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Requirements for Children with Investment Income
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, California law conforms 
to federal law which allows parents’ election to report a child’s interest and 
dividend income from children under age 19 or a student under age 24 on their 
tax return. For each child under age 19 or student under age 24 who received 
more than $1,900 of investment income in 2012, complete Form 540 and form 
FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Certain Children with Investment Income, to 
figure the tax on a separate Form 540 for your child.
If you qualify, you may elect to report your child’s income of $9,500 or less (but 
not less than $950) on your tax return by completing form FTB 3803, Parents’ 
Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends. To make this election, your 
child’s income must be only from interest and/or dividends. To get forms 
FTB 3800 or FTB 3803, see “Order Forms and Publications” on page 67 or go to 
ftb.ca.gov.

Other Situations When You Must File
If you have a tax liability for 2012 or owe any of the following taxes for 2012, you 
must file Form 540.
•	 Tax on a lump-sum distribution.
•	 Tax on a qualified retirement plan including an Individual Retirement 

Arrangement (IRA) or an Archer Medical Savings Account (MSA).
•	 Tax for children under age 19 or student under age 24 who have investment 

income greater than $1,900 (see paragraph above).
•	 Alternative minimum tax.
•	 Recapture taxes.
•	 Deferred tax on certain installment obligations.
•	 Tax on an accumulation distribution from a trust.

Filing Status
Use the same filing status for California that you used for your federal income tax 
return, unless you are in a same-sex marriage or a registered domestic partnership 
(RDP). If you are a same-sex married individual or an RDP and file single for 
federal, you must file married/RDP filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately 
for California. If you are a same-sex married individual or an RDP and file head 
of household for federal purposes, you may file head of household for California 
purposes only if you meet the requirements to be considered unmarried or 
considered not in a domestic partnership.
Exception: If you file a joint tax return for federal purposes, you may file 
separately for California if either spouse was:
•	 An active member of the United States armed forces or any auxiliary military 

branch during 2012.
•	 A nonresident for the entire year and had no income from California sources 

during 2012.

	 Community Property States: If the spouse earning the California source 
income is domiciled in a community property state, community income will 
be split equally between the spouses. Both spouses will have California source 
income and they will not qualify for the nonresident spouse exception.

If you had no federal filing requirement, use the same filing status for California 
that you would have used to file a federal income tax return.
If you filed a joint tax return and either you or your spouse/RDP was a 
nonresident for 2012, file the Long or Short Form 540NR, California Nonresident 
or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return.

Single 
You are single if any of the following was true on December 31, 2012:
•	 You were not married or an RDP.
•	 You were divorced under a final decree of divorce, legally separated under a final 

decree of legal separation, or terminated your registered domestic partnership.
•	 You were widowed before January 1, 2012, and did not remarry or enter into 

another registered domestic partnership in 2012.

Married/RDP Filing Jointly 
You may file married/RDP filing jointly if any of the following is true:
•	 You were married or an RDP as of December 31, 2012, even if you did not live 

with your spouse/RDP at the end of 2012.
•	 Your spouse/RDP died in 2012 and you did not remarry or enter into another 

registered domestic partnership in 2012.
•	 Your spouse/RDP died in 2013 before you filed a 2012 return.

Married/RDP Filing Separately 
•	 Community property rules apply to the division of income if you use 

the married/RDP filing separately status. For more information, get FTB 
Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident Status, FTB Pub. 737, Tax 
Information for Registered Domestic Partners, FTB Pub. 776, Tax Information 
for Same-Sex Married Couples, FTB Pub. 1051A, Guidelines for Married/
RDP Filing Separate Returns, or FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military 
Personnel. To get forms see “Order Forms and Publications” on page 67 or go 
to ftb.ca.gov. 

•	 You cannot claim a personal exemption credit for your spouse/RDP even if 
your spouse/RDP had no income, is not filing a tax return, and is not claimed 
as a dependent on another person’s tax return.

•	 You may be able to file as head of household if your child lived with you and you 
lived apart from your spouse/RDP during the entire last six months of 2012.

Head of Household 
For the specific requirements that must be met to qualify for head of household 
filing status, get FTB Pub. 1540, California Head of Household Filing Status. In 
general, head of household filing status is for unmarried individuals and certain 

On 12/31/12,
my filing status was:

and on 12/31/12,
my age was: 
(If your 65th birthday is on January 1, 
2013, you are considered to be age 65 on 
December 31, 2012)

California Gross Income California Adjusted Gross Income
Dependents Dependents

0 1
2

or more 0 1
2

or more

Single or
Head of household 

Under 65
65 or older

15,440
20,640

26,140
28,665

34,165
35,085

12,352
17,552

23,052
25,577

31,077
31,997

Married/RDP filing jointly
Married/RDP filing separately
(The income of both spouses/RDPs must 
be combined; both spouses/RDPs may be 
required to file a tax return even if only one 
spouse/RDP had income over the amounts 
listed.)

Under 65 (both spouses/RDPs)
65 or older (one spouse/RDP)
65 or older (both spouses/RDPs)

30,881
36,081
41,281

41,581
44,106
49,306

49,606
50,526
55,726

24,705
29,905
35,105

35,405
37,930
43,130

43,430
44,350
49,550

Qualifying widow(er) Under 65
65 or older

26,140
28,665

34,165
35,085

23,052
25,577

31,077
31,997

Dependent of another person 
Any filing status

Any age More than your standard deduction (Use the California Standard Deduction 
Worksheet for Dependents on page 9 to figure your standard deduction.)

Steps to Determine Filing Requirement
Step 1: Is your gross income (all income received from all sources in the form of 
money, goods, property, and services that are not exempt from tax) more than 
the amount shown in the California Gross Income chart below for your filing 
status, age, and number of dependents? If yes, you have a filing requirement. If 
no, go to Step 2.
Step 2: Is your adjusted gross income (federal adjusted gross income from all 
sources reduced or increased by all California income adjustments) more than the 
amount shown in the California Adjusted Gross Income chart below for your filing 

status, age, and number of dependents? If yes, you have a filing requirement. If 
no, go to Step 3.
Step 3: If your income is less than the amounts on the chart you may still have a 
filing requirement. See “Requirements for Children with Investment Income” and 
“Other Situations When You Must File” on this page. Do those instructions apply 
to you? If yes, you have a filing requirement. If no, go to Step 4.
Step 4: Are you married/registered domestic partner (RDP) filing separately with 
separate property income?  If no, you do not have a filing requirement. If yes, 
prepare a tax return. If you owe tax, you have a filing requirement.

Do I Have to File?
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Do I Have to File?
married individuals or RDPs living apart who provide a home for a specified 
relative. You may be entitled to use head of household filing status if all of the 
following apply:
•	 You were unmarried and not in a registered domestic partnership, or you met 

the requirements to be considered unmarried or considered not in a registered 
domestic partnership on December 31, 2012.

•	 You paid more than one-half the cost of keeping up your home for the year in 
2012.

•	 For more than half the year, your home was the main home for you and one of 
the specified relatives who by law can qualify you for head of household filing 
status.

•	 You were not a nonresident alien at any time during the year.
For a child to qualify as your foster child for head of household purposes, the 
child must either be placed with you by an authorized placement agency or by 
order of a court.
For more information, get FTB Pub. 1540 at ftb.ca.gov or see code 934 on 
page 67 to order FTB Pub.1540 by telephone.
Qualifying Widow(er) with Dependent Child
Check the box on Form 540/540A, line 5 and use the joint return tax rates for 
2012 if all five of the following apply:
•	 Your spouse/RDP died in 2010 or 2011 and you did not remarry or enter into 

another registered domestic partnership in 2012.
•	 You have a child, stepchild, adopted child, or foster child whom you claim as 

a dependent.
•	 This child lived in your home for all of 2012. Temporary absences, such as for 

vacation or school, count as time lived in the home.
•	 You paid over half the cost of keeping up your home for this child.
•	 You could have filed a joint tax return with your spouse/RDP the year he or 

she died, even if you actually did not do so.


