
Page �  Form 540 2EZ Tax Booklet  2008

 Instructions for Form 540 2EZ CalFile – California’s free, fast, easy, and secure e-file option.
•	 You were unmarried and not in an RDP, or you met the requirements to 

be considered unmarried or considered not in an RDP on December 31, 
2008.

•	 You paid more than one-half the cost of keeping up your home for the 
year in 2008.

•	 For more than half the year, your home was the main home for you and 
one of the specified relatives who by law can qualify you for head of 
household filing status.

•	 You were not a nonresident alien at any time during the year.
For a child to qualify as your foster child for head of household purposes, 
the child must be placed with you by an authorized placement agency or by 
order of a court.
If you are unmarried, your unmarried child no longer qualifies you for head 
of household filing status if he or she is 19 years of age or older, is not a 
student, and has gross income equal to or greater than the federal exemption 
amount of $3,500. In addition, your unmarried child also no longer qualifies 
you for the status if he or she is under 19 years of age, or a student under 
24, and pays more than half of his or her own support.
The FTB has a self test, which will help you determine your filing status. For 
more information, get FTB Pub. 1540, California Head of Household Filing 
Status Information. Go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for self-test.
Qualifying Widow(er)
You are a qualifying widow(er) if ALL of the following apply:
•	 Your spouse/RDP died in 2006 or 2007, and you did not remarry or enter 

into another RDP in 2008. 
•	 You have a birth child, adopted child, stepchild, or eligible foster child for 

whom you can claim a dependent exemption credit.
•	 This child lived in your home for all of 2008. Temporary absences, such 

as for school, vacation, or medical care, count as time lived in the home.
•	 You paid over half the cost of keeping up your home for this child.
•	 You could have filed a joint return with your spouse/RDP the year he or 

she died, even if you actually did not do so.
Enter the year of your spouse’s/RDP’s death on your return. 

Line 6 – Can you be claimed as a dependent?
If someone else can claim you (or your spouse/RDP) as a dependent on his 
or her tax return, even if he or she chooses not to, then answer the following 
questions:
1.	 Is your total income, including wages*, interest, dividend, pension, and 

capital gains from mutual funds income less than or equal to:

Single $12,242
Married/RDP filing jointly or Qualifying widow(er) $24,434
Head of Household $17,334

2.	 Do you have a dependent?
If the answer to question 1 or question 2 is Yes, Stop. You cannot use 
Form 540 2EZ because you will not be able to figure the correct amount of tax 
using the California 2EZ Tables. Use Form 540A or Form 540, these forms are 
available online at ftb.ca.gov or file online through CalFile or e-file.
If the answer to question 1 and question 2 is No, fill in the circle on line 6 
and follow the instructions on line 17.

*Note: You cannot use Form 540 2EZ  if your total wages are less than the 
following amounts based on your filing status:
Single  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                 $3,392
Married/RDP filing jointly, head of household, 
or qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     $7,084

Line 7 – Seniors
If you (or if married/RDP, your spouse/RDP) are 65 or older, enter 1; if both 
are 65 or older, enter 2 on line 7.
If you (or if married/RDP, your spouse’s/RDP’s) 65th birthday is January 1, 
2009, you are considered to be age 65 on December 31, 2008.

Line 8 – Dependents
Enter the names and relationships of the dependents you are allowed to 
claim. If you claim more than 3 dependents get Form 540A or Form 540, 
these forms are available online at ftb.ca.gov or file online through CalFile 
or e-file.

Things you need to know before you complete 
Form 540 2EZ
Determine if you qualify to use Form 540 2EZ. See the table on page 4.

Specific Line Instructions
These instructions are based on the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of 
January 1, 2005, and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).
Name and Address – Print your name, middle initial, last name, and address 
in the spaces provided.
Social Security Number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer Identification 
Number (ITIN) – Enter your SSN or ITIN in the spaces provided. If you file a 
joint return, enter the SSN or ITIN in the same order as the names.
An ITIN is a tax processing number issued by the IRS to foreign nationals 
and others who have a federal tax filing requirement and do not qualify for an 
SSN. The ITIN is a nine-digit number that always starts with the number 9.

Line 1 through Line 5 – Filing Status
Fill in the circle on Form 540 2EZ for the filing status that applies to you.
If your California filing status is different from your federal filing status, fill-in 
the circle under line 5.
Filing Status Checklist
Choose only one filing status. Your filing status for California must be the 
same as the filing status you used on your federal income tax return.
Exception: 
If you are an RDP and file single for federal, file married/RDP filing jointly or 
married/RDP filing separately for California. If you are an RDP and file head 
of household for federal, you may file head of household for California only if 
you meet the requirements to be considered not in a domestic partnership.
Married taxpayers who file a joint federal income tax return may file separate 
California returns if either spouse was:
•	 An active member of the U.S. Armed Forces (or any auxiliary military 

branch) during 2008.
•	 A nonresident for the entire year and had no income from California 

sources during 2008.
You cannot use Form 540 2EZ if:
•	 You file a joint return and either spouse/RDP was a nonresident in 2008. 

Use Long or Short Form 540NR, California Nonresident or Part-Year 
Resident Income Tax Return. These forms are available online at 
ftb.ca.gov or file online using e-file.

•	 You are married/RDP and file a separate return. Use Form 540A or 
Form 540, these forms are available online at ftb.ca.gov or file online 
through CalFile or e-file.

•	 You have income from a source outside of California.
•	 You have income from a source not listed on this form.
Single
You are single if any of the following was true on December 31, 2008:
•	 You were not married or in an RDP.
•	 You received a final decree of divorce or legal separation, or your RDP 

was terminated.
•	 You were widowed before January 1, 2008, and did not remarry or enter 

into another RDP in 2008 (see Qualifying Widow[er]).
Married/RDP Filing Jointly
You may file married/RDP filing jointly if any of the following is true: 
•	 You were married/RDP as of December 31, 2008, even if you did not live 

with your spouse/RDP at the end of 2008.
•	 Your spouse/RDP died in 2008 and you did not remarry or enter into 

another RDP in 2008.
•	 Your spouse/RDP died in 2009 before the 2008 return was filed. 
A married couple or RDPs may file a joint return even if only one had income or 
if they did not live together all year. However, both must sign the return.
Head of Household
Head of household filing status is for unmarried individuals and certain 
married individuals or RDPs living apart who provide a home for a specified 
relative. You are entitled to use head of household filing status only if ALL of 
the following apply:
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Do you have Child and Dependent Care Expenses? The easiest way to 
claim the credit is to CalFile or e-file. This credit may not be claimed 
on Form 540 2EZ.

Line 9 – Wages
Enter the amount from federal Form W-2, box 16 or CA Sch W-2, line 3. If 
you have more than one W‑2, add all amounts shown in box 16.
Generally, federal Form W-2 box 1 and box 16 should contain the same 
amounts. If they are different because you had income from a source outside 
California, you cannot file Form 540 2EZ. Get Form 540A, Form 540, or Long 
or Short Form 540NR, these forms are available online at ftb.ca.gov or file 
online using e-file.

Line 10 – Total Interest Income
Enter interest income shown on Form 1099-INT, Interest Income box 1.
	 Do not include amounts shown on Form 1099-INT, box 3, 

Interest on U.S. Savings Bonds and Treasury Obligations. 
This interest is not taxed by California.

Line 11 – Total Dividend Income
Generally, the amount of dividend income taxable by California is the same 
as the amount taxable under federal law. However, there may be federal/state 
differences in the taxable amount of dividend income, if you received it from 
any of the following sources:
•	 Exempt interest dividends from mutual funds.
•	 Non-cash patronage dividends from farmers’ cooperatives or mutual 

associations.
•	 Federal exempt interest dividends from other states or their municipal 

obligations and/or from mutual funds.
•	 Controlled foreign corporation dividends in the year distributed.
•	 Regulated investment company (RIC) capital gains in the year distributed.
•	 Distributions of pre-1987 earnings from an S corporation.
If you have a federal/state difference in the taxable amount of dividend 
income, you cannot file a Form 540 2EZ. Get Form 540A or Form 540, 
these forms are available online at ftb.ca.gov or file online through CalFile 
or e-file.

Line 12 – Total Pension Income
Generally, the amount of pension income taxable by California is the same 
as the amount taxable under federal law. However, there may be federal/state 
differences in the taxable amount of pension income, if you received it from 
any of the following sources:
•	 Tier 2 railroad retirement benefits. 
•	 Partially taxable distributions from a pension plan.
•	 Retirement annuity between July 1, 1986 – January 1, 1987, and elected 

to use the three-year rule for California purposes and annuity rules for 
federal purposes.

For information regarding the federal Pension Protection Act of 2006, go to 
our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for conformity. If you have a federal/
state difference in the taxable amount of pension income, you cannot file 
a Form 540 2EZ. Get Form 540A or Form 540, these forms are available 
online at ftb.ca.gov or file online through CalFile or e-file.

Line 13 – Capital Gain Distributions from Mutual 
Funds
Generally, the amount of capital gains taxable by California is the same as the 
amount taxable under federal law. If you received capital gain distributions 
from a mutual fund, report them on line 13, if both of the following apply:
•	 You received a Form 1099-DIV with an amount in box 2a.
•	 The 1099-DIV does not have amounts in box 2b, 2c, or 2d.
If you have other capital gains, you cannot use Form 540 2EZ; use Form 540. 
Get Form 540, this form is available online at ftb.ca.gov or file online 
through CalFile or e-file.

Line 14 – Unemployment Compensation
Enter unemployment compensation and/or Paid Family Leave Insurance 
benefits reported on federal Form(s) 1099-G, box 1. These types of income 
are not taxed by California and should not be included in the total on line 16.

Line 15 – U.S. Social Security or Railroad 
Retirement Benefits
Enter U.S. social security or Tier 1 and Tier 2 railroad retirement benefits. 
This type of income is not taxed by California and should not be included in 
the total on line 16.

Line 17 – Tax
The standard deduction and personal exemption credit are built into the 
2EZ Tables and not reported on the tax return.
If you did not fill in the circle on line 6 follow the instructions below.
Use the California 2EZ Table for your filing status to complete line 17. The 2EZ 
Tables in this booklet gives you credit for the standard deduction for your filing 
status, your personal exemption credit, and dependent exemption credits. There 
are three different tables. Make sure you use the right one. If your filing status is: 

Single Go to page 15
Married/RDP filing jointly or Qualifying widow(er) Go to page 21
Head of Household Go to page 42

If you filled in the circle on line 6, complete the Dependent Tax Worksheet 
below.

Dependent Tax Worksheet
1.	 Is the amount on line 16 less than or equal to:
	 •	 $12,242 if single
	 •	 $24,434 if married/RDP filing jointly or qualifying widow(er)
	 •	 $17,334 if head of household, or
2.	 Do you have a dependent?
If the answer to question 1 or question 2 is:
Yes  Stop. You cannot use Form 540 2EZ because you will not be able 
to figure the correct amount of tax using the 2EZ Tables. Get Form 540A 
or Form 540, these forms are available online at ftb.ca.gov or file online 
through CalFile or e-file.
No  If you can be claimed as a dependent by another taxpayer, your 
personal exemption credit amount is zero. You will need to adjust the tax 
from the 2EZ Table for this amount as follows:
1.	Using the amount from Form 540 2EZ, line 16, and 

your filing status, enter the tax from the 2EZ Table:
	 If your filing status is: 
	 • 	 Single, go to page 15.
	 •	 Married/RDP filing jointly or Qualifying	  . . . . . . . . . .          1  ________
			   widow(er), go to page 21.
2.	•	 If single or head of household, enter $99
	 •	 If married/RDP and both spouses/RDPs  

can be claimed as a dependent by 
another taxpayer, enter $198	  . . . . . . . . . .          2  ________

	 •	 If married/RDP and only one spouse/RDP 
can be claimed, enter $99

	 •	 If qualifying widow(er), enter $198
3.	Add line 1 and line 2. Enter here and include 

on Form 540 2EZ, line 17 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .3  ________

Line 18 – Senior Exemption 
If you entered 1 in the box on line 7, enter $99. If you entered 2 in the box on 
line 7, enter $198.
You cannot claim this exemption credit if someone else can claim you as a 
dependent on their return.

Line 19 – Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit
If you were a resident of California and paid rent on property in California 
which was your principal residence, you may qualify for a credit that you can 
use to reduce your tax. Answer the questions on page 12 to see if you qualify. 

Line 22 – Total Tax Withheld
Enter the amount from federal Form(s) W-2, box 17, CA Sch W-2, box 17, 
or 1099-R, box 10. If you have more than one Form W-2, add all amounts 
shown in box 17. If you have multiple entries on CA Sch W-2, add all 
amounts shown in box 17. If you have more than one 1099-R, add all 

✓ Tip

} 
} 



Page �  Form 540 2EZ Tax Booklet  2008

 Instructions for Form 540 2EZ CalFile – California’s free, fast, easy, and secure e-file option.
amounts shown in box 10. The Franchise Tax Board (FTB) verifies all 
withholding claimed from federal Forms W-2, CA Sch W-2, or 1099-R with 
the Employment Development Department (EDD).

Line 24 – Tax Due
If the amount on line 22 is less than the amount on line 21, subtract the 
amount on line 22 from the amount on line 21. Enter the result on line 24. 
Your tax is more than your credits.
Increasing your withholding could eliminate the need to make a large 
payment with your tax return. To increase your withholding, complete EDD 
Form DE 4, Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate, and give it to 
your employer’s appropriate payroll staff. You can get this form from your 
employer or by calling the EDD at 888.745.3886. You can download the 
DE 4 at www.edd.ca.gov or go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search 
for de 4. If you did not pay enough through withholding, you may have an 
underpayment penalty. The FTB will figure the underpayment penalty for you.  

Line 25 – Use Tax - This is not a total line
You may report use tax on your income tax return instead of filing a use tax 
return with the State Board of Equalization. To report use tax on your income 
tax return, complete the Use Tax Worksheet on this page. For questions on 
whether a purchase is taxable, go to the State Board of Equalization’s website 
at boe.ca.gov, or call their Taxpayer Information Section at 800.400.7115 or 
TTY/TDD 800.735.2929.
If you owe use tax but you do not report it on your income tax return,you 
must report and pay the tax to the State Board of Equalization. To do so, 
download a copy of Publication 79-B, California Use Tax, from boe.ca.gov 
or request a copy by calling the State Board of Equalization’s Taxpayer 
Information Section, see phone number above.
Use Tax Penalty
Failure to timely report and pay the use tax due may result in the assessment 
of penalties.
Note: Businesses that have a California seller’s permit must continue to report 
business purchases subject to use tax on their sales and use tax returns.

Use Tax Worksheet 
Round all amounts to the nearest whole dollar.

1.	 Enter purchases from out-of-state or Internet 
sellers made without payment of California 
sales/use tax. See worksheet instructions below . . . . . .      $ ________.00 

2.	 Enter the decimal equivalent of the applicable sales 
and use tax rate. See worksheet instructions below  . . .      ________

3.	 Multiply line 1 by the tax rate on line 2. Enter result here 	 $ ________.00 
4.	 Enter any sales or use tax paid to another  

state for purchases included on line 1. See 
worksheet instructions below. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    $ ________.00 

5.	 Total Use Tax Due. Subtract line 4 from line 3. 
Enter the amount here and on line 25. If the  
amount is less than zero, enter -0-. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                $ ________.00

 
Worksheet, Line 1, Purchases Subject to Use Tax
•	 Report items that would have been taxable in a California store. For 

example, you would include purchases of clothing, but not purchases of 
prescription medicine.

•	 Include handling charges.
•	 Do not include any other state’s sales or use tax paid on the purchases.
•	 Enter only purchases made during the year that corresponds with the tax 

return you are filing.
•	 If you traveled to a foreign country and brought items back to California, 

generally the use tax is due on the purchase price of the goods you listed 
on your U.S. Customs Declaration, less the $800 per-person exemption. 
This $800 exemption does not apply to goods sent or shipped to 
California by mail or other common carrier.

•	 If your filing status is “married/RDP filing separately,” you may elect to 
report one-half of the use tax due or the entire amount on your income 
tax return. If you elect to report one-half, your spouse/RDP must report 
the remaining half on his or her income tax return or on the individual 
use tax return available from the State Board of Equalization. 

Note: Report and pay any use tax you owe on the following purchases to the 
State Board of Equalization, not on your income tax return:

•	 Vehicles, vessels, and trailers that must be registered with the California 
Department of Motor Vehicles.

•	 Mobile homes or commercial coaches that must be registered annually 
as required by the Health and Safety Code.

•	 Vessels documented with the U.S. Coast Guard.
•	 Aircraft.
•	 Leases of machinery, equipment, vehicles, and other tangible personal 

property.

Worksheet, Line 2, Sales and Use Tax Rate
•	 Enter the decimal equivalent of the sales and use tax rate applicable to 

the place in California where the property is used, stored, or otherwise 
consumed. For example, the decimal equivalent of 7.25% is 0.0725, and 
the decimal equivalent of 7.375% is 0.07375.

•	 If you do not know the applicable rate, see the table below and on page 9, 
“Sales and Use Tax Rates by County.” If you have questions regarding the 
use tax rate in effect in your area, go to the State Board of Equalization’s 
website at boe.ca.gov or call their Taxpayer Information Section at  
800.400.7115 or TTY/TDD 800.735.2929.

Worksheet, Line 4, Credit for Tax Paid to Another State
•	 This is a credit for tax paid to other states. You cannot claim a credit 

greater than the amount of tax that would have been due if the purchase 
had been made in California. For example, if you paid $8.00 sales tax to 
another state for a purchase, and would have paid $6.00 in California, 
you can claim a credit of only $6.00 for that purchase.

Sales and Use Tax Rates by County
(includes state, local, and district taxes)

January 1, 2008 through December 31, 2008

  County	 Rate
  Alameda...............................8.75%
  Alpine...................................7.25%
  Amador................................7.25%
  Butte....................................7.25%
  Calaveras.............................7.25%
  Colusa1.................................7.25%
  Contra Costa1.......................8.25%
  Del Norte..............................7.25%
  El Dorado1............................7.25%
  Fresno1...............................7.975%
  Glenn...................................7.25%
  Humboldt1............................7.25%
  Imperial................................7.75%
  Inyo......................................7.75%
  Kern1....................................7.25%
  Kings....................................7.25%
  Lake1....................................7.25%
  Lassen.................................7.25%
  Los Angeles1........................8.25%
  Madera.................................7.75%
  Marin1..................................7.75%
  Mariposa..............................7.75%
  Mendocino1..........................7.25%
  Merced1................................7.25%
  Modoc..................................7.25%
  Mono1..................................7.25%
  Monterey1............................7.25%
  Napa.....................................7.75%
  Nevada1..............................7.375%

County	 Rate
Orange1................................. 7.75%
Placer.................................... 7.25%
Plumas.................................. 7.25%
Riverside............................... 7.75%
Sacramento........................... 7.75%
San Benito1........................... 7.25%
San Bernardino1.................... 7.75%
San Diego1............................ 7.75%
San Francisco....................... 8.50%
San Joaquin1......................... 7.75%
San Luis Obispo1................... 7.25%
San Mateo............................. 8.25%
Santa Barbara....................... 7.75%
Santa Clara............................ 8.25%
Santa Cruz1........................... 8.00%
Shasta................................... 7.25%
Sierra.................................... 7.25%
Siskiyou................................ 7.25%
Solano................................. 7.375%
Sonoma1............................... 7.75%
Stanislaus1.......................... 7.375%
Sutter.................................... 7.25%
Tehama................................. 7.25%
Trinity.................................... 7.25%
Tulare1................................... 7.75%
Tuolumne1............................. 7.25%
Ventura................................. 7.25%
Yolo1..................................... 7.25%
Yuba...................................... 7.25%

1.	 Many cities in California impose a district tax which results in a higher sales 
	 and use tax rate than in other parts of the county. If you are reporting an 
	 item that was purchased for use in one of these counties, please check the 
	 following city list to see if a higher rate applies to your city. The tax rates 
	 shown apply within the city limits of the listed community.
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County	 City 	 Citywide Rate
Colusa . . . . . . . . . .          Williams . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            7.75%
Contra Costa . . . . .     El Cerrito (effective 7/1/08)5  . . . . . . . . . . .            8.75%
Contra Costa . . . . .     Pinole  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             8.75%
Contra Costa . . . . .     Richmond . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          8.75%
El Dorado  . . . . . . .       Placerville  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          7.50%
El Dorado . . . . . . . .        South Lake Tahoe  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    7.75%
Fresno  . . . . . . . . . .Clovis (effective 10/1/08)9 . . . . . . . . . . . .             7.975%
Fresno  . . . . . . . . . .Reedley (effective 7/1/08)6 . . . . . . . . . . . .             8.475%
Fresno  . . . . . . . . . .Sanger (effective 7/1/08)7  . . . . . . . . . . . .             8.725%
Fresno  . . . . . . . . . .Selma (effective 4/1/08)1 . . . . . . . . . . . . .              8.475%
Humboldt  . . . . . . .       Trinidad  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            8.25%
Kern  . . . . . . . . . . .           Delano (effective 4/1/08)2  . . . . . . . . . . . . .              8.25%
Lake  . . . . . . . . . . .           Clearlake  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           7.75%
Lake . . . . . . . . . . . .            Lakeport  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           7.75%
Los Angeles  . . . . .     Avalon . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             8.75%
Los Angeles . . . . . .       Inglewood . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          8.75%
Los Angeles  . . . . .     South Gate (effective 10/1/08)10  . . . . . . . .         9.25%
Marin . . . . . . . . . . .           San Rafael . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          8.25%
Mendocino . . . . . . .       Fort Bragg  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          7.75%
Mendocino  . . . . . .      Point Arena . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         7.75%
Mendocino . . . . . . .       Ukiah . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              7.75%
Mendocino  . . . . . .      Willits  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             7.75%
Merced . . . . . . . . . .Los Banos . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          7.75%
Merced . . . . . . . . . .Merced . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7.75%
Mono . . . . . . . . . . .           Mammoth Lakes (effective 10/1/08)11 . . . .     7.75%
Monterey . . . . . . . .        Del Rey Oaks . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        8.25%
Monterey . . . . . . . .        Pacific  Grove (effective 10/1/08)12  . . . . . .       8.25%
Monterey . . . . . . . .        Salinas . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             7.75%
Monterey . . . . . . . .        Sand City . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           7.75%
Monterey . . . . . . . .        Seaside (effective 7/1/08)8 . . . . . . . . . . . . .              8.25%
Nevada . . . . . . . . . .          Nevada City . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        7.875%
Nevada  . . . . . . . . .         Truckee  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           7.875%
Orange . . . . . . . . . .          Laguna Beach  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       8.25%
San Benito . . . . . . .       Hollister (effective 4/1/08)3  . . . . . . . . . . . .             8.25%
San Benito . . . . . . .       San Juan Bautista  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    8.00%
San Bernardino . . .   Montclair . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           8.00%
San Bernardino . . .   San Bernardino . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      8.00%
San Diego  . . . . . . .       El Cajon . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            8.25%
San Diego  . . . . . . .       National City  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        8.75%
San Diego  . . . . . . .       Vista  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              8.25%
San Joaquin . . . . . .      Manteca . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            8.25%
San Joaquin . . . . . .      Stockton  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           8.00%
San Luis Obispo  . .  Arroyo Grande . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                       7.75%
San Luis Obispo  . .  Grover Beach . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        7.75%
San Luis Obispo  . .  Morro Bay . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          7.75%
San Luis Obispo  . .  Pismo Beach (effective 10/1/08)13 . . . . . . .        7.75%
San Luis Obispo  . .  San Luis Obispo  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                     7.75%
Santa Cruz . . . . . . .       Capitola . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            8.25%
Santa Cruz  . . . . . .      Santa Cruz  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         8.50%
Santa Cruz . . . . . . .       Scotts Valley . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        8.50%
Santa Cruz . . . . . . .       Watsonville  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         8.25%
Sonoma  . . . . . . . .        Sebastopol . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          8.00%
Sonoma . . . . . . . . .         Santa Rosa  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         8.00%
Stanislaus  . . . . . . .       Ceres (effective 4/1/08)4  . . . . . . . . . . . . .              7.875%
Tulare . . . . . . . . . . .           Dinuba . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             8.50%
Tulare . . . . . . . . . . .           Farmersville . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         8.25%
Tulare . . . . . . . . . . .           Porterville  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          8.25%
Tulare . . . . . . . . . . .           Tulare . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              8.25%
Tulare  . . . . . . . . . .          Visalia  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             8.00%
Tuolumne . . . . . . . .        Sonora . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             7.75%
Yolo  . . . . . . . . . . .           Davis . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              7.75%
Yolo  . . . . . . . . . . .           West Sacramento  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    7.75%
Yolo  . . . . . . . . . . .           Woodland  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          7.75%

  1.	 The tax rate in Selma prior to April 1, 2008, was 7.975%..
  2.	 The tax rate in Delano prior to April 1, 2008, was 7.25%.
  3.	 The tax rate in Hollister prior to April 1, 2008, was 7.25%.
  4.	 The tax rate in Ceres prior to April 1, 2008, was 7.375%.
  5.	 The tax rate in El Cerrito prior to July 1, 2008, was 8.25%.
  6.	 The tax rate in Reedley prior to July 1, 2008, was 7.975%.
  7.	 The tax rate in Sanger prior to July 1, 2008, was 7.975%.
  8.	 The tax rate in Seaside prior to July 1, 2008, was 7.25%.
  9.	 The tax rate in Clovis prior to October 1, 2008, was 8.275%.
10.	 The tax rate in South Gate prior to October 1, 2008, was 8.25%.
11.	 The tax rate in Mammoth Lakes prior to October 1, 2008, was 7.25%.
12.	 The tax rate in Pacific Grove prior to October 1, 2008, was 7.25%.
13.	 The tax rate in Pismo Beach prior to October 1, 2008, was 7.25%.

Line 26 – Voluntary Contributions
You may contribute part or all of your refund to the funds listed on 
Form 540 2EZ, Side 2. See page 11 for descriptions of the funds.

Line 27 – Amount You Owe
Add line 24, line 25, and line 26 and enter the total on line 27. This is the 
amount you owe. If line 23 is less than the sum of line 25 and line 26, enter 
the difference on line 27.

Paying Your Taxes
You must pay 100% of the amount you owe by April 15, 2009, to avoid 
interest and underpayment penalties. However, the underpayment penalty 
will be waived if 90% of the tax shown on the return is paid by the original 
due date of the return. There are several ways to pay your tax:
•	 Electronic funds withdrawal (e-file only)
•	 Pay online/Web Pay
•	 Credit card
•	 Check or money order
•	 Monthly installments

Electronic Funds Withdrawal
If you CalFile or e-file, instead of paying by check, you can use this 
convenient option. Simply provide your bank information, the amount you 
want to pay, and the date you want the amount to be withdrawn from your 
account. You can find the routing and account numbers on your check 
or bank statement, or by contacting your financial institution. Use the 
check illustration on the next page to find your bank information. Your tax 
preparation software will offer this option. 

Web Pay
Enjoy the convenience of online payment with the FTB. This secure service 
lets you pay the current amount you owe, extension payments, estimated tax 
payments, and prior year balances. Go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search 
for web pay. Log on using your social security number or individual taxpayer 
identification number.

Credit Card
Use your Discover/NOVUS, MasterCard, American Express, or Visa card to 
pay your personal income taxes (including tax return balance due, extension 
payments, estimated tax payments, and prior year balances). The FTB has 
partnered with Official Payments Corp. to offer you this service. Official 
Payments Corp. charges a convenience fee based on the amount of your 
payment.
Go to the Official Payments Corp. online payment center at  
officialpayments.com or call their toll-free number 800.2PAY-TAX or  
800.272.9829 and follow the recorded instructions. Official Payments Corp. 
provides customer assistance Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 
5 p.m. PST.
	 Payment Date : __________________
	 Confirmation Number: ___________________

Check or Money Order (no cash please)
Make your check or money order payable to the “Franchise Tax Board.” Do 
not send cash. Write your social security number or individual taxpayer 
identification number and “2008 Form 540 2EZ” on the check or money order.
A penalty may be imposed if your payment is returned by your bank for 
insufficient funds.
Make all checks or money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn against a 
U.S. financial institution.
Form 540 2EZ: Enclose but do not staple your check or money order to 
the return.
e-file: The software will print a payment voucher (form FTB 3582) for you. 
Mail your check or money order and the voucher to the address shown on 
the voucher. Do not mail a copy of your tax return, your federal Form(s) W-2, 
or CA Sch W-2.
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 Instructions for Form 540 2EZ CalFile – California’s free, fast, easy, and secure e-file option.

Request Monthly Installments
Pay as much as you can when you file your return. If you cannot pay your 
taxes in full, you can request approval to make monthly payments. However, 
you will be charged interest and penalties. You will need to complete form 
FTB 3567, Installment Agreement Request.
To submit your request electronically, go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and 
search for installment agreement. To submit your request by mail, go 
to our website at ftb.ca.gov to download and print form FTB 3567 or call 
800.338.0505 to order the form by phone. Select Personal Income Tax, then 
select Forms and Publications, and enter code 949 when instructed. Mail the 
completed form to the FTB at the address shown on the form. 

Line 28 – Refund or No Amount Due 
Complete the following worksheet:
A.	 Amount on line 25  . . . . . . . . . . . .            ____________
B.	 Amount on line 26  . . . . . . . . . . . .            ____________
C.	 Add line A and line B . . . . . . . . . . .           ____________
D.	 Amount on line 23  . . . . . . . . . . . .            ____________
E.	 Subtract line C from line D . . . . . .      ____________
The amount on line E will be refunded to you. Transfer this amount to 
Form 540 2EZ, line 28. If the refund is less than $1.00, attach a written 
request to your Form 540 2EZ to receive the refund.
If the amount on line C is greater than the amount on line D, the amount 
on line E is the amount you owe. Transfer this amount to Form 540 2EZ, 
line 27.

Direct Deposit
Direct deposit is fast, safe, and convenient. To have your refund directly 
deposited into your bank account, fill in the account information on 
Form 540 2EZ, Side 2, line 29 and line 30. Fill in the routing and account 
numbers and indicate the account type. Verify routing and account numbers 
with your financial institution. Do not attach a voided check or deposit slip. 
See the illustration on this page.
Individual taxpayers may request that his or her refund be electronically 
deposited into more than one checking or savings account. This allows more 
options for managing your refund. For example, you can request part of your 
refund go to your checking account to use now and the rest to your savings 
account to save for later.
The routing number must be nine digits. The first two digits must be 01 
through 12 or 21 through 32. On the sample check, the routing number 
is 250250025. The account number can be up to 17 characters and can 
include numbers and letters. Include hyphens, but omit spaces and special 
symbols. On the sample check, the account number is 202020.
Check the appropriate box for the type of account. Do not check more than 
one box for each line. 
Enter the portion of your refund you want directly deposited into each 
account. The total of line 29 and line 30 must equal the total amount of your 
refund. If line 29 and line 30 do not equal line 28, the FTB will issue a paper 
check.
Caution: Check with your financial institution to make sure your deposit will 
be accepted and to get the correct routing and account numbers. The FTB 
is not responsible for a lost refund due to incorrect account information 
entered by you or your representative.

Some financial institutions will not allow a joint refund to be deposited to an 
individual account. If the direct deposit is rejected, the FTB will issue a paper 
check.

Sign Your Tax Return
Sign your tax return on Side 2. If you file a joint tax return, your spouse/RDP 
must also sign it.
If you file a joint return, both you and your spouse/RDP are generally 
responsible for tax and any interest or penalties due on the return. If one 
spouse/RDP does not pay the tax, the other spouse/RDP may have to. See 
Innocent Joint Filer Relief on page 13.
If you pay a person to prepare your tax return, that person must sign on 
Side 2 and include either their social security number, PTIN, or FEIN. A paid 
preparer must give you a copy of your tax return to keep for your records.

Third Party Designee
If you want to allow a friend, family member, or any other person you choose 
to discuss your 2008 tax return with the FTB, check the “Yes” box in the 
signature area of your return. Also print the designee’s name and telephone 
number. If you want to allow the paid preparer who signed your return to 
discuss it with the FTB, enter “Preparer” in the space for the designee’s name 
and print the preparer’s phone number. 
If you check the “Yes” box, you, and your spouse/RDP if filing a joint return, 
are authorizing the FTB to call the designee to answer any questions that 
may arise during the processing of your return. You are also authorizing the 
designee to: 
•	 Give the FTB any information that is missing from your return.
•	 Call the FTB for information about the processing of your return or the 

status of your refund or payments.
•	 Receive copies of notices or transcripts related to your return, upon 

request.
•	 Respond to certain FTB notices about math errors, offsets, and return 

preparation.
You are not authorizing the designee to receive any refund check, bind you 
to anything (including any additional tax liability), or otherwise represent you 
before the FTB. If you want to expand or change the designee’s authorization, 
get form FTB 3520, Power of Attorney Declaration for the FTB.
The authorization will automatically end no later than the due date (without 
regard to extensions) for filing your 2009 tax return. This is April 15, 2010, 
for most people. To revoke the authorization before it ends, notify us by 
telephone at 800.852.5711 or in writing at Franchise Tax Board, PO Box 
942840, Sacramento CA 94240-0040, include your name, SSN, and the 
designee’s name.

Assembling Your Tax Return
Assemble your tax return and mail it to the FTB.
To help with our processing costs, please enclose, but do not staple, your 
payment, federal Form(s) W-2, or CA Sch W-2 to your return.

Do not enclose a copy of your 
federal tax return or any other  
document with your Form 540 2EZ.  
This will help us reduce  
government processing and  
storage costs.

Mailing Your Return
Mail your return using the envelope provided in this booklet. If your return 
shows a refund or no amount due, be sure to attach the green label to the 
front of the envelope. The address is:
	 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
	 PO BOX 942840
	 SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0002
If your return has an amount due, be sure to attach the white label to the 
front of the envelope. The address is:
	 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
	 PO BOX 942867
	 SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001

John Doe
Mary Doe
1234 Main Street

1234

PAY TO THE

ANYTOWN BANK

I : 250250025 I : 202020 • 1234

DOLLARS

20

For

$

Do not include
the check number

Routing
Number

Account
Number





CA Sch W-2
Form 

 540 2EZ

Side 1

Form 
W-2

Enclose, but do 
not staple, any 

payment
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Voluntary Contribution Fund Descriptions
Make voluntary contributions of $1 or more in whole dollar amounts to the funds listed below. To contribute to the California Seniors Special Fund use 
the instructions for code 400 below. The amount you contribute either reduces your overpaid tax or increases your tax due. You may contribute only 
to the funds listed and cannot change the amount you contribute after you file your return. For more information go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and 
search for voluntary contributions. 

Code 400, California Seniors Special Fund  – If you and/or your 
spouse/RDP are 65 years of age or older as of January 1, 2009, and 
claim the Senior Exemption Credit on line 7, you may make a combined 
total contribution of up to $198 or $99 per spouse/RDP. Contributions 
made to this fund will be distributed to the Area Agency of Aging 
Councils (TACC) to provide advice on and sponsorship of Senior 
Citizens issues. Any excess contributions not required by TACC will be 
distributed to senior citizen service organizations throughout California 
for meals, adult day care, and transportation. 

Code 401, Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund – 
Contributions will provide grants to California scientists who study 
Alzheimer’s disease and related disorders. This research includes basic 
science, diagnosis, treatment, prevention, behavioral problems, and 
caregiving. With one‑half million Californians living with the disease 
and another 2 million providing care to a loved one with Alzheimer’s, 
our state is in the early stages of a major public health crisis. Your 
contribution will ensure that Alzheimer’s disease receives the attention, 
research, and resources it deserves. 

Code 402, California Fund for Senior Citizens (CSL) – Contributions 
will provide support to the California Senior Legislature (CSL). The CSL 
is made up of volunteers who develop statewide senior related legislative 
proposals in areas of health, housing, transportation, and community 
services to be presented to the State Legislature www.4csl.org.

Code 403, Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program – 
Contributions will be used to help protect and conserve California’s 
many threatened and endangered species and the wild lands that 
they need to survive, for the enjoyment and benefit of you and future 
generations of Californians. 

Code 404, State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of 
Child Abuse – Contributions will be used to fund programs for the 
prevention, intervention, and treatment of child abuse and neglect. 

Code 405, California Breast Cancer Research Fund – Contributions 
will fund research toward preventing and curing breast cancer. Breast 
cancer is the most common cancer to strike women in California. It kills 
4,000 California women each year. Contributions also fund research 
on prevention and better treatment, and keep doctors up-to-date on 
research progress. For more about the research your contributions 
support, please see our website at cbcrp.org. Your contribution can help 
make breast cancer a disease of the past. 

Code 406, California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund – Contributions will 
be used for the repair and maintenance of the California Firefighters’ 
Memorial on the grounds of the State Capitol, ceremonies to honor the 
memory of fallen firefighters and to assist surviving loved ones, and for 
an informational guide detailing survivor benefits to assist the spouses/
RDPs and children of fallen firefighters.

Code 407, Emergency Food for Families Fund – Contributions will be 
used to help local food banks feed California’s hungry. Your contribution 
will fund the purchase of much-needed food for delivery to food banks, 
pantries, and soup kitchens throughout the state. The State Department 
of Social Services will monitor its distribution to ensure the food is given 
to those most in need. 

Code 408, California Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Fund – 
Contributions will be used to preserve the memory of California’s fallen 
peace officers and assist the families they left behind. Since statehood, 
over 1,300 courageous California peace officers have made the ultimate 
sacrifice while protecting law-abiding citizens. The non-profit charitable 
organization, California Peace Officers’ Memorial Foundation, has 
accepted the privilege and responsibility of maintaining a memorial for 
fallen officers on the State Capitol grounds. Each May, the Memorial 
Foundation conducts a dignified ceremony honoring fallen officers and 
their surviving families by offering moral support, crisis counseling, and 
financial support that includes academic scholarships for the children 
of those officers who have made the supreme sacrifice. On behalf of 
all of us and the law-abiding citizens of California, thank you for your 
participation. 

Code 409, California Military Family Relief Fund – Contributions will 
be used to provide financial aid grants to members of the California 
National Guard who are California residents, and have been called to 
active duty. 

Code 410, California Sea Otter Fund – The California Coastal 
Conservancy and the Department of Fish and Game will each be 
allocated 50% of the contributions. The California Coastal Conservancy 
will use the contributions for research and programs related to the 
near-shore ecosystem, including sea otters. The Department of Fish 
and Game will use the contributions to establish a sea otter fund within 
the department’s index coding system for increased investigation, 
prevention, and enforcement action. 

Code 411, California Ovarian Cancer Research Fund – Contributions 
will be used to conduct research relating to the cause, cure, and 
prevention of ovarian cancer.

Code 412, Municipal Shelter Spay- Neuter Fund – Contributions 
will be used to provide low cost or free spay-neuter services and for 
administrative costs.

Code 413, California Cancer Research Fund – Contributions will 
be used to conduct research relating to the causes, detection, and 
prevention of cancer and to expand community-based education 
on cancer, and to provide prevention and awareness activities for 
communities that are disproportionately at risk or afflicted by cancer.

Code 414, ALS/Lou Gehrig’s Disease Research Fund – Contributions 
will be used to conduct research relating to the cause, cure, and 
prevention of ALS.
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1. Were you a resident of California for the entire year in 2008?
Military personnel. If you are not a legal resident of California, you do not qualify for this credit. However, your spouse/RDP may claim this credit if he or she was a 
resident, did not live in military housing during 2008, and is otherwise qualified.
YES.	 Go to question 2.	 NO.	 Stop. File the Long or Short Form 540NR, California Nonresident or Part-Year
			   Resident Income Tax Return. See “Automated Phone Service” on page 14. 

2. Is your California adjusted gross income the amount on Form 540 2EZ, line 16:
	 •	 $34,936 or less if single; or
	 •	 $69,872 or less if married/RDP filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er)?
YES. Go to question 3.	 NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

3. Did you pay rent, for at least half of 2008, on property (including a mobile home that you owned on rented land) in California, which was your 
principal residence?
YES. Go to question 4.	 NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

4. Can you be claimed as a dependent by a parent, foster parent, legal guardian, or any other person in 2008?
NO. Go to question 6.	 YES. Go to question 5.

5. For more than half the year in 2008, did you live in the home of the person who can claim you as a dependent?
NO. Go to question 6.	 YES. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

6. Was the property you rented exempt from property tax in 2008?
You do not qualify for this credit if, for more than half of the year, you rented property that was exempt from property taxes. Exempt property includes most 
government-owned buildings, church-owned parsonages, college dormitories, and military barracks. However, if you or your landlord paid possessory interest taxes for 
the property you rented, then you may claim this credit.
NO. Go to question 7.	 YES. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

7. Did you claim the homeowner’s property tax exemption anytime during 2008? 
You do not qualify for this credit if you or your spouse/RDP received a homeowner’s property tax exemption at any time during the year. However, if you lived apart from 
your spouse/RDP for the entire year and your spouse/RDP received a homeowner’s property tax exemption for a separate residence, then you may claim this credit if 
you are otherwise qualified.
NO. Go to question 8.	 YES. If your filing status is single, stop here, you do not qualify for this credit. If your filing 
	          status is married/RDP filing jointly, go to question 9.

8. Were you single in 2008?
YES. Go to question 11.	 NO. Go to question 9.

9. Did your spouse/RDP claim the homeowner’s property tax exemption anytime during 2008?
You do not qualify for this credit if you or your spouse/RDP received a homeowner’s property tax exemption at any time during the year. However, if you lived apart from 
your spouse/RDP for the entire year and your spouse/RDP received a homeowner’s property tax exemption for a separate residence, then you may claim this credit if 
you are otherwise qualified.
NO. Go to question 11.	 YES. If both you and your spouse/RDP claimed the homeowner’s property tax exemption, 
	          stop here, you do not qualify for this credit. Otherwise, go to question 10.

10. Did you and your spouse/RDP maintain separate residences for the entire year in 2008?
YES. Go to question 11.	 NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

11. If you are:
	 •	 Single, enter $60 on Form 540 2EZ, line 19.
	 •	 Head of household or qualifying widow(er), enter $120 on Form 540 2 EZ, line 19.
	 •	 Married/RDP filing jointly, enter $120 on Form 540 2EZ, line 19. (Exception: If one spouse/RDP claimed the homeowner’s tax exemption and you lived 

apart from your spouse/RDP for the entire year, enter $60 on Form 540 2EZ, line 19.)
Fill in the street address(es) and landlord information below for the residence(s) you rented in California during 2008, which qualified you for this credit.

Street Address 	 City, State, and ZIP Code	 Dates Rented in 2008 (From______to______)

a_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
b_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Enter the name, address, and telephone number of your landlord(s) or the person(s) to whom you paid rent for the residence(s) listed above.

Name	 Street Address	 City, State, ZIP Code, and Telephone Number

a_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
b_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit Qualification Record
e-file and skip this page! The software you use to e-file will help you find out if you qualify for this credit and will figure the correct amount of 
the credit automatically. Go to our website at ftb.ca.gov.

If you were a resident of California and paid rent on property in California, which was your principal residence, you may qualify for a credit that you can use to 
reduce your tax. Answer the questions below to see if you qualify. Do Not Mail This Record. Keep With Your Tax Records.

✓ Tip




