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Welcome to the Franchise Tax Board’s Free Webinar: How to Request Waivers for the 
Underpayment of Estimated Tax Penalty Due to Proposition 30. 
 
During today’s webinar, I will show you: 
 

• How to request a waiver or reduction of the underpayment of estimated tax 
penalty.  

• Examples of how to compute the waiver or reduction amount.  
• Helpful tips for completing Form FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by 

Individuals and Fiduciaries. 
 

This webinar will last about 30 minutes. So, for the tax professionals attending today, 
unfortunately this means the webinar does not meet the 50-minute class hour 
requirement for continuing education. 
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Using Your Control Panel
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Before we get started, I want to take a moment to explain how the control panel on your 
screen works. In the upper right corner of your screen, you should see a tab. Just click 
on the arrow on the tab to expand out your control panel. 

This slide shows an image of a control panel that is similar to the one on your screen. 
On it are the various parts of the control panel and their function. Please use it as a 
reference to guide your use of the control panel during the presentation. 

Notice that your control panel has a dial-in number and access code on it. If at any point 
during the presentation you lose our signal, or if you can’t hear the audio, please call the 
number listed on your screen to hear this webinar over the phone. 
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At the bottom of your control panel, there’s a place for you to type in questions. Please 
feel free to type in your questions at any time during the webinar. I’ll do my best to 
answer those questions at the end of the presentation or respond back to you directly 
as soon as possible after the webinar. 
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Now, let me introduce myself. My name is Brenda Voet. I have more than 25 years of 
experience with the Franchise Tax Board. I spent 20 years as an auditor, hearing officer 
and subject matter expert, and even earned a Master’s degree in taxation. I am now a 
technical advisor to the Taxpayers’ Advocate. 

Well, that’s enough about me. Let’s talk taxes! 
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So, as you know, both California and federal taxes are “pay-as-you go” which means 
that taxes must be paid as income is earned or received during the year. This can be 
done either through wage withholdings or by making estimated tax payments.  

For wage earners, the prepayment of tax is withheld from each paycheck and then 
forwarded to the proper governmental agency by the employer.  
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Estimated tax is the method used to pay tax on income that is not subject to 
withholding. This includes income from: 

• self-employment 
• interest 
• dividends 
• alimony 
• rent 
• gains from the sale of assets 
• prizes, and awards 

Estimated taxes may also need to be paid if the amount of income being withheld from 
salary, pension, or other income is not enough.  

Presently for California tax purposes, individuals may pay 100% of their estimated 
payments in 3 installments directly to the Franchise Tax Board. You must prepay: 

• 30% of your estimated taxes by April 15th  
• 40% by June 15th  
• And, again 30% by January 15th   

For California, there is no installment payment due on September 15th.  

So, when at least 90% of the current year’s tax or 100% of the prior year’s tax is not 
paid throughout the year, either through withholding or by making estimated tax 
payments, a penalty may be imposed.  

The penalty is equal to the interest that is due on the underpayment amount for the 
period of the underpayment.  
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The total amount that needs to be paid varies, but generally, there is no “underpayment 
penalty” when: 

• The total tax due minus credits plus withholding is less than $500 
• There was no tax liability on the prior full year’s tax return 
• 100 percent (or 110% for high income earners) of the prior year's tax was 

prepaid. Because the Proposition 30 tax rate increases are to high-income 
earners, today we will be using the 110% 

• 90 percent of the current year's tax was prepaid 
• Or, for tax year 2012, the penalty was due to the Proposition 30 tax increase 

Fortunately, the Form FTB 5805 is designed to guide us through each of these tests to 
determine if a penalty is due. 
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For the next seven years, Proposition 30 raises the personal income tax rate on: 

• Individuals filing a separate return or using the single filing status who make 
more than $250,000 per year, 

• Individuals using the Head of Household filing status with income of more than 
$340,000 per year, or 

• Couples filing a joint return with income of more than $500,000 per year  

But, you don’t have to request a waiver for the next seven years. The waiver relief is 
only for tax year 2012, the first year of this increase, because Proposition 30 was 
approved by voters in November of 2012, yet the tax was effective January 1, 2012. 
This caused an 11 month period where we didn’t exactly know what the actual tax rate 
was.  

So, 2012 is the only year that a portion of the underpayment of estimated tax may be 
due to the Proposition 30 tax increase, and qualify to be waived. 
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During this webinar, I will only be providing examples of how to compute and request a 
waiver of the penalty for high-income individuals for their 2012 tax year.  

Please be aware that in many cases the underlying penalty is still imposed regardless of 
the Proposition 30 tax increase.  

Generally, Form FTB 5805 does not need to be submitted when the penalty is due. FTB 
will figure the penalty and send a bill. However, the 5805 is used to request a waiver. 
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The amount of the waiver is just the difference between the tax computed using the 
current, or post-Proposition 30 tax rate, less the tax that results from using the pre-
Proposition 30 tax rate. Just like when the waiver computation is done when there is a 
casualty, disaster, or other unusual circumstances.   

The difference is then multiplied by .02746995 which is the penalty rate used to 
compute the penalty amount for tax year 2012.  

The result is the amount of the penalty that should be waived. 

I believe that the best way to show this computation is through examples. 

For purposes of this webinar, I will be presenting a manual computation of the waiver 
amount using the Form FTB 5805 to show you the steps of this process.  

If you are using a software program to prepare a tax return, you will need to follow your 
software instructions.  
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This is James.  

He is single and had taxable income of $475,000 in 2012.  

James made estimated tax payments totaling $38,000 during 2012 and had a tax 
liability of $41,823 in tax year 2011. 
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The first step in computing James’ waiver is to calculate the underpayment penalty 
using the “current tax rates,” which are also the “post-Proposition 30 rates.” 

So, for this example the tax on $475,000 is $45,788. 

90% of the $45,788 equals $41,200 and James reports this on line 2. 

James only made estimated payments, so there is no withholding to report on Line 3. 

Since the amount on line 4 is greater than $500, James must continue on to the next 
test. 

For line 5, James had California adjusted gross income of more than $150,000. So, he 
must figure his estimated tax based on the lesser of 90 percent of his tax for 2012 or 
110 percent of his tax for 2011. In this example, 110 percent of his tax for tax year 2011 
of $41,823 is $45,778.  
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Next, on Line 6 James would enter the lesser of 90 percent of tax for 2012 or 110 
percent of tax for 2011 which in this example is $41,200 or 90% of his tax for 2012.  

So, since James only paid $38,000 in estimated taxes, which is less than $41,200, he 
has an underpayment of $3,200. 

The $3,200 underpayment in this example results in a penalty of $88. 

The next step is to compute the penalty again using the pre-Proposition 30 tax rates. 
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2012 Form FTB 5805

Computed Using Pre-Prop. 30 Tax Rates
Provided on Page 5 of Instructions for Form FTB 5805 
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Following the same process, but using the pre-Proposition 30 rates as found on the Tax 
Rate Tables provided on Page 5 of the instructions for the Form FTB 5805, we find that 
the tax is $41,778 and that 90% of this is $37,600. 

So, in this example, there is no penalty since James made estimated payments of 
$38,000. 
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Tax computed using 
current tax rates:

Tax computed using 
pre-Prop. 30 tax rates:
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Enter waiver amount on Line 13 of Part II on Form FTB 5805:

Waiver Amount: $88 – 0 = $88

Computation of Waiver Amount

($88.00)
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The final step in computing the waiver amount is to subtract the pre-Proposition 30 
penalty from the penalty computed using the current tax rates. 

In this example, the entire penalty was caused by the increase in the tax rates due to 
Proposition 30. Accordingly, a Form FTB 5805 should be filed to request a waiver of the 
entire $88 underpayment penalty amount. 
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James should check the “Yes” box on Line 1 of Part 1 of the 5805 and include 
“Underpayment due to Proposition 30” as the explanation. 

Then on Line 13, in Part II, James would enter the $88 he wants waived in parentheses 
on the dotted line as shown. 

Slide #12 

2012 Form FTB 5805

Final 2012 Form FTB 5805
Attach to back of 2012 tax return 

$6.00($88.00) 16  

This is the 5805 that James would attach to his 2012 state tax return. Please note that 
this is the 5805 that reflects the current year tax rates or post-Proposition 30 to compute 
the penalty with the amount of waiver also shown on Line 13. 

Let’s go through one more example. 
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This is Betty. She is also single. In 2012, Betty had taxable income of $1,475,000 from 
wages and the sale of stock. 

Betty had $26,000 withheld from her wages and made estimated payments of $12,000. 

Her 2011 tax was $22,758. 
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N/A

 

Following the same steps as in the first example, Betty starts by first computing the tax 
using the current tax rates. In this example, the tax is $173,278. This includes the 1% 
Mental Health Service Tax on taxable income of more than $1 million. 
 
90% of the tax is $155,590 and Betty reports this on line 2.  
 
On line 3, Betty would report the $26,000 withheld from her wages. Since the $26,000 
withheld does not exceed the taxes shown on line 1, and the resulting difference 
reported on line 4 is more than $500, Betty must continue on to the next test. 
 
Because Betty’s California adjusted gross income was more than $1 million, the 
prepayment test of 100 or 110% of the prior year’s tax exception is not available. So, 
Betty will need to have paid 90% of her current year's tax to avoid the penalty. 
 
In this example, Betty did not. Her total underpayment is $117,950, the result of the 
90% of the current year’s tax of $155,590, less her combined withholding and estimated 
tax payments totaling $38,000. Consequently, she has a potential underpayment 
penalty of $3,240. 
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2012 Form FTB 5805

Computed Using Pre-Prop. 30 Tax Rates
Provided on Page 5 of Instructions for Form FTB 5805 
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N/A
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To see if any of this penalty is due to the Proposition 30 tax rate increase, Betty must 
now compute the penalty using the pre-Proposition 30 rates as found on the Tax Rate 
Tables provided on Page 5 of the instructions for the Form FTB 5805. 

In doing so, she finds that the tax is now $139,528, including the 1% Mental Health 
Service Tax, which produces a 90% test of $125,575, that she reports on line 2. Again, 
the prepayment test of 100 or 110% of prior year’s tax exception is not available since 
her California adjusted gross income is over $1 million. 

Betty’s combined withholding and estimated tax payments totaling $38,000 still does not 
pass the 90% test. However, her penalty amount is now $2,406. 
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2012 Form FTB 5805

Tax computed using 
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Tax computed using 
pre-Prop. 30 tax rates:
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($834.00)

 

So, in comparing the two computations, we see in this example that a request to waive 
the Underpayment Penalty by $834 should be made due to the Proposition 30 tax 
increase. 
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2012 Form FTB 5805

Final 2012 Form FTB 5805
Attach to back of 2012 tax return 

17($834.00)

N/A

 

Here is the 5805 Betty would attach to her 2012 state tax return. It is the 5805 that used 
the current year tax rates, post-Proposition 30, to compute the penalty. 

Betty should remember to check the “Yes” box on Line 1 of Part 1 of the 5805 and 
include “Underpayment due to Proposition 30” as the explanation. 
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On line 13, Betty will enter the amount she wants waived in parentheses, in this 
example, $834. The difference between the $3,240 shown on line 11 and the $834 
waiver amount entered in the parentheses on the dotted portion of line 13 equals 
$2,406,  or the pre-Proposition 30 Underpayment Penalty amount.  
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Taxable 
Income

Current Tax 
Liability

Tax Using 
Pre-Prop. 
30 Rates

Tax 
Difference

Waiver 
Amount

$7,400 $74 $74 $0 $0

$17,000 $265 $265 $0 $0

$27,000 $652 $652 $0 $0

$38,000 $1,294 $1,294 $0 $0

$48,000 $2,079 $2,079 $0 $0

$250,000 $20,853 $20,853 $0 $0

$300,000 $26,003 $25,503 $500 $14

$500,000 $48,603 $44,103 $4,500 $124

$1,500,000 $176,603 $142,103 $34,500 $948

 

This chart shows potential wavier amounts for various income levels. As you can see, in 
most cases the waiver amount may be minimal. 

So, I really hope that you are able to use a software program that will do this 
computation for you, so that you do not need to manually go through the numerous 
steps that we have shown that are required to compute the waiver amount.  

Although not covered in the examples in this webinar, when the annualized income 
installment method is used because income varied during the year, the process for 
computing the waiver amount is the same. Specifically, you would first compute the 
underpayment penalty using the current year tax rates, and then you would compute it a 
second time using the pre-Proposition 30 tax rate found on the Tax Rate Tables 
provided on Page 5 of the instructions for the Form FTB 5805. A comparison of the 
results will indicate if any of the penalty was caused by the increase in the tax rate due 
to Proposition 30.  
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Finally, information about withholding, estimated payments, and more is available online 
at ftb.ca.gov by using MyFTB Account.  

You will need to complete a one-time registration process to gain access to MyFTB 
Account. This process is simple. You just answer a series of questions and select a 
user name and password. 

 

Individuals register with: 

• A valid email address 
• Their social security number 
• The first and last name from the most recently filed California tax return, and  
• Information from one of their previously filed California tax returns 

Tax Professionals register with: 
 

• A valid email address 
• Social security number or Federal Employer Identification Number 
• One of the following ID numbers:  

o Preparer Tax Identification Number 
o Electronic Filer Identification Number 
o California Tax Education Council Number, or 
o Certified Public Accountant Number 

 
You cannot register as a tax professional if you do not have one of these ID numbers. 

Well, that concludes the main presentation, but it looks like we have time now for a few 
questions. If at any time during the presentation you submitted a question, I’ll do my 
best in the next few minutes to answer them. And if I don’t get to them, I’ll work on 
getting you a direct response as soon as possible. 

How can I get a copy of this presentation? 

We usually get asked this question a lot after our webinars. We hope to have this 
webinar available on our website at ftb.ca.gov as soon as possible. I believe if you 
search for “5805 proposition 30 waiver,” you should be able to locate it.  

If you request a copy during this webinar, I will do my best to email a copy directly to 
you within a week. 

 



Franchise Tax Board’s Free Webinar: How to Request Waivers for the Underpayment of 
Estimated Tax Penalty Due to Proposition 30 

 03/26/2013  13 
 

 

Here is another one. Why can’t I just compute the penalty once and use the pre-
Proposition 30 rates and attach that 5805 to the return? 

Although it would reflect the penalty amount that would most likely be imposed, it 
doesn’t properly request the waiver. Instead, it may just appear that the penalty amount 
was not properly computed.  

However, if you check the “Yes” box on Part 1 of the 5805 and put the explanation that 
the “Underpayment was due to Proposition 30”, this should be enough to put us on 
notice to compute this penalty accordingly.  

Here’s another question. Do you need a power of attorney? 

Well you probably don’t need a power of attorney to file the return or the waiver. 
However, if you are going to be talking with us, if you have any questions, or anything 
that you would like to know specifically about your client’s account, you would most 
definitely need a power of attorney because we need authorization to be able to talk 
with you about confidential information. We just had a webinar earlier this month that 
talked about the power of attorney.  

Our new power of attorney form is available online at ftb.ca.gov and there are really 
good instructions on how to complete the form. So, if you want to talk about confidential 
information, you need a power of attorney and I would encourage you to do that. 

Another question is an individual made over $1 million dollars in 2012 (first year over $1 
million). His estimated tax payments for 2012 were based on 110% of his 2011 taxes. Is 
some kind of waiver available? 

Well, that depends… Actually, the prior year’s tax test is not available when AGI is more 
than a million dollars, by law. So, it’s going to be based on 2012 tax for the Proposition 
30 amount. But, waivers also are available if there was some sort of casualty/disaster 
loss or some sort of unexpected event. So, I’m wondering if this may be, deemed to be 
an unexpected event? I have to be honest with you right now. I don’t know off the top of 
my head the qualifications for that, but I would encourage you to look into that to find out 
if this was a one-time event that may qualify as an unexpected event. 

Can you annualize the underpayment penalty? 

Yes. As I said earlier, the annualized income installment method can be used. It’s a 
more complicated process. I didn’t choose to go over it with this webinar because I 
wanted to give you the foundation so that you would have an understanding as to how 
to arrive to the waiver amount due to the Proposition 30. You can annualize the 
underpayment penalty following the instructions in our 5805. The thing to know about 
Proposition 30 is that you will go through it the same as we showed in the webinar.  
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First you will go through it using the current tax rate and then you will go ahead and go 
through the computation once more using the pre-Proposition 30 tax rates. Then 
compare those figures to see if the fact that the income varying throughout the year will 
cause the penalty to be there if a portion of it can be relieved due to the Proposition 30. 

Are EAs authorized tax reps? You’ve mentioned PTIN, CTEC, EFIN, or CPA. 

You are right. I did. In creating the account for tax professionals, unfortunately, we don’t 
get the enrolled agents number from the IRS but we do know that you have a Preparer’s 
Tax Identification number and we do get that information. We definitely recognize 
enrolled agents. I got to tell you that I passed part one of the test and I admire all those 
that have gone through that test. So, it has nothing to do with the fact that you are an 
enrolled agent and we don’t recognize you. We do very much and we greatly 
understand what you have gone through. We just don’t get your enrolled agent’s 
number and we need you to use the Preparer’s Tax Identification number. 

Does FTB refund automatically if the client overpays the penalty? 

If you overpay the penalty, we will go through the computation and yes, it will be 
refunded. Automatically? It all depends. If there is an outstanding balance due, it may 
be used to pay this. However, in most cases, the difference should automatically back 
to you without having to request that. 

You mentioned 5805 is for a waiver and FTB would calculate the penalty. What would 
need to be completed on the 5805 to request a waiver and not calculate the penalty? 

If you don’t submit a 5805 we will automatically compute the penalty. We are going to 
compute the penalty using the current tax rates. If you are in a high income situation 
and you do know that Proposition 30 is impacting you, I would encourage you to submit 
the 5805 and use that as a request for waiver relief from the tax increase. So if you 
know there is a penalty and you don’t believe there is a waiver that can be done for the 
Proposition 30 you don’t need to complete the 5805. We will do that for you. But, if there 
is a situation you want to request a waiver, that’s when we are asking you to complete 
the 5805. Indicate on line 1, by the box, that you are requesting a waiver. Give us an 
explanation as to why and then show us the amount you believe that should be waived. 

Well, it looks like we are done with most of the questions. If some others come on in I 
didn’t have the opportunity to answer like I promised, I will do so directly to you.  

That’s it for this presentation. Thank you for watching, and I hope you have a nice day! 


