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Instructions for Form 540X
Amended Individual Income Tax Return
General Information
Registered Domestic Partners (RDP) 
RDPs under California law must file their California income tax return using 
either the married/RDP filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately filing 
status. RDPs have the same legal benefits, protections, and responsibilities as 
married couples unless otherwise specified.
If you entered into a same sex legal union in another state, other than a 
marriage, and that union has been determined to be substantially equivalent 
to a California registered domestic partnership, you are required to file a 
California income tax return using either the married/RDP filing jointly or 
married/RDP filing separately filing status. For more information on what 
states have legal unions that are considered substantially equivalent, go to 
our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for rdp.
For purposes of California income tax, references to a spouse, a husband, 
or a wife also refer to a California registered domestic partner (RDP), unless 
otherwise specified. When we use the initials RDP they refer to both a 
California registered domestic “partner” and a California registered domestic 
“partnership,” as applicable. For more information on RDPs, get FTB 
Pub. 737, Tax Information for Registered Domestic Partners.
Round Cents to Dollars – Round cents to the nearest whole dollar.  For 
example, round $50.50 up to $51 or round $25.49 down to $25.
Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents – In addition to completing Form 540X, 
Amended Individual Income Tax Return, line 16 through line 34, nonresidents 
or part-year residents who are amending taxable years 2003 or after complete 
the new Part I, Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents, on Side 2 of Form 540X.
Protective Claim – If you are filing a claim for refund on Form 540X for a 
taxable year where litigation is pending or where a final determination by the 
Internal Revenue Service (IRS) is pending, write “PROTECTIVE CLAIM” in 
red ink at the top of your completed Form 540X. Specify the pending litigation 
or reference the federal determination on Side 2, Part II, line 5 so we can 
properly process your claim.
Installment Payments – If you cannot pay the full amount that you owe with 
your amended return, you may request approval to make monthly installment 
payments. You will be charged interest and may be charged a late payment 
penalty even if your request to pay in installments is granted. To limit interest 
and penalty charges, pay as much of the tax as possible with your amended 
return. To submit your request electronically, go to our website at ftb.ca.gov 
and search for installment agreement. To submit your request by mail, go to 
our website at ftb.ca.gov to download and print form FTB 3567, Installment 
Agreement Request, or call 800.338.0505 to order the form. Select Personal 
Income Tax, then select Forms and Publications, and enter code 949 when 
instructed. Mail the completed form to the FTB at the address shown on the 
form.
Tax Shelter – If the individual was involved in a reportable transaction, 
including a listed transaction, the individual may have a disclosure 
requirement. Attach federal Form 8886, Reportable Transaction Disclosure 
Statement, to the back ofthe California return along with any other supporting  
schedules. If this is the first time the reportable transaction is disclosed on 
the return, send a duplicate copy of the federal Form 8886 to the address 
below. The FTB may impose penalties if the individual fails to file federal 
Form 8886, or any other required information.
	 ATSU 398 MS F385 

Franchise Tax Board 
PO Box 1673 
Sacramento CA 95812-9900

For more information, go to our website at ftb.ca.gov and search for tax 
shelters.
Military Compensation – If you are filing an amended return to exclude 
military compensation as a result of the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act 
(P.L. 108-189), write “Military HR 100” in red at the top of Form 540X. In 
addition, attach a copy of your military Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, 
or CA Sch W-2, Wage and Withholding Summary, a revised Form 540NR, 
California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return, Schedule 
CA (540NR), California Adjustments - Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents, 
and any other affected forms or schedules to your Form 540X. If you are 
amending a taxable year for which the normal statute of limitations (SOL) 

has expired, attach a statement explaining why the SOL is still open. If the 
SOL is open because of military service in a combat zone or outside the 
United States, attach copies of any documents that show when you served 
in a combat zone or overseas. Include a daytime phone number on the 
line provided on Side 2 of Form 540X. For additional information, get FTB 
Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel.
Victims of Terrorism – California has conformed to the Victims of Terrorism 
Tax Relief Act of 2001 that allows victims who died as a result of the 
terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, and the anthrax incidents in 2001, a 
forgiveness of their state tax liability for the year immediately preceding the 
incident and all subsequent taxable years until the date of death. To qualify 
for a tax refund, the victim must have paid state income taxes or had them 
withheld.
Survivors or executors of those “Killed in Terrorist Action” (KITA) victims 
should write “KITA—9/11” or “KITA—Anthrax” in red ink at the top of the first 
page of their amended returns.
Mental Health Services Tax – Effective for taxable years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2005, a new line is added to Form 540X for the Mental Health 
Services Tax. This tax, imposed on individuals, is one percent of the taxable 
income in excess of $1 million. It is not subject to reduction by credits, 
however, it is subject to the estimated tax payment requirement, interest and 
penalties.

A	 Purpose
Use Form 540X to correct your 1990 through 2008 California personal 
income tax return (Forms 540, 540A, 540EZ, 540 2EZ, 540-ADS or Long or 
Short 540NR), whether originally filed via paper, TeleFile, e‑file, or CalFile.
Use Tax: Do not use this form to correct a “use tax” error reported on your 
original return. The State Board of Equalization (BOE) administers this tax. 
Refer all questions or requests relating to use tax to the BOE’s website at 
boe.ca.gov or call 800.400.7115.

B	 When to File
Generally, if you filed federal Form 1040X, Amended U.S. Individual Income 
Tax Return, file Form 540X within six months unless the changes do not 
affect your California tax liability. File Form 540X only after you have filed your 
original California return. 
California Statute of Limitations
Original return was filed on or before April 15th:
If you are making a claim for refund, file an amended return within four years 
from the original due date of the return or within one year from the date of 
overpayment, whichever period expires later.
Original return was filed within the extension period (April 15th -  
October 15th):
If you are making a claim for refund, file an amended return within four years 
from the date the original return was filed or within one year from the date of 
overpayment, whichever period expires later. 
Original return was filed after October 15th:
If you are making a claim for refund, file an amended return within four years 
from the original due date of the return (April 15th) or within one year from 
the date of overpayment, whichever period expires later. 
If you are filing your amended return after the normal statute of limitation 
period (four years after the due date of the original return), attach a statement 
explaining why the normal statute of limitations does not apply.
If you are filing your amended return in response to a billing notice you 
received, you will continue to receive billing notices until your amended return 
is accepted. After January 1, 2002, you may file an informal claim for refund 
even though the full amount due including tax, penalty, and interest has not 
yet been paid. After the full amount due has been paid, you have the right to 
appeal to the BOE or to file suit in court if your claim for refund is disallowed.
To file an informal claim for refund, write “INFORMAL CLAIM” in red ink at 
the top of the first page of your completed Form 540X and mail the claim to: 
	 INFORMAL CLAIMS UNIT, MS F-283 

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 1468 
SACRAMENTO CA 95812-1468
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Financially Disabled Taxpayers
The statute of limitations for filing claims for refunds is suspended during 
periods when a taxpayer is “financially disabled.” You are considered 
“financially disabled” when you are unable to manage your financial affairs 
due to medically determinable physical or mental impairment that is deemed 
to be either a terminal impairment or is expected to last for a continuous 
period of not less than 12 months. You are not considered “financially 
disabled” during any period that your spouse/RDP or any other person 
is legally authorized to act on your behalf on financial matters. For more 
information, get form FTB 1564, Financially Disabled – Suspension of the 
Statute of Limitations.

C	 Information on Income, Deductions, etc.
If you have questions, such as what income is taxable or what expenses are 
deductible, refer to the income tax booklet for the year you are amending. Be 
sure to use the proper tax table or tax rate schedule to figure your corrected 
tax. The related schedules and forms may also help you. If you amended 
your federal income tax return and made changes to your medical expense 
deduction, charitable contributions, or miscellaneous itemized deductions, 
also make adjustments on Form 540X if you itemized your deductions for 
California. Use your revised federal adjusted gross income (AGI) to compute 
the percentage limitations.

D	 Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents
Line 1 through Line 15. Do not enter amounts on these lines.
Line 16 – Complete a revised Long or Short Form 540NR. Enter on 
Form 540X, line 16, column C the total tax from your revised Long or Short 
Form 540NR.
Complete the rest of the form as directed starting on page 4, line 17 of the 
instructions. If amending taxable year 2003 or after, complete Part 1 of 
Side 2.
Required Attachments to Form 540X. You must attach the following corrected 
forms and schedules to your Form 540X or we may be unable to process your 
return.
•	 Long or Short Form 540NR. Write “AMENDED, DO NOT PROCESS 

– ATTACHMENT TO FORM 540X”” in red ink at the top of the first page of 
this form.

•	 Schedule CA (540NR), (Long Form 540NR filers only). 
•	 Any other forms and schedules that were affected by the changes you made. 
•	 A complete copy of your federal amended return, if one was filed, 

including all the revised forms and schedules.
(For taxable years 1990, 1991, and 1992, attach Schedule SI, Nonresident or 
Part-Year Resident California Adjusted Gross Income.) 

E	 Federal Notices
If you were notified of an error on your federal income tax return that changed 
your AGI, you may need to amend your California income tax return for that 
year.
If the IRS examines and changes your federal income tax return, and you owe 
additional tax, report these changes to the FTB within six months. You do not 
need to inform the FTB if the changes do not increase your California tax liability. 
If the changes made by the IRS result in a refund due, you must file a claim for 
refund within two years. Use Form 540X to make any changes to your California 
income tax returns already filed, or send copies of the IRS changes together with 
your recomputation of California tax (amended return) to:
	 ATTN: RAR/VOL AUDIT SECTION  F-310 

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 1998 
SACRAMENTO  CA  95741-1998

Include a copy of the final federal determination, along with all underlying 
data and schedules that explain or support the federal adjustment. Note 
that most penalties assessed by the IRS also apply under California law. If 
you are including penalties in a payment with your amended return, see the 
instructions for line 33a.

F	 Children Under Age 14
If your child was required to file form FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Children 
Under Age 14 with Investment Income, and your taxable income has changed, 
review your child’s return to see if you need to file an amended return. Get 
form FTB 3800 for more information.

G	 Contacting the Franchise Tax Board
If you have not received a refund within six months of filing Form 540X, do 
not file a duplicate amended return for the same year. For information on the 
status of your refund, you may write to:
	 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 

PO BOX 942840 
SACRAMENTO  CA  94240-0040

Telephone assistance is available year-round from 7 a.m. until 6 p.m. Monday 
through Friday, except holidays.
From within the United States, call . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        800.852.5711
From outside the United States, call (not toll-free) . . . . . . . . . . .            916.845.6500
Asistencia telefónica esta disponible todo el año durante las 7 a.m. y las 
6 p.m. Lunes a Viernes, excepto días festivas.
Dentro de los Estados Unidos, llame al . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                    800.852.5711
Fuera de los Estados Unidos, llame al (cargos aplican) . . . . . . .        916.845.6500
Assistance for Persons with Disabilities 
We comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act. Persons with a hearing 
or speech impairment call:
From TTY/TDD . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                       800.822.6268
Asistencia para personas discapacitadas: Nosotros estamos en 
conformidad con el Acta de Americanos Discapacitados. Personas con 
problemas auditivos o de habla, pueden llamar al 800.822.6268 con un 
aparato de telecomunicación TTY/TTD. 

H	 Where To Get Tax Forms and Publications
By Internet – You can download, view, and print California tax forms and 
publications from our website at ftb.ca.gov.
By Phone – To order 2004-2008 California tax forms and publications, call 
our automated toll‑free phone service at 800.338.0505, select personal 
income tax, then select forms and publications, and follow the recorded 
instructions.
By Mail – Write to:
	 TAX FORMS REQUEST UNIT 

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 307 
RANCHO CORDOVA  CA  95741-0307

To get California tax forms that are not available on our website, call our 
general toll‑free phone service. See General Information G, Contacting the 
FTB, for telephone numbers.

Specific Instructions
Fill out Form 540X as completely as possible. Incomplete information could 
delay the processing of your amended return.

Name and Address
Above your name on Side 1, fill in the boxes for the calendar year or write in 
the fiscal year end (month and year) of the return you are amending.
Print or type your name and address as follows:
•	 If you are amending a joint return, list your names, social security 

numbers (SSN’s) or individual taxpayer identification numbers (ITIN’s) in 
the same order as shown on your original return.

•	 If you are amending from a separate return to a joint return and your 
spouse/RDP did not file an original return, enter your name and SSN or 
ITIN on the first line and your spouse’s/RDP’s name and SSN or ITIN on 
the second line.

•	 If you are married/RDP amending a separate return, enter the SSN’S or 
ITIN’s for both you and your spouse/RDP.

If you lease a private mailbox (PMB) from a private business rather than a 
PO box from the United States Postal Service, include the Private Mail Box 
(PMB) in the address field. Write “PMB” first, then the box number. Example: 
111 Main Street PMB 123.

Filing Status
Your filing status for California must be the same as the filing status you 
used on your federal income tax return, unless you are an RDP. If you are 
an RDP and file single for federal, you must file married/RDP filing jointly or 
married/RDP filing separately for California. If you are an RDP and file head 
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of household for federal, you may file head of household for California only if 
you meet the requirements to be considered not in a domestic partnership.
Exception for filing a separate return – A married couple who filed a joint 
federal tax return may file separate state tax returns if either spouse was:
•	 An active member of the United States armed forces (or any auxiliary 

military branch) during the year being amended.
•	 A nonresident for the entire year and had no income from California 

sources during the year being amended.
Changing your filing status – If you changed your filing status on your 
federal amended return, also change your filing status for California by filing 
Form 540X unless you meet one of the exceptions listed above.
Married/RDP filing jointly to married/RDP filing separately – You cannot 
change from married/RDP filing jointly to married/RDP filing separately after 
the due date of the return.
Exception: For taxable years 2000 and after, a married couple who meet the 
“Exception for filing a separate return” shown above may change from joint to 
separate returns after the due date of the return.
Filing separate returns to married/RDP filing jointly – If you or your 
spouse/RDP (or both of you) filed a separate return, you generally can change 
to a joint return any time within four years from the original due date of the 
separate return(s). To change to a joint return, you and your spouse/RDP 
must have been legally married or an RDP on the last day of the taxable year.
Follow these steps to amend from separate returns to a joint return:
1.	 Complete only one amended return.
2.	 Column A – Enter the amounts from your original return or as previously 

adjusted (either by you or us).
3.	 Column B – Combine the amounts from:

a.	 Your spouse’s/RDP’s original return or as previously adjusted. If your 
spouse/RDP did not file an original return, include your 
spouse’s/RDP’s income, deductions, credits, other taxes, etc.

b.	 Any other changes you and your spouse/RDP are making.
4.	 Column C – Read the instructions for column C below to figure the 

amounts to enter in that column.
5.	 Both you and your spouse/RDP must sign Form 540X.
Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents – If you filed a joint return and either 
you or your spouse/RDP was a nonresident or part-year resident during 
the year you are amending, file a Long or Short Form 540NR. See General 
Information D, Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents, for more information.

Column A
Enter the amounts from your original return, the Return Information Notice, 
or the Notice of Proposed Assessment you received from the FTB, or from 
your latest amended return.

Column B
Enter the net increase (+) or net decrease (-) for each line you are changing. 
Show all decreases in parentheses. Explain each change in Part II and attach 
any related schedule or form. If you need more space, attach a separate sheet 
of paper. Be sure to include your name and SSN or ITIN on any attachments.

Column C
Add the increase (+) in column B to column A, or subtract the decrease (-) in 
column B from column A. Enter the result in column C. For any amount you 
do not change, enter the amount from column A in column C.

Line 1 through Line 6
Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents: See Section D.
Residents: Be sure to complete line 1a, line 1b, line 3, line 4, line 5, and line 6 
in column A and line 6 in column C even if you are not amending amounts on 
line 1a through line 5.
Exception: If you originally filed Form 540 2EZ and need to amend your 
tax return, complete Form 540A or Form 540 with the new and correct 
information and write “Amended” in red on the top left margin. 
540 2EZ: For taxable years 2002 and prior, when transferring the federal AGI 
information to Form 540A or Form 540, combine lines 10 and 11.
For taxable years 2003 and 2004, combine lines 11,12, and 13.
For taxable year 2005, combine lines 13,14, and 15.
For taxable years 2006 through 2008, combine lines 14,15, and 16.

Attach a statement explaining what changed and the reason for the change. 
Skip line 1 through line 15 of Form 540X and start with line 16. See the 
instructions for line 16. Attach the corrected return to your Form 540X. 
Line 1a – State Wages 
On line 1a, column A, enter your state wages from your Form 540/540A, 
line 12 or Form 540EZ, line 12. If you are amending state wages, attach 
Copy 2 of any additional or corrected Form(s) W-2 or complete CA Sch W-2 
with any additional or corrected tax information that you received after you 
filed your original return. Attach CA Sch W-2 to the back of the amended tax 
return.
Line 1b – Federal AGI 
On line 1b, column A, enter your federal AGI from your Form 540, Form 540A, 
Form 540EZ, or Form 540 2EZ.
If you filed federal Form 1040X or received an adjustment notice from the 
IRS, refigure your federal AGI and enter the revised amount in column C. 
Explain the adjustment on Side 2, Part ll, line 5.
If you are amending your federal AGI as the result of filing federal 
Form 1040X, attach a copy of the signed and dated federal Form 1040X 
(including all revised schedules) that you filed with the IRS.
Line 2a through Line 2e – California Adjustments 
On line 2a through line 2e, show adjustments to your federal AGI as negative 
or positive amounts based on differences between California and federal law. 
If you enter an amount on line 2e, attach Schedule CA (540) showing the 
changes made.
Line 3 – Total California Adjustments 
Combine line 2a through line 2e. Enter the result on line 3, column A through 
column C.
Line 4 – California AGI 
Combine line 1b and line 3 for column A through column C.
Line 5 – California Itemized Deductions or Standard Deduction 
If you claim the California standard deduction, enter the amount allowed for 
your filing status.
If you change the amount of your California itemized deductions, or if 
you change from the standard deduction to itemized deductions, attach 
Schedule CA (540) and federal Schedule A, Itemized Deductions.
Line 6 – Taxable Income 
Enter in column A your taxable income from your original return, the Return 
Information Notice, or the Notice of Proposed Assessment you received from 
the FTB, or from your latest amended return.

Line 7 through Line 15
Line 7a – Tax Method Used 
Fill in the circle that matches the method used to figure your revised tax in 
column C.
If you used:
Tax Table or Tax Rate Schedule 
If you use either of these methods to compute your tax, fill in the circle by TT.
Form FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Children Under Age 14 with 
Investment Income 
If the income is investment income reported for a child under age 14, use 
form FTB 3800 to compute the tax. Attach form FTB 3800 to the Form 540X, 
and fill in the circle by FTB 3800.
Form FTB 3803, Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends 
If you elect to report your child’s interest and dividend income with your 
income on this return, use form FTB 3803 to compute the tax. Attach form 
FTB 3803 for each child to Form 540X, and fill in the circle by FTB 3803.
Line 7b – Tax
Enter in column A the tax from your original return, the Return Information 
Notice, or the Notice of Proposed Assessment you received from the FTB, or 
from your latest amended return. If you used the tax table or tax rate schedule 
for the taxable year you are amending, enter in column C the amount of tax 
for the taxable income shown on line 6, column C. Be sure to use the correct 
tax for your filing status.
Line 8 – Exemption Credits 
If you are changing the amount of your exemption credits, refer to the income 
tax booklet for the year you are amending. Also, explain any change in 
exemption credits on Side 2, Part ll, line 5.
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Line 10 – Tax from Schedule G-1 and form FTB 5870A 
If you are changing the amount of your tax on lump-sum distributions or tax 
on accumulation distribution of trusts, complete and attach Schedule G-1, 
Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions, or form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation 
Distribution of Trusts.
Line 12 – Special Credits and Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit 
If you are changing the amount of your allowable credits, refer to the income 
tax booklet for the year you are amending. For more information on Renter’s 
Credit, refer to the chart on page 5.
If you are making a change to the amount of a credit that originally required 
completing a credit form, complete the credit form using the revised figures 
and attach it to your Form 540X. Also be sure to complete and attach other 
schedules that may be affected by this change, such as Schedule P (540), 
Alternative Minimum Tax and Credit Limitations - Residents.
Other State Tax Credit: If you are amending your return because of a change 
in the amount of taxes you paid to another state, complete and attach 
Schedule S, Other State Tax Credit. Also attach a copy of the return and 
schedules filed with the other state.
Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit: If you are amending your return to claim 
this credit for the first time or changing the amount of your credit, write 
“Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit” on Side 2, Part ll, line 5, and provide an 
explanation of why you are making the change.
Line 14 – Other Taxes 
Include any additional taxes from:
•	 Schedule P (540 or 540NR), Alternative Minimum Tax and Credit 

Limitations
•	 Form FTB 3501, Employer Child Care Program/Contribution Credit
•	 Form FTB 3518, Employer Ridesharing Credits (1995 & prior)
•	 Form FTB 3535, Manufacturers’ Investment Credit (2004 & prior)
•	 Form FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (including IRAs) and 

Other Tax-Favored Accounts
•	 Form FTB 3805Z, Enterprise Zone Deduction and Credit Summary
•	 Form FTB 3806, Los Angeles Revitalization Zone Deduction and Credit 

Summary
•	 Form FTB 3807, Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area Deduction and 

Credit Summary
•	 Form FTB 3808, Manufacturing Enhancement Area Credit Summary
•	 Form FTB 3809, Targeted Tax Area Deduction and Credit Summary
Also include any interest on deferred tax from installment obligations under 
IRC Sections 453 and 453A.
Attach the schedules or forms you used to compute other taxes.
Line 15 – Mental Health Services Tax
If your taxable income is more than $1,000,000, compute the Mental Health 
Services Tax below (for taxable years 2005 and after):

A.	 Taxable income from Form 540X, line 6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . .              ____________
B.	 Less . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                         ____________
C.	 Subtotal . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                      ____________
D.	 Multiply line C by 1% . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            ____________
E.	 Mental Health Services Tax - Enter this amount here and 
	 on Form 540X, line 15 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           ____________

Line 16 – Total Tax 
If you are amending Form 540, California Resident Income Tax Return, add 
line 13, line 14, and line 15. Enter the result on line 16. If you are amending 
the Long or Short Form 540NR, enter the total tax amount from the revised 
Form 540NR.
If you are amending Form 540 2EZ, complete Form 540A or Form 540 
with the new and correct information. Enter the total tax amount from the 
corrected Form 540/540A. 

Line 17 through Line 25
Line 17 – California Income Tax Withheld 
If you are changing the amount of California income tax withheld, attach 
Copy 2 of any additional or corrected Form(s) W-2 that you received since 
you filed your original return or complete CA Sch W-2 with any additional or 
corrected tax information that you received after you filed your original return.
Do not include withholding from Forms 592-B, Nonresident Withholding Tax 
Statement, 593, or 594, on this line.

Line 18 – California Real Estate or Nonresident Withholding
If you are changing the amount of real estate or nonresident withholding, 
attach a copy of any additional or corrected real estate withholding form 
(Form 593, Real Estate Withholding Tax Statement) or nonresident 
withholding form (Forms 592-B or 594) that you received since you filed your 
original return.
Line 19 – Excess California State Disability Insurance (SDI) or Voluntary 
Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI) 
If you are changing this amount, attach Copy 2 of any additional or corrected 
Form(s) W-2 that you received since you filed your original return or complete 
CA Sch W-2 with any additional or corrected tax information that you received 
after you filed your original return.
Line 20 – Estimated Tax Payments and Other Payments 
Enter the estimated tax payments you claimed on your return, including 
any payment made with form FTB 3519, Payment for Automatic Extension 
for Individuals, or Form 540-V, Payment Voucher for 540 Returns, or form 
FTB 3582, Payment Voucher for Individual e-filed Returns. If you made a tax 
deposit payment (form FTB 3576, Pending Audit Tax Deposit Voucher for 
Individuals) for the year you are amending and want to apply all or part of the 
tax deposit payment, include the amount on this line.
Line 21 – Child and Dependent Care Expenses Or Other Refundable Credits
Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit (Taxable years 2000 and after) 
California allows the Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit only for 
taxable years 2000 and after. If you are amending your tax return to claim this 
credit for the first time or changing the amount of the credit reported:
•	 Write “Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit” on Side 2, Part ll, 

line 5. Be sure to provide an explanation of why you are making the 
change.

	 Beginning with taxable year 2004, if your federal AGI is more than 
$100,000, you cannot claim this credit. For taxable years 2000 through 
2003, if your California AGI is more than $100,000, you cannot claim the 
credit. 

•	 Taxable years 2001 and after – Complete form FTB 3506, Child and 
Dependent Care Expenses Credit, to compute the amount of your credit. 
Attach the completed form to your Form 540X. 

	 Taxable year 2000 – Attach a copy of federal Form 2441, Child and 
Dependent Care Expenses or Form 1040A, Schedule 2, Child and 
Dependent Care Expenses for Form 1040A filers. For taxable year 2000 
only, use the following worksheet to compute this credit.

Taxable Year 2000 Only
Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit Worksheet

(Taxable years 2001 and after, use form FTB 3506)
1.	 Enter the amount from federal Form 2441, line 9,  

or federal Form 1040A, Schedule 2, line 9. . . . . . . . . . . .          1_____________
	 (Exception: If your federal credit was limited by  

the federal tax amount, enter the federal credit  
amount you computed before applying the limitation).

2.	 Enter the decimal amount for your AGI  
Form 540X, line 4  
(Long Form 540NR, line 21). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        2_____________

	 •  $40,000 or less. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              .50 
	 •  Over $40,000 but not over $70,000. . . . . . . . . . . .              .43 
	 •  Over $70,000 but not over $100,000. . . . . . . . . . .             .34 
	 •  Over $100,000. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                               -0- 
3.	 Multiply the amount on line 1 by the decimal amount  

on line 2. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     3_____________
	 •	 California residents, STOP. Do not complete the rest of the worksheet. 

Enter the amount from line 3 on Form 540X, line 21, column C.
	 •	 Nonresidents or part-year residents, continue to line 4 on the next 

page. 
Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents
4.	 Enter the ratio from the revised Long Form 540NR, 

line 25a, up to 1.00. (If your ratio is more than 1.00, 
enter 1.00. Do not enter more than 1.00.) . . . . . . . . . . .          4_____________

5.	 Multiply the amount on line 3 by the ratio on 
line 4. Enter the result here and on Form 540X,  
line 21, column C. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              5_____________

$1,000,000

x  .01
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Renter’s Credit 
Taxable Year Renter’s Credit Refundable 

Credit Available?
Enter on 

Form 540X, Line –
1973 – 1992 Yes Yes Line 21
1993 – 1997 No
1998 and after Yes No Line 12

You may not claim both credits on the same amended tax return, because the 
refundable renter’s credit applies to taxable years prior to 1993 and the Child 
and Dependent Care Expenses Credit applies to taxable years 2000 and after. 
Line 22 and Line 23
Enter the qualifying person’s social security number. If you have more than 
two qualifying persons, attach a statement to Form 540X with the required 
information. For taxable year 2000, attach a copy of the statement you 
included with the federal Form 2441 or federal Form 1040A, Schedule 2, 
listing the additional name(s) and social security number(s). 
Line 24
For taxable year 2000, enter the amount from federal Form 2441, line 9 or 
federal Form 1040A, Schedule 2, line 9. For taxable year 2001 and after, enter 
the amount from form FTB 3506, line 12. 
Line 25 – Tax Paid with Original Return 
Enter on line 25 the amount actually paid with your original return. Also, 
include any additional payments made on assessments of tax that resulted 
from examination of your original return. Do not include payments of interest 
or penalties.

Line 27 through Line 34
Line 27 – Overpaid Tax 
Enter the amount of refund received from your original return. Also, include 
the amount of payment that was applied to another year and any additional 
overpaid tax you received as a result of an examination of your original return.
Do not include any interest you received on any refund.
Line 28 – Subtotal
If line 27 is more than line 26, use the following instructions and skip 
instructions for line 29 and line 30.
1.	 Enter the difference as a positive number on line 28.
2.	 On line 29, enter total use tax payments as shown on your original return. 

If you did not make use tax payments on your original return, enter -0-.
3.	 On line 30, enter total voluntary contributions as shown on your original 

return. If you did not make any voluntary contributions on your original 
return, enter -0-.

4.	 Skip line 31.
5.	 Add line 16 (column C) and line 28 through line 30. Enter the result on 

line 32.
Line 29 – Payments Made For Use Tax
Enter total use tax payments as shown on your original return. If you did not 
make use tax payments on your original return, enter -0-.
Line 30 – Voluntary Contributions
Enter total voluntary contributions as shown on your original return. If you 
did not make any voluntary contributions on your original return, enter -0-.
Line 32 – Amount You Owe
Pay online with the FTB’s Web Pay. Go to ftb.ca.gov and search for payment 
options. 
You may also pay by credit card. Call 800.272.9829 or go to the Official 
Payments Corp’s. website at officialpayments.com and use the jurisdiction 
code 1555. Official Payments Corp. charges a convenience fee for this service.
Or, make a check or money order payable to the “Franchise Tax Board” for 
the full amount you owe. Write your SSN or ITIN and the taxable year you are 
amending, and Form 540X on your check or money order. Enclose, but do not 
staple, your check or money order to Form 540X. 
Make all checks or money orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn against 
a U.S. financial institution. A penalty may be imposed if your payment is 
returned by your bank for insufficient funds.

Mail Form 540X to:
	 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 

PO BOX 942867 
SACRAMENTO  CA  94267-0001

Interest is due on the amount on line 32 from the original due date of the 
return to the date of payment. See line 33b for more information.
Line 33a – Penalties
If you are including penalties with your payment, enter the amount of 
penalties on line 33a. Also, attach a statement to your return that shows the 
following information for each type of penalty included on line 33a: type of 
penalty (description); the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) or California Revenue 
& Taxation Code (R&TC) section that provides for assessment of the penalty 
(if possible); and a schedule showing how you computed the penalty.
Line 33b – Interest
If you owe additional tax (line 32) and are including interest with your 
payment, enter the interest on line 33b. If you do not include interest with 
your payment or include only a portion of it, the FTB will figure the interest 
and bill you for it.
Line 33c – Total Interest and Penalties
Add line 33a and line 33b. Enter the total on line 33c.
Line 34 – Refund
If you are entitled to a refund greater than the amount claimed or allowed on 
your original return, your Form 540X should show only the additional amount 
due to you. This amount will be refunded separately from the amount allowed 
on your original return. The FTB will figure any interest owed to you and 
include it in your refund.
Mail Form 540X to:
	 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 

PO BOX 942840 
SACRAMENTO  CA  94240-0002

Even after you receive a refund check, the FTB may request additional 
information to substantiate your claim.

Part I
This part is only for nonresidents or part-year residents who are amending 
taxable year 2003 or after. Transfer the requested information from your 
revised short or long Form 540NR to this part.

Part II
Explanation of Changes
For each change you make to a line on Side 1, provide the line number and 
your detailed explanation of reasons for the change. Attach all supporting 
forms and schedules for items changed. Include federal forms and schedules 
if you made a change to your federal return.
Sign Your Return
Sign your return in the space provided. Provide the name and the phone 
number of the person to contact if we have any questions about your 
amended return. Also include the best time of day to call. This information 
will allow us to provide better service in processing your amended return.
Paid Preparer’s Information
If you pay a person to prepare your Form 540X, that person must sign and 
complete the area at the bottom of Side 2, including an identification number 
(SSN/PTIN, or FEIN). A paid preparer must give you two copies of your 
Form 540X, one copy to file with the FTB and one to keep for your records.


