determination letter 
of tax-exempt status under Internal Revenue Code 
section 501(c)(3), to request California affirma-
tion of tax-exempt status. Get form FTB 3500 
booklet for more information.

General Instructions
In general, California law conforms to the 
Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 2005. 
However, there are continuing differences 
between California and federal law. When 
California conforms to federal tax law changes, 
we do not always adopt all of the changes made 
at the federal level. For more information, go to 
our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov and search for 
conformity. Additional information can be found 
in FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines 
to California Adjustments, the instructions for 
California Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), and the 
Business Entity tax booklets.
The instructions provided with California tax 
forms are a summary of California tax law and are 
only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing their 
state income tax returns. We include information 
that is most useful to the greatest number of 
taxpayers in the limited space available. It is 
not possible to include all requirements of the 
California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) in 
the tax booklets. Taxpayers should not consider 
the tax booklets as authoritative law.
Organizations that do not hold a current R&TC 
Section 23701 tax-exempt status should not file 
Form 199, unless the organization is a nonexempt 
charitable trust described under General 
Instruction B, Who Must File.
Exempt organizations are not required to attach a 
copy of federal Form 990, Return of Organization 
Exempt from Income Tax. However, federal 
Form 990 may be attached to Form 199 in lieu of 
completing Part II of Form 199 unless otherwise 
provided in these instructions.
Private Mail Box
Include the Private Mail Box (PMB) in the address 
field. Write the acronym “PMB” first, then the box 
number. Example: 111 Main Street PMB 123.

A	 Purpose
Form 199 is used by both of the following 
organizations:  
•	 Organizations that have been granted an 

exemption by the FTB.
•	 Organizations that received a federal 

exemption under IRC Section 501(c)(3) 
and are affirmed by FTB that operate under 

R&TC Section 23701, to provide FTB with the 
required annual information.

B	 Who Must File
Answer the following questions to determine if 
the organization should file Form 199.
1.	 Did the organization receive a letter from 

the FTB granting tax-exempt status to the 
organization, or did the organization receive 
a federal exemption under IRC 501(c)(3) and 
receive a state affirmation?      Yes    No

2.	 Is the organization a nonexempt charitable 
trust as described in IRC Section 4947(a)(1)? 
  Yes    No

If the answer to both of these questions is “No,” 
STOP HERE, DO NOT FILE THIS FORM.
If the answer to one of the questions is “Yes,’’ 
then the organization may be required to file a 
Form 199 depending upon if both of the following:
•	 The type of exempt organization. See below 

and General Instruction C, Exceptions.
•	 The amount of the organization’s normal 

gross receipts. See General Instruction E, 
Gross Receipts.

Except for those organizations excluded from 
filing under General Instruction C, an annual 
return using Form 199 is required from every 
organization exempt from tax under R&TC 
Section 23701. These organizations include:
Noncharitable Trusts
Prior to the noncharitable interest expiring the 
Charitable Remainder Trust (CRT) would not file 
a form 199 and would instead file forms 541-A 
Trust Accumulation of Charitable Amounts or 
541-B Charitable Remainder and Pooled Income 
Trusts depending on the type of CRT.
•	 Private foundations must file a completed 

Form 199 and pay the applicable filing 
fee. However, they may furnish one of the 
following substitute information for Part II:
1.	 A complete copy of federal Form 990-PF, 

with appropriate schedules.
2.	 A complete copy of the current report 

filed with the Registry of Charitable Trusts 
(including federal Form 990).

A charitable trust is a trust which:
•	 Is not exempt from taxation under R&TC 

Section 23701d.
•	 Has all the unexpired interests devoted 

to charitable purposes described in IRC 
Section 170(c). 

•	 Had a charitable contribution deduction 
allowed for all the unexpired interests under 
the R&TC.

A split-interest trust is a trust which:
• 	 Is not exempt from taxation under R&TC 

Section 23701d. 
•	 Has some of the unexpired interests devoted 

to one or more charitable purposes as 
described in IRC Section 170(c).

•	 Has amounts in trust for which a charitable 
contributions deduction was allowed under 
the R&TC. Pooled income funds, IRC 
Section 642(c)(5); charitable remainder 
annuity trusts, IRC Section 664(d)(1); and 

remainder unitrusts, IRC Section 664(d)(2); 
are considered split-interest trusts for which 
the trustee must file Form 541-A for the 
taxable year.

Simple trusts which received a letter from the 
Franchise Tax Board granting exemption from 
tax under R&TC Section 23701d are considered 
to be corporations for tax purposes. The trust 
may be required to file Form 199, California 
Exempt Organization Annual Information Return. 
Nonexempt charitable trusts, described in IRC 
Section 4947(a)(1), must file Form 199.
•	 Religious or apostolic organizations 

described in R&TC Section 23701k must 
attach a completed Form 565, Partnership 
Return of Income, to Form 199.

C	 Exceptions
Except for a private foundation, organizations with 
gross receipts that are normally less than $25,000 
are not required to file Form 199. See General 
Instruction E, Gross Receipts.
Use this table to decide if the organization must 
file Form 199.

Normally less than $25,000 means:

IF IN EXISTENCE 
FOR –

GROSS RECEIPTS/ 
PLEDGES EQUAL

1 year or less $37,500 or less

More than 1 year 
but less than 
3 years

$30,000 or less (average for 
current year and immediately 
preceding 2 prior years)

3 years or more
$25,000 or less (average for 
current year and immediately 
preceding 2 prior years)

Other organizations not required to file Form 199, 
regardless of the amount of gross receipts, 
include any of the following:
•	 Churches, interchurch organizations of local 

association units of a church, conventions 
or associations of churches, or integrated 
auxiliaries of churches.

•	 Religious orders.
•	 Organizations formed to carry out a function 

of a state, or a public body that is carrying out 
that function and is controlled by the state, or 
a public body.

•	 Political organizations exempt under R&TC 
Section 23701r.

•	 Qualified state tuition programs exempt under 
R&TC Section 23711.

•	 Coverdell ESA exempt under R&TC 
Section 23712.

•	 Stock bonus, pension, or profit sharing trusts 
exempt under R&TC Section 17631.

D	 Homeowners’ Associations
Homeowners’ associations exempt under R&TC 
Section 23701t include condominium man-
agement associations, residential real-estate 
management associations, cooperative housing 
corporations, and effective January 1, 1998, 
timeshare associations.
Gross receipts for a homeowners’ association are 
defined as gross receipts from all sources before 
deductions.
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The taxable income for a homeowners’ association 
is defined as all income received during the 
taxable year other than amounts received from 
membership fees, dues, or assessments.
Homeowners’ associations may also be required 
to file Form 100, California Corporation Franchise 
or Income Tax Return, if the homeowners’ 
association’s gross nonexempt function income 
exceeds $100.
For more complete details regarding filing 
requirements, get FTB Pub. 1028, Guidelines for 
Homeowners’ Associations.

E	 Gross Receipts
Gross receipts are the total amounts received by 
the organization during the annual accounting 
period from all sources without subtracting costs 
or expenses. Gross receipts include, but are not 
limited to.
•	 The gross amount received as contributions, 

gifts, grants, and similar amounts before 
deducting the expenses of raising and 
collecting such amounts.

•	 The gross amount received as dues and 
assessments from members or affiliated 
organizations before deducting the expenses 
attributable to the receipt of such amounts.

•	 Gross sales or receipts from business 
activities, including business activities 
unrelated to the purpose of the organization.

•	 The gross amount received from the sale of 
assets before deducting the cost or other 
basis of the property and expense of sale.

•	 The gross amount received as investment 
income such as interest, dividends, rents, and 
royalties.

F	 Payment of Filing Fee
Organizations required to file Form 199 must pay 
a $10 filing fee. If the $10 fee is not paid by the 
due date (including extensions), an additional $15 
is assessed for a total fee of $25. (If the return is 
filed on or before the original due date, there is no 
extension of time in which the fee may be paid.) 
Exception. The filing fee does not apply to the 
following organizations exempt under R&TC 
Section 23701d:
•	 Exclusively religious organizations.
•	 An exclusively educational organization if 

the organization normally maintains a regular 
faculty and curriculum and normally has 
a regularly organized body of students in 
attendance at the place where its educational 
activities are regularly carried on.

•	 An exclusively charitable organization, or 
an organization for the prevention of cruelty 
to children or animals, if the organization 
is supported, in whole or in part, by funds 
contributed by the United States or any state 
or political subdivision thereof, or is primarily 
supported by contributions of the general 
public.

•	 An organization operated, supervised, 
or controlled by or in connection with an 
exclusively religious organization.

Organizations required to file Form 199 but not 
required to pay the filing fee must check the box 
to Question C on Form 199, Side 1.

G	 Miscellaneous Forms to 
File

1.	 Form 109, California Exempt Organization 
Business Income Tax Return, must be filed by:
•	 Exempt organizations, when gross 

income derived from unrelated business is 
$1,000 or more. (Form 109 must be filed 
whether or not Form 199 is filed.)

	 Exception. Political organizations 
(exempt under R&TC Section 23701r), 
homeowners’ associations (exempt 
under R&TC Section 23701t), and 
organizations controlled by the state or 
other governmental municipalities are not 
required to file Form 109.

•	 Stock bonus, pension, or profit sharing 
trusts exempt under R&TC Section 17631 
with unrelated business income of $1,000 
or more.

2.	 Form 100, Corporation Franchise or Income 
Tax Return, must be filed by:
•	 Political organizations (exempt under 

R&TC Section 23701r) with taxable 
income in excess of $100. There is no 
requirement to file Form 199.

•	 Homeowners’ associations (exempt under 
R&TC Section 23701t) with homeowners’ 
association nonexempt gross income in 
excess of $100. Form 100 must be filed 
whether or not Form 199 is required 
to be filed. See General Instruction D, 
Homeowners’ Associations.

•	 Some mutual and cooperative 
organizations that are exempt under federal 
law but not exempt under California law.

3.	 Form 565, Partnership Return of Income, 
must be completed by all religious or 
apostolic organizations described in R&TC 
Section 23701k, and attached to Form 199.

4.	 The organization must file federal Form 1099 
series information returns with the FTB as well 
as the IRS to report certain payments made 
or received by your organization. Reportable 
payments include, but are not limited to:
•	 All amounts paid to an attorney whether 

or not the services are performed for the 
payer, and all amounts paid by a broker or 
barter exchange.

•	 Payments exceeding $10 annually for 
interest (earned) and dividends.

•	 Payments exceeding $600 annually for 
compensation for services that are not 
subject to withholding, commissions, 
fees, prizes and awards, payments to 
independent contractors, rents, royalties, 
legal services (whether or not the payee 
is incorporated), interest (such as interest 
charged for late payment), and pensions.

•	 Cash payments over $10,000 received in a 
trade or business.

For more information, see the IRS General 
Instructions for Forms 1099, 1098, 5498, and 
W2-G; federal Publication 1220, Specifications 
for Filing Forms 1098, 1099, 5498, and W‑2G 
Electronically or Magnetically; form FTB 4227A, 
Guide to Information Returns Filed With California; 
and form FTB 8305, Reporting Requirements for 
Forms 1098, 1099, 5498, W‑2G.

5.	 A Statement of Information must be filed 
with the California Secretary of State (SOS) 
by all corporations and exempt organizations 
incorporated or qualified in California.

	 R&TC Section 19141 requires the FTB to 
assess a penalty for failure to file a Statement 
of Information. The FTB has no authority to 
waive this penalty except as directed by the 
California SOS.

	 For more information regarding the Statement 
of Information, contact:
	 STATEMENT OF INFORMATION UNIT 

ATTENTION: PENALTY 
CALIFORNIA SECRETARY OF STATE 
PO BOX 944230 
SACRAMENTO  CA  94244-2300 
TELEPHONE: (916) 653-1742

	 Or, go to the California Secretary of State’s 
Website at www.sos.ca.gov.

6.	 The Attorney General’s Form RRF-1, 
Registration/Renewal Fee Report, must be 
filed if the organization is organized for public 
benefit purposes. R&TC Section 23703 
requires the FTB to disallow exemption and 
assess the minimum tax for any year(s) 
in which the organization fails to properly 
file this form. The FTB has no authority to 
reinstate exemption or cancel the tax except 
as directed by the California Registry of 
Charitable Trusts.

For more information, contact the California 
Attorney General’s Office:
	 REGISTRY OF CHARITABLE TRUSTS 

PO BOX 903447 
SACRAMENTO  CA  94203-4470 
TELEPHONE: (916) 445-2021 
FAX: (916) 444-3651

Or, access the California Attorney General’s 
Website at www.ag.ca.gov.

H	 Entity Information
To allow the FTB to properly process this form, 
you must enter a California corporation number 
or federal employer identification number (FEIN) 
in the boxes provided. 

I	 Signature
Corporations and Associations — The return 
must be signed by a corporate officer such as 
the president, vice president, treasurer, assistant 
treasurer, chief accounting officer, or trustee. In 
the case of homeowners’ association, a person 
who has similar authority and who is authorized 
to sign must sign the return.
Trusts — The return must be signed by the 
individual fiduciary or by the authorized officer of 
the trust receiving or having custody or control 
and management of the income of the trust. If two 
or more individuals act jointly as fiduciaries, the 
return may be signed by any one of them.
A receiver, trustee, or assignee must sign 
any return that must be filed on behalf of the 
organization.

J	 When and Where to File
File Form 199 by the 15th day of the 5th month 
after the accounting period ends.
Make all checks or money orders payable in 
U.S. dollars and drawn against a U.S. financial 
institution.
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If payment is included with the completed form, 
mail it to:
	 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 

PO BOX 942857 
SACRAMENTO  CA  94257-0701

Include the California corporation number and 
“2007 Form 199” on the check or money order.
If payment is not required with the completed 
form, mail it to:
	 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 

PO BOX 942857 
SACRAMENTO CA  94257-0700

If the organization is sending more than one 
return, use separate envelopes and separate 
checks or money orders to make sure the returns 
and payments are processed correctly.

K	 Extension of Time to File
If Form 199 cannot be filed by the 15th day of 
the 5th month after the accounting period ends, 
the exempt organization has an additional seven 
months to file without filing a written request for 
extension. However, an organization that is not in 
good standing or suspended on the original due 
date of the return will not be given an extension of 
time to file.
If the return is not filed and/or the filing fee is 
not paid by the extended due date, penalties, 
additional fees, and interest may be imposed as 
explained in General Instruction L, Penalties. 

L	 Penalties
Failure to File a Timely Return — An organization 
that fails to file the return on or before the original 
due date, or extended due date, is assessed a 
penalty of $5 for each month, or part of the month, 
the return is late. If the return is not filed by the 
extended due date, the automatic extension will not 
apply. The penalty may not exceed $40.
Organizations exempt from the $10 filing fee 
are not exempt from this penalty. See General 
Instruction F, Payment of Filing Fee.
Late Payment of Fee — An organization that fails 
to pay the $10 filing fee by the original due date, 
or extended due date, is assessed an additional 
filing fee of $15.
Failure to Furnish Information — In the case of 
a private foundation, the FTB may make a written 
demand that a delinquent return or foundation 
report be filed within a reasonable amount of 
time after mailing a demand notice. The person 
who fails to file after such demand is subject 
to a penalty of $5 for each month, or part of 
the month, (not to exceed $25) after the period 
expires. The penalty is in addition to the late filing 
penalty described above.
Waiver — The law provides the FTB with the 
authority to waive the above penalties and late 
payment fee if it is shown that the failure was due 
to reasonable cause and not due to willful neglect.
Suspension/Revocation — The corporate rights, 
powers, and privileges may be suspended, or the 
exemption from tax may be revoked, for failure 
to file a return or pay the filing fee, penalties, or 
interest.

M	 California Use Tax 
The use tax has been in effect in California 
since July 1, 1935. It applies to purchases from 

out‑of‑state or Internet sellers and is similar 
to the sales tax paid on purchases made in 
California.
In general, exempt organizations must pay 
California use tax on purchases made from out 
of state (for example, by telephone, over the 
Internet, by mail, or in person) if:
•	 The seller does not collect California sales or 

use tax.
•	 The organization uses, gives away, stores, or 

consumes the item in this state.
Example: The exempt organization purchases 
a conference table from a company in North 
Carolina. The company ships the table from North 
Carolina to the organization’s office in California 
for its use and does not charge California sales 
or use tax. The organization owes use tax on the 
purchase.
Complete the Use Tax Worksheet on page 4 to 
calculate the amount due.
Extensions to file. If the exempt organization 
requests an extension to file its annual 
information return, wait until the exempt 
organization files its annual information return 
to report the purchases subject to use tax and to 
make the use tax payment.
Penalty: To avoid late payment penalties for use 
tax, the organization must report and pay the use 
tax with a timely filed annual information return.
Changes in use tax reported. Do not file an 
amended return to revise use tax previously 
reported. If the exempt organization has changes 
to the amount of use tax previously reported on 
the original return, contact the State Board of 
Equalization.
For assistance with your use tax questions, go to 
the State Board of Equalization’s Website at  
www.boe.ca.gov, or call their Information Center 
at (800) 400-7115 or TTY/TDD (800) 735-2929. 
Income tax information is not available at this 
number.

N	 Group Return
A central or parent organization may file a group 
return for organizations that:
•	 Are tax-exempt under a group exemption 

letter that is still in effect.
•	 Are affiliated with the central organization at 

the time its annual accounting period ends.
•	 Are subject to the central organization’s 

general supervision or control.
•	 Have the same accounting period as the 

central organization.
The first group return filed should include a list 
of names, current addresses, and California 
corporate or association numbers (if assigned) or 
FEINs of all of the subordinates. Thereafter, only 
a listing of the subordinates deleted or added, or 
a statement that there was no change from the 
previous year needs to be attached to the return.
All subordinates must have exempt status before 
being included in a group return. A separate 
form FTB 3500, Exemption Application or form 
FTB 3500A, Affirmation of Internal Revenue Code 
Section 501(c)(3) can be filed to request exempt 
status for all unincorporated subordinates. 
Qualified or incorporated subordinates must file 
form FTB 3500, Exemption Application and be 
granted exempt status before it can be included in 
group return.

O	 Questions About Filing
If the organization has questions about filing, 
write to:

	 EXEMPT ORGANIZATIONS UNIT  MS F120 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 1286 
RANCHO CORDOVA  CA  95741-1286

Organizations may also call (916) 845-4171 or 
refer to the last page of these instructions for 
telephone assistance and the FTB internet address.
Include the organization’s identifying number and 
telephone number on all correspondence.

Specific Line Instructions
Line 1 – Gross Sales or Receipts from Other 
Sources
Enter the amount from Side 2, Part II, line 8.
See General Instruction E, Gross Receipts for 
the definition of gross receipts. Homeowners’ 
associations see General Instruction D, 
Homeowners’ Associations.
Do not include amounts for gross dues and 
assessments from members and affiliates or 
amounts from gross contributions, gifts, grants, 
and similar amounts received. These amounts are 
reported on Part I, line 2 and line 3.
Line 3 – Gross Contributions, Gifts, Grants, 
and Similar Amounts Received
Attach an itemized schedule if money, securities, 
or other property aggregating $5,000 or more is 
received directly or indirectly from one person 
in one or more transactions during the year. The 
schedule must show the name, address, date 
received, and the total amount received from each 
person.
In determining whether a person has contributed 
$5,000 or more, organizations must aggregate 
gifts of $1,000 or more from that person. 
Separate and independent gifts need not 
be aggregated if less than $1,000. Also, if a 
contribution is in the form of property (other 
than securities), the organization must furnish 
a description of the property. If the property 
consists of securities for which market quotations 
are readily available, the description and fair 
market value of the securities must be submitted.
Person means individuals, fiduciaries, 
partnerships, corporations, associations, trusts, 
and exempt organizations.
Organizations that are not private foundations must 
report the name and address of the contributor 
who gave more than $5,000 in money, securities, 
or other property during the year only if it has 
actual knowledge of the contributor. For example, 
an organization need not require an employer who 
withholds contributions from the compensation 
of employees and pays over to the organization 
periodically the total amounts withheld, to specify 
the amounts paid over with respect to a particular 
employee. In such case, unless the organization 
has actual knowledge that a particular employee 
gave more than $5,000, the organization must 
report only the name and address of the employer 
and the total amount paid over by the employer.
Organizations described in R&TC 
Sections 23701b, 23701g, and 23701l that receive 
contributions or gifts to be used exclusively for 
the purposes described in IRC Section 170 must 
attach a statement with respect to all gifts which 
aggregate $1,000 from any one person showing:
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•	 The name of the donor.
•	 The amount of the contribution.
•	 The specific purpose of the contribution.
•	 The specific use of the contribution.
If the contribution or gift is transferred to another 
organization, the statement must include:
•	 The name of the transferee organization.
•	 A description of the nature of the transferee 

organization.
•	 A description of the relationship between 

the transferee and transferor organizations. 
Such organizations must also attach a 
statement showing the total dollar amount of 
contributions and gifts received.

Line 4 – Total Gross Receipts
Add line 1 through line 3.
Line 13 – Use Tax
As explained under General Information M, 
California use tax applies to purchases from out-
of-state sellers (for example, purchases made by 
telephone, over the Internet, by mail, or in person).
The exempt organization may report use tax on its 
Exempt Organization Annual Information Return 
instead of filing a use tax return with the State 
Board of Equalization. To report use tax on the 
exempt organization’s annual information return, 
complete the Use Tax Worksheet on page 4. For 
questions on whether a purchase is taxable, go to 
the State Board of Equalization’s Website at  
www.boe.ca.gov, or call their Information Center 
at (800) 400-7115 or TTY/TDD (800) 735-2929.
If the exempt organization owes use tax but 
the exempt organization does not report it 
on its annual information return, the exempt 
organization must report and pay the tax to the 
State Board of Equalization. To do so, download a 
copy of Publication 79-B, California Use Tax, from 
www.boe.ca.gov or request a copy by calling 
State Board of Equalization’s Information Center.
Use Tax Penalty. Failure to timely report and pay 
the use tax due may result in the assessment of 
penalties.
Note: Businesses that have a California seller’s 
permit must continue to report business 
purchases subject to use tax on their sales and 
use tax returns.

Use Tax Worksheet
  Round all amounts to the nearest whole dollar.
  1.	Enter purchases from out-of-state  

or Internet sellers made  
without payment of California 
sales/use tax. See worksheet  
instructions below . . . . . . . . .         $ ________.00

  2.	Enter the decimal equivalent 
of the applicable sales and 
use tax rate. See worksheet 
instructions below . . . . . . . . . . . .              ________

  3.	Multiply line 1 by the tax rate 
on line 2. Enter result here  . .  $ ________.00

  4.	Enter any sales or use tax  
paid to another state for 
purchases included on 
line 1. See worksheet 
instructions below  . . . . . . . . .         $ ________.00

  5.	Total Use Tax. Subtract line 4 
from line 3. Enter the amount 
here and on Form 199, line 13. 
If the amount is less than 
zero, enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . .            $ ________.00

Worksheet, Line 1, Purchases Subject to Use 
Tax
•	 Report items that would have been taxable in 

a California store, such as office equipment 
and supplies.

•	 Include handling charges.
•	 Do not include any other state’s sales or use 

tax paid on the purchases.
•	 Enter only purchases made during the year 

that corresponds with the tax return you are 
filing.

Note: Report and pay any use tax the organization 
owes on the following purchases to the State 
Board of Equalization, not on the organization’s 
annual information return.
•	 Vehicles, vessels, and trailers that must be 

registered with the Department of Motor 
Vehicles.

•	 Mobile homes or commercial coaches that 
must be registered annually as required by the 
Health and Safety Code.

•	 Vessels documented with the U.S. Coast 
Guard.

•	 Aircraft.
•	 Leases of machinery, equipment, vehicles, and 

other tangible personal property.
Worksheet, Line 2, Sales and Use Tax Rate
•	 Enter the decimal equivalent of the sales 

and use tax rate applicable to the place in 
California where the property is used, stored, 
or otherwise consumed. For example, the 
decimal equivalent of 7.25% is 0.0725, and 
the decimal equivalent of 7.375% is 0.07375.

•	 If the organization does not know the applicable 
rate, see the table, “Sales and Use Tax Rates 
by County.” If the organization has questions 
regarding the use tax rate in effect in your area, 
go to the State Board of Equalization’s Website 
at www.boe.ca.gov or call their Information 
Center at (800) 400‑7115 or TTY/TDD 
(800) 735-2929.

Worksheet, Line 4, Credit for Tax Paid to 
Another State
•	 This is a credit for tax paid to other states. The 

organization cannot claim a credit greater than 
the amount of tax that would have been due if 
the purchase had been made in California. For 
example, if the organization paid $8.00 sales 
tax to another state for a purchase, and would 
have paid $6.00 in California, it can claim a 
credit of only $6.00 for that purchase.

Sales and Use Tax Rates by County
(includes state, local, and district taxes)

As of December 31, 2007
County	 Rate	 County	 Rate
Alameda . . . . . .      8.75%	 Orange1 . . . . . . . 7.75%
Alpine . . . . . . . .       7.25%	 Placer . . . . . . . . .         7.25%
Amador  . . . . . .      7.25%	 Plumas . . . . . . . .        7.25%
Butte  . . . . . . . .        7.25%	 Riverside  . . . . . .      7.75%
Calaveras . . . . .     7.25%	 Sacramento  . . . .    7.75%
Colusa1 . . . . . . .      7.25%	 San Benito1 . . . . .    7.25%
Contra Costa1 . .  8.25%	 San Bernardino1 . 7.75%
Del Norte . . . . .     7.25%	 San Diego1 . . . . .     7.75%
El Dorado1  . . . .    7.25%	 San Francisco . . .   8.50%
Fresno1 . . . . . .     7.975%	 San Joaquin1  . . .   7.75%
Glenn . . . . . . . .        7.25%	 San Luis Obispo1 . 7.25%
Humboldt1 . . . .    7.25%	 San Mateo  . . . . .     8.25%
Imperial . . . . . .      7.75%	 Santa Barbara . . .   7.75%
Inyo . . . . . . . . .         7.75%	 Santa Clara . . . . .     8.25%
Kern . . . . . . . . .         7.25%	 Santa Cruz1 . . . . .    8.00%

Kings . . . . . . . .        7.25%	 Shasta  . . . . . . .       7.25%
Lake1  . . . . . . . .        7.25%	 Sierra . . . . . . . .        7.25%
Lassen . . . . . . .       7.25%	 Siskiyou . . . . . .      7.25%
Los Angeles1  . .  8.25%	 Solano  . . . . . .      7.375%
Madera2 . . . . . .      7.75%	 Sonoma1 . . . . . .     7.75%
Marin1  . . . . . . .       7.75%	 Stanislaus . . . .    7.375%
Mariposa . . . . .     7.75%	 Sutter . . . . . . . .        7.25%
Mendocino1 . . .   7.25%	 Tehama . . . . . . .       7.25%
Merced1 . . . . . .      7.25%	 Trinity . . . . . . . .        7.25%
Modoc . . . . . . .       7.25%	 Tulare1, 3  . . . . . .      7.75%
Mono . . . . . . . .        7.25%	 Tuolumne1  . . . .    7.25%
Monterey1  . . . .    7.25%	 Ventura . . . . . . .       7.25%
Napa . . . . . . . . .        7.75%	 Yolo1 . . . . . . . . .         7.25%
Nevada1 . . . . .     7.375%	 Yuba . . . . . . . . .         7.25%
1.	 Many cities in California impose a district tax 

which results in a higher sales and use tax rate 
than in other parts of the county.  If you are 
reporting an item that was purchased for use in 
one of these counties, please check the following 
city list to see if a higher rate applies to your city.  
The tax rates shown apply within the city limits of 
the listed community.

2.	 The tax rate in Madera County prior to April 1, 
2007 was 7.25%.

3.	 The tax rate in Tulare County prior to April 1, 
2007 was 7.25%.

County	 City 	 Citywide Rate
Colusa . . . . . . . . .         Williams
	 (effective 4/1/07)1 . . . . .     7.75%
Contra Costa  . . . .    Pinole (effective 4/1/07)2	8.75%
Contra Costa  . . . .    Richmond . . . . . . . . . . .           8.75%
El Dorado  . . . . . .      Placerville . . . . . . . . . . .           7.50%
El Dorado . . . . . . .       South Lake Tahoe . . . . .     7.75%
Fresno  . . . . . . . . .         Clovis . . . . . . . . . . . . .             8.275%
Humboldt  . . . . . .      Trinidad  . . . . . . . . . . . .            8.25%
Lake  . . . . . . . . . .          Clearlake . . . . . . . . . . . .            7.75%
Lake . . . . . . . . . . .           Lakeport . . . . . . . . . . . .            7.75%
Los Angeles  . . . .    Avalon . . . . . . . . . . . . . .             8.75%
Los Angeles . . . . .     Inglewood
	 (effective 4/1/07)3 . . . . .     8.75%
Marin . . . . . . . . . .          San Rafael . . . . . . . . . . .          8.25%
Mendocino . . . . . .      Fort Bragg  . . . . . . . . . .          7.75%
Mendocino  . . . . .     Point Arena . . . . . . . . . .          7.75%
Mendocino . . . . . .      Ukiah  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              7.75%
Mendocino  . . . . .     Willits . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              7.75%
Merced . . . . . . . . .        Los Banos . . . . . . . . . . .          7.75%
Merced . . . . . . . . .        Merced . . . . . . . . . . . . .             7.75%
Monterey . . . . . . .       Del Rey Oaks
	 (effective 4/1/07)4 . . . . .     8.25%
Monterey . . . . . . .       Salinas  . . . . . . . . . . . . .             7.75%
Monterey . . . . . . .       Sand City  . . . . . . . . . . .           7.75%
Nevada . . . . . . . . .         Nevada City
	 (effective 4/1/07)5 . . . .    7.875%
Nevada  . . . . . . . .        Truckee . . . . . . . . . . . .            7.875%
Orange . . . . . . . . .         Laguna Beach . . . . . . . .        8.25%
San Benito . . . . . .      San Juan Bautista  . . . .    8.00%
San Bernardino  . .  Montclair  . . . . . . . . . . .           8.00%
San Bernardino  . .  San Bernardino
	 (effective 4/1/07)6 . . . . .     8.00%
San Diego  . . . . . .      El Cajon . . . . . . . . . . . . .            8.25%
San Diego  . . . . . .      National City . . . . . . . . .         8.75%
San Diego  . . . . . .      Vista (effective 4/1/07)7	 8.25%
San Joaquin . . . . .     Manteca
	 (effective 4/1/07)8 . . . . .     8.25%
San Joaquin . . . . .     Stockton . . . . . . . . . . . .            8.00%
San Luis Obispo . . Arroyo Grande
	 (effective 4/1/07)9 . . . . .     7.75%
San Luis Obispo . . Grover Beach
	 (effective 4/1/07)10  . . . .    7.75%
San Luis Obispo . . Morro Bay
	 (effective 4/1/07)11  . . . .    7.75%
San Luis Obispo . . San Luis Obispo
	 (effective 4/1/07)12  . . . .    7.75%
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Santa Cruz . . . . . .      Capitola . . . . . . . . . . . . .            8.25%
Santa Cruz  . . . . . .     Santa Cruz
 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (effective 4/1/07)13  . . . .    8.50%
Santa Cruz . . . . . .      Scotts Valley . . . . . . . . .         8.50%
Santa Cruz . . . . . .      Watsonville
	 (effective 4/1/07)14  . . . .    8.25%
Sonoma  . . . . . . .       Sebastopol . . . . . . . . . .          8.00%
Sonoma . . . . . . . .        Santa Rosa . . . . . . . . . .          8.00%
Tulare . . . . . . . . . .          Dinuba
 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (effective 04/01/07)15  . .  8.50%
Tulare . . . . . . . . . .          Farmersville
	 (effective 04/01/07)16  . .  8.25%
Tulare . . . . . . . . . .          Porterville
	 (effective 04/01/07)17  . .  8.25%
Tulare . . . . . . . . . .          Tulare
 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (effective 04/01/07)18  . .  8.25%
Tulare  . . . . . . . . .         Visalia
	 (effective 04/01/07)19  . .  8.00%
Tuolumne . . . . . . .       Sonora  . . . . . . . . . . . . .             7.75%
Yolo  . . . . . . . . . . .          Davis . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              7.75%
Yolo  . . . . . . . . . . .          West Sacramento  . . . . .    7.75%
Yolo  . . . . . . . . . . .          Woodland . . . . . . . . . . .           7.75%

  1.	 The tax rate in Williams prior to April 1, 2007 
was 7.25%.

  2.	 The tax rate in Pinole prior to April 1, 2007 
was 8.25%.

  3.	 The tax rate in Inglewood prior to April 1, 2007 
was 8.25%.

  4.	 The tax rate in Del Rey Oaks prior to  
April 1, 2007 was 7.25%.

  5.	 The tax rate in Nevada City prior to April 1, 2007 
was 7.375%.

  6.	 The tax rate in San Bernardino prior to  
April 1, 2007 was 7.75%.

  7.	 The tax rate in Vista prior to April 1, 2007 
was 7.75%.

  8.	 The tax rate in Manteca prior to April 1, 2007 
was 7.75%.

  9.	 The tax rate in Arroyo Grande prior to  
April 1, 2007 was 7.25%.

10.	 The tax rate in Grover Beach prior to  
April 1, 2007 was 7.25%.

11.	 The tax rate in Morro Bay prior to April 1, 2007 
was 7.25%.

12.	 The tax rate in San Luis Obispo prior to  
April 1, 2007 was 7.25%.

13.	 The tax rate in Santa Cruz prior to April 1, 2007 
was 8.25%.

14.	 The tax rate in Watsonville prior to April 1, 2007 
was 8.00%.

15.	 The tax rate in Dinuba prior to April 1, 2007 
was 8.00%.

16.	 The tax rate in Farmersville prior to April 1, 2007 
was 7.75%.

17.	 The tax rate in Porterville prior to April 1, 2007 
was 7.75%.

18.	 The tax rate in Tulare prior to April 1, 2007 
was 7.75%.

19.	 The tax rate in Visalia prior to April 1, 2007 
was 7.50%

Line 15 – Influencing Legislation
An organization that is exempt under R&TC 
Section 23701d, or an organization that received 
a federal exemption under IRC 501(c)(3) and 
received a state affirmation, is prohibited from 
supporting or opposing candidates for public office. 
However, a R&TC Section 23701d organization 
may elect to make limited expenditures to influence 
legislation within the limitations set by R&TC 
Section 23704.5. Organizations making this 
election must complete form FTB 3509, Political 
or Legislative Activities by R&TC Section 23701d 
Organizations, and attach it to Form 199.

Side 2, Part II
Exempt organizations must either:
•	 Complete Part II of Form 199.
•	 Attach a completed copy of the California 

Attorney General’s Form RRF-1, Registration/
Renewal Fee Report (including federal 
Form 990).

•	 Attach a completed copy of federal 
Form 990‑PF for private foundations, 
including all appropriate schedules.

Labor organizations exempt under R&TC 
Section 23701a, attach a copy of the Department 
of Labor Form LM-2 or LM-3, Labor Organization 
Annual Report, as appropriate, in lieu of 
completing Part II.
Line 1 – Gross Sales or Receipts from All 
Business Activities
See General Instruction E for the definition of 
gross receipts. Homeowners’ associations see 
General Instruction D.
Do not include amounts for gross dues and 
assessments from members and affiliates or 
amounts from gross contributions, gifts, grants, 
and similar amounts received. Report these 
amounts on Side 1, Part I, line 2 and line 3, 
respectively.
Line 6 – Gross Amount Received from Sale 
of Assets
Attach a schedule showing for each asset 
(whether or not depreciable) sold or exchanged:
•	 The date acquired, manner of acquisition, date 

sold, and to whom sold.
•	 The gross sales price.
•	 The cost or other basis, or value at time of 

acquisition if received by donation (state how 
received).

•	 The expense of sale and cost of improvements 
subsequent to acquisition.

•	 If depreciable property, depreciation since 
acquisition.

Enter the gross sales price on Side 2, Part II, 
line 6 and total and enter the cost or other basis, 
expenses, etc. (less depreciation if applicable), on 
Side 1, Part I, line 6.
Line 8 – Total Gross Sales or Receipts from 
Other Sources
Add line 1 through line 7. Enter on line 8 and on 
Side 1, Part I, line 1.
Line 9 – Contributions, Gifts, Grants, and 
Similar Amounts Paid
Private foundations, regardless of gross receipts, 
and other organizations required to file Form 199, 
must attach a schedule to support contributions, 
gifts, grants, scholarships, etc., showing all of the 
following:
•	 Each class of activity.
•	 Separate totals for each activity.
•	 Name and address of the donee and the 

amount of the distribution to the donee.
•	 Relationship of the donee, if related by 

blood, marriage, adoption, or employment 
(including children of employees) to any 
person or corporation having an interest in the 
organization (such as creator, donor, director, 
trustee, officer, etc.).

Classify activities according to purpose in 
greater detail than merely charitable, educational, 
religious, or scientific. For example, payments 
for nursing service, laboratory construction, 

fellowships, or assistance to indigent families 
should be so identified.
Private foundations making contributions, etc., 
to a trust, association, or corporation shall also 
indicate the organizational status of each donee; 
such as private foundation, operating private 
foundation, or other public charity, etc.
When the fair market value of the property at 
the time of disbursement is used to measure a 
contribution, the schedule must also show all of 
the following:
•	 Description of the contributed property.
•	 Book value of the contributed property.
•	 Method used to determine the book value.
•	 Date of the gift.
In such a case, the difference between fair market 
value and book value should be reflected in the 
books of account.
Line 11 – Compensation of Officers, 
Directors, and Trustees
All organizations must attach a schedule of 
officers, directors, trustees, or individuals having 
similar responsibilities. The schedule must show 
for each: name, business or personal address, 
position, compensation, and time devoted to the 
position.
Line 16 – Depreciation and Depletion
Corporations and Associations — California law 
is generally the same as federal law.
California differences:
1.	 California has not adopted the federal Modified 

Accelerated Cost Recovery System (MACRS).
2.	 California prohibits the use of the 20% Asset 

Depreciation Range (ADR). Only the mid-
range asset guideline period is allowed.

3.	 California allows the special additional first-
year depreciation. (R&TC Section 24356, not 
IRC Section 179.)

Complete form FTB 3885, Corporation 
Depreciation and Amortization, to figure the 
difference between state and federal depreciation.
Exempt corporations claiming depreciation 
deductions must attach a schedule showing all of 
the following:
•	 Description of property.
•	 Date acquired.
•	 Cost or other basis (exclude land).
•	 Depreciation allowed or allowable in prior years.
•	 Method of computation.
•	 Rate (%) or life (years).
•	 Depreciation this year (total additional first-

year depreciation claimed must be shown on a 
separate line of the depreciation schedule).

Trusts — In 1987, California changed the rules 
for depreciation by conforming to the federal 
MACRS. Estates and trusts are not eligible to take 
the IRC Section 179 deduction. The California 
MACRS applies to assets placed in service on or 
after January 1, 1987.
Complete form FTB 3885F, Depreciation and 
Amortization, to figure the difference between 
state and federal depreciation.
Enter the total from form FTB 3885F, line 6, on 
Form 199, Side 2, Part II, line 16 and attach form 
FTB 3885F to Form 199.
Schedule L – Balance Sheets
The balance sheets should agree with the books 
of account. Any difference should be reconciled 
on Schedule M-1 of Form 199.
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How to Get California Tax Information	  (Keep this page for future use)
Automated Toll-Free Phone Service
Use our Automated Toll-Free Phone Service 
to get recorded answers to many of your 
questions about California taxes and to 
order current year California Business Entity 
tax forms and publications. This service is 
available in English and Spanish to callers with 
touch-tone telephones.
Have paper and pencil handy to take notes.
Call from within the 
  United States . . . . . . . . . . .           (800) 338-0505
Call from outside the  
  United States . . . . . . . . . . .           (916) 845-6600

(not toll-free)

Where to get General Tax 
Information
By Internet – You can get answers to 
Frequently Asked Questions from our Website 
at www.ftb.ca.gov.
By Phone – You can hear recorded answers 
to Frequently Asked Questions 24 hours a 
day, 7 days a week. Call our automated phone 
service at the number listed above. Select 
“Business Entity Information,” then select 
“Frequently Asked Questions.” Enter the 3-digit 
code, listed below, when prompted.

Code  Prefiling Assistance
715 –	 If my actual tax is less than the minimum 

franchise tax, what figure do I put on 
line 23 of Form 100 or Form 100W?

717 –	 What are the tax rates for corporations?
718 –	 How do I get an extension of time to 

file?
722 –	 When does my corporation have to file a 

short-period return?
734 –	 Is my corporation subject to a franchise 

tax or income tax?
	 S corporations
704 –	 Is an S corporation subject to the 

minimum franchise tax?
705 –	 Are S corporations required to file 

estimated payments?
706 –	 What forms do S corporations file?
707 –	 The tax for my S corporation is less than 

the minimum franchise tax. What figure 
do I put on line 22 of Form 100S?

	 Exempt Organizations
709 –	 How do I get tax-exempt status?
710 –	 Does an exempt organization have to file 

Form 199?
736 –	 I have exempt status. Do I need to file 

Form 100 or Form 109 in addition to 
Form 199?

	 Minimum Tax and Estimate Tax
712 –	 What is the minimum franchise tax?
714 –	 My corporation is not doing business; 

does it have to pay the minimum 
franchise tax?

	 Billings and Miscellaneous Notices
723 –	 I received a bill for $250. What is this 

for?
	 Miscellaneous
701 –	 I need a state employer ID number for 

my business. Who do I contact?
703 –	 How do I incorporate?
737 –	 Where do I send my payment?

Letters
If you write to us regarding a notice, be sure to 
include the California corporation number or 
federal employer identification number (FEIN), 
your daytime and evening telephone numbers, 
and a copy of the notice with your letter. Send 
your letter to:
	 EXEMPT ORGANIZATIONS UNIT MS F120 

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 1286 
RANCHO CORDOVA  CA  95741-1286

We will respond to your letter within ten weeks. 
In some cases, we may need to call you 
for additional information. Do not attach 
correspondence to your tax return unless it 
relates to an item on the return.

Your Rights As A Taxpayer
FTB’s goals include making certain that your 
rights are protected so that you have the 
highest confidence in the integrity, efficiency, 
and fairness of our state tax system. FTB 
Pub. 4058, California Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights, 
includes information on your rights as a 
California taxpayer, the Taxpayers’ Rights 
Advocate Program, and how you request 
written advice from the FTB on whether a 
particular transaction is taxable. See “Where To 
Get Income Tax Forms and Publications,” on 
this page.

Where to Get Tax Forms and 
Publications
By Internet – You can download, view, and 
print California tax forms and publications from 
our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov.
You can order current year California Business 
Entity tax forms between 6 a.m. and 8 p.m. 
Monday through Friday. Call our automated 
phone service at the number listed above. 
Select “Business Entity Information,” then 
select “Forms and Publications.” Follow 
the recorded instructions and enter the 
3‑digit code, listed in the next column, when 
prompted. To order prior year forms, call the 
number listed under “Assistance.”

Allow two weeks to receive your order. If 
your corporation’s mailing address is outside 
California, allow three weeks.

Code –
817 	 California Corporation Tax Form & 

Instructions. This booklet contains: 
Form 100, Corporation Franchise or 
Income Tax Return

814	 Form 109, Exempt Organization 
Business Income Tax Return

815	 Form 199, Exempt Organization Annual 
Information Return

818	 Form 100-ES, Corporation Estimated 
Tax

802	 FTB 3500, Exempt Application including 
the FTB 3500A. Affirmation of Internal 
Revenue Code Section 501(c)(3).

In person – Many libraries and post offices 
provide free California tax booklets during the 
filing season. Most libraries have forms and 
schedules to photocopy (a nominal fee may 
apply).
Employees at libraries and post offices cannot 
provide tax information or assistance.
By mail – Write to:
	 TAX FORMS REQUEST UNIT 

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 307 
RANCHO CORDOVA  CA  95741-0307

Assistance
Telephone assistance is available year-round 
from 7 a.m. until 6 p.m. Monday through 
Friday, except holidays. 
From within the United States, 
  call  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   (800) 852-5711
From outside the United States, 
  call (not toll-free) . . . . . . . . .         (916) 845-6500
Website at www.ftb.ca.gov

Assistance for persons with disabilities:
We comply with the Americans with Disabilities 
Act. Persons with hearing or speech 
impairments call:
TTY/TDD: . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                 (800) 822-6268

Asistencia bilingüe en español
Asistencia telefónica esta disponible todo el 
año durante las 7 a.m. y las 6 p.m. lunes a 
viernes, excepto días festivos.
Dentro de los Estados Unidos, 
  llame al  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                (800) 852-5711
Fuera de los Estados Unidos, 
  llame al (cargos aplican)  . . .   (916) 845-6500
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