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TAX CREDIT:  COMPUTATION OF CREDIT FOR TAXES PAID TO ANOTHER STATE 
 
Syllabus: 
 
A California resident taxpayer paid net income taxes to another state on: (1) 
Intangible income which, under California law, has a source only in California, 
and (2) other income having a source within the other state.  An example is as 
follows: 
 
       Income derived from 
       other state sources 
    California  and taxable in both  Other state 
    Return   states    Return   
 
Interest   $   4,000          $    -0-   $  4,000 
Rent         6,000            6,000       6,000 
Other Income      90,000     -0-          -0-  
 
Adjusted Gross  $100,000         $6,000   $10,000 
Income      
 
Tax        $5,000           $400 
 
Where California residents are concerned, the right to claim a tax credit for 
net income taxes paid to a sister state is governed by Section 18001 of the 
Revenue and Taxation Code.  In part, this section reads as follows: 
 

   ". . . (a tax) credit shall be allowed only for taxes paid to the other state 
on income derived from sources within that state which is taxable under its laws 
irrespective of the residence or domicile of the recipient . . ." (Italics 
added). 

 
Under well established California case law, income derived from intangible 
personal property has a tax source in the state in which the taxpayer 
resides unless the intangible property has acquired a business situs elsewhere. 
Miller v. McColgan, 17 Cal.2d 432, 110 Pac.2d 419 (1941).  Accordingly, where a 
California resident pays net income taxes to a sister state on income which has 
a source only in California (as defined by California law) a tax credit as to 
the taxes paid attributable to such income is not allowable.  Appeal of Hallie 
Bills, Cal. St. Bd. of Equal., April 5, 1965, CCH P202-854, P-H 58,373. 
 



                                                          
Under these facts, the amount of tax credit allowable is $240 which is the 
amount representing the smaller of two computations: 
 
   1.  (A) $6,000 / (B) $100,000 X (C) $5,000=(D) $300 
 
   2.  (A) $6,000 / (E) $10,000 X (F) $400=(G) $240 
 
(A) Income derived from sources within the other state and also taxable by 
California. 
 
(B) Total adjusted California gross income. 
 
(C) California tax. 
 
(D) Maximum tax credit available under Section 18001(c). 
 
(E) Total income taxed by other state. 
 
(F) Other state's tax. 
 
(G) Tax attributable to income having a source within other state and also 
taxable by California. 
 
 
 


