State of California — Franchise Tax Board

Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments

FTB Pub.1001

What’s New

Same-Sex Married Couples — Married couples
must file their California income tax returns
using either the married/RDP filing jointly or
married/RDP filing separately filing status. On
May 26, 2009, the California Supreme Court
ruled that the Proposition 8 constitutional
amendment is valid and only marriage between
a man and a woman is recognized in California.
However, the court also held that same-sex
couple marriages performed in California

after 5:00 p.m. on June 16, 2008, and before
November 5, 2008, are valid marriages for
California purposes. For more information, get
FTB Pub. 776, Tax Information for Same-Sex
Married Couples or go to fth.ca.gov and search
for same sex married couples.

Mortgage Forgiveness Debt Relief Extended -
California law partially conforms to the federal
Mortgage Forgiveness Debt Relief Act of 2007
and the Emergency Economic Stabilization

Act of 2008 for discharges of indebtedness
occurring on or after January 1, 2009. California
limits the amount of qualified principal
residence indebtedness to $800,000 ($400,000
for married/RDP filing separately)(the federal
limit is $2,000,000/$1,000,000 for MFS) and
debt relief to $500,000 ($250,000 for married/
RDP filing separately). For more information,
go to fth.ca.gov and search for mortgage
forgiveness.

Hokie Spirit Memorial Fund Exclusion -
California law conforms to federal law to
exclude from income any amount received
from the Hokie Spirit Memorial Fund for the
events at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and
State University on April 16, 2007. The income
is excluded from gross income for any taxable
year and is thus retroactive in its application.

General Information

In general, California law conforms to the Internal
Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 2005. However,
there are continuing differences between California
and federal law. When California conforms to
federal tax law changes, we do not always adopt
all of the changes made at the federal level. For
more information, go to fth.ca.gov and search for
conformity. Additional information can be found in
the instructions for California Schedule CA (540 or
540NR) and the Business Entity tax booklets.

The instructions provided with California tax
forms are a summary of California tax law
and are only intended to aid taxpayers in
preparing their state income tax returns. We
include information that is most useful to the
greatest number of taxpayers in the limited
space available. It is not possible to include
all requirements of the California Revenue
and Taxation Code (R&TC) in the tax booklets.
Taxpayers should not consider the tax booklets
as authoritative law.

Net Operating Loss — For taxable years
beginning in 2008 and 2009, California has
suspended the net operating loss (NOL)
carryover deduction. Taxpayers may continue
to compute and carryover an NOL during the
suspension period. However, taxpayers with net
business income of less than $500,000 or with
disaster loss carryovers are not affected by the
NOL suspension rules.

The carryover period for suspended losses is

extended by:

* Two years for losses incurred in taxable
years beginning before January 1, 2008.

e One year for losses incurred in taxable years
beginning on or after January 1, 2008, and
before January 1, 2009.

Also, NOL carryovers and the number of
taxable years to which the loss may be carried,
are modified. For more information, see

form FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss (NOL)
Computation and NOL and Disaster Loss
Limitations — Individuals, Estates, and Trusts.

NOL carrybacks shall not be allowed for any
net operating losses attributable to taxable
years beginning before January 1, 2011. For
more information on NOL carrybacks, see form
FTB 3805V.

Registered Domestic Partners (RDP) — RDPs
under California law must file their California
income tax returns using either the married/RDP
filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately
filing status. RDPs have the same legal benefits,
protections, and responsibilities as married
couples unless otherwise specified.

If you entered into in a same sex legal union in
another state, other than a marriage, and that
union has been determined to be substantially
equivalent to a California registered domestic
partnership, you are required to file a California

income tax return using either the married/RDP
filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately
filing status. For more information on what
states have legal unions that are considered
substantially equivalent, go to fth.ca.gov and
search for attorney general.

For purposes of California income tax,
references to a spouse, husband, or wife also
refer to a California registered domestic partner
(RDP), unless otherwise specified. When

we use the initials RDP they refer to both a
California registered domestic “partner” and a
California registered domestic “partnership,” as
applicable. For more information on RDPs, get
FTB Pub. 737, Tax Information for Registered
Domestic Partners.

Conformity
For updates regarding the following federal acts,
go to fth.ca.gov and search for conformity.
Tax Increase Prevention and Reconciliation
Act of 2005
e Federal Energy Policy Act of 2005
e Pension Protection Act of 2006
e Small Business and Work Opportunity Act
of 2007
* Mortgage Forgiveness Debt Relief Act of 2007
e Economic Stimulus Act of 2008
e Heroes Earnings Assistance and Relief Tax
(HEART) Act of 2008
e American Recovery and Reinvestment Act
of 2009

Purpose

Use these guidelines to make adjustments to
federal adjusted gross income that are necessary
because of current year or prior year differences
between California and federal law. Generally, you
report these adjustments directly on Schedule
CA (540), California Adjustments — Residents, or
Schedule CA (540NR), California Adjustments —
Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents. If required
to make multiple adjustments for any one line on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), attach a statement
to your return summarizing these adjustments.

In some cases you need to complete other
forms or schedules to figure the adjustment

to carry to Schedule CA (540 or 540NR). See
“Order Forms and Publications” in your tax
booklet for information about ordering forms or
go to fth.ca.gov.

ITEM

DIFFERENCES BETWEEN FEDERAL
AND CALIFORNIA LAW

WHAT TO DO
FOR CALIFORNIA

Income
Wages, Salaries, Tips, etc.

e Military pay

Special rules apply to active duty military pay and income from

services performed by certain spouses of military personnel.
Native Americans with military pay also see “Earnings of
American Indians” on page 2.

o Sick pay received under
the Federal Insurance
Contributions Act and
Railroad Retirement Act

these Acts.

California excludes from income the sick pay received under

Get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military
Personnel, for more information.

Enter qualifying sick pay included in federal
income on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 7,
column B.
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ITEM

DIFFERENCES BETWEEN FEDERAL

AND CALIFORNIA LAW

WHAT TO DO
FOR CALIFORNIA

e Income exempted by U.S.
treaties

e Employee income exclusions
for ridesharing fringe
benefits

 (alifornia Qualified Stock
Options (CQSOs)

e Earnings of American
Indians

e (Clergy housing exclusion

* Housing exclusion for
state-employed clergy

Income exempted by treaty under federal law may be excluded
for California only if the treaty specifically excludes the income

for state purposes.

Under federal law and the provisions administered by the
Employment Development Department, qualified transportation
benefits are excluded from gross income. Under the California
Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC), there are no monthly limits
for the exclusion of these benefits and California’s definitions are

more expansive.

For 2009, federal law provides an income exclusion for the

value of qualified parking provided to an employee up to $230

per month. Also, federal law provides an income exclusion for
commuter highway transportation and transit passes provided to
an employee up to $120 per month for January and February 2009
and up to $230 from March through December 2009.

California law provides an income exclusion for compensation
or the fair market value of other benefits (except for salary or
wages) received for participation in a California ridesharing
arrangement (subsidized parking, commuting in a third-party
vanpool, a private commuter bus, a subscription taxipool,

and monthly transit passes provided for employees and their

dependents).

California law provides an income exclusion for California
qualified stock options (issued on or after 01/01/97 and before
01/01/02), that are exercised by an individual who has earned
income for the taxable year from the corporation granting the
CQSO0 of $40,000 or less; and has exercised options for no more
than 1,000 shares with a combined fair market value of less than
$100,000 (determined at the time the options are granted). Get
FTB Pub. 1004, Stock Option Guidelines, for more information.

Federal law taxes income received by Indians from reservation

sources.

California does not tax income earned by tribal members who live
in Indian country affiliated with their tribe and receive earnings
from the same tribal source of which they are members. Military
compensation is considered income from tribal sources. For
more information, get FTB 674, Frequently Asked Questions

About the Income Taxation of Native Americans.

Native Americans who are domiciled on an Indian reservation and
receive military compensation must refigure any AGI percentage
calculation(s) by first subtracting military compensation from

Federal AGI.

Both California and federal law allow members of the clergy

an exclusion from income for either the rental value of a home
furnished as part of their compensation or for a rental allowance
paid as part of their compensation to the extent it is used to

provide a home.

Effective 01/01/02, under federal law, the exclusion for the rental
allowance is limited to the fair rental value of the home (including

furnishings and a garage) and the cost of utilities.

California does not limit the exclusion for the rental allowance to

the fair rental value of the home.

Effective 01/01/03, for clergy members employed by the State of
California, up to 50% of gross salary may be allocated for either
the rental value of a home furnished or the rental allowance paid

to them to rent or provide a home.

Enter the amount excluded from federal income
on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 7,
column C.

Enter the amount of ridesharing fringe benefits
received and included in federal income on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 7, column B.

Enter on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 7,
column B the amount included in federal income
that qualifies for the California exclusion.

Enter on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 7,
column B the earnings included in federal income
that are exempt for California.

Enter on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 7,
column B the excess housing allowance
exclusion allowed for California over the federal
exclusion.

If the amount of your federal exclusion is

less than your California exclusion, enter the
adjustment on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR),
line 7, column B. If the amount of your federal
exclusion is greater than your California
exclusion, enter the adjustment on Schedule CA
(540 or 540NR), line 7, column C.
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ITEM

DIFFERENCES BETWEEN FEDERAL
AND CALIFORNIA LAW

WHAT TO DO
FOR CALIFORNIA

* Nonresident employee
compensation of merchant
seamen, rail carriers, motor
carriers, and air carriers.

Taxable Interest Income
¢ Non-California bonds:

1) United States

2) Other states

* Loans made to a business
located in an enterprise zone

* Interest income received
from settlement payments
from individuals persecuted
during the Ottoman Turkish
Empire from 1915-1923

e Interest income from
children

e Exempt interest dividends
(Mutual Funds)

For California, nonresidents may exclude the following from
gross income: compensation for the performance of duties of
certain merchant seamen and compensation of an employee of a
rail carrier, motor carrier, or air carrier.

Federal law requires the interest earned on federal bonds (U.S.
obligations) to be included in gross income. California does not
tax this interest income. The following are not considered U.S.
obligations for Galifornia purposes: Federal National Mortgage
Association (Fannie Mae); Government National Mortgage
Association (Ginnie Mae); or Federal Home Loan Mortgage
Corporation (Freddie Mac).

Federal law does not tax interest from state or local bonds.
California taxes the interest from non-California state and local
bonds.

California law allows a deduction from income for the amount

of net interest received from loans made to a trade or business
located within an enterprise zone. Federal law has no comparable
deduction.

California law excludes from gross income, interest income
received from settlement payments by individuals persecuted
by the regime that was in control of the Ottoman Turkish Empire
from 1915 until 1923, or the individual’s heirs or estate.

Federal law allows parents’ election to report a child’s interest
income from a child under age 18. Beginning in 2008, the federal
law applies to a child who is age 18 and whose earned income

is not more than half of the child’s support; and a student who is
under age 24 and whose earned income is not more than half of
the child’s support.

California allows you to report your child’s interest income under
age 14. For California purposes, children age 14 and above are
required to file a California state income tax return if they meet
the minimum income tax reporting requirements.

If for Federal purposes you made the election to report a child’s
interest income on the parents’ return, and for California you
did not make the same election, the children are required to file
a California state income tax return if they meet the minimum
income tax reporting requirements.

California does not tax dividends paid by a fund attributable

to interest received from U.S. obligations or California state

or municipal obligations IF at least 50% of the fund’s assets
would be exempt from California tax when held by an individual.
California taxes dividends derived from mutual funds that are
paid from interest received from obligations (bonds) issued by
non-Galifornia states or municipalities in other states. The fund
will provide a statement regarding the dividends it pays.

Enter the amount included in federal income that
qualifies for the California exclusion on Schedule
CA (540NR), line 7, column B.

Enter the amount of federal bond interest
included in federal income on Schedule CA (540
or 540NR), line 8, column B.

Enter the interest from non-California state or
local bonds on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR),
line 8, column C.

Use form FTB 3805Z, Enterprise Zone Deduction
and Credit Summary. Transfer the net interest
deduction from form FTB 3805Z to Schedule CA
(540 or 540NR), line 8, column B. Write

“FTB 3805Z” next to the dotted line on Form 540
or Long Form 540NR, line 14.

Enter the interest on Schedule CA (540 or
540NR), line 8, column B.

For the child’s California return:

e [fyou are filing Form 540 2EZ, enter the
amounts from your federal Form 1099’s
(Schedule CA is not necessary).

e |f you are filing Form 540, 540A, or 540NR,
enter the amount of the child’s interest
income for ages children 14 through 18 and
students under age 24 on Schedule CA (540
or 540NR), line 8, column C, as reported on
your federal Form 1099’s.

For the parent’s California return:

Enter the amount of your child’s interest income
for ages children 14 through 18 and students
under age 24, on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR),
line 8, column B. The amounts included on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) are from federal
Form 8814, Parent’s Election to Report Child’s
Interest and Dividends, line 12

If the value of U.S. and California state or
municipal obligations is at least 50% of the fund’s
total assets, enter the amount of exempt interest
dividends that are attributed to U.S. obligations
included in federal income on Schedule CA (540
or 540NR), line 8, column B.

If the taxpayer received any dividends from the
fund attributable to obligations issued by non-
California states or municipalities within other
states that were excluded from the taxpayer’s

federal income, enter that excluded amount on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 8, column C
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DIFFERENCES BETWEEN FEDERAL

ITEM AND CALIFORNIA LAW

WHAT TO DO
FOR CALIFORNIA

Dividend Income

e Noncash patronage dividend  Federal law taxes the dividend in the year of receipt. California
from farmers’ cooperatives permits an election to include the dividend in gross income either
or mutual associations when received or when redeemed. Once an election is made,

this method must be followed unless a change in the method of
reporting is approved by the Franchise Tax Board (FTB).

e Controlled Foreign California taxes CFC dividends in the year distributed rather than
Corporation (CFC) in the year earned.
 Distributions of pre-1987 Prior to 1987, California treated all federal S corporations as

earnings from S corporations  C corporations. So when a federal S corporation first becomes
a California S corporation, its initial accumulated adjustments
account (AAA) has a zero balance regardless of the federal
AAA balance. If distributions from the S corporation exceed
the California balance in the AAA, you have a distribution from
pre-1987 earnings.

e Regulated Investment California taxes the undistributed capital gain from a RIC in the
Company (RIC) year distributed rather than in the year earned.

e Dividend income from Federal law allows parents’ election to report a child’s dividend
children income from a child under age 18. Beginning in 2008, the federal

law applies to a child who is age 18 and whose earned income
is not more than half of the child’s support; and a student who is
under age 24 and whose earned income is not more than half of
the child’s support.

California allows you to report your child’s dividend income
under age 14. For California purposes, children age 14 and above
are required to file a California state income tax return if they
meet the minimum income tax reporting requirements.

If for Federal purposes you made the election to report a child’s
dividend income on the parents’ return, and for California you
did not make the same election, the children are required to file

a California state income tax return if they meet the minimum
income tax reporting requirements.

Taxahle Refunds, Credits, or Offsets of Local Income Taxes

e State income tax refund Federal law includes the state income tax refund in income.
California excludes the state income tax refund from income.

Alimony Received

e Alimony received by a For a nonresident alien, alimony received which was not included
nonresident alien on the federal return must be included on the California return.

If you elect or elected to include the dividend in
the year redeemed, enter the amount received on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 9, column B.
Enter the amount redeemed on Schedule CA (540
or 540NR), line 9, column C.

If CFC dividends are earned in one year and
distributed in a later year, enter the dividends
included in federal income for the year earned on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 9, column B
and enter the dividends for the year distributed
on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 9,

column C.

Enter distributions from pre-1987 earnings (or
earnings in any later year that the corporation

was a federal S corporation and a California C

corporation) on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR),

line 9, column C.

If capital gain from a RIC is earned in one year
and distributed in a later year, enter the capital
gain included in federal income for the year
earned on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 9,
column B and enter the capital gain for the year
distributed on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR),
line 9, column C.

For the child’s California return:

e |f you are filing Form 540 2EZ, enter the
amounts from your federal Form 1099’s
(Schedule CA is not necessary).

e |f you are filing Form 540, 540A, or 540NR,
enter the amount of the child’s dividend
income for children ages 14 through 18 and
students under age 24 on Schedule CA (540
or 540NR), line 9, column C, as reported on
your federal Form 1099’s.

For the parent’s California return:

Enter the amount of your child’s dividend income
for children ages 14 through 18 and students
under age 24, on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR),
line 9, column B. The amounts included on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) are from federal
Form 8814, line 9.

Enter the amount of state income tax refund
included in federal income on Schedule CA (540
or 540NR), line 10, column B.

Enter the amount not included in federal income
on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 11,
column C.
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ITEM

DIFFERENCES BETWEEN FEDERAL
AND CALIFORNIA LAW

WHAT TO DO
FOR CALIFORNIA

Business Income or (Loss) — Depreciation, Amortization, and Property Expensing

Income from a business,
trade, or profession
conducted partially in
California

Deferred income under
IRC Section 108(i)

Asset expense election
(IRC Section 179)

MACRS recovery period for
nonresidential real property

Depreciation of assets
acquired prior to 01/01/87

Depreciation

Depreciation of qualified

leasehold improvements and
qualified restaurant property
acquired before 01/01/2006

Amortization of goodwill and
certain other intangibles

If a nonresident owns a business, trade, or profession carried

on within Galifornia that is an integral part of a unitary business
carried on both within and outside California, the amount of
such income having its source in California is determined in
accordance with the provisions of R&TC Sections 25120 through

25141.

Federal law allows an election to defer the discharge of
indebtedness income in connection with the reacquisition of an
applicable debt instrument occurring in 2009 and 2010. The
deferred income shall be includible in gross income ratably over
a 5-taxable year period beginning with the fifth taxable year
following the taxable year in which a 2009 reacquisition occurred
and the fourth taxable year following the taxable year in which a
2010 reacquisition occurred as described in IRC Section 108(i).

California does not conform.

Federal law allows an expense election up to $250,000 of

the cost of certain business property in lieu of depreciation.
California allows an expense election up to $25,000. The federal
Section 179 property cost phaseout starts at $800,000. The
California phaseout starts at $200,000. For qualified section 179
Gulf Opportunity Zone property, the maximum deduction is
higher than the deduction for most section 179 property.

Federal law allows a Section 179 expense election for

off-the-shelf software; California does not conform.

For federal purposes, the recovery period for nonresidential real
property is 39 years. California conformed to this provision on
01/01/97. The California recovery period of 31.5 years should
be used for property placed in service on or after 05/13/93, and

before 01/01/97.

Federal law allowed the rapid write-off of tangible personal
property and buildings over recovery periods which were shorter
than economic useful lives under the Accelerated Cost Recovery
System (ACRS). California law in general did not conform to
federal law but did allow ACRS for certain residential rental
property constructed in California on or after 07/01/85, and

before 01/01/87.

Federal law allows an additional 30% first-year depreciation
deduction and AMT depreciation adjustment for property placed
in service after 09/10/01. The first-year depreciation deduction is
increased to 50% for property placed in service after 05/05/03.
For assets placed in service on or after 09/11/01 and before
01/01/2005, California did not conform to these provisions.

Federal law allows an additional 50% first year special

depreciation for certain qualified property acquired on or after
01/01/2007 and before 01/01/2009. California did not conform to

this provision.

Federal law requires a 15-year recovery period. For California
purposes, qualified leasehold improvements and qualified
restaurant property must be recovered over a 39 year recovery

period.

Property classified as IRC Section 197 property under federal law
is also Section 197 property for California purposes. However,
for Section 197 property acquired before 01/01/94, the California
basis as of 01/01/94, must be amortized over the remaining

federal amortization period.

Gross income from the entire business, trade,
or profession is included in the nonresident’s
adjusted gross income from all sources. The
nonresident’s California source business
income is generally determined by a 4-factor
apportionment formula (property, payroll,
and sales). Refer to Cal. Code Regs., tit. 18,
section 17951.

Enter on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 12,
line 17, or line 18, column G, the deferred income
elected on your federal return.

Use form FTB 3885A, Depreciation and
Amortization Adjustments, to figure the
adjustment to make on Schedule CA (540 or
540NR).

Use form FTB 3885A to figure the adjustment to
make on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR).

Use form FTB 3885A to figure the adjustment to
make on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR).

Use form FTB 3885A to figure the adjustment to
make on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR).

Use form FTB 3885A to figure the adjustment to
make on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR).

Use form FTB 3885A to figure the adjustment to
make on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR).
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ITEM

DIFFERENCES BETWEEN FEDERAL
AND CALIFORNIA LAW

WHAT TO DO
FOR CALIFORNIA

* Business property moves
into California

* Enterprise Zone (EZ),
Local Agency Military Base
Recovery Area (LAMBRA),
or Targeted Tax Area (TTA)
business expense deduction

» Accelerated depreciation
for property on Indian
reservations

e Amortization of pollution
control facilities

e Expenditure for tertiary
injectants incurred in the
crude oil industry

* Reduced recovery periods
for fruit bearing grapevines
replaced in a California
vineyard on or after
01/01/92, as a result of
phylloxera infestation on or
after 01/01/97, as a result of
Pierce’s disease

e Income forecast method of
depreciation

e (lean fuel and electric
vehicles classified as luxury
automobiles

Depreciation methods and useful lives of trade or business
property must be acceptable to California.

Federal law has no comparable deduction. A California enterprise
zone business may elect to immediately expense up to $40,000
of the cost of qualified property. A California LAMBRA business
may elect to immediately expense up to $40,000 of the cost

of qualified property. A California TTA business may elect to
immediately expense up to $40,000 of the cost of qualified
property. For California purposes, you may not take an IRC
Section 179 deduction on any asset used to calculate the
business expense deduction.

Under federal law, certain property on Indian reservations placed
in service after 01/01/94, and before 01/01/08, will be subject

to special MACRS recovery periods. California did not conform
to this provision. See federal Publication 3991, Highlights of the
Job Creation and Worker Assistance Act of 2002.

Both California and federal law provide for accelerated write-off
of pollution control facilities. California law only allows the write-
off of facilities located in California.

Federal law allows a deduction for the cost of tertiary injectants
which are part of a tertiary recovery system. California law allows
a depreciation deduction if the tertiary injectant qualifies as
property used in a trade or business or is held for the production
of income.

Federal law generally requires a 10-year recovery period for fruit
bearing vines for purposes of accelerated cost recovery and a
20-year recovery period for those vines under an alternative
depreciation system. California law allows 5 and 10-year recovery
periods, respectively.

For assets placed in service after 08/05/97, federal law limits

the income forecast method of depreciation to film, video tape,
sound recordings, copyrights, books, patents, and other property
to be specified by federal regulations. California conformed to
this limitation for assets placed in service after 12/31/97.

For electric vehicles and automobiles equipped to qualify as
clean-burning fuel vehicles placed in service after 08/05/97,

and before 01/01/05, federal law allows a modified depreciation
limitation equivalent to triple the IRC Section 280F limitation for
other luxury automobiles. California conformed to this provision
for assets placed in service after 12/31/97.

Business Income or (Loss) — Adjustments to Basis or Business Deductions

* Donated agricultural
products transportation
credit

e Farmworker housing credit

Federal law has no comparable credit. Under California law,
deductions are not allowed for the portion of expenses equal to
the credit.

Federal law has no comparable credit. Under California law,
deductions are not allowed for the portion of expenses equal to
the credit.

If an unacceptable method was used before the
move into California, use the straight-line method
to compute the basis in the property.

Use form FTB 3805Z, form FTB 3807, Local
Agency Military Base Recovery Area Deduction
and Credit Summary, or form FTB 3809, Targeted
Tax Area Deduction and Credit Summary. Enter
the business expense deduction from form

FTB 3805Z, form FTB 3807, or form FTB 3809

on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 12, line 17,
or line 18, column B. Use form FTB 3885A to
figure any depreciation adjustment to make on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR).

Use form FTB 3885A to figure the depreciation
adjustment to make on Schedule CA (540 or
540NR).

Enter the amortization for the California facilities
on form FTB 3885A. Compare the California
amortization to the federal amortization and enter
the difference on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR),
line 12, line 17, or line 18, column C.

Enter the amount of tertiary injectants deducted
on your federal return on Schedule CA (540 or
540NR), line 12, column C. Attach a schedule
reflecting the depreciation computation of tertiary
injectants placed in service during 2005. Then
complete form FTB 3885A.

Prepare a schedule reflecting the depreciation
computation of grapevines placed in service on
or after 01/01/92 (for phylloxera infestation),

and placed in service on or after 01/01/97 (for
Pierce’s disease). Then complete form FTB 3885A
and attach it and your depreciation schedule to
your return.

Use form FTB 3885A to figure the depreciation
adjustment to enter on Schedule CA (540 or
540NR).

Use form FTB 3885A to figure the depreciation
adjustment to enter on Schedule CA (540 or
540NR).

Enter on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 12,
line 17, or line 18, column C, the portion of the
deduction claimed on your federal return that
was used to claim the California credit.

Enter on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 12,
line 17, or line 18, column C, the portion of the
deduction claimed on your federal return that
was used to claim the California credit.
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ITEM

DIFFERENCES BETWEEN FEDERAL
AND CALIFORNIA LAW

WHAT TO DO
FOR CALIFORNIA

Rice straw credit

Clean fuel vehicles first year
deduction

Basis adjustment for sales
or use tax credit for property
used in an Enterprise

Zone (EZ), a LAMBRA, the
Targeted Tax Area (TTA), or
the former LARZ.

Credit for employer-paid
child care center and
services

Credit for employer-paid
child care plan

Enhanced oil recovery credit

Solar or wind energy system
credit

Joint Strike Fighter wage
credit/Joint Strike Fighter
property credit

Disabled access credit for
eligible small businesses

The Rice Straw Credit is expired. The credit was allowed for
each taxable year beginning on January 1, 1997, and before
January 1, 2008. The credit carryover is allowed for up to

ten taxable years after the credit was generated or until the
credit is exhausted, whichever occurs first. Federal law has no

comparable credit.

California has not conformed with federal law for the first year

deduction on Clean Air Fuel.

Federal law has no comparable credit, but IRC Section 164(a)
requires an increase in basis for the amount of sales or use tax
paid. Under California law, depreciation is computed based on
cost, without regard to the sales or use tax allowed as a credit.
Federal and state basis will differ due to the increase in federal

basis by the addition of the sales or use tax.

Federal law allows a deduction for all ordinary and necessary
trade or business expenses. Under California law, employers
may claim a credit of 30% of the costs for establishing a child
care program or contributing to a child care referral service.
Deductions are not allowed for that portion of expenses equal
to the credit. Reduce the basis of any child care facility by the
amount of the credit attributable to the facility in the year the

credit is allowed.

Federal law allows a deduction for all ordinary and necessary
trade or business expenses. Under California law, employers and
building owners may claim a credit of 30% of contributions to

a qualified care plan on behalf of any dependent under the age
of 12 of the employer’s California employee. Deductions are not
allowed for that portion of the expenses equal to the amount

of the credit. If the contribution to the plan is used at a facility
owned by the employer, the basis of the facility must be reduced
by the amount of the credit attributable to the facility in the year

the credit is allowed.

Federal law allows a credit for up to 15% of qualified costs
attributable to qualified enhanced recovery oil projects. The
basis of the enhanced recovery oil projects must be reduced by
the amount of the credit. California conforms to this provision,
except that only California projects qualify for the state credit,
and the amount of the credit is limited to 1/3 of the federal credit

amount.

The Solar or wind energy system credit is expired. The credit was
allowed for each taxable year beginning on January 1, 2001, and
before January 1, 2006. The credit carryover is allowed for up

to eight taxable years after the credit was generated or until the

credit is exhausted, whichever occurs first.

The Joint Strike Fighter Credits (JSFC) are expired. The credits
were allowed for each taxable year beginning on January 1, 2001,
and before January 1, 2006. The credit carryover is allowed

for eight taxable years succeeding the taxable year for which

the credits are generated or until the credits are exhausted,
whichever occurs first. Federal law has no similar credit.

Federal law allows a credit of 50% for the cost of making a
business accessible to disabled individuals. No deduction is
permitted for any amount for which a disabled access credit is
allowed. California conforms to this provision, but the maximum
credit is $125 (50% of eligible expenses up to $250).

Get form FTB 3540, Credit Carryover Summary.

Add the amount deducted from federal income to
the total on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 36,
column B.

Use form FTB 3805Z, form FTB 3807, form

FTB 3809, or form FTB 3806, Los Angeles
Revitalization Zone Deduction and Credit
Summary, to claim the sales or use tax credit for
property used in an Enterprise Zone, a LAMBRA,
the TTA, or the former LARZ. Complete form
FTB 3885A, Part Ill if you are depreciating the
cost of the property in excess of the allowable
credit.

Enter 30% of the amount of deductions claimed
on your federal return to operate a child care
program or contribute to the referral service on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 12, column C.
Then complete form FTB 3885A.

Enter 30% of the amount of deductions claimed
on your federal return for costs paid for
contributions to a qualified care plan made on
behalf of a California employee’s dependent(s)
under the age of 12 on Schedule CA (540 or
540NR), line 12, column C. Then complete form
FTB 3885A.

Get form FTB 3546, Enhanced QOil Recovery
Credit.

Get form FTB 3540.

Get form FTB 3540.

Get form FTB 3548, Disabled Access Credit for
Eligible Small Businesses.
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ITEM

DIFFERENCES BETWEEN FEDERAL
AND CALIFORNIA LAW

WHAT TO DO
FOR CALIFORNIA

Indian employment credit

Abandonment or tax
recoupment fees for
open-space easements and
timberland preserves

Enterprise Zone (EZ),
LAMBRA, or Manufacturing
Enhancement Area (MEA)
hiring credit

Real Estate Professionals
— Material participation in a
rental real estate activity

Research credit

Property for which a public
utility provided an energy
conservation subsidy on or
after 01/01/95, and before
01/01/97

Employer wage expenses for
Work Opportunity Credit and
Welfare-To-Work Credit

Qualified clinical testing
expenses

Business expense

Commercial revitalization
deduction

Under federal law, a nonrefundable credit is available to
employers for certain wages and health insurance costs paid or
incurred by the employer after 01/01/94, for certain full-time or
part-time employees who also are enrolled members of an Indian
tribe or are spouses of enrolled members. California did not
conform to this provision.

Federal law allows a deduction for expenses incurred in a trade
or business or for the production of income. California denies
a deduction for fees paid by California property owners on
termination of open-space easements or timberland preserve
status.

Under California law, employers may claim a hiring credit related
to an Enterprise Zone, a LAMBRA, or an MEA. Deductions for the
wages upon which the credit is based must be reduced by the
amount of credit.

Beginning with the 1994 tax year and for federal purposes

only, rental real estate activities conducted by persons in a

real property business are not automatically treated as passive
activities. California did not conform to this provision and these
activities are still considered passive under California law.

Federal law allows a credit for research expenses and requires
that the deduction for research expenses be reduced by the
amount of the credit allowed. California conforms to federal law,
but requires the amount of research expenses to be reduced by
the amount of the California credit. In addition, California law
requires the use of the California tax bracket when determining
the elective credit amount.

Federal law allows an exclusion from income for any subsidy
provided directly or indirectly by a public utility for the purchase
or installation of any energy conservation measure with respect
to a dwelling unit. The adjusted basis of the property must be
reduced by the amount excluded from income. California does
8$}6:1<)/gform for amounts received after 12/31/94, and before

7.

Federal law allows a Work Opportunity Credit and a Welfare-
To-Work Credit for employers that hire individuals from certain
target groups and recipients of long-term family assistance.
Employers that claim these credits must reduce their wage
expense by the amount of the credits. California has no similar
credits.

Federal law allows an Orphan Drug Credit for qualified clinical
testing expenses incurred in testing drugs for rare diseases or
conditions. A business must reduce its deduction for qualified
clinical testing expenses by the amount of the credit.

California does not allow a deduction for business expenses
incurred at a club that discriminates.

Federal law allows a deduction of one-half of any qualified
revitalization expenditures chargeable to capital account with
respect to any qualified revitalization building for the taxable year
in which the building is placed in service or a deduction for all
such expenditures ratably over the 120-month period beginning
with the month in which the building is placed in service.
California does not allow this deduction.

Enter the amount of business expense denied
under federal law on Schedule CA (540 or
540NR), line 12, line 17, or line 18, column B.

Enter the amount of fees incurred and deducted
on your federal return on Schedule CA (540 or
540NR), line 12, line 17, or line 18, column C.

Enter the amount of wages (from form

FTB 3805Z, form FTB 3807, or form FTB 3808)
equal to the amount of your California credit on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 12, line 17, or
line 18, column C.

To figure the adjustment to make on Schedule CA
(540 or 540NR), line 12 or line 17, use form

FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations,

and include these activities when completing

the California Passive Activity Worksheet and

the California Adjustment Worksheets in the
instructions for form FTB 3801.

Enter the amount of research expenses deducted
on your federal return on Schedule CA (540 or
540NR), line 12, line 17, or line 18, column C.
Enter the amount of California research expenses
after reduction for California research credit on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 12, line 17, or
line 18, column B.

Use form FTB 3885A to figure the adjustment to
enter on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR).

Enter the amount of the federal Work Opportunity
Credit or Welfare-To-Work Credit that reduced the
federal deduction for wages on Schedule CA (540
or 540NR), line 12, line 17, or line 18, column B.

Enter the amount of the federal Orphan Drug
Credit that reduced the federal deduction

for qualified clinical testing expenses on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 12, line 17, or
line 18, column B.

Enter on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 12,
line 17, or line 18, column C, the amount taken
as a federal deduction.

Enter on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 12,
line 17, or line 18, column C, the amount taken
as a federal deduction.
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DIFFERENCES BETWEEN FEDERAL
AND CALIFORNIA LAW

WHAT TO DO
FOR CALIFORNIA

Capital Gains and Losses

Gain on sale or disposition of
a qualified assisted housing
development to low-income
residents or to specified
entities who maintain
housing for low-income
residents

Gain on sale of personal
residence

Capital gain exclusion for
sale of principal residence by
a surviving spouse

Undistributed capital gains
for regulated investment
company (RIC) shareholders

Gain or loss on sale of
property inherited before
01/01/87

Capital loss carrybacks

Exclusion of gain on the sale
of qualified small business
stock

Federal law does not allow special treatment on gains related to
the sale of certain assisted housing. California law permits the
deferral of such gain, under certain conditions, if the proceeds
are reinvested in residential real property (other than a personal
residence) within two years of the sale.

For sale or exchanges after 05/06/97, federal law allows an
exclusion of gain on the sale of a personal residence in the
amount of $250,000 ($500,000 if married filing jointly). The
taxpayer must have owned and occupied the residence as

a principal residence for at least 2 of the 5 years before the
sale. California conforms to this provision. However, California
taxpayers who served in the Peace Corps during the 5 year
period ending on the date of the sale may reduce the 2 year
period by the period of service, not to exceed 18 months.

For sales or exchanges of a principal residence occurring after
December 31, 2007, federal law allows an unmarried surviving
spouse an exclusion up to $500,000 on the gain if the sale or
exchange occurs no later than two years after the date of the
other spouse’s death. However, this rule applies only if the
requirements for joint filers relating to ownership and use were
met immediately before the date of death and there was no sale
or exchange of the main home by either spouse that qualified
for the exclusion during the two-year period before the other
spouse’s date of death.

California allows a surviving spouse an exclusion up to $500,000
on the gain if the sale or exchange occurs after the death of the
spouse on a joint return filed with the deceased spouse in the
year of the spouse’s death. Otherwise the exclusion allowed is
only up to $250,000.

Federal law requires certain undistributed capital gains reported
on federal Form 2439 to be included in the gross income of the
mutual fund shareholder and allows a tax credit for the capital
gains tax paid by the RIC. California has no similar provision.

Federal gain or loss may differ from the California gain or loss
due to differences in the basis of property. For more information,
get FTB Pub. 1039, Basis of Property-Decedent and Surviving
Spouse/RDP. For property inherited on or after 01/01/87, the
California basis and the federal basis are the same.

Federal law allows a deduction for carrybacks of certain capital
losses. California has no similar provision.

California law does not conform to federal law changes regarding
the increase in the percentage of the gain exclusion for the sales
of qualified small business stock acquired after February 17,
2009. California law allows an exclusion of 50% of any gain from
the sale or exchange of qualified small business stock held for
more than 5 years. For Galifornia purposes, 80% of the issuing
corporation’s payroll must be attributable to employment located
within California (at time of issuance). Also, at least 80% of the
value of the corporation’s assets must be used by the corporation
to actively conduct one or more qualified trades or businesses.

R&TC Section 18038.5 also provides for the deferral of gain from
the sale of small business stock that has been held for six months
or more, if qualified replacement stock is purchased within 60
days after the sale giving rise to the gain. Report gain deferred
from the sale of qualified small business stock in accordance with
the instructions contained in Revenue Procedure 98-48.

For more information, go to fth.ca.gov and search for qsbs.

Enter the transaction on California Schedule D
(540 or 540NR), California Capital Gain or Loss
Adjustment, line 1. In column (e)

enter “-0- R&TC Section 18041.5.” Reduce

the basis of replacement property by the

gain deferred. Attach a schedule to your

return reflecting computation of basis in the
replacement property, or a statement of intent to
replace within the replacement period.

If there is a difference between the amounts
excluded (or depreciated, if recapture applies)
for federal and California, complete California
Schedule D (540 or 540NR). Transfer the
amount from California Schedule D, line 12a, to
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 13, column B
(if gain is less than federal). Transfer the
amount from California Schedule D, line 12b, to
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 13, column C
(if gain is more than federal).

If the amount of the federal exclusion exceeds
the amount allowed for California, complete
Schedule D (540 or 540NR).

Do not enter the amount of undistributed capital
gains on California Schedule D (540 or 540NR).

Report the amount of California capital gains and
losses on California Schedule D (540 or 540NR).

Report the amount of California capital gains and
losses on California Schedule D (540 or 540NR).

Use California Schedule D (540 or 540NR) if you
Use Schedule D (540 or 540NR) if you claim the
federal IRC Section 1045 deferral or IRC Section
1202 exclusion on your federal return.
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DIFFERENCES BETWEEN FEDERAL

AND CALIFORNIA LAW

WHAT TO DO
FOR CALIFORNIA

 (apital Gain Distribution for
Children

e (apital gain on Cash for
Clunkers rebates under the
federal Car Allowance Rebate
System (CARS) program

Other Gains or Losses

e Basis differences of business
property

IRA Distribution
* |RA basis adjustments

e Roth IRAs

Pensions and Annuities
e Railroad retirement benefits

e Pension plan — small
business tax credit for new
retirement plan expenses

e Employer-sponsored
pensions and annuities
(for annuity starting dates
after 07/01/86, and before
01/01/87) if you elected to
use the “three-year rule” for
California

Federal law allows parents’ election to report a child’s capital gain
distribution from a child under age 18. Beginning in 2008, the
federal law applies to a child who is age 18 and whose earned
income is not more than half of the child’s support; and a student
who is under age 24 and whose earned income is not more than

half of the child’s support.

California allows you to report your child’s capital gain
distribution under age 14. For California purposes, children
age 14 and above are required to file a California state income
tax return if they meet the minimum income tax reporting

requirements.

If for Federal purposes you made the election to report a child’s
capital gain distribution on the parents return, and for California
you did not make the same election, the children are required to
file a California state income tax return if they meet the minimum

income tax reporting requirements.

Under federal law, Cash for Clunkers rebates are not taxable. For
California, if the the amount of the rebate is greater than the basis
of the used vehicle relinquished there is a California capital gain.

The California basis of assets may be different than the federal
basis due to differences between California and federal law,

which may affect the gain or loss on disposition.

There may be differences in the taxable amount of the
distribution depending on when the contributions were made,

if you changed residency status after you first began making
contributions to your IRA, or made different deductions for
California because of differences between your California and
federal self-employment income. You will need to calculate your
IRA basis as if you were a California resident for all prior years.

Federal law and California law are the same regarding
contributions, conversions, and distributions. However, the
taxable amount of a distribution may not be the same because of

basis differences.

California does not tax railroad retirement benefits reported on
federal Form RRB-1099-R, Annuities or Pensions by the Railroad
Retirement Board, or RRB-1099, Payments by the Railroad

Retirement Board.

Federal law allows an income tax credit for 50% of the first
$1,000 in administrative and retirement-education expenses for
any small business that adopts a new qualified defined benefit or
defined contribution plan. The federal deduction is reduced by
the amount of the credit. California has no similar credit.

Under federal law, no “three-year rule” is allowed for any
individual whose annuity starting date is after 07/01/86. Under
California law, an individual whose annuity starting date was after
07/01/86, and before 01/01/87, could elect to use the “three-year
rule” if: 1) the employer paid part of the cost and 2) during the
three years from the date of the first annuity payment, the total
amount receivable will equal or exceed the cost (investment) in

the contract.

For the child’s California return:

o |f you are filing Form 540 2EZ, enter the
amounts from your federal Form 1099’s
(Schedule CA is not necessary).

e [fyou are filing Form 540, 540A, or 540NR,
enter the amount of the child’s capital gain
distribution for children ages 14 through 18
and students under age 24 on Schedule CA
(540 or 540NR), line 13, column C, as
reported on your federal Form 1099’s.

For the parent’s California return:

Enter the amount of your child’s capital gain
distribution for children ages 14 through 18 and
students under age 24, on Schedule CA (540

or 540NR), line 13, column B. The amounts
included on Schedule CA are from federal

Form 8814, line 10.

Enter the amount of California capital gains on
California Schedule D (540 or 540NR), line 1a.

Get Schedule D-1, Sales of Business Property, to
figure the adjustment to make on Schedule CA
(540 or 540NR).

Get FTB Pub. 1005, Pension and Annuity
Guidelines, for more information.

Get FTB Pub. 1005 for more information.

Enter on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 16,
column B, the amount of tier 1 (non-Social
Security equivalent) or tier 2 railroad retirement
benefits included in adjusted gross income on
your federal return. Get FTB Pub. 1005, for more
information.

Enter the amount of the income tax credit on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 12, line 17, or
line 18, column B.

If your annuity starting date was after 07/01/86,
and before 01/01/87, and you elected to use

the three-year recovery rule for California, an
adjustment is required. Enter the difference on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 16, column C.
Get FTB Pub. 1005 for more information.
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ITEM

DIFFERENCES BETWEEN FEDERAL
AND CALIFORNIA LAW

WHAT TO DO
FOR CALIFORNIA

Canadian Registered
Retirement Savings Plans
(RRSP)

Health Savings Account (HSA)

Contributions

Distributions

Interest/Dividend Income

Archer Medical Savings
Account (Archer MSA)
Distribution

Under both federal and California law, the RRSP does not
qualify as an Individual Retirement Account (IRA) and does not
receive IRA treatment. The federal treaty that allows taxpayers to
elect to defer taxation on their RRSP earnings until the time of
distribution does not apply for California income tax purposes.
California residents must include their RRSP earnings in their
taxable income in the year earned.

Federal law allows taxpayers a deduction for contributions to
an HSA account. Contributions made on behalf of an eligible
individual by an employer are excluded from W-2 wages.
California does not conform to this provision.

Distributions that are not used for qualified medical expenses

are includible in federal gross income. The amount taxable under
federal law, less interest and dividend income previously taxed by
California, is not taxable by California.

Federal law allows taxpayers to exclude from gross income

the interest and dividends earned on HSAs. California does not
conform. Therefore, all interest earned and any taxable dividends
earned on HSAs are taxable in the year earned. As a result of
this tax treatment, the taxpayer has a California basis in the HSA
account.

Generally, federal law and California law are the same.

However, since California does not recognize Health Savings
Accounts (HSAs), a rollover from an MSA to an HSA is treated

as a distribution not used for qualified medical expense. For
California, the distribution is included in California taxable income
and the additional 10% tax applies (R&TC Section 17215).

Rents, Royalties, Partnerships, Estates, Trusts, etc.

Pass-through of income

and deductions from
partnerships, S corporations,
estates, and trusts

Accumulation distribution
to beneficiaries on which
the required California taxes
have not been paid by a trust

Items of income and deduction from pass-through entities may
differ due to various differences between federal and state law.
Refer to federal Schedule K-1 (1065), or federal Schedule Q
(Form 1066) in the case of REMICs, to determine items of
income and deduction for federal purposes. Refer to California
Schedules K-1 (100S, 541, 565, or 568) to determine items of
income and deduction from pass-through entities for California
purposes.

Federal law taxes the accumulated income of a trust under IRC
Sections 665-668. If a trust has a California resident trustee or
beneficiary, the beneficiary is non-contingent, and the trust has
not filed a California return and paid Galifornia tax as the income
was accumulated, then the full amount of the accumulation
distribution is taxable to the beneficiary in the year the
accumulation distribution is received.

Enter on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 8,
line 9, or line 13, column G, the earnings from
the RRSP.

Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540 or
540NR), column A, line 25, in column B, line 25.
Enter the amount of any employer contribution
from federal Form W-2, line 12, code W on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 7, column C.

Enter the required adjustment from Schedule CA,
line 21f, column A, in line 21f, column B.

Enter the current year interest earned as an

adjustment on Schedule CA, line 8, column C.
Enter the current year taxable dividends as an
adjustment on Schedule CA, line 9, column C.

Enter the amount distributed, less interest or
dividend earnings previously taxed by California,
on line 211, column C.

Follow the instructions for Schedules K-1 (1008,
541, 565, or 568). Some items are reported
directly on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 17,
and some items must be reported on other
forms and schedules. Note: Part-year residents
must allocate income between the period of
residency and the period of nonresidency in a
manner that reflects the actual date of realization
of partnership, S corporation and certain trust
income. In the absence of information that
reflects the actual date of realization, the taxpayer
must allocate an annual amount on a proportional
basis between the two periods, using a daily
pro-rata methodology. Get FTB Pub. 1100,
Taxation of Nonresidents and Individuals Who
Change Residency, for more information.

If you received a federal Schedule J (1041) and
did not receive a California Schedule J (541),
Trust Allocation of an Accumulation Distribution,
an adjustment is required because the trust did
not file a California return and pay the tax as the
income was accumulated. The accumulation
distribution from federal Schedule J (1041)
must be adjusted for California purposes. This
information must be provided by the trustee.
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DIFFERENCES BETWEEN FEDERAL
AND CALIFORNIA LAW

WHAT TO DO
FOR CALIFORNIA

e Accumulation distribution to
beneficiaries on which the
trust was not required to pay
California tax because the
beneficiaries’ interest was
contingent

e Amounts included in gross
income of United States
shareholders from foreign
corporations

Unemployment Compensation

e Unemployment
compensation

e Paid Family Leave (PFL)
program is part of the
state disability insurance
program administered by the
Employment Development
Department (EDD)

Social Security Benefits

 Social security benefits and
equivalent tier 1 railroad
retirement benefits

Other Income/Loss
 (California lottery winnings

* Net Operating Loss (NOL)

1) Disaster loss carryover

2) Federal NOL

3) California NOL carryover

Federal law taxes the accumulated income of a trust under IRC
Sections 665-668. If a trust has a California resident trustee
or beneficiary, the beneficiary is contingent, and the trust

has not filed a California return and paid California tax as the
income was accumulated, then the beneficiary is entitled to
the benefit of income averaging under the provisions of R&TC
Sections 17745(b) and (d).

Under federal law, IRC Section 951, if a foreign corporation

is a controlled foreign corporation (CFC) for an uninterrupted
period of 30 days or more during any taxable year, then U.S.
shareholders who own stock in a GFC on the last day of the
taxable year in which it was a CFC must include in gross
income their pro-rata share of income. The pro-rata shares are
included in the income of U.S. shareholders even though there
may be intervening entities in a chain between a CFC and such
shareholders. California has no similar provision.

California does not tax unemployment compensation.

Compensation paid from the PFL Program is not taxable by
California. However, it is taxable for federal purposes.

California does not tax social security benefits and equivalent
tier 1 railroad retirement benefits.

California does not tax California lottery winnings. California
taxes lottery winnings from other states.

The allowable disaster loss carryover under California law is
different than the allowable disaster loss carryover under federal
law.

Due to differences between federal and California law, you must
refigure your NOL carryover for California purposes.

The allowable NOL carryover under California law is different
than the allowable NOL carryover under federal law. There is no
NOL carryback under California law. You may be required to elect
specific NOL characterization for Galifornia which may exclude
from consideration from realized losses.

Use California form FTB 5870A, Tax on
Accumulation Distribution of Trusts, to compute
the part of the accumulation distribution
includable in your California adjusted gross
income.

Enter the amount of income received from a CFC
and included in federal income on Schedule CA
(540 or 540NR), line 17, column B.

Enter on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 19,
column B, the amount of unemployment
compensation you included in adjusted gross
income on your federal return.

Enter the amount on Schedule CA (540 or
540NR), line 19, column B.

Enter on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 20,
column B, the amount of social security benefits
and equivalent tier 1 railroad retirement benefits
you included in adjusted gross income on your
federal return.

Enter on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 21a,
column B, the amount of California lottery
winnings included in adjusted gross income on
your federal return.

Enter as a positive number on Schedule CA (540
or 540NR), line 21b, column B, the amount from
your 2007 form FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss
(NOL) Computation and NOL and Disaster Loss
Limitations — Individuals, Estates, and Trusts.

Enter as a positive number on Schedule CA (540
or 540NR), line 21c, column C, the federal NOL.
Use form FTB 3805V to figure the California NOL
carryover.

Use form FTB 3805V to figure the allowable
California NOL and enter the result as a positive
number on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR),

line 21d, column B.
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DIFFERENCES BETWEEN FEDERAL
AND CALIFORNIA LAW

WHAT TO DO
FOR CALIFORNIA

4) NOL from Enterprise
Zones (EZ), LAMBRAs,
the TTA, the former
LARZ, or Pierce’s disease

Reward from a crime hotline

Foreign-earned income and
housing expense exclusion

Income received from a
recycling center or location
for empty beverage
containers

Rebates or vouchers from a
local water agency, energy
agency, or energy supplier

Original issue discount (OID)
for debt instruments issued
(and loans made) in 1985
and 1986

Foreign income of
nonresident aliens

Income exempted by U.S. tax
treaties

Payments made for wrongful
incarceration

Grants paid to low-income
individuals

Death benefits received from
the State of California for
military members killed in
the line of duty

Settlement payments
received by persons
persecuted by the regime
that was in control of the
Ottoman Turkish Empire
from 1915 until 1923

Federal law has no comparable deduction.

California does not tax a reward authorized by a government
agency and received from a crime hotline established by a

government agency or nonprofit organization.

Under federal law, IRC Section 911, a qualified individual may
elect to exclude certain foreign-earned income and an employer-
provided housing allowance. California has no similar provision.

Federal law taxes beverage container recycling income. California
law does not tax income received by a consumer for recycling

empty beverage containers.

California law allows an income exclusion for rebates or vouchers
from a local water agency, energy agency, or energy supplier for
the purchase and installation of water conservation appliances

and devices. Federal law has no similar exclusion.

In the taxable year in which the debt instrument matures, is sold,
exchanged, or otherwise disposed of, you must recognize the
difference between the amount reported on your federal return

and the amount reported for California purposes.

Federal Form 1040NR, U.S. Nonresident Alien Income Tax
Return, and federal Form 1040NR-EZ, U.S. Income Tax Return
for Certain Nonresident Aliens With No Dependents, requires that
only United States source income be reported. California requires
the reporting of adjusted gross income from all sources.

California is not affected by U.S. treaties with foreign countries
unless they specifically apply to state income taxes. If a treaty
does not specifically exempt income from state income tax,
California requires the reporting of adjusted gross income from

all sources.

California law allows an income exclusion for payments
made due to a determination of wrongful incarceration under

Section 4904 of the Penal Code.

California law allows an income exclusion for grants paid to
low-income individuals to construct or retrofit buildings to be
more energy efficient. Federal law has no similar exclusion.

California allows an exclusion from gross income, death benefits
received from the state of California National Guard, State
Military Reserve, or Naval Militia who dies or is killed after

March 1, 2003, while on duty.

California law provides an income exclusion for settlement
payments received by an eligible individual, defined as a person
persecuted by the Regime that was in control of the Ottoman
Turkish Empire from 1915 until 1923, or the individual’s heirs or

estate.

Use form FTB 3805Z, form FTB 3807, form

FTB 3809, form FTB 3806, or form FTB 3805D,
Net Operating Loss (NOL) Carryover Computation
and Limitation — Pierce’s Disease, to figure the
NOL and enter the result as a positive number on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 21e, column B.

Enter on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 21f,
column B, the amount of such a reward you
included in adjusted gross income on your
federal return.

Enter the amount of foreign-earned income
and housing allowance excluded under IRC
Section 911 on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR),
line 211, column C.

Enter the amount of beverage container recycling
income reported on your federal return on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 21f, column B.

Enter the amount included in federal AGI on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 21f, column B.

Issuer (debtor) — Enter the difference between
the federal deductible amount and the California
deductible amount on Schedule CA (540 or
540NR), line 21f, column B.

Holder (lender) — Enter the difference between
the amount included in federal gross income and
the amount included for California purposes on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 21f, column C.

Adjust federal income to reflect worldwide
income computed under California statutes. Enter
losses from foreign sources on Schedule CA
(540 or 540NR), line 21f, column B. Enter foreign
source income on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR),
line 21f, column C.

Adjust federal income to reflect worldwide
income computed under California statutes. Enter
losses from foreign sources on Schedule CA
(540 or 540NR), line 21f, column B. Enter foreign
source income on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR),
line 21f, column C.

Enter the amount included in federal AGI on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 211, column B.

Enter the amount included in federal AGI on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 21f, column B.

Enter on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 21f,
column B, the amount of death benefits received
and reported in federal income.

Enter on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 21f,
column B, the settlement payments amount
reported in federal income that qualifies for the
California exclusion.
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ITEM

DIFFERENCES BETWEEN FEDERAL
AND CALIFORNIA LAW

WHAT TO DO
FOR CALIFORNIA

Mortgage forgiveness debt
relief

Survivor benefits received
for a public safety officer
killed in the line of duty

Federal subsidies for
prescription drug plans

American Indians per capita
payments

Adjustment to Income

Educator expense

Certain business expenses
of reservists, performing
artists, and fee-basis
governmental officials

Alimony paid by a
nonresident alien

IRA Deductions

Student Loan Interest
Deduction

Tuition and fees deduction

Domestic production
activities

For taxable years 2007 through 2012, federal law allows an
exclusion of income from discharge of indebtedness from
the disposition of your principal residence. Federal law limits
the amount of qualified principal residence indebtedness to
$2,000,000 ($1,000,000 for married filing separate).

See federal Publication 544, Sales and Other Disposition of
Assets, for more information.

California partially conforms to the federal provisions for
discharges of indebtedness occurring on or after January 1,
2009. California law limits the amount of qualified principal
residence indebtedness to $800,000 ($400,000 for married/
RDP filing separate) and debt relief to $500,000 ($250,000 for
married/RDP filing separate).

Federal law provides an exclusion from gross income, for
survivor benefits attributable to service by a public safety officer
who is killed in the line of duty before January 1, 1997, California
does not conform.

Federal law provides an exclusion from gross income of certain
federal subsidies for prescription drug plans. California does not
conform.

Federal law taxes per capita distributions regardless of where the
tribal member resides.

California does not tax per capita distributions received by tribal
members who live in Indian country affiliated with their tribe
that are sourced from the same Indian country where they are a
member.

California does not tax per capita distributions received by a
nonresident.

California taxes per capita distributions received by California

resident tribal members who reside outside their affiliated tribal
Indian country. Get FTB 674, Frequently Asked Questions About
the Income Taxation of American Indians, for more information.

Federal law allows a deduction for teachers, instructors,
counselors, principals, or aides for K-12 grades. California has
not conformed.

California law conforms to federal law in the tax treatment
of expenses for reservists, performing artists, and fee-basis
governmental officials. However, there could be continuing
differences in the depreciation deduction such as IRC
Section 179 or bonus depreciation.

Alimony expense paid by a nonresident alien that was not
deducted on the federal return is a deduction on the California
return.

Federal law increased the phase out amounts of adjusted gross
income requirements for IRA contributions. California does not
conform to the federal increased amounts.

California conforms to federal law regarding student loan interest
deduction except for non California domiciled military taxpayers
and a spouse/RDP of a non California domiciled military taxpayer
residing in a community property state.

Federal law allows a deduction from income up to $4,000 for
qualified higher education expenses paid. California has not
conformed.

Federal law allows a deduction for the Domestic production
activities. California has not conformed.

If the amount of debt relief for federal purposes is
more than the California limit, include the amount
in excess of the California limit on Schedule CA
(540 or 540NR), line 21f, column C.

Enter on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 21f,
column C, the amount of survivor benefits that
qualifies for the federal exclusion.

Enter on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 21f,
column C, the amount that qualifies for the
federal exclusion.

Enter on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 21f,
column B the per capita distributions included in
federal income that are exempt for California.

Enter the amount on Schedule CA (540 or
540NR), line 23, column B.

If the federal depreciation deduction is more than
the California depreciation deduction, enter the
difference on line 24, column B. If the federal
depreciation deduction is less than the California
depreciation, enter the difference in column C.

Enter the amount not included on your federal
return on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 31a,
column C.

Enter as an adjustment on Schedule CA (540
or 540NR), line 32, column B, the difference
between the amount determined for the federal
IRA deduction and the California IRA deduction.

Enter the amount on Schedule CA (540 or
540NR), line 33, column C.

Enter the amount on Schedule CA (540 or
540NR), line 34, column B.

Enter the amount on Schedule CA (540 or
540NR), line 35, column B.

Page 14 FTB Pub. 1001 2009 (REV 04-10)



ITEM

DIFFERENCES BETWEEN FEDERAL
AND CALIFORNIA LAW

WHAT TO DO
FOR CALIFORNIA

Itemized Deductions

Taxes
1) Annual tax paid by a
limited partnership

2) Franchise tax or income
taxes paid by an
S corporation

3) State, local, and foreign
income taxes paid

4) New motor vehicle taxes

Other adjustments

Standard Deduction

Real property taxes

New motor vehicle taxes

Disaster losses

Federal law allows a deduction for the annual tax paid by a limited
partnership. California specifically disallows this deduction.

Federal law allows a deduction for franchise taxes or income
taxes paid under the Corporation Tax Law. California specifically
disallows this deduction.

California does not allow a deduction for state, local, or foreign
income taxes paid, including amounts paid for State Disability
Insurance (SDI).

Federal law allows taxpayers to elect to claim state and local
general sales and use taxes as an itemized deduction, instead of
claiming an itemized deduction for state and local income taxes.
Taxpayers have a choice of deducting actual taxes or a tabular
amount, increased by certain actual taxes. California does not
conform.

Federal law allows a deduction for new motor vehicle taxes paid
on a purchase of a qualified new motor vehicle. California does
not conform.

Adjustments to itemized deductions include: adoption related
expenses, mortgage interest credit, nontaxable income expense,
employee business expense, investment interest expense,
gambling losses, federal estate tax, generation skipping transfer
tax, state legislator’s travel expenses, qualified charitable
contributions, prior year charitable contribution carryovers,
health savings account distributions, carryover deduction of
appreciated stock contributed to a private foundation prior

to 1/1/2002, interest on loans from utility companies, private
mortgage insurance, claim of right, certain disaster losses, and
personal casualty and theft losses.

For federal purposes, taxpayers claiming the standard deduction
may increase their deduction by the state and local real estate
taxes paid up to $500 ($1,000 if married filing jointly). California
does not conform.

For federal purposes, taxpayers claiming the standard deduction
may increase their deduction by the new motor vehicle taxes paid
on a purchase of a qualified new motor vehicle. California does
not conform.

For federal purposes, taxpayers claiming the standard deduction
may increase their deduction by the net disaster losses from a
federally declared disaster area. California does not conform.

Include the amount of your federal deduction
for the annual tax paid on Schedule CA (540 or
540NR), line 39.

Include the amount of your federal deduction
for franchise taxes paid on Schedule CA (540 or
540NR), line 39.

Include the amount of your federal deduction
for state, local, and foreign taxes paid on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 39.

If you deduct general sales taxes on your federal
Schedule A (Form 1040), line 5, enter this
amount on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 39.

Include the amount of your federal deduction for
new motor vehicle taxes paid on Schedule CA
(540 or 540NR), line 39.

See Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 41, for
more information.

Do not increase your California standard
deduction by the real property taxes paid. To
claim a deduction for real property taxes paid,
you must itemize your deductions. See for federal
Schedule A (Form 1040) for more information.

Do not increase your California standard
deduction by the new motor vehicle taxes paid.

Do not increase your California standard
deduction by the disaster losses. To claim a
deduction for disaster losses, you must itemize
your deductions. See for federal Schedule A
(Form 1040) for more information.
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