
Instructions for Form 199 
California Exempt Organization Annual Information Return 
References in these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2009, and to the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC). 

What’s New B Who Must File Simple trusts which received a letter from the 
FTB granting tax-exempt status under R&TC 

Beginning for taxable years on or after Answer the following questions to determine if Section 23701d are considered to be corporations 
January 1, 2010, exempt organizations with the organization should file Form 199. for tax purposes. The trust may be required to file 
gross receipts normally less than $25,000 are 1.	 Did the organization receive a letter from Form 199. 
required to file FTB 199N, California e-Postcard, the FTB granting tax-exempt status to Religious or apostolic organizations described Annual Electronic Filing Requirement for Smaller the organization, or did the organization in R&TC Section 23701k must attach a completed Exempt Organizations. For more information, go receive a federal exemption under IRC Form 565, Partnership Return of Income, to to ftb.ca.gov and search for 199N. Section 501(c)(3) and submit a copy of its Form 199. 

General Instructions federal determination letter along with form 
Charitable Remainder Trusts (CRT) file FTB 3500A to FTB?  Yes  No 
Form 541-A, Trust Accumulation of Charitable In general, for taxable years beginning on or after 2.	 Is the organization a nonexempt charitable 
Amounts, or Form 541-B, Charitable Remainder January 1, 2010, California law conforms to the trust as described in IRC Section 4947(a)(1)? 
and Pooled Income Trusts, depending upon the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1,  Yes  No 
type of CRT. Get Form 541-A and Form 541-B for 2009. However, there are continuing differences If the answer to both of these questions is “No,” 
 more information. between California and federal law. When STOP HERE, DO NOT FILE THIS FORM.


California conforms to federal tax law changes, For detailed information about state filing 
If the answer to question 1 or 2 is “Yes,” the 
we do not always adopt all of the changes requirements, fees, and penalties, get FTB 
organization may be required to file Form 199 
made at the federal level. For more information, Pub. 1068, Exempt Organizations – Filing 
depending upon the type of exempt organization. 
go to ftb.ca.gov and search for conformity. Requirements and Filing Fees, or go to ftb.ca.gov 
See the tables below and General Instruction C, 
Additional information can be found in FTB and search for 1068. 
Exceptions. 
Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California 

Adjustments, the instructions for California The requirement to file Form 199 is generally C Exceptions 
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), and the Business based on the normal amount of total gross receipts The following organizations are not required to 
Entity tax booklets. and pledges. Organizations with gross receipts file Form 199: 

that are normally $25,000 or less are required to The instructions provided with California tax electronically file FTB 199N, California e-Postcard. •	 Churches, interchurch organizations of local 
forms are a summary of California tax law and are For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search units of a church, conventions or associations 
only intended to aid taxpayers in preparing their for 199N. of churches, or integrated auxiliaries of 
state income tax returns. We include information churches. 
that is most useful to the greatest number of Normal gross receipts File •	 Religious orders. 
taxpayers in the limited space available. It is Gross receipts normally $25,000 FTB 199N •	 Organizations formed to carry out a function 
not possible to include all requirements of the or less* of a state, or a public body that is carrying out 
California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) in Gross receipts more than $25,000 Form 199 that function and is controlled by the state, or 
the tax booklets. Taxpayers should not consider a public body. Private foundations (regardless of Form 199 the tax booklets as authoritative law. •	 Political organizations exempt under R&TC gross receipts) 
Organizations that do not hold a current R&TC Section 23701r. Nonexempt charitable trusts Form 199 
Section 23701 tax-exempt status should not file •	 Qualified state tuition programs exempt under described in IRC Section 4947(a)(1) 
Form 199, California Exempt Organization Annual R&TC Section 23711. (regardless of gross receipts) 
Information Return, unless the organization is •	 Coverdell ESA exempt under R&TC 
a nonexempt charitable trust described under *Organizations eligible to file FTB 199N may Section 23712. 
General Instruction B, Who Must File. choose to file Form 199 •	 Stock bonus, pension, or profit sharing trusts 

exempt under R&TC Section 17631. Exempt organizations are not required to attach a Normally less than $25,000 means if the 
copy of federal Form 990, Return of Organization organization has been: D Homeowners’ Associations 
Exempt from Income Tax. However, federal IN EXISTENCE GROSS RECEIPTS/PLEDGES 
Form 990 may be attached to Form 199 in lieu of Homeowners’ associations exempt under 

FOR – EQUAL 
completing Part II of Form 199 unless otherwise R&TC Section 23701t include condominium 

1 year or less $37,500 or less provided in these instructions. management associations, residential real-estate 
More than 1 year $30,000 or less (average for management associations, cooperative housing 

Acknowledgement of Tax-Exempt Status but less than current year and immediately corporations, and timeshare associations. 
R&TC Code Section 23701d allows organizations 3 years preceding year) 
that have a federal determination letter of Gross receipts for a homeowners’ association are 

3 years or more $25,000 or less (average for tax-exempt status under IRC Section 501(c)(3) to defined as gross receipts from all sources before 
current year and immediately be acknowledged in California as tax-exempt. For deductions. 
preceding 2 prior years) more information get form FTB 3500A, Submission Use the chart under General Instruction B, to 

of Exemption Request or go to ftb.ca.gov and Private foundations must file a completed determine whether the homeowners’ association 
search for 3500A. Form 199 and pay the applicable filing fee. must file FTB 199N or Form 199. Also, 

A Purpose 
However, they may furnish one of the following homeowners’ associations with gross nonexempt 
substitute information for Part II: function income in excess of $100 are required 

Form 199 is used by the following organizations: 1.	 A complete copy of federal Form 990-PF, to file Form 100, California Corporation Franchise 
•	 Organizations granted tax-exempt status by Return of Private Foundation or or Income Tax Return. Nonexempt function 

the Franchise Tax Board (FTB). Section 4947(a)(1) Trust Treated as a Private income is taxable and is defined as all income 
•	 Organizations that received a federal Foundation, with appropriate schedules. received during the taxable year other than 

exemption under IRC Section 501(c)(3) and 2.	 A complete copy of the current report amounts received from membership fees, dues, or 
submitted form FTB 3500A, with a copy of the filed with the Registry of Charitable Trusts assessments. 
IRS determination letter. (including federal Form 990.) For more complete details regarding filing 

•	 Nonexempt charitable trusts as described in requirements, get FTB Pub. 1028, Guidelines for 
IRC Section 4947(a)(1). Homeowners’ Associations. 
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E	 Gross Receipts •	 Stock bonus, pension, or profit sharing For more information regarding the Statement 
trusts exempt under R&TC Section 17631 of Information, contact: 

Gross receipts are the total amounts received by with unrelated business income of $1,000 STATEMENT OF INFORMATION UNIT the organization during the annual accounting or more. ATTENTION: PENALTY period from all sources before subtracting costs 
2.	 Form 100, Corporation Franchise or Income CALIFORNIA SECRETARY OF STATE or expenses. Gross receipts include, but are not 

Tax Return, must be filed by: PO BOX 944230 limited to: 
SACRAMENTO CA 94244-2300 •	 Political organizations (exempt under •	 The gross amount received as contributions, 

R&TC Section 23701r) with taxable TELEPHONE: 916.653.6814 gifts, grants, and similar amounts. 
income in excess of $100. There is no •	 The gross amount received as dues and Or, go to sos.ca.gov. 
requirement to file Form 199. assessments from members or affiliated 6.	 The Attorney General’s Form RRF-1, •	 Homeowners’ associations (exempt under organizations. Registration Renewal Fee Report, must be R&TC Section 23701t) with homeowners’ •	 Gross sales or receipts from business filed if the organization is organized for public association nonexempt gross income in activities, including business activities benefit purposes. R&TC Section 23703 excess of $100. Form 100 must be filed unrelated to the purpose of the organization. requires the FTB to disallow exemption and whether or not Form 199 is required •	 The gross amount received from the sale of assess the minimum tax for any year(s) to be filed. See General Instruction D, assets. in which the organization fails to properly Homeowners’ Associations. •	 The gross amount received as investment file this form. The FTB has no authority to •	 Some mutual and cooperative income such as interest, dividends, rents, and reinstate exemption or cancel the tax except organizations that are exempt under federal royalties. as directed by the California Registry of law but not exempt under California law. 

F	 Payment of Filing Fee Charitable Trusts. 
3.	 Form 565, Partnership Return of Income, 

For more information, contact the California Organizations required to file Form 199 must pay must be completed by all religious or 
Attorney General’s Office: a $10 filing fee. If the $10 fee is not paid by the apostolic organizations described in R&TC 

due date (including extensions), an additional $15 Section 23701k, and attached to Form 199. REGISTRY OF CHARITABLE TRUSTS 
is assessed for a total fee of $25. (If the return is PO BOX 903447 4.	 The organization must file federal Form 1099 
filed on or before the original due date, there is no SACRAMENTO CA 94203-4470 series information returns with the FTB as well 
extension of time in which the fee may be paid.) as the IRS to report certain payments made TELEPHONE: 916.445.2021

Exception. The filing fee does not apply to the or received by your organization. Reportable FAX: 916.444.3651

following organizations exempt under R&TC payments include, but are not limited to: Or, go to ag.ca.gov.

Section 23701d: •	 All amounts paid to an attorney whether 

or not the services are performed for the •	 Exclusively religious organizations. H	 When and Where to File 
payer, and all amounts paid by a broker or •	 An exclusively educational organization if File Form 199 by the 15th day of the 5th month 
barter exchange. the organization normally maintains a regular after the accounting period ends. 

•	 Payments exceeding $10 annually for faculty and curriculum and normally has Using black or blue ink, make all checks or money interest (earned) and dividends. a regularly organized body of students in orders payable in U.S. dollars and drawn against a •	 Payments exceeding $600 annually for attendance at the place where its educational U.S. financial institution. compensation for services that are not activities are regularly carried on. subject to withholding, commissions, If payment is included with the completed form, •	 An exclusively charitable organization, or fees, prizes and awards, payments to mail it to: an organization for the prevention of cruelty independent contractors, rents, royalties, to children or animals, if the organization FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
legal services (whether or not the payee is supported, in whole or in part, by funds PO BOX 942857 
is incorporated), interest (such as interest contributed by the United States or any state SACRAMENTO CA 94257-0701 
charged for late payment), and pensions. or political subdivision thereof, or is primarily Include the California corporation number and •	 Cash payments over $10,000 received in a supported (50% or more) by contributions of “2010 Form 199” on the check or money order. trade or business.
the general public. If payment is not required with the completed •	 An organization operated, supervised, For more information, see the IRS General 


form, mail it to: or controlled by or in connection with an Instructions for Forms 1099, 1098, 5498, 

exclusively religious organization. and W2-G; federal Publication 1220, 
 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 

Specifications for Filing Forms 1097 BTC, 
 PO BOX 942857 Organizations required to file Form 199 but not 1098, 1099, 3921, 3922, 5498, 8935, and 
 SACRAMENTO CA 94257-0700 required to pay the filing fee must check the box W-2G Electronically and form FTB 4227A, 
to Question G on Form 199, Side 1. If the organization is sending more than one 
Guide to Information Returns Filed With 
 return, use separate envelopes and separate 

G	 Miscellaneous Forms to California.
 checks or money orders to make sure the returns 

File 5.	 All corporations and exempt organizations and payments are processed correctly. 
incorporated or qualified to do business in 

1.	 Form 109, California Exempt Organization California must file Statement of Information I	 Extension of Time to File 
Business Income Tax Return, must be filed by: (Form SI-100) with the Secretary of State If Form 199 cannot be filed by the 15th day of 

(SOS). the 5th month after the accounting period ends, •	 Exempt organizations when gross income 
derived from unrelated business is $1,000 In addition, every domestic nonprofit the exempt organization has an additional seven 
or more. (Form 109 must be filed whether corporation formed to manage a common months to file without filing a written request for 
or not Form 199 is filed.) interest development must file a Statement by extension. However, an organization that is not in 

Common Interest Development Association good standing or suspended on the original due 
Exception. Political organizations 

(Form SI - CID) with the SOS. date of the return will not be given an extension 
(exempt under R&TC Section 23701r), of time to file. For more information, get form 
homeowners’ associations (exempt R&TC Section 19141 requires the FTB to FTB 3539, Payment for Automatic Extension for 
under R&TC Section 23701t), and assess a penalty for failure to file a Statement Corporations and Exempt Organizations. 
organizations controlled by the state or of Information (Form SI-100) and Statement 
other governmental municipalities are not by Common Interest Development Association If the return is not filed and/or the filing fee is 
required to file Form 109. (Form SI - CID). The FTB has no authority to not paid by the extended due date, penalties, 

waive this penalty except as directed by the additional fees, and interest may be imposed as 
California SOS. explained in General Instruction J, Penalties. 
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J Penalties organization files its annual information return M Questions About Filing 
to report the purchases subject to use tax and to 

Failure to File a Timely Return — An If the organization has questions about filing, make the use tax payment. 
organization that fails to file the return on or write to: 

Penalty. To avoid late payment penalties for use before the original due date, or extended due EXEMPT ORGANIZATIONS UNIT MS F120 
tax, the organization must report and pay the use date, is assessed a penalty of $5 for each month, FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
tax with a timely filed annual information return. or part of the month, the return is late. If the PO BOX 1286 

return is not filed by the extended due date, the Changes in use tax reported. Do not file an RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-1286 
automatic extension will not apply. The penalty amended return to revise use tax previously Organizations may also call 916.845.4171 or refer 
may not exceed $40. reported. If the exempt organization has changes to the last page of these instructions for telephone 

to the amount of use tax previously reported on Organizations exempt from the $10 filing fee assistance and the FTB internet address. 
the original return, contact the State Board of are not exempt from this penalty. See General Include the organization’s identifying number and Equalization. Instruction F, Payment of Filing Fee. telephone number on all correspondence. 
For assistance with your use tax questions, go Late Payment of Fee — An organization that fails 
to boe.ca.gov, or call 800.400.7115 or TTY/TDD to pay the $10 filing fee by the original due date, 
800.735.2929. Income tax information is not Specific Line Instructions 

or extended due date, is assessed an additional 
available at this number. filing fee of $15. Entity Information 

Make sure entries have been made for the 
Failure to Furnish Information — In the case of L Group Filing following: 
a private foundation, the FTB may make a written A central, parent, or like organization can file a 
demand that a delinquent return or foundation •	 California corporation or organization number 

group return for two or more local organizations 
report be filed within a reasonable amount of •	 Federal employer identification number (FEIN) 

that: 
time after mailing a demand notice. The person •	 Organization’s legal name 
who fails to file after such demand is subject •	 Are tax-exempt under a group exemption • Address 
to a penalty of $5 for each month, or part of letter that is still in effect. Private Mail Box (PMB) – Include PMB number 
the month, (not to exceed $25) after the period •	 Are affiliated with the central organization at in the address field. Write “PMB” first, then the 
expires. The penalty is in addition to the late filing the time its annual accounting period ends. box number. Example: 111 Main Street PMB 123. 
penalty described above. •	 Are subject to the central organization’s 

Accounting Period general supervision or control. 
Waiver — The law provides the FTB with the If filing Form 199 on a fiscal year, fill in the •	 Have the same accounting period as the 
authority to waive the above penalties and late taxable year information including the month, central organization. 
payment fee if it is shown that the failure was due day, and year in the spaces provided at the top of 
to reasonable cause and not due to willful neglect. Every year, each local organization must authorize Side 1. 

the central organization in writing to include 
Suspension/Revocation — The corporate rights, Questions A through N it in the group return and must declare, under 
powers, and privileges may be suspended, or the Answer all applicable questions. Use the following penalty of perjury, that the authorization and the 
exemption from tax may be revoked, for failure instructions when answering: information it submits to be included in the group 
to file a return or pay the filing fee, penalties, or return are true and complete. Question D - Group Return 
interest. Refer to General Information Section L, Group If the central organization prepares a group return 
Interest – Interest accrues on the delinquent Filing for more information. for its affiliated organizations, check the “Yes” 
penalty from the original due date of the return box in Question D(a), and indicate the number of Question H - Accounting Method 
until the penalty is paid. Get FTB Pub. 1138, organizations for which the group return is filed in The method used to compute income should be 
Business Entity Refund/Billing Information, for Question D(b). made in accordance with the accounting regularly 
more information. used by the organization in maintaining its books For Question D(c), check “Yes” to indicate that the 
K California Use Tax and records. group return includes all affiliated organizations 

covered by the group ruling. If the organization Question I – Influencing Legislation The use tax has been in effect in California 
answers “No” to D(c), attach a list showing Organizations that are exempt under R&TC since July 1, 1935. It applies to purchases from 
the name, address, and Federal Employer Section 23701d by virtue of either filing form out-of-state or Internet sellers and is similar 
Identification Number (FEIN) of each affiliated FTB 3500 and receiving a letter from the FTB to the sales tax paid on purchases made in 
organization included in the group return. If either granting tax-exempt status to the organization, California. 
box in D(a) or D(d) is checked “Yes,” enter the or an organization receiving a federal exemption 

In general, exempt organizations must pay four-digit group exemption number issued by the under IRC Section 501(c)(3) and submitting a 
California use tax on purchases made from out IRS in Question D(e). copy of its federal determination letter along 
of state (for example, by telephone, over the with form FTB 3500A to the FTB, is prohibited The group return filed should include a list of Internet, by mail, or in person) if: from supporting or opposing candidates for names, current mailing addresses, and California 
•	 The seller does not collect California sales or public office. However, an R&TC Section 23701d corporate, or association numbers (if assigned), 

use tax. organization may elect to make limited and FEINs of all of the subordinates. 
•	 The organization uses, gives away, stores, or expenditures to influence legislation within 

An affiliated organization covered by a group consumes the item in this state. the limitations set by R&TC Section 23704.5. 
ruling may file a separate return instead of being Organizations making this election must complete Example: The exempt organization purchases included in the group return. In such case, check form FTB 3509, and attach it to Form 199. a conference table from a company in North the “Yes” box in item D(d). 

Carolina. The company ships the table from North Line 1 – Gross Sales or Receipts from Other 
All subordinates must have tax-exempt status Carolina to the organization’s office in California Sources 
before being included in a group return. A for its use and does not charge California sales Enter the amount from Side 2, Part II, line 8.

separate form FTB 3500, Exemption Application, or use tax. The organization owes use tax on the See General Instruction E, Gross Receipts, for 
or form FTB 3500A, Submission of Exemption purchase. the definition of gross receipts. Homeowners’ 
Request, can be filed with the FTB to request 

Complete the Use Tax Worksheet on page 4 to associations see General Instruction D, 
tax-exempt status for all subordinates. Otherwise, 
calculate the amount due. Homeowners’ Associations.
subordinates must file form FTB 3500 and 
Extensions to file. If the exempt organization be granted tax-exempt status before it can be Do not include amounts for gross dues and 

requests an extension to file its annual included in the group return. assessments from members and affiliates or 

information return, wait until the exempt amounts from gross contributions, gifts, grants, 


and similar amounts received. These amounts are 

reported on Part I, line 2 and line 3.
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Line 3 – Gross Contributions, Gifts, Grants, and 
Similar Amounts Received 
Attach an itemized schedule if money, securities, 
or other property aggregating $5,000 or more is 
received directly or indirectly from one person 
in one or more transactions during the year. The 
schedule must show the name, address, date 
received, and the total amount received from each 
person. 
In determining whether a person has contributed 
$5,000 or more, organizations must total gifts of 
$1,000 or more from that person. Separate and 
independent gifts need not be totaled if less than 
$1,000. Also, if a contribution is in the form of 
property (other than securities), the organization 
must furnish a description of the property. If the 
property consists of securities for which market 
quotations are readily available, the description 
and fair market value of the securities must be 
submitted. 
Person means individuals, fiduciaries, 
partnerships, corporations, associations, trusts, 
and exempt organizations. 
Organizations that are not private foundations must 
report the name and address of the contributor 
who gave more than $5,000 in money, securities, 
or other property during the year only if it has 
actual knowledge of the contributor. For example, 
an organization need not require an employer who 
withholds contributions from the compensation 
of employees and pays over to the organization 
periodically the total amounts withheld, to specify 
the amounts paid over with respect to a particular 
employee. In such case, unless the organization 
has actual knowledge that a particular employee 
gave more than $5,000, the organization must 
report only the name and address of the employer 
and the total amount paid over by the employer. 
Organizations described in R&TC 
Sections 23701b, 23701g, and 23701l that receive 
contributions or gifts to be used exclusively for 
the purposes described in IRC Section 170 must 
attach a statement with respect to all gifts which 
total $1,000 from any one person showing: 
•	 The name of the donor. 
•	 The amount of the contribution. 
•	 The specific purpose of the contribution. 
•	 The specific use of the contribution. 
If the contribution or gift is transferred to another 
organization, the statement must include: 
•	 The name of the transferee organization. 
•	 A description of the nature of the transferee 

organization. 
•	 A description of the relationship between 

the transferee and transferor organizations. 
Such organizations must also attach a 
statement showing the total dollar amount of 
contributions and gifts received. 

Line 14 – Use Tax 
As explained under General Information K, 
California use tax applies to purchases from out 
of state sellers (for example, purchases made by 
telephone, over the Internet, by mail, or in person). 
For questions on whether a purchase is taxable, go 
to boe.ca.gov, or call 800.400.7115 or TTY/TDD 
800.735.2929. 

Note: The following businesses must continue to 
report purchases subject to use tax directly to the 
State Board of Equalization: 
•	 Businesses that have a California seller’s 

permit. 
•	 Businesses that are not required to hold a 

California seller’s permit, but receive at least 
$100,000 in gross receipts. 

•	 Businesses that have a California consumer 
use tax account. 

An exempt organization that is not required to 
report purchases subject to use tax directly to 
the State Board of Equalization may report use 
tax on Form 199. To report use tax on Form 199, 
complete the Use Tax Worksheet below. 
If the exempt organization owes use tax but 
does not report it on Form 199, the exempt 
organization must report and pay the tax to the 
State Board of Equalization. For information on 
reporting use tax go to boe.ca.gov. 
Failure to timely report and pay the use tax due 
may result in the assessment of penalties. 

Use Tax Worksheet

Use whole dollars only.


1. Enter purchases from out-of-state 
or Internet sellers made 
without payment of California 
sales/use tax. See worksheet 
instructions below. . . . . . . . . $ ________.00 

2.Enter the applicable sales and 
use tax rate. See worksheet 
instructions below. . . . . . . . . .  ________ 

3. Multiply line 1 by the tax rate 
on line 2. Enter result here . . $ ________.00 

4. Enter any sales or use tax 
paid to another state for 
purchases included on 
line 1. See worksheet 
instructions below . . . . . . . . $ ________.00 

5. Subtract line 4 from line 3. 
This is the total use tax due. 
Enter the amount here and 
on Form 199, line 14. 
If the amount is less than 
zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . $ ________.00 

Worksheet, Line 1, Purchases Subject to Use Tax 
•	 Report items that would have been taxable in 

a California store, such as office equipment 
and supplies. 

•	 Include handling charges. 
•	 Do not include any other state’s sales or use 

tax paid on the purchases. 
•	 Enter only purchases made during the year that 

corresponds with the tax return you are filing. 
Note: Report and pay any use tax the organization 
owes on the following purchases to the State 
Board of Equalization, not on the organization’s 
annual information return. 
•	 Vehicles, vessels, and trailers that must be 

registered with the Department of Motor 
Vehicles. 

•	 Mobile homes or commercial coaches that 
must be registered annually as required by the 
Health and Safety Code. 

•	 Vessels documented with the U.S. Coast Guard. 
•	 Aircraft. 
•	 Leases of machinery, equipment, vehicles, and 

other tangible personal property. 

Worksheet, Line 2, Sales and Use Tax Rate 
•	 Enter the sales and use tax rate applicable to 

the place in California where the property is 
used, stored, or otherwise consumed. If you 
do not know the applicable city or county 
sales and use tax rate, please go to the State 
Board of Equalization’s website at boe.ca.gov 
and click on City and County Tax Rates or 
call their Taxpayer Information Section at 
800.400.7115 or TTY/TDD 800.735.2929. 

Worksheet, Line 4, Credit for Tax Paid to 
Another State 
•	 This is a credit for tax paid to other states. The 

organization cannot claim a credit greater than 
the amount of tax that would have been due if 
the purchase had been made in California. For 
example, if the organization paid $8.00 sales 
tax to another state for a purchase, and would 
have paid $6.00 in California, it can claim a 
credit of only $6.00 for that purchase. 

Signature 
Corporations and Associations — A corporate 
officer such as the president, vice president, 
treasurer, assistant treasurer, chief accounting 
officer, or trustee must sign the return. In the case 
of homeowners’ association, a person who has 
similar authority and who is authorized to sign 
must sign the return. 
Trusts — The return must be signed by the 
individual fiduciary or by the authorized officer of 
the trust receiving or having custody or control 
and management of the income of the trust. If 
two or more individuals act jointly as fiduciaries, 
the return may be signed by any one of them. A 
receiver, trustee, or assignee must sign any return 
that must be filed on behalf of the organization. 
Third Party Designee 
If the organization wants to allow the FTB to 
discuss its 2010 return with the paid preparer 
who signed it, check the “Yes” box in the 
signature area of the return. This authorization 
applies only to the individual whose signature 
appears in the “Paid Preparer’s Use Only” section 
of the return. It does not apply to the firm, if any, 
shown in that section. 
If the “Yes” box is checked, the organization is 
authorizing the FTB to call the paid preparer to 
answer any questions that may arise during the 
processing of its return. The organization is also 
authorizing the paid preparer to: 
•	 Give the FTB any information that is missing 

from the return. 
•	 Call the FTB for information about the 

processing of the return or the status of any 
related refund or payments. 

•	 Respond to certain FTB notices about math 
errors, offsets, and return preparation. 

The organization is not authorizing the paid 
preparer to receive any refund check, bind 
the organization to anything (including any 
additional tax liability), or otherwise represent the 
organization before the FTB. 
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The authorization will automatically end no later 
than the due date (without regard to extensions) 
for filing the organization’s 2011 tax return. 
If the organization wants to expand the paid 
preparer’s authorization, see form FTB 3520, 
Power of Attorney Declaration for the Franchise 
Tax Board. If the organization wants to revoke 
the authorization before it ends, notify the FTB in 
writing or call 800.852.5711. 

Side 2, Part II 
Exempt organizations must either: 
•	 Complete Part II of Form 199. 
•	 Attach a completed copy of federal Form 990, 

including all appropriate schedules. 
•	 Attach a completed copy of federal 

Form 990-PF for private foundations, 
including all appropriate schedules. 

Labor organizations exempt under R&TC 
Section 23701a, attach a copy of the Department 
of Labor Form LM-2 or LM-3, Labor Organization 
Annual Report, as appropriate, in lieu of 
completing Part II. 
Line 1 – Gross Sales or Receipts from All 
Business Activities 
See General Instruction E for the definition of 
gross receipts. Homeowners’ associations see 
General Instruction D. 
Do not include amounts for gross dues and 
assessments from members and affiliates or 
amounts from gross contributions, gifts, grants, 
and similar amounts received. Report these 
amounts on Side 1, Part I, line 2 and line 3, 
respectively. 
Line 6 – Gross Amount Received from Sale of 
Assets 
Attach a schedule showing for each asset 
(whether or not depreciable) sold or exchanged: 
•	 The date acquired, manner of acquisition, date 

sold, and to whom sold. 
•	 The gross sales price. 
•	 The cost or other basis, or value at time of 

acquisition if received by donation (state how 
received). 

•	 The expense of sale and cost of improvements 
subsequent to acquisition. 

•	 If depreciable property, depreciation since 
acquisition. 

Enter the gross sales price on Side 2, Part II, 
line 6 and total and enter the cost or other basis, 
expenses, etc. (less depreciation if applicable), on 
Side 1, Part I, line 6. 
Line 7 – Other income 
Attach a schedule showing other income not 
listed in line 1 through line 6. 
Line 8 – Total Gross Sales or Receipts from 
Other Sources 
Add line 1 through line 7. Enter on line 8 and on 
Side 1, Part I, line 1. 

Line 9 – Contributions, Gifts, Grants, and 
Similar Amounts Paid 
Private foundations, regardless of gross receipts, 
and other organizations required to file Form 199, 
must attach a schedule to support contributions, 
gifts, grants, scholarships, etc., showing all of the 
following: 
•	 Each class of activity. 
•	 Separate totals for each activity. 
•	 Name and address of the donee and the 

amount of the distribution to the donee. 
•	 Relationship of the donee, if related by blood, 

marriage, registered domestic partnership, 
adoption, or employment (including children 
of employees) to any person or corporation 
having an interest in the organization (such as 
creator, donor, director, trustee, officer, etc.). 

Classify activities according to purpose in 
greater detail than merely charitable, educational, 
religious, or scientific. For example, payments 
for nursing service, laboratory construction, 
fellowships, or assistance to indigent families 
should be so identified. 
Private foundations making contributions, etc., 
to a trust, association, or corporation shall also 
indicate the organizational status of each donee; 
such as private foundation, operating private 
foundation, or other public charity, etc. 
When the fair market value of the property at 

the time of disbursement is used to measure a 

contribution, the schedule must also show all of 

the following:

•	 Description of the contributed property.

•	 Book value of the contributed property.

•	 Method used to determine the book value.

• Date of the gift.

In such a case, the difference between fair market 

value and book value should be reflected in the 

books of account.

Line 11 – Compensation of Officers, Directors, 
and Trustees 
Enter the total compensation paid to current 

officers, directors, trustees, and key employees 

for the organization’s taxable year. Compensation 

includes all forms of income and other benefits 

earned or received in return for services rendered, 

including pension plan contributions, and 

other employee benefits, but does not include 

non-compensatory expense reimbursements or 

allowances. Report all compensation amounts 

relating to such an individual, including those 

related to services performed in a capacity 

other than as an officer, director, trustee, or key 

employee. 

Line 12 – Other salaries and wages

Enter the total amount of employee salaries, 

wages, fees, bonuses, severance payments, and 

similar amounts not reported on line 10 or 11.


Line 16 – Depreciation and Depletion 
Corporations and Associations — California law 

is generally the same as federal law.

California differences:

1.	 California has not adopted the federal Modified 

Accelerated Cost Recovery System (MACRS). 
2.	 California prohibits the use of the 20% Asset 

Depreciation Range (ADR). Only the mid­
range asset guideline period is allowed. 

3.	 California allows the special additional first-
year depreciation. (R&TC Section 24356, not 
IRC Section 179.) 

Complete form FTB 3885, Corporation 
Depreciation and Amortization, to figure the 
difference between state and federal depreciation. 
Exempt corporations claiming depreciation 
deductions must attach a schedule showing all of 
the following: 
•	 Description of property. 
•	 Date acquired. 
•	 Cost or other basis (exclude land). 
•	 Depreciation allowed or allowable in prior years. 
•	 Method of computation. 
•	 Rate (%) or life (years). 
•	 Depreciation this year (total additional first-

year depreciation claimed must be shown on a 
separate line of the depreciation schedule). 

Trusts — In 1987, California changed the rules 
for depreciation by conforming to the federal 
MACRS. Estates and trusts are not eligible to take 
the IRC Section 179 deduction. The California 
MACRS applies to assets placed in service on or 
after January 1, 1987. 
Complete form FTB 3885F, Depreciation and 
Amortization, to figure the difference between 
state and federal depreciation. 
Enter the total from form FTB 3885F, line 6, on 
Form 199, Side 2, Part II, line 16 and attach form 
FTB 3885F to Form 199. 
Line 17 – Other Expenses and Disbursements 
Attach a schedule showing expenses and 
disbursements not listed in line 9 through line 16. 
Schedule L – Balance Sheets 
The balance sheets should agree with the books 
of account. Any difference should be reconciled 
on Schedule M-1 of Form 199. 
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How to Get California Tax Information	 (Keep this page for future use) 
Automated Phone Service 
Use our Automated Phone Service to get 
recorded answers to many of your questions 
about California taxes and to order current 
year California Business Entity tax forms 
and publications. This service is available in 
English and Spanish to callers with touch-tone 
telephones. 
Have paper and pencil handy to take notes. 
Telephone: 800.338.0505 from within the 

United States 
916.845.6600 from outside the 
United States 

Where to get General Tax 
Information 
By Internet – You can get answers to Frequently 

Asked Questions at ftb.ca.gov.

By Phone – You can hear recorded answers to 

Frequently Asked Questions 24 hours a day, 

7 days a week. Call our automated phone service 

at the number listed above. Select “Business 

Entity Information,” then select “Frequently Asked 

Questions.” Enter the 3-digit code, listed below, 

when prompted.


Code Filing Assistance 
715 – If my actual tax is less than the minimum 

franchise tax, what figure do I put on line 23 
of Form 100 or Form 100W? 

717 – What are the tax rates for corporations? 
718 – How do I get an extension of time to file? 
722 – When does my corporation have to file a 

short-period return? 
734 – Is my corporation subject to a franchise 

tax or income tax? 
S corporations 

704 – Is an S corporation subject to the 
minimum franchise tax? 

705 – Are S corporations required to file esti­
mated payments? 

706 – What forms do S corporations file? 
707 – The tax for my S corporation is less than 

the minimum franchise tax. What figure do 
I put on line 22 of Form 100S? 
Exempt Organizations 

709 – How do I get tax-exempt status? 
710 – Does an exempt organization have to file 

Form 199? 
735 – Does an exempt organization have to file 

the FTB 199N, California e-Postcard? 
736 – I have exempt status. Do I need to file 

Form100 or Form 109 in addition to 
Form199? 
Minimum Tax and Estimate Tax 

712 – What is the minimum franchise tax? 
714 – My corporation is not doing business; 

does it have to pay the minimum franchise 
tax? 
Billings and Miscellaneous Notices 

723 – I received a bill for $250. What is this for? 
Miscellaneous 

701 – I need a state employer ID number for my 
business. Who do I contact? 

703 – How do I incorporate? 
737 – Where do I send my payment? 

Letters 
If you write to us, be sure to include the California 
corporation number or federal employer 
identification number (FEIN), your daytime and 
evening telephone numbers, and a copy of the 
notice with your letter. Send your letter to: 

EXEMPT ORGANIZATIONS UNIT MS F120 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 1286 
RANCHO CORDOVA  CA 95741-1286 

We will respond to your letter within ten weeks. 
In some cases, we may need to call you 
for additional information. Do not attach 
correspondence to your tax return unless it 
relates to an item on the return. 

Your Rights As A Taxpayer 
The FTB’s goals include making certain that your 
rights are protected so that you have the highest 
confidence in the integrity, efficiency, and fairness 
of our state tax system. FTB Pub. 4058, California 
Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights, includes information on 
your rights as a California taxpayer, the Taxpayers’ 
Rights Advocate Program, and how you request 
written advice from the FTB on whether a 
particular transaction is taxable. See “Where To 
Get Tax Forms and Publications,” on this page. 

Where to Get Tax Forms and 
Publications 
By Internet – You can download, view, and print 
California tax forms and publications at ftb.ca.gov. 
By phone – You can order California tax forms 
from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. weekdays, 6 a.m. to 
4:30 p.m. Saturdays, except holidays. Call our 
automated phone service at the number listed 
above. Select “Business Entity Information,” 
then select “Forms and Publications.” Follow 
the recorded instructions and enter the 3-digit 
code, listed in the next column, when prompted. 
To order prior year forms, call the number listed 
under “Assistance.” 
Allow two weeks to receive your order. If 
your corporation’s mailing address is outside 
California, allow three weeks. 

Code – 
817 – California Corporation Tax Form & 

Instructions. This booklet contains: 
Form 100, Corporation Franchise or 
Income Tax Return 

814 – Form 109, Exempt Organization Business 
Income Tax Return 

815 – Form 199, Exempt Organization Annual 
Information Return 

818 – Form 100-ES, Corporation Estimated Tax 
802 – FTB 3500, Exempt Application 
831 – FTB 3500A Submission of Exemption 

Request 
943 – FTB Pub. 4058, California Taxpayers’ Bill of 

Rights 

In person – Many libraries now have internet 
access. A nominal fee may apply to download, 
view, and print California forms and publications. 
Employees at libraries and post offices cannot 
provide tax information or assistance. 
By mail – Write to: 

TAX FORMS REQUEST UNIT 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 307 
RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-0307 

Internet and Telephone Assistance 
Telephone assistance is available year-round from 
7 a.m. until 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, except 
holidays. Hours subject to change. 
Website:	 ftb.ca.gov 
Telephone:	 800.852.5711 from within the 

United States 
916.845.6500 from outside the 
United States 

TTY/TDD:	 800.822.6268 for persons with 
hearing or speech impairments 

Asistencia Por Internet y Teléfono 
Asistencia telefónica está disponible todo el año 
durante las 7 a.m. y las 5 p.m. lunes a viernes, 
excepto días festivos. Las horas están sujetas a 
cambios. 
Sitio web:	 ftb.ca.gov 
Teléfono:	 800.852.5711 dentro de los 

Estados Unidos 
916.845.6500 fuera de los 
Estados Unidos 

TTY/TDD:	 800.822.6268 personas con 
discapacidades auditivas y del 
habla 

Recycled

Recyclable
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